$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Sole on the Ocean

4 stars
17315 Collins Ave, Sunny Isles, Fl 33106, Miami Beach, FL 33106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
72 reviews
2 Day Honeymoon Stay

Check in isn't until 4 pm, but my husband and I got there at 11:45. They said they didn't have a... See full review

  • TRichardson
  • Mar 26, 2014
Great experience

It has a great service, and staff. Overall great time!! See full review

  • Yeya0717
  • Mar 18, 2014
Escape to upscale tower hotel with poolside restaurant in Miami Beach

Travel to the northern shores of Miami for a chic, relaxing beach vacation where the ocean stretches for as far as eye can see. The 24-story high-rise Sole on the Ocean hotel combines minimalist style and beach-y function for discerning couples and families. Condo-suites boast plenty of space and amenities, including balconies for views down the beach of the exciting Miami coastline. Guests swim in the oceanfront pool or work out in the fitness center. The Sole on the Ocean hotel offers on-site dining poolside and an indoor lounge.

Highlights
  • All rooms have balconies
  • Oceanfront swimming pool
  • Pets allowed (fees apply)
  • Fitness center
  • Poolside grill and bar
Rooms

The Sole on the Ocean hotel provides 249 ultra modern rooms. Minimalist shades of cream, beige and chocolate brown are designed to soothe as the sea air drifts in over glass railing balconies. Floor-to-ceiling windows allow guests to take in full views from high above the seashore while snuggling in cozy hypoallergenic pillow-top beds. All rooms include coffee makers, LCD TVs and Wi-Fi. Large bathrooms feature rain showers and custom tile. Family suites boast state-of-the-art stainless steel kitchens and living rooms. Accessible rooms are available at the Sole on the Ocean hotel.

Features

Kick back in signature Sole on the Ocean hotel orange beach chairs shaded by oversized umbrellas with cocktail service on a quiet, breathtakingly beautiful stretch of white sand beach. The masses of South Beach 12 miles south are a faint glimmer in the distance. The swimming pool features a private gate to the sand. A health club offers a fitness center, appointments with personal trainers, massage therapists, locker rooms, steam room and sauna. The concierge at the Sole on the Ocean hotel assists with tour planning and kids' activities.

Dining

Continental breakfast and a poolside grill menu are available at the Sole on the Ocean hotel. Watch the game on a row of flat-screen TVs at the open-air pool bar. Take in sweeping ocean views from an indoor lounge at the Sole on the Ocean hotel that stays open until midnight.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (19.6 mi/31.5 km)
  • Fort Lauderdale Airport (12.3 mi/19.7 km)
  • Port of Miami (14.6 mi/23.6 km)
Attractions
  • Aventura Mall (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Gulf Stream Park Race Track (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Sun Life Stadium (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
  • South Beach (11.7 mi/18.8 km)
  • American Airlines Arena (14.3 mi/23 km)
Business
  • Business services (front desk)
  • 6,500 square feet of meeting space
  • Catering
Policies and Fees
  • The $15 USD resort fee per room per night covers Wi-Fi, beach chairs and umbrellas, gym access, daily Fiji water, coffee and tea, local calls, business center copying (max. 10 pages).
  • Roll-away beds are available in suites only, upon request and subject to availability at a cost of $30 USD per night.
  • Cribs are complimentary, subject to availability and must be requested at time of booking.
  • All guests checking in must be at least 21 years of age.
  • Valet parking is required for guests coming with a vehicle at a cost of $25 USD  plus tax per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.9366 -80.1208
Area served
Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami Intl Airport, (MIA), 20.00, MI, N; Ft Lauderdale Intl Airport, (FLL), 15.00, MI, S; Palm Beach Intl Airport, (PBI), 61.00, MI, S;
Area description
High Style on Sunny Isles Beach.
Overlooking the shimmering sands and turquoise waters of the "Florida Riviera," the ultra-contemporary Sole on the Ocean is located just north of Miami Beach, Florida, in the picturesque enclave of Sunny Isles Beach.

Towering 24 stories over Sunny Isles Beach, the hip Sole resort maintains a private beachfront and oceanside swimming pool to keep guests cool.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sole on the Ocean also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Sole on the Ocean Rooms

City View King Suite
633 sq ft Suite which Features full Kitchens, Balconies with Bay and City Views, Flat screens in Living room and Bedroom, Luxury Bathroom, custom furniture , Coffee/Tea maker. , A second Bedroom available with King bed for additional fee.
King Room
235 sq ft room with 1 King bedroom with city or Intercoastal view room Balcony 1 Bath
King Suite
633 sq ft suite which features a King one bedroom suite, Balcony, 1 Bath, Living room, Features full Kitchens City or Ocean views available subject to availability.
Double Double Room
355 sq ft room with two Double beds room with ocean view, Balcony, 1 Bath
Ocean View King Suite
640 sq ft Suite which features full Kitchens with Bar & stools, Flat screens in the Living Room and Bedroom, Balconies with ocean views, Luxury Bathroom, Coffee /Tea maker, A second Bedroom is available with King or Two Double Beds for additional fee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Set your meeting in contemporary style.With 6,500 square feet of meeting space and a beautiful oceanfront setting, Sol on the Ocean in Sunny Isles delivers memorable corporate meetings, incentive trips, or social Miami events. Our hotel's event planning staff is committed to ensuring that every detail of your event is perfect, from the latest in meeting technology to customized menus and themed decor. Our catering service serves food that is locally inspired, chef-driven and creatively presented. Choose Sol on the Ocean in Sunny Isles, Florida, and you'll be assured of an event your guests will never forget: Sol Ballroom - 2,100 square feet Meeting Room/ Lounge - 1,525 square feet Meeting Room - 900 square feet Meeting Room- 350 square feet Meeting Room - 260 square feet Break-out Room - 140 square feet Private Dining Room - 225 square feet Private Out Door Terrace - 1,000 square feet.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for Sole on the Ocean

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ESW23
Cresskill, NJ
Feb 11, 2014

Poorly Managed

My wife and I stayed at Sole on the Ocean for 4 nights and overall had a terrible experience. Cosmetically speaking the hotel is nice but the amenities were lacking, the room was tiny, and the majority of the staff was very poorly trained. The front desk was generally understaffed with only 1 employee, not very helpful most of the time, and flat out rude on several occasions (not even to us but to other guests in front of us). There was broken glass in the hallway outside our room door for almost 48 hours and was only cleaned up after multiple complaints. Certainly NOT a 4 star hotel by any means.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Momma123
North Carolina
Apr 16, 2014

Owner of hotel is not pleasant

Everything at the hotel was great untill the hotel owner came and yelled at the top of his voice at our group of ppl and kicked us out for something we didn't do, spent a whole bunch of money and the treatment we got was terrible never going back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
arch
Business
aventura, fl
Aug 22, 2011

horrible hotel experience

this was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. I didn't check because it was already paid for. These were the smallest rooms I have ever seen. No towels in the bathroom, no desk, no coffee. There was only one computer for the entire hote which could not open Adobe files, had no printer to print boarding pass. No restaurant on the premises, the bar only had one bottle of each item. They imported food from a restaurant down the sstreet. I order an antipasta which came with no bread or condiments. The bill had a 15% gratituty already on it. The elevator from the bar area only took you down to the pool, it did not work to return you back upstairs, once down there, you had to walk around the complex to get back to the front to get an elevator back upstairs. I had to get three rroms changes before I could get a decent room. You had to pay for garage and resort fees dailly. Who ever appoved this property should be fired. I deserve a full refund for this experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Phoenixeye
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 24, 2012

Birthday Get-away

Great Location. Lousy Hotel. The room was tacky and the room lighting was something out of a 60's movie. The best part of the room was the ocean view. Hotel registration was something you expected at a third-rate motel. We'll take your credit card hold for $150.00 incidentals (of course) but don't ask for a list of local restaurants, or expect prompt housekeeping service. Next time, we'll spend a little more for the far better hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Epicurean restaurant and market is a short walk from the hotel. The food is pricey but good. Great place to people watch.

Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dr. AMS
Canada
Apr 30, 2012

Rip off

dirty room! Unfriendly staff. Everything had a hidden cost. Everything. Surprise check out charges without warning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Aug 28, 2011

Nice Staff; Hotel Lacks Comfort

Staff - Extremely friendly and willing to assist Room - Very small!! The bed and nightstand were both one foot off the floor. It was like the room of a 5 year old. No iron. One small bar of soap. No kitchen in the hotel. No microwave or fridge in a king room. Hidden fee - Was not aware of a mandatory service charge of $15 per day. Beach Chairs - Could not get beach chairs until 9:30. All other hotel put theirs out at 8. Will not visit Sole again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Must rent a car. Hotel is far from major venues.

Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mariu
New York, NY, USA
Aug 15, 2011

No-No-No- Don't stay here

Do yourself a favor: don't stay here. Bad costumer service. No towels in our room! we called and it took them at least 45 minutes to bring us the towels. Also, no sheets! broken light bulbs, broken coffee maker. We decided to try the breakfast and it was very expensive and bad. Staff wasn't nice, very rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Waist of time
Orlando, FL, USA
Oct 2, 2011

Overrated !!!!

it's cramped in this little space, the rooms were very tiny and not clean. I was very disappointed. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Yanina
Denver
Jul 9, 2012

Awful Experience

Awful experience. Just got back from my vacation from Florida. I would never recommend it. Front Desk people are RUDE, especially Alyza Sotnikoff. Credit card was charged twice for not sure what and when I called to get an explanation, nobody replied back. My room was not cleaned until 6 pm. When I called to Guest Service 3 times and asked if my room going to be cleaned I received "Nope" as an answer. What kind of Customer Service is that? I asked at least to bring me new towels. I was waiting for an hour and half. I got no apologies instead they yelled at me at the front desk.I don't think anyone should be treated like that for their own money. I was late to my dinner and Museum this night. My vacation was ruined. I would never recommend to anyone this hotel. Valet Parking is $25 per day Resort Fee is &15 per day Check out 11 AM Late check out at 3 PM $75 charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Weekend in the sun
Sunny isles
Mar 10, 2014

Weekend sun

The bathroom was less than adequate for the cost per night will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search