$150 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 2, 2015

South Beach Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
156 reviews
Great Couple days after cruise.

Great hotel, nice staff and clean room. Staff very informative and suggested places for us to get... See full review

  • Mark B.
  • Jan 23, 2015
Weekend getaway !

The location was spectacular, I would recommend this hotel and will stay there again ! The Rooms... See full review

  • Silvia G.
  • Jan 19, 2015
The South Beach Plaza Hotel with its 47 fabulous rooms and eight suites has been renovated beyond recognition, while keeping its 1936 tropical art deco heritage. The new tropical art deco bathrooms and custom lighting only begin to describe the Beach Plaza Hotel rooms.

We also offer a variety of recreational activities for our guests, OFF SITE golf, yachting, tennis and much more. Sit and relax at the De Carlos Bar, located lobby level, which offers award winning design and atmosphere combined with drinks or coffee.

The Beach Plaza Hotel is located just 250 feet away from the beach and is one of the most sought after and desires locations in South Beach. Whether its dinner on Ocean Drive, shopping on Lincoln Road or clubbing on Washington, you'll find us convenient and walk- able to all.

The first of its kind in Miami Beach offering a Non-Smoking environment, smoking is permitted outdoors only. $300 + tax penalty is charged per night, when smoking in the room.

** Resort Fee: $12.99 per day/room + tax ** Not included in rate - To be paid directly at hotel at check out ** Includes Continental Breakfast - Unlimited WIFI - Wine reception - Beach Towels. ** PLEASE NOTE : During the Winter Music Conference and the Ultra Music Festival in March, as well as during the Memorial Day Week-end, the hotel will be hosting multiple events with music and a lot of people, be prepared for a louder ambiance than usual. We thank you in advance for your understanding.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Beach Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

South Beach Plaza Hotel Rooms

Imperial King
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial King rooms (One King Bed)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
ROH - FL ID required
Room will be assigned at check in based on availability (king or 2 dbl beds). ONLY for FL Residents Promo. Must present FL ID at check in or an extra fee will be charged upon arrival.
Imperial Double
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial Double rooms (two double Beds)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes a king bed, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes two double beds, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Dining

De Carlos Bar / Lounge
A hip and happening bar located lobby level.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (156)

Ratings and reviews for South Beach Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
156 out of 156
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 3, 2008

Watch Out

On our first day cehcking in they gave us a room that was untidy and trashed. Then moved us to another room on the 3rd floor. Our room key didnt work 3 out of the 4 days we was there. Housekeeping didnt clean our room 2 out of the 4 days and we didn have fresh towels 3 out of the 4 days also. When checking out they tried to charge me a smoking charge, even though I dont smoke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything from nitelife, shopping to dining is in walking distance. Very good location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ovide
Business
USA
Mar 16, 2008

Chic and GREAT Location

This hotel is very chic looking. Rooms were a little dated but have a cozy feel. Furniture wasd a little warn and there were very few decorative elements in the rooms. Stellar lobby and GREAT location RIGHT in the heart of SOBE! Parking was a breeze thanks to the valet and well worth the $28/day to have ti parked. Driving in SOBE is a nightmare so, drop the car off and hoof it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

11th Street Diner is opeb 24/7 and many many many clubs and restaurants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 21, 2008

Good for People who just Go to the Beach

This hotel is good for just people who go to the beach or the places around the hotels because there was no parking and the parking around the hotel is terrible. I don't recommend this hotel for people who rent a car and see the place where you drive to. And this hotel didn't clean my room at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 10, 2007

Great Location Great Price

This hotel is located one block from the beach and walking distance from restaurants and shopping. There are no refrigerators or microwaves in the rooms so we used plenty of ice from the bar located in the lobby. Overall this was a great place to stay for the location and the price. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 30, 2007

South Beach Hotel and Villas

Upon checkin the front desk sent us to a room that was already in use. so we had to wait in a hot hall way for the front desk to come up and say the same thing it was in use, there system was not correct. then we got sent to another room, that was suppose to be an upgrade which was from a king size bed to a queen. and he doors never worked. they would not lock at all, maintenance had to come and fix it. then they only put enough towels out for one person, and i had to keep asking them to put them out for two. i would not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

right in the heart of the nightlife.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 24, 2007

Great business amenities

I like the location, it's very close by the beach most of all. I was very disppoint that I can not get ice until the bar is open that will be at 4:00pm daily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

bar, clubs, shopping store and restaurant are very close by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shelita
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 16, 2007

Cute & Quaint but small

The South Beach Plaza Hotel, was very cute and quaint. Upon entering, there is a veranda that is very welcoming and the lobby has an up to date decor that is inviting and relaxing. The room was clean, but very small. There was no separation from the bathroom and bedroom, except a door; so there was no feeling of privacy. The bathroom was very small, there was no vanity area only a small overhead cabinet so you could not keep your personals in the bathroom. Also, as it is a historical hotel, the water pressure is low and the water flow is not regulated; hot and cold water kept fluctuating during showering. The hotel staff was friendly and the location was good. As I was not in the room except to sleep and shower, I was not bothered by the tight quarters of the room. I had a great trip and a pleasant stay at the hotel, I would stay there again but I'd perfer a villa if there's one available instead of a room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

One block away from Ocean Blvd., which is where there is shopping, dining, nightlife and the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Jul 14, 2007

Old and run down in South Beach

The South Beach Plaza hotel was in a nice location very close to restuarants and shops. However, the hotel was not a nice experience. The hotel smelled from the time you entered the lobby until you left. The rooms were out of date and dirty. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was very close to Lincoln Ave the main shopping and dining street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 9, 2007

Great Hotel!

This hotel is in a great location and has a great staff. The rooms are very clean for South Beach. We had a great time and will definately return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 6, 2007

Nice vacation, spot

I arrived at the Plaza to find that there was no parking, and the valet, after tip, was about $35 a day to keep a car nearby. The doorman was nice the first time I came through the door, but after a time or two, he began to look bothered that I was there. My trip was a week long, so this doorman, by the end of the week, I feel hated me. There was a 24 hour party on the block the hotel is on, so its very much a vacation destination, not for business travelers in the area. there is no wifi, and no internet connections in the rooms. however the people watching is great, and the nearby restaurants are amazing, but expensive, but so is south beach. overall- B+.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top