$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 3, 2014 Check-out: Nov 6, 2014

South Beach Plaza Hotel

3 stars
1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
147 reviews
fantastic friendly getaway

i loved evrythin from checkin in and leaving the bus route was exceptional and easy See full review

  • peggypegs
  • Dec 20, 2013
Excellent stay

Great, very clean hotel at a great location just 1 block off the beach. Staff was great and the... See full review

  • Miami Lover24
  • May 29, 2013
The South Beach Plaza Hotel with its 47 fabulous rooms and eight suites has been renovated beyond recognition, while keeping its 1936 tropical art deco heritage. The new tropical art deco bathrooms and custom lighting only begin to describe the Beach Plaza Hotel rooms.

We also offer a variety of recreational activities for our guests, OFF SITE golf, yachting, tennis and much more. Sit and relax at the De Carlos Bar, located lobby level, which offers award winning design and atmosphere combined with drinks or coffee.

The Beach Plaza Hotel is located just 250 feet away from the beach and is one of the most sought after and desires locations in South Beach. Whether its dinner on Ocean Drive, shopping on Lincoln Road or clubbing on Washington, you'll find us convenient and walk- able to all.

The first of its kind in Miami Beach offering a Non-Smoking environment, smoking is permitted outdoors only. $300 + tax penalty is charged per night, when smoking in the room.

** Resort Fee: $12.99 per day/room + tax ** Not included in rate - To be paid directly at hotel at check out ** Includes Continental Breakfast - Unlimited WIFI - Wine reception - Beach Towels. ** PLEASE NOTE : During the Winter Music Conference and the Ultra Music Festival in March, as well as during the Memorial Day Week-end, the hotel will be hosting multiple events with music and a lot of people, be prepared for a louder ambiance than usual. We thank you in advance for your understanding.

Hotel Map

25.7854 -80.1305
Area served
Miami Beach, FL
Nearby airports
MIA - Miami International
Area description
The Beach Plaza hotel enjoys a great location on Collins Avenue and 14th Street, just 250 feet from the beach, within easy walking distance of Washington Avenue, Lincoln Road and Ocean Drive. The Hawaiian Gardens offer a pleasant refuge from the non-stop vibes of South Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Beach Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

South Beach Plaza Hotel Rooms

Imperial King
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial King rooms (One King Bed)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
ROH - FL ID required
Room will be assigned at check in based on availability (king or 2 dbl beds). ONLY for FL Residents Promo. Must present FL ID at check in or an extra fee will be charged upon arrival.
Imperial Double
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial Double rooms (two double Beds)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes a king bed, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes two double beds, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Dining

De Carlos Bar / Lounge
A hip and happening bar located lobby level.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (147)

Ratings and reviews for South Beach Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lckytrn
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 21, 2012

Very nice hotel

Our stay here was very nice. we really enjoyed the complimentary wine in the evenings. and the $20 happy hour. the room was very clean, the staff was very helpful. The location is very good, only a block away from the beach. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
miami beach getaway
Business
florida
Aug 28, 2012

Perfect location!

This hotel is in great location to the beach (just one block!) and great location to a public garage. The room was good for what we need it (sleep and shower) and the people in the entrance where very nice. We arrived earlier than check in time and our room was ready and they let us check in no problem. They offer free breakfast and glass of wine in the afternoon.. what else can I ask! They required a $50 deposit for a one night stay which we gave cash when we check in and from that amount they charge the hotel fee ($12 I think) and gave the rest at check out. Overall a great experience and would recommend to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

a block west from the hotel their is a small sandwich place that look like nothing special but the sandwiches, food and smoothies are delicious

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
moras
Business
orlando Florida
Jul 27, 2012

the best place

the best place,good price,close to the beach and the people from front desk are very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Faye3
Business
Southern NJ
Jul 24, 2012

Could've Been Better

With such a great location, this hotel could use an upgrade. The mattresses were hard. A microwave could've been useful for warming up leftovers for a late night snack. Instead I had to throw away good every night. Valet parking is highly recommended if u have a car. Otherwise, being in Miami was worth the few inconveniences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TN
Jul 23, 2012

Good for the price

The hotel was definitely outdated, but that added to its quaintness and charm. Everything was clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The location was perfect, too. It was less than a 2 minute walk to the beach, and maybe a 30 second walk to Ocean Drive. It was out of earshot of the loud music of the nearby clubs and other hotel bars, which was nice. There was a single window unit AC, but it kept the room plenty cool. The only thing that was unpleasant was the smell in the outside hallways, but you couldn't smell anything in the room or in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Everything is pricey in the area, but not every place serves quality food that you'd expect for what you're paying. I would definitely ask around about places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JustDoItMichigan
Business
Michigan
Jul 17, 2012

Nice clean place in the heart of South Beach

Look this is a Great classic deco hotel for those on a budget. It is CLEAN! Staff were wonderful. They bed was good enough for our purposes. The little bar is cozy and there is a nice courtyard. A new restaurant is coming... You can rent chairs and umbrellas plus more for the beach. There is a lot of great things very nearby. We considered a hotel much further up Miami Beach but are glad with our choice. It may not have all the amenities and could stand some renovations but it is a great place to stay. For some people to understand - It is a historic building, so renovations are tricky and require special approvals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Craig G.
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jul 12, 2012

My Getaway on my getaway...

Good location and price. Nice helpful staff. Very Satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rgmg
Business
nj
Jul 5, 2012

Almost wasn't great

Was wrong placed into a SB Plaza Villa room. Room in Villa was chemically smelly, noisy on ground floor, and WiFi was too weak to connect. Once I was moved to the SB Plaza Hotel (next door - which I originally did book) all problems disappeared, and my stay was extremely good. The weekday staff were very professional and accommodating. The on-site concierge was very knowledgeable and helpful. The change in accommodations definitely made all the difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoeVilla
Business
Rosarito BC México
Jun 6, 2012

Great for Business

I arrived very late and the staff was on board out front and at the desk. They were efficient and very helpful. When I checked out there were no problems and I would stay there again. Thanks for a great trip. Joe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I guess it depends on the reason for the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dijee1000
Business
Daytona Beach
May 26, 2012

Just Okay

I didn't expect much after the reviews I read before booking, but the room itself was acceptable. Pretty clean with a decent size bathroom. The hardwood floors are a nice touch vs some old, dirty carpet. There was never any mention of parking at the hotel though. There's a $25 charge for valet which is decent considering the nearest garage charges $20 for 24 hours. During holidays, expect to get your own car from the garage due to street blockages. This is a minus considering you pay for 'valet'. Also, the resort fee is charged upon arrival which includes breakfast and wine. Never saw any wine or was told how to redeem it. The location is pretty great! Literally a block away from the beach. No ocean views though :( Oh and expect a lot of noise from other rooms. Younger people seem to prefer it for the price. The floors are old and squeak too. The elevator is small and only fits 3 people when it works. This whole area is pretty old. Most of the hotels look to be about the same. The nicer ones are actually closer to North Beach. So weigh your options carefully :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top