$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

Sole on the Ocean

4 stars
View map of 17315 Collins Ave, Sunny Isles, Fl 33106, Miami Beach, FL 33106

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
66 reviews
Excellent location

This hotel with and excellent location, the beach was great, super organized and excellent staff.... See full review

  • Luis d
  • Sep 6, 2014
Perfect room

Sole hotel offer the best rooms for the price ! Staff is great room clean and neat, and also is has... See full review

  • Jony007
  • Sep 6, 2014
Sole on the Ocean is a Hip new 24 floor boutique hotel on Sunny Isles Beach. 15 minutes from Ft. Lauderdale Airport and 20 minutes from South Beach, makes this the perfect vacation spot or Business Meeting. Primarily Suites, Sole has recently fully opened with food service Deluxe Continental Breakfast at the Breakfast Bar , Grilling from Noon - 6pm pool side, Gym , Beach and Pool service, Women and Men Spas with Steam and Dry saunas, and Massage or other services by appointment at front desk. Alba , our lounge is open from 5pm - Midnight daily and 5 PM - 1AM on weekend and has special events monthly. Close to Sun Stadium home of Marlins and Dolphins, and minutes to Aventura Mall, and The Shops in Bal Harbor, as well as Gulf Stream Casino, Race Track and Entertainment Complex and club MiVI . The $15.00 resort fee per room per night covers Wireless, Beach chairs and Umbrella , Gym, Men and Women Spas, a bottle of Fiji water in your room daily, in room Coffee and Tea, local calls, Business Center (max 10 Pages).
Rollaway beds are available in suites only, upon request and subject to availability at a cost of $30. per night. Cribs are complimentary, subject to availability and must be requested at time of booking.


All guests checking in must be at least 21 years of age.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sole on the Ocean also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Sole on the Ocean Rooms

King Room
235 sq ft room with 1 King bedroom with city or Intercoastal view room Balcony 1 Bath
King Suite
633 sq ft suite which features a King one bedroom suite, Balcony, 1 Bath, Living room, Features full Kitchens City or Ocean views available subject to availability.
Double Double Room
355 sq ft room with two Double beds room with ocean view, Balcony, 1 Bath
Ocean View King Suite
640 sq ft Suite which features full Kitchens with Bar & stools, Flat screens in the Living Room and Bedroom, Balconies with ocean views, Luxury Bathroom, Coffee /Tea maker, A second Bedroom is available with King or Two Double Beds for additional fee.
City View King Suite
633 sq ft Suite which Features full Kitchens, Balconies with Bay and City Views, Flat screens in Living room and Bedroom, Luxury Bathroom, custom furniture , Coffee/Tea maker. , A second Bedroom available with King bed for additional fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Set your meeting in contemporary style.With 6,500 square feet of meeting space and a beautiful oceanfront setting, Sol on the Ocean in Sunny Isles delivers memorable corporate meetings, incentive trips, or social Miami events. Our hotel's event planning staff is committed to ensuring that every detail of your event is perfect, from the latest in meeting technology to customized menus and themed decor. Our catering service serves food that is locally inspired, chef-driven and creatively presented. Choose Sol on the Ocean in Sunny Isles, Florida, and you'll be assured of an event your guests will never forget: Sol Ballroom - 2,100 square feet Meeting Room/ Lounge - 1,525 square feet Meeting Room - 900 square feet Meeting Room- 350 square feet Meeting Room - 260 square feet Break-out Room - 140 square feet Private Dining Room - 225 square feet Private Out Door Terrace - 1,000 square feet.

Dining

Fresh American Bistro
Fresh American Bistro, aka F.A.B, is a seasonally charged, casually refined American bistro concept located at the Sole on the Ocean Resort and Spa in the heart of Sunny Isles Beach. Overseen by a Michelin-starred executive chef Philip Ruiz, F.A.B's culinary team is dedicated to a fresh seasonal cuisine that highlights products from local farms, fisheries, and artisan producers. Drawing from the abundant and natural resources of the area, chef Ruiz and his team created a perfect blend of classic American favorites executed with classic French techniques. F.A.B. overlooks the Atlantic Ocean from a sleek, yet intimate, dining room. Outfitted in a classic Americana style with subtle nautical references, the interior concept was conceived by hospitality creator Stephane Dupoux, who is credited with developing some of the most successful hospitality concepts worldwide, which included Buddha Bar, Nikki Beach and Seasalt and Pepper.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Sole on the Ocean

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ESW23
Business
Cresskill, NJ
Feb 11, 2014

Poorly Managed

My wife and I stayed at Sole on the Ocean for 4 nights and overall had a terrible experience. Cosmetically speaking the hotel is nice but the amenities were lacking, the room was tiny, and the majority of the staff was very poorly trained. The front desk was generally understaffed with only 1 employee, not very helpful most of the time, and flat out rude on several occasions (not even to us but to other guests in front of us). There was broken glass in the hallway outside our room door for almost 48 hours and was only cleaned up after multiple complaints. Certainly NOT a 4 star hotel by any means.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Momma123
Business
North Carolina
Apr 16, 2014

Owner of hotel is not pleasant

Everything at the hotel was great untill the hotel owner came and yelled at the top of his voice at our group of ppl and kicked us out for something we didn't do, spent a whole bunch of money and the treatment we got was terrible never going back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Phoenixeye
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 24, 2012

Birthday Get-away

Great Location. Lousy Hotel. The room was tacky and the room lighting was something out of a 60's movie. The best part of the room was the ocean view. Hotel registration was something you expected at a third-rate motel. We'll take your credit card hold for $150.00 incidentals (of course) but don't ask for a list of local restaurants, or expect prompt housekeeping service. Next time, we'll spend a little more for the far better hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Epicurean restaurant and market is a short walk from the hotel. The food is pricey but good. Great place to people watch.

Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dr. AMS
Business
Canada
Apr 30, 2012

Rip off

dirty room! Unfriendly staff. Everything had a hidden cost. Everything. Surprise check out charges without warning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 28, 2011

Nice Staff; Hotel Lacks Comfort

Staff - Extremely friendly and willing to assist Room - Very small!! The bed and nightstand were both one foot off the floor. It was like the room of a 5 year old. No iron. One small bar of soap. No kitchen in the hotel. No microwave or fridge in a king room. Hidden fee - Was not aware of a mandatory service charge of $15 per day. Beach Chairs - Could not get beach chairs until 9:30. All other hotel put theirs out at 8. Will not visit Sole again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Must rent a car. Hotel is far from major venues.

Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mariu
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 15, 2011

No-No-No- Don't stay here

Do yourself a favor: don't stay here. Bad costumer service. No towels in our room! we called and it took them at least 45 minutes to bring us the towels. Also, no sheets! broken light bulbs, broken coffee maker. We decided to try the breakfast and it was very expensive and bad. Staff wasn't nice, very rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Waist of time
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Oct 2, 2011

Overrated !!!!

it's cramped in this little space, the rooms were very tiny and not clean. I was very disappointed. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Memo Stmichel
Business
Atlanta
Apr 17, 2015

BEWARE! A NICE HOTEL DESTROYED BY HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT!!!

Please save your money and stay away from this place! At first glance it seems nice enough however, the service at this place is beyond horrible. Without detailing all of the bad experiences, I will simply say that I was asked to leave the hotel by the manager after simply asking for a discounted room rate for my additional nights stay. I asked for this rate after spending over an hour trying to find my breakfast which was ultimately lost not delivered at the requested time and, finally told that breakfast was over so there was nothing they could do to serve me. I truly cannot explain why I was asked to leave. Management has established a culture that will make you wish you stayed ANYWHERE else! The Marena's hotel one block away is a better choice for value location quality and, good old fashioned hospitality. You will be sorry if you stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Weekend in the sun
Business
Sunny isles
Mar 10, 2014

Weekend sun

The bathroom was less than adequate for the cost per night will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelerDTT
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Not a good experience

Front desk staff was very unfriendly - haven't heard a 'welcome to Sole', 'thank you for your business', 'can we do anything for you' even once. Definitely never smiled at any of the guests. Many people at the front desk with problems (toilet not working, room is too small, reservation was wrong, etc). We had to call to request towels, housekeeping services, etc... (they assisted us right away, but it should be a given in a 'fancy' hotel to find towels in your room). Hotel charges a $15 resort fee a day, even if on Monday and Tuesday there were no benches, towels, pool bar or any of the amenities included on the resort fee. Hotel 'welcome letter' indicates that the room was luxuriously appointed, so if you choose to steal anything your card will be charged for that. Nice (I mean, they are NOT a interstate motel to have to write that to their guests). You pay for extra coffee pods in the room. Sauna was great at night, but when I went there were towels tossed on the floor in the morning. Hotel is clearly understaffed. We did not eat breakfast there, but it was available (did not look great or worthy the price) Juts go across the street to a great gourmet market. Location is excellent if you are looking for a quiet time on the beach (like we were). If you are looking for dining out and going out, do not stay in Sunny Isle - there is absolutely nothing to do here. Hotel bar is very expensive ($10 for a Heineken in a plastic cup), but bartender is very nice. Room is VERY small and the bed was very uncomfortable! Bathroom was nice and the view was great, even on the city view room. For the money, you can do better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For meals, coffee or snacks, go to the Epicurous Market just across the street - great food and service.

Back to menu Return to top