$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

South Beach Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for South Beach Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MiamiTravelerR
Business
Miami, FL
Nov 4, 2012

Very basic hotel

The only good thing about this hotel is the location, other than that you get very little out of your money. The hotel is super basic and the service is the same. They do not clean the rooms until 4pm. There is not even a cup in the room to drink water. The room is also quite small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lckytrn
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 21, 2012

Very nice hotel

Our stay here was very nice. we really enjoyed the complimentary wine in the evenings. and the $20 happy hour. the room was very clean, the staff was very helpful. The location is very good, only a block away from the beach. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
miami beach getaway
Business
florida
Aug 28, 2012

Perfect location!

This hotel is in great location to the beach (just one block!) and great location to a public garage. The room was good for what we need it (sleep and shower) and the people in the entrance where very nice. We arrived earlier than check in time and our room was ready and they let us check in no problem. They offer free breakfast and glass of wine in the afternoon.. what else can I ask! They required a $50 deposit for a one night stay which we gave cash when we check in and from that amount they charge the hotel fee ($12 I think) and gave the rest at check out. Overall a great experience and would recommend to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

a block west from the hotel their is a small sandwich place that look like nothing special but the sandwiches, food and smoothies are delicious

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
moras
Business
orlando Florida
Jul 27, 2012

the best place

the best place,good price,close to the beach and the people from front desk are very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Faye3
Business
Southern NJ
Jul 24, 2012

Could've Been Better

With such a great location, this hotel could use an upgrade. The mattresses were hard. A microwave could've been useful for warming up leftovers for a late night snack. Instead I had to throw away good every night. Valet parking is highly recommended if u have a car. Otherwise, being in Miami was worth the few inconveniences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TN
Jul 23, 2012

Good for the price

The hotel was definitely outdated, but that added to its quaintness and charm. Everything was clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The location was perfect, too. It was less than a 2 minute walk to the beach, and maybe a 30 second walk to Ocean Drive. It was out of earshot of the loud music of the nearby clubs and other hotel bars, which was nice. There was a single window unit AC, but it kept the room plenty cool. The only thing that was unpleasant was the smell in the outside hallways, but you couldn't smell anything in the room or in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Everything is pricey in the area, but not every place serves quality food that you'd expect for what you're paying. I would definitely ask around about places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JustDoItMichigan
Business
Michigan
Jul 17, 2012

Nice clean place in the heart of South Beach

Look this is a Great classic deco hotel for those on a budget. It is CLEAN! Staff were wonderful. They bed was good enough for our purposes. The little bar is cozy and there is a nice courtyard. A new restaurant is coming... You can rent chairs and umbrellas plus more for the beach. There is a lot of great things very nearby. We considered a hotel much further up Miami Beach but are glad with our choice. It may not have all the amenities and could stand some renovations but it is a great place to stay. For some people to understand - It is a historic building, so renovations are tricky and require special approvals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Craig G.
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jul 12, 2012

My Getaway on my getaway...

Good location and price. Nice helpful staff. Very Satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rgmg
Business
nj
Jul 5, 2012

Almost wasn't great

Was wrong placed into a SB Plaza Villa room. Room in Villa was chemically smelly, noisy on ground floor, and WiFi was too weak to connect. Once I was moved to the SB Plaza Hotel (next door - which I originally did book) all problems disappeared, and my stay was extremely good. The weekday staff were very professional and accommodating. The on-site concierge was very knowledgeable and helpful. The change in accommodations definitely made all the difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoeVilla
Business
Rosarito BC México
Jun 6, 2012

Great for Business

I arrived very late and the staff was on board out front and at the desk. They were efficient and very helpful. When I checked out there were no problems and I would stay there again. Thanks for a great trip. Joe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I guess it depends on the reason for the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top