$156 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

Sole on the Ocean

4 stars
17315 Collins Ave, Sunny Isles, Fl 33106, Miami Beach, FL 33106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
83 reviews
2 Day Honeymoon Stay

Check in isn't until 4 pm, but my husband and I got there at 11:45. They said they didn't have a... See full review

  • TRichardson
  • Mar 26, 2014
Great experience

It has a great service, and staff. Overall great time!! See full review

  • Yeya0717
  • Mar 18, 2014
Escape to upscale tower hotel with poolside restaurant in Miami Beach

Travel to the northern shores of Miami for a chic, relaxing beach vacation where the ocean stretches for as far as eye can see. The 24-story high-rise Sole on the Ocean hotel combines minimalist style and beach-y function for discerning couples and families. Condo-suites boast plenty of space and amenities, including balconies for views down the beach of the exciting Miami coastline. Guests swim in the oceanfront pool or work out in the fitness center. The Sole on the Ocean hotel offers on-site dining poolside and an indoor lounge.

Highlights
  • All rooms have balconies
  • Oceanfront swimming pool
  • Pets allowed (fees apply)
  • Fitness center
  • Poolside grill and bar
Rooms

The Sole on the Ocean hotel provides 249 ultra modern rooms. Minimalist shades of cream, beige and chocolate brown are designed to soothe as the sea air drifts in over glass railing balconies. Floor-to-ceiling windows allow guests to take in full views from high above the seashore while snuggling in cozy hypoallergenic pillow-top beds. All rooms include coffee makers, LCD TVs and Wi-Fi. Large bathrooms feature rain showers and custom tile. Family suites boast state-of-the-art stainless steel kitchens and living rooms. Accessible rooms are available at the Sole on the Ocean hotel.

Features

Kick back in signature Sole on the Ocean hotel orange beach chairs shaded by oversized umbrellas with cocktail service on a quiet, breathtakingly beautiful stretch of white sand beach. The masses of South Beach 12 miles south are a faint glimmer in the distance. The swimming pool features a private gate to the sand. A health club offers a fitness center, appointments with personal trainers, massage therapists, locker rooms, steam room and sauna. The concierge at the Sole on the Ocean hotel assists with tour planning and kids' activities.

Dining

Continental breakfast and a poolside grill menu are available at the Sole on the Ocean hotel. Watch the game on a row of flat-screen TVs at the open-air pool bar. Take in sweeping ocean views from an indoor lounge at the Sole on the Ocean hotel that stays open until midnight.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (19.6 mi/31.5 km)
  • Fort Lauderdale Airport (12.3 mi/19.7 km)
  • Port of Miami (14.6 mi/23.6 km)
Attractions
  • Aventura Mall (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Gulf Stream Park Race Track (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Sun Life Stadium (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
  • South Beach (11.7 mi/18.8 km)
  • American Airlines Arena (14.3 mi/23 km)
Business
  • Business services (front desk)
  • 6,500 square feet of meeting space
  • Catering
Policies and Fees
  • The $15 USD resort fee per room per night covers Wi-Fi, beach chairs and umbrellas, gym access, daily Fiji water, coffee and tea, local calls, business center copying (max. 10 pages).
  • Roll-away beds are available in suites only, upon request and subject to availability at a cost of $30 USD per night.
  • Cribs are complimentary, subject to availability and must be requested at time of booking.
  • All guests checking in must be at least 21 years of age.
  • Valet parking is required for guests coming with a vehicle at a cost of $25 USD  plus tax per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.9366 -80.1208
Area served
Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami Intl Airport, (MIA), 20.00, MI, N; Ft Lauderdale Intl Airport, (FLL), 15.00, MI, S; Palm Beach Intl Airport, (PBI), 61.00, MI, S;
Area description
High Style on Sunny Isles Beach.
Overlooking the shimmering sands and turquoise waters of the "Florida Riviera," the ultra-contemporary Sole on the Ocean is located just north of Miami Beach, Florida, in the picturesque enclave of Sunny Isles Beach.

Towering 24 stories over Sunny Isles Beach, the hip Sole resort maintains a private beachfront and oceanside swimming pool to keep guests cool.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sole on the Ocean also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Sole on the Ocean Rooms

City View King Suite
633 sq ft Suite which Features full Kitchens, Balconies with Bay and City Views, Flat screens in Living room and Bedroom, Luxury Bathroom, custom furniture , Coffee/Tea maker. , A second Bedroom available with King bed for additional fee.
King Room
235 sq ft room with 1 King bedroom with city or Intercoastal view room Balcony 1 Bath
King Suite
633 sq ft suite which features a King one bedroom suite, Balcony, 1 Bath, Living room, Features full Kitchens City or Ocean views available subject to availability.
Double Double Room
355 sq ft room with two Double beds room with ocean view, Balcony, 1 Bath
Ocean View King Suite
640 sq ft Suite which features full Kitchens with Bar & stools, Flat screens in the Living Room and Bedroom, Balconies with ocean views, Luxury Bathroom, Coffee /Tea maker, A second Bedroom is available with King or Two Double Beds for additional fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Set your meeting in contemporary style.With 6,500 square feet of meeting space and a beautiful oceanfront setting, Sol on the Ocean in Sunny Isles delivers memorable corporate meetings, incentive trips, or social Miami events. Our hotel's event planning staff is committed to ensuring that every detail of your event is perfect, from the latest in meeting technology to customized menus and themed decor. Our catering service serves food that is locally inspired, chef-driven and creatively presented. Choose Sol on the Ocean in Sunny Isles, Florida, and you'll be assured of an event your guests will never forget: Sol Ballroom - 2,100 square feet Meeting Room/ Lounge - 1,525 square feet Meeting Room - 900 square feet Meeting Room- 350 square feet Meeting Room - 260 square feet Break-out Room - 140 square feet Private Dining Room - 225 square feet Private Out Door Terrace - 1,000 square feet.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for Sole on the Ocean

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 83
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.8

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ivan3121
CA
Jan 9, 2013

Bad hotel

From the ocean suite you don't see the ocean, the room is design very badly, the safe did't work...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
snowy03
Jackson Ca
Apr 28, 2012

could be better

When I got there I found out there was valet, and that was good but the charge was not included in the orig. price. While checking in, the lady at the front dest informed me there would be an extra $15 charged per day for the use of the spa area, and the towels available on the beach. The room was really clean and the view was half of what I was expecting. There was no chair on the balcony, it was unwelcoming and the sound of traffic overwhelmed the sound of the beach. I did get two free drinks at the outdoor pool/bar and they were really yummy. The Breakfast was awesome and the chef was very friendly and helpful with planning my day. The breakfast was not included either, so it ended up being a $25 continental breakfast with a veggie omelet on the side. I tried three times to order roomservice the first night and was met with obsticles the entire time. First, the menu was outdated, so I asked for a new one along with a menu of their spa services and extra water for my room. $18 for 4 waters. and there was no menu for the spa services. When I called down for a salad off of their new menu, it felt like they were trying to convince me not to order anything at that (almost closing) time. They put me on hold and three transfers later I got my salad 2 minutes before 10pm, when they close. All tips are included with everything you order which makes life simpler, but a 30% tip is a lot more than what I would agree they deserve. The next day I ordered a scented massage. It was lovely if you are not a prude in any way. The room I was in was facing another hotel and I really hope the window was a one way mirror cause somebody may have got a view of me while getting ready. The lady working on me was very professional, and I found out that this service was one of the only things not part of the Hotel. I paid cash becuse I was unable to charge it to my room. That was a suprise to me. The cherry on top was when I realized I left my book in the room while I was at the airport. I doubt I will see it again. I seemed to have caught them at a transitional phase.The location was great, food was really yummy, bathroom was dangerous.... I'm guessing it was a 2.5 foot deep bathtub. Kinda hard to keep your balance while getting out. It wasn't the worst experience I've ever had, I just felt weighed down with all the extra hidden charges. I'm sure I paid about $100 more than I anticipated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a little dock down the road where they sell half or full day fishing trips. Not too far from the hotel.

Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dissatisfied DREAM Guest
New York, NY, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Sole on Ocean, Miami, Fl

Have stayed at few places in Miami. Sole is missing good management and that special touch! Room has balcony but no chairs. Room has kitchen with glassware but no paper towels or dish washing liquid whereas the bathroom has tissues, soap, hair dryer, etc. Room had no latch on door to prevent entrance when guests are in room. Room was too dark. Remote not working well. Room access card not working well. Had to replace 3 times during 5 night stay. Breakfast not impressive. Self serve but they automatically add a tip/service charge. Positive Note - Parking attendants very nice & very responsive! Worked hard to get guests' cars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dew0862
Atlanta, GA, USA
Mar 19, 2012

"GOTCHA" Look out for those extra fees

I'm generally a happy-go-lucky type of person, and certainly not a hotel diva, but I was annoyed at how unfriendly the woman at the front desk was when I questioned the surprise charges at check-in. Be warned...they will hit you up for $15/day resort fee + $20/day valet parking...and you don't have a choice in either case. I tried to explain that these charges were never mentioned upon booking the reservation, but it fell on deaf ears. I was there for less than 24 hours, and it poured rain off and on for my entire stay. Therefore, I can't say I got anything for my "resort fee". Go figure. On the other hand, my room was nice and clean, although minimally appointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mokoko
Istanbul Province/Istanbul, Turkey
Oct 4, 2011

Nice place to swim in the ocean

nice hotel but breakfast is a nightmare, room service is not good they charge everything even the towels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susie1989
NYC
Sep 10, 2011

perfect getaway

loved it.... the only thing was that there was no fridge in the room... other than that... it was awesome. loved the staff, the beach.. it's a little far from everything but all restaurants and shops are a couple of blocks away. definitely coming back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wittap
Seattle WA
May 28, 2010

Mixed Bag at Sole

I was visiting family, so didn't spend much time at the hotel. It's right on the beach so that's great. And unlike some of the hotels in this area (like the Doubletree next door which charged $17/a day!) there was no surchage unless you used the facilities. My room was quite small, but it had a nice bathroom. Unfortunately, the lighting was woefully inadequate (two small lamps), the balcony was small and had no furniture, there were no glasses for water and no iron. Parking is 15/day or 20 overnight

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wittap
Seattle WA
May 28, 2010

Mixed Bag at Sole

I was visiting family, so didn't spend much time at the hotel. It's right on the beach so that's great. And unlike some of the hotels in this area (like the Doubletree next door which charged $17/a day!) there was no surchage unless you used the facilities. My room was quite small, but it had a nice bathroom. Unfortunately, the lighting was woefully inadequate (two small lamps), the balcony was small and had no furniture, there were no glasses for water and no iron. Parking is 15/day or 20 overnight

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top