$65 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

South Beach Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for South Beach Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
171 out of 171
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sleepless Birthday Girl
Business
Upper Marlboro, MD
Sep 21, 2009

Great Location, but not to pleased

We visited the city, malls and the beach. The hotel rooms where small and smelly. The front lobby was very smelly. The staff was friendly. Updating the rooms is highly recommended. Compared to other hotels, this has been the worst hotel room ever. The linens where not clean and the iron was dirty/stained. The wooden floors where paint splattered stained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The location of the hotel was great. A few blocks from all the Hot South Beach clubs. A few steps from the beach and food places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Disher
Business
Staten Island, NY
Sep 7, 2009

Very Good

Very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dawn and Luis
Business
New York
Aug 31, 2009

Great Location

My first impression was that the hotel was not that impressive. The lobby was dated, the hallways were dark and the rooms were small and smelled musty. But, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the free breakfast was okay and the location was great! For the price, it was well worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The drinks on Ocean Drive are extremely over-priced. 25.00 a drink plus gratuity. Outragous...and I live in NYC. Examine your check before you leave the restaurant or bar. They add gratuity and overcharge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YU NG SPADE
Business
RICHMOND, VA
Jul 29, 2009

First Time In Florida

MY VACATION DIDN'T START OF SO GREAT, WHEN WE GOT OFF THE PLANE THE AIRLINE HAD MISPLACED OUR LUGGAGE, AFTER SOME PRAYING AND PATIENCE WE FINALLY GOT IT THOUGH! TO KEEP IT SHORT, THE CAB DRIVER WE HAD WAS GREAT AND VERY KNOWLEGEBLE AND VERY QUICK AS WELL...WHEN WE ARRIVED AT THE HOTEL THE CLERKS IMMEDIATLLY GREETED US AND OFFERED TO GRAB OUR BAGS, ARRIVED A LITTLE EARLY SO WE HAD TO WAIT UNTIL OUR ROOMS WERE READY...THE DECOR IS VERY NICE AND THE STAFF IS ULTRY FRIENDY, THE HOTEL OFFERS FREE POPCORN WHILE YOU WAIT IN THE LOBBY, THE ROOM ALWAYS SMELLED SO GOOD, KINDA OF LIKE A BAKERY ALMOST! BREAKFAST WASN'T WHAT I EXPECTED BUT OK, BAGELS AND MUFFINS ONLY, THE BED IS SO COMFORTABLE AND BIG, AND THE ROOMS LOOK BIGGER THAN THE PICS ON ORBITS, I'D RATE MY TRIP 4/5 STARS....PLANE WAS SO SMALL THOUGH

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

JOHNY ROCKETS ABOUT 5 MINS AWAY TO LEFT ON OCEAN DRIVE, PROB THE CHEAPEST PLACE ON OCEAN DRIVE TO EAT! BEWARE OF THE SALES PEOPLE ON THE SIDEWALKS, ITS BEST TO WALK ON THE STREET WITH CARS TO AVOID HTEM, BUT BECAREFUL DRIVERS IN MIAMI ARE VERY IMPATIENT

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vollleyball fanatic
Business
Central Iowa
Jun 27, 2009

Low price paradise

We had four of us from Iowa come down and relax for a couple of days before the national finals began and really enjoyed the South Beach Hotel Plaza. It is located one block form the ocean and near tons of local restaurants and gift shops. It is within walking distance of the clubs and was in a clean neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dean Langston
Business
Miami Beach, FL
Jun 8, 2009

Rooms

We had to move 4 times to different rooms. First day, the wall sockets would not work. The second room we were move to---the shower would not work. The third room we were move to roaches were in the room. The fourth room water leaked all over our clothes in the closet and carpet. Some of the clothes we have to pay to go to dry cleaner and some had to be thrown away. This was the poorest hotel service I have ever experinece in my life. I feel that I shouldn't have been charged anything for the room. I expect to hear from you about this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mKim
Business
New Jersey
May 28, 2009

Very cheap but uncomfortable

Great location... Literally a block away from the beach along with great dining areas and sight seeing. However, I was very disappointed with the Hotel. Although the staff is very friendly, the Hotel is needs renovations 911. When you first walk in the Hotel you are met with this is awful stench. I was like WOAH! There is also no vending machine in the hotel so it was somewhat uncomfortable. when you needed water. I am guessing you could go to the bar and purchase but I was unsure. Supposedly the Hotel is being sold so there will be future renovations. Also the rooms are very humid... i don't know why but the sheets were always slightly damp. The toilet didn't flush well so you had to flush multiple times. One good thing about the Hotel was free breakfast and beach towels. There is also fresh fruit during the day and wine between 5pm-6pm. It is seriously the best LOCATION. If you are just going with your friends then it wouldnt be too bad, but it is not a family friendly atmosphere because you can hear everything from the other rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
karlyku
Business
Deptford, NJ
May 11, 2009

great place for the price

Service was great. First we were in a standard room, which is exactly the way it sounds. Everything was older (carpet, shower rod, tv), but livable. Then they upgraded us for free for our anniversary to a better room. The upgraded room was a lot nicer - flatscreen tv, newer bathroom fixtures, hardwood floor. The hotel has a GREAT outdoor space with chairs,couches,& a pool table, you can buy your own liquor and drink out there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely head away from Ocean Drive. There are clubs/restaurants near or on Lincoln Road that are worth checking out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
May 2, 2009

Not GOOD

This hotel is very old, small room,their charge a extra $9.00 daily for towels and the continental breakfast even if you no want it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ocean View
Dec 17, 2008

Great location

This hotel is a great value. The location was great. walking distance to all the main attractions: 8th and Ocean, Lincoln Street and the beach. The room was good and the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The cab ride form the airport is 32 dollars

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top