$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 16, 2015 Check-out: Jun 19, 2015

Sole on the Ocean

4 stars
View map of 17315 Collins Ave, Sunny Isles, Fl 33106, Miami Beach, FL 33106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sole on the Ocean

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alex101
Business
West Lafayette, IN, USA
Oct 27, 2011

Great relaxing vacation

Great location in North Beach, walking distance to several restaurants (Japanese, south American, Denny's, Russian, ice-cream) also a couple of small strip malls. Hotel is right on the beach and the views were great (I was on the 24th floor ;-) ), the lounge chairs on the beach were nice and my wife and I took a few naps on them. The ambiance was peaceful and that is what you want in North Beach, if you want to party go to South Beach. The Staff was great the rooms were very clean and the whole building looked like new. I will certainly come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an Ice-cream place north of the hotel that is the best I have ever had. The place is called Dolce vita.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DebbieBG
Business
argentina
Oct 23, 2011

2nd time there, great equation

for the price is really great 46' LCD, amazing view to the ocean, great location, good mattresses and pillows, coffee and tea at your room. The only thing is you need to add to your budget the 15 dolars per day of resort fee plus 20 per day of valet because you are obliged to pay it, you have no option. The rest is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you go with kids you have a very nice park across the street and a Starbucks 1 block from that!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelerDTT
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Not a good experience

Front desk staff was very unfriendly - haven't heard a 'welcome to Sole', 'thank you for your business', 'can we do anything for you' even once. Definitely never smiled at any of the guests. Many people at the front desk with problems (toilet not working, room is too small, reservation was wrong, etc). We had to call to request towels, housekeeping services, etc... (they assisted us right away, but it should be a given in a 'fancy' hotel to find towels in your room). Hotel charges a $15 resort fee a day, even if on Monday and Tuesday there were no benches, towels, pool bar or any of the amenities included on the resort fee. Hotel 'welcome letter' indicates that the room was luxuriously appointed, so if you choose to steal anything your card will be charged for that. Nice (I mean, they are NOT a interstate motel to have to write that to their guests). You pay for extra coffee pods in the room. Sauna was great at night, but when I went there were towels tossed on the floor in the morning. Hotel is clearly understaffed. We did not eat breakfast there, but it was available (did not look great or worthy the price) Juts go across the street to a great gourmet market. Location is excellent if you are looking for a quiet time on the beach (like we were). If you are looking for dining out and going out, do not stay in Sunny Isle - there is absolutely nothing to do here. Hotel bar is very expensive ($10 for a Heineken in a plastic cup), but bartender is very nice. Room is VERY small and the bed was very uncomfortable! Bathroom was nice and the view was great, even on the city view room. For the money, you can do better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For meals, coffee or snacks, go to the Epicurous Market just across the street - great food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Oct 18, 2011

great property

Sole on the Ocean was a great value and located just a mile walk from the best beach in Sunny Isles and all of South Florida Haulover Beach. No Tanlines

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

go to the best beach in Fl....Haulover. Wife loves no tan lines

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B William
Business
Springfield, IL, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Long Weekend Away

The trip began a little bad. Our room was extremely small and our "neighbors" very loud. We complained to the front desk and asked to be moved. Not only did they move us, they moved us to a suite at no extra costs. Views awesome as was the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the airport shuttle service - can walk to most things once at hotel and avoid the need for costly cab or valet parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mokoko
Business
Istanbul Province/Istanbul, Turkey
Oct 4, 2011

Nice place to swim in the ocean

nice hotel but breakfast is a nightmare, room service is not good they charge everything even the towels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Line
Business
NY
Oct 4, 2011

quick getaway

My husband and I stayed there for 3 days we had an amazing time. The staff was great we were treated like royalty ,anything we needed was brought up to our room right away that made our stay very convenient . we will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for 5 stars services for cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

definitely need to go to la sandwicherie in south beach the best sandwich in town ....................and it's cheap

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mokoko
Business
Istanbul Province/Istanbul, Turkey
Oct 4, 2011

Nice place to swim in the ocean

nice hotel but breakfast is a nightmare, room service is not good they charge everything even the towels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Waist of time
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Oct 2, 2011

Overrated !!!!

it's cramped in this little space, the rooms were very tiny and not clean. I was very disappointed. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
varda
Business
boston,ma
Oct 1, 2011

nice location

Nice location, clean rooms but poor breakfast. Hotel needs proffesional staff for dining and reception.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Ashort drive to Aventura shopping mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top