$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

South Beach Plaza Hotel

3 stars
1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
216 reviews
fantastic friendly getaway

i loved evrythin from checkin in and leaving the bus route was exceptional and easy See full review

  • peggypegs
  • Dec 20, 2013
Great stay at the hotel

I appreciate many aspects on Beach Plaza Hotel: perfect location, spacy and renovated room,... See full review

  • Mirka V.
  • May 29, 2013
The South Beach Plaza Hotel with its 47 fabulous rooms and eight suites has been renovated beyond recognition, while keeping its 1936 tropical art deco heritage. The new tropical art deco bathrooms and custom lighting only begin to describe the Beach Plaza Hotel rooms.

We also offer a variety of recreational activities for our guests, OFF SITE golf, yachting, tennis and much more. Sit and relax at the De Carlos Bar, located lobby level, which offers award winning design and atmosphere combined with drinks or coffee.

The Beach Plaza Hotel is located just 250 feet away from the beach and is one of the most sought after and desires locations in South Beach. Whether its dinner on Ocean Drive, shopping on Lincoln Road or clubbing on Washington, you'll find us convenient and walk- able to all.

The first of its kind in Miami Beach offering a Non-Smoking environment, smoking is permitted outdoors only. $300 + tax penalty is charged per night, when smoking in the room.

** Resort Fee: $12.99 per day/room + tax ** Not included in rate - To be paid directly at hotel at check out ** Includes Continental Breakfast - Unlimited WIFI - Wine reception - Beach Towels. ** PLEASE NOTE : During the Winter Music Conference and the Ultra Music Festival in March, as well as during the Memorial Day Week-end, the hotel will be hosting multiple events with music and a lot of people, be prepared for a louder ambiance than usual. We thank you in advance for your understanding.

South Beach Plaza Hotel Rooms

Imperial King
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial King rooms (One King Bed)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
ROH - FL ID required
Room will be assigned at check in based on availability (king or 2 dbl beds). ONLY for FL Residents Promo. Must present FL ID at check in or an extra fee will be charged upon arrival.
Imperial Double
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial Double rooms (two double Beds)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes a king bed, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes two double beds, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Beach Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7854 -80.1305
Area served
Miami Beach, FL
Nearby airports
MIA - Miami International
Area description
The Beach Plaza hotel enjoys a great location on Collins Avenue and 14th Street, just 250 feet from the beach, within easy walking distance of Washington Avenue, Lincoln Road and Ocean Drive. The Hawaiian Gardens offer a pleasant refuge from the non-stop vibes of South Beach.

Dining

De Carlos Bar / Lounge
A hip and happening bar located lobby level.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (216)

Ratings and reviews for South Beach Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
216 out of 216
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
clh0011
New York
Dec 24, 2012

awesome way to beach

All the stuff offer service with professional and customer-oriented behavior. Always cleaned and well-organized room and other service. Indeed, the special service gives customer convenient and happiness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JTakano
Walnut Creek, CA
Sep 20, 2013

I wont go back

I was going to book another hotel, because i read they had parking and the other place was a 25 dollar valet (i hate valet service). i got there and it was a valet service 25 usd just like the other hotel. i noticed my ipod cable missing from my car after the first day, but since i only noticed it later I decided to not create a big deal over a cable, but it was annoying, i felt the vallet guy really messed around on the car since even my gps was disconnected, i decided to take everything out of the car the next day. (That is why i hate valet) The location is nice, your are right in the middle of everything in south beach and a block from the beach itself. The staff was friendly and helpful. The patio was being renovated and my room was on the other side of it, i had to walk on wood boards to get there. The room was noisy and i could listen to the cars passing outside and the construction happening in the morning, also i had to listen to a couple discussion on the room next door. I felt that the room was not as clean as I was expecting and also the bed was not confortabl, it was hard, i also felt the bed was not as clean. The breakfast is just bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sun kissed
Connecticut
Sep 4, 2013

Cozy

Great place to rest your head, staff is great & helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
first timeMiamivisitor kt
Memphis, TN
Aug 25, 2013

First time Miami visitor

If you're looking for a nice place where everything is walking distance but no extras this hotel is good for just that. Ocean Drive and the beach were really close & thats was probably the best thing about this hotel. Didn't eat breakfast here, but did take advantage of a late night hookah session. Wasn't to fond of hard wood floors and a mini fridge in the rooms would help. The staff was helpful and really nice at check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean drive has everything.

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Emrenyc
Brooklyn
Aug 16, 2013

Great Location

Hotel .location is great! Pillows are terrible. Room is okay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mom from cali
calif
Aug 3, 2013

sobe hotel

starting with the positive, great location, rroms were clean..negative: beds are rock solid hard hard to sleep so hard, water pressuer in the room was terrible it came out as a slow drip,ac only has one setting so its either too cold or too hot, elevater only allows 3 people in it at one time, no room in the bathroom to put your stuff, bathroom mirror is in the way of sink so very hard to brush your teeth, breakfast very small selection juice and danish basucally.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
master tom
sanibel, fl
Jun 6, 2013

great place to experience south beach

we were well recieved..the room was small but clean and servicable..location perferect, right in the heart of south beach....and the room was quiet from the street traffic on collins...only steps away from great restraunts, ocean drive and the beach...i would readily revist this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

washington avenue and 14th a great rest., osteria del teatro

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss b23
Pittsburgh,PA
May 29, 2013

Good Location

The hotel is within walking distance to alot of the local clubs and the beach is right behind you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mirka V.
Bratislava, Slovakia
May 29, 2013

Great stay at the hotel

I appreciate many aspects on Beach Plaza Hotel: perfect location, spacy and renovated room, cleanliness and nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miami Lover24
Miami, FL
May 29, 2013

Excellent stay

Great, very clean hotel at a great location just 1 block off the beach. Staff was great and the room was very well kept. Definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

ocean blvd

Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chelby
Philadelphia, PA
May 25, 2013

Not that great

Check in and out was handled well. Very close to the beach which was great. Hotel is super old and had some strange bug that crawled into my suitcase and were in the bathroom and near the air conditioner in our room. Continental breakfast was good, coffee average. It is NOT a 3 star hotel. We stayed 2 days and it was manageable but we definitely will not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top