$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

South Beach Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1401 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
163 reviews
Spring break

We spent a week at this hotel and the staff were all so friendly. The hotel room was clean. The... See full review

  • Stephanie Mendez
  • Apr 29, 2015
Great Couple days after cruise.

Great hotel, nice staff and clean room. Staff very informative and suggested places for us to get... See full review

  • Mark B.
  • Jan 23, 2015
The South Beach Plaza Hotel with its 47 fabulous rooms and eight suites has been renovated beyond recognition, while keeping its 1936 tropical art deco heritage. The new tropical art deco bathrooms and custom lighting only begin to describe the Beach Plaza Hotel rooms.

We also offer a variety of recreational activities for our guests, OFF SITE golf, yachting, tennis and much more. Sit and relax at the De Carlos Bar, located lobby level, which offers award winning design and atmosphere combined with drinks or coffee.

The Beach Plaza Hotel is located just 250 feet away from the beach and is one of the most sought after and desires locations in South Beach. Whether its dinner on Ocean Drive, shopping on Lincoln Road or clubbing on Washington, you'll find us convenient and walk- able to all.

The first of its kind in Miami Beach offering a Non-Smoking environment, smoking is permitted outdoors only. $300 + tax penalty is charged per night, when smoking in the room.

** Resort Fee: $12.99 per day/room + tax ** Not included in rate - To be paid directly at hotel at check out ** Includes Continental Breakfast - Unlimited WIFI - Wine reception - Beach Towels. ** PLEASE NOTE : During the Winter Music Conference and the Ultra Music Festival in March, as well as during the Memorial Day Week-end, the hotel will be hosting multiple events with music and a lot of people, be prepared for a louder ambiance than usual. We thank you in advance for your understanding.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Beach Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

South Beach Plaza Hotel Rooms

Imperial King
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial King rooms (One King Bed)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
ROH - FL ID required
Room will be assigned at check in based on availability (king or 2 dbl beds). ONLY for FL Residents Promo. Must present FL ID at check in or an extra fee will be charged upon arrival.
Imperial Double
Eclectic and Unique in their decor, Inspired from Cultures and Continents the world over, The Imperial Double rooms (two double Beds)offer guests Modern conveniences in A Historic Art Deco setting. Updated for today's traveler, you will find, Bakelite inspired voice mail phones, 32 inch flat screen TVs with DVD players, WiFi access and Alarm clock radio.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes a king bed, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.
Superior Room
This superior guest room includes two double beds, art deco bathrooms, custom lighting, 25 inch TV, radio alarm clock, electronic locks, voice-mail, and bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)

Dining

De Carlos Bar / Lounge
A hip and happening bar located lobby level.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for South Beach Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
163 out of 163
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
miami beach getaway
florida
Aug 28, 2012

Perfect location!

This hotel is in great location to the beach (just one block!) and great location to a public garage. The room was good for what we need it (sleep and shower) and the people in the entrance where very nice. We arrived earlier than check in time and our room was ready and they let us check in no problem. They offer free breakfast and glass of wine in the afternoon.. what else can I ask! They required a $50 deposit for a one night stay which we gave cash when we check in and from that amount they charge the hotel fee ($12 I think) and gave the rest at check out. Overall a great experience and would recommend to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

a block west from the hotel their is a small sandwich place that look like nothing special but the sandwiches, food and smoothies are delicious

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stephanie Mendez
Business
N/A
Apr 29, 2015

Spring break

We spent a week at this hotel and the staff were all so friendly. The hotel room was clean. The location was awesome. I would stay here again. The only thing I wish they would of had in the room was a mini fridge. Also the breakfast was not the best. Everything else was perfect though. It was more then I had expected it to be for the money that we spent. It was a great price for staying down here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joshua m.
Business
N/A
Apr 10, 2015

Review

It was ok just certain things need to be handled such as the door and key and also the toilet but other then that it's at a great location and nice staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
E
Business
Brooklyn
Mar 18, 2015

It's just ok

There was renovations going on infront of the hotel. Making the hotel lobby hard to access. The $20 all you can drink for an hr was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mark B.
Business
Indianapolis
Jan 23, 2015

Great Couple days after cruise.

Great hotel, nice staff and clean room. Staff very informative and suggested places for us to get things done. Older hotel but well maintained and close to everything we needed. Just off the beach, so we had no problem catching more sun after our cruise. Will definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Silvia G.
Business
tampa
Jan 19, 2015

Weekend getaway !

The location was spectacular, I would recommend this hotel and will stay there again ! The Rooms can be updated, the beds need to be replace, make a lot noice.. But besides that, I loved it! The outside patio was very nice!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nikki the Ninja
Business
N/A
Jan 19, 2015

Great girl's getaway (22+)

Had an excellent time staying at this hotel. The location is supreme! We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go ( Wet Willie's, Fat Tuesday, etc). As far as the hotel, we were able to stay in one room comfortably the 4 of us but if we had the choice would probably book an extra room. Room was always clean and housekeeping always provided us with clean and extra towels upon request. The complimentary wine given was fine but nothing to write home about. And when you get there you'll notice the elevator states no more than three people, they mean it ! Lol found this out the hard way but the staff were pleasant and laughed with us while helping us out. For people that like to drink there's a liquor store conveniently located at the end of the block if you want to pregame or just carry on to the beach. Drink responsibly, no need to get in any trouble while on vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Definitely venture out to the restaurants on Espanola Way, trust me you won't be disappointed at all. Try out the Cuban restaurant Havana 1957, and the Mexican restaurant Oh Mexico right across from Havana 1957. Best Hispanic food out there!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Rohit
Business
Dallas
Dec 29, 2014

Great Time

Excellent place to stay, walking distance to beach. Small cozy rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ivana K.
Business
Chicago
Dec 19, 2014

Good value for money

It was good value for money because we looked for hotel on the last minute. But we spent quite a long time at reception, and I don't exaggerate, even longer because our keys did not work for both of the rooms we tried. They had problems with the door system. Room was very cold, no carpet made it even colder, we were there at late November. Bathroom was not very nice. Doors were as good as a blanket, child screaming on the whole floor between 4 and 5 am did not make it much better. No free parking, we might expect that, but it's additional money you should be aware of. Breakfast... and I like to have nice breakfast other then bread and cream cheese with orange. Personally, I would not come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Rohit
Business
Dallas
Dec 16, 2014

Great Time

Excellent place to stay, walking distance to beach. Small cozy rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Beach Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Let me write it
Business
Dallas, TX
Dec 9, 2014

It's OKAY

I was given the room by the elevator, stair well, and above the bar facing the street. Between drunk belligerent people yelling, loud music, horn honking and the constant elevator sound, this was the worst I've ever slept. Going to sleep was challenging and they told me they were completely booked so I couldn't move to another room. DO NOT STAY IN ROOM 203! Don't do it!!!!! You've been warned. Other than that, this is a standard room. Nothing special but they do offer a free glass of wine 5-6pm and have a free basic breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top