$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Sole on the Ocean

4 stars
View map of 17315 Collins Ave, Sunny Isles, Fl 33106, Miami Beach, FL 33106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sole on the Ocean

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelerDTT
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Not a good experience

Front desk staff was very unfriendly - haven't heard a 'welcome to Sole', 'thank you for your business', 'can we do anything for you' even once. Definitely never smiled at any of the guests. Many people at the front desk with problems (toilet not working, room is too small, reservation was wrong, etc). We had to call to request towels, housekeeping services, etc... (they assisted us right away, but it should be a given in a 'fancy' hotel to find towels in your room). Hotel charges a $15 resort fee a day, even if on Monday and Tuesday there were no benches, towels, pool bar or any of the amenities included on the resort fee. Hotel 'welcome letter' indicates that the room was luxuriously appointed, so if you choose to steal anything your card will be charged for that. Nice (I mean, they are NOT a interstate motel to have to write that to their guests). You pay for extra coffee pods in the room. Sauna was great at night, but when I went there were towels tossed on the floor in the morning. Hotel is clearly understaffed. We did not eat breakfast there, but it was available (did not look great or worthy the price) Juts go across the street to a great gourmet market. Location is excellent if you are looking for a quiet time on the beach (like we were). If you are looking for dining out and going out, do not stay in Sunny Isle - there is absolutely nothing to do here. Hotel bar is very expensive ($10 for a Heineken in a plastic cup), but bartender is very nice. Room is VERY small and the bed was very uncomfortable! Bathroom was nice and the view was great, even on the city view room. For the money, you can do better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For meals, coffee or snacks, go to the Epicurous Market just across the street - great food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Oct 18, 2011

great property

Sole on the Ocean was a great value and located just a mile walk from the best beach in Sunny Isles and all of South Florida Haulover Beach. No Tanlines

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

go to the best beach in Fl....Haulover. Wife loves no tan lines

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B William
Business
Springfield, IL, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Long Weekend Away

The trip began a little bad. Our room was extremely small and our "neighbors" very loud. We complained to the front desk and asked to be moved. Not only did they move us, they moved us to a suite at no extra costs. Views awesome as was the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the airport shuttle service - can walk to most things once at hotel and avoid the need for costly cab or valet parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mokoko
Business
Istanbul Province/Istanbul, Turkey
Oct 4, 2011

Nice place to swim in the ocean

nice hotel but breakfast is a nightmare, room service is not good they charge everything even the towels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Line
Business
NY
Oct 4, 2011

quick getaway

My husband and I stayed there for 3 days we had an amazing time. The staff was great we were treated like royalty ,anything we needed was brought up to our room right away that made our stay very convenient . we will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for 5 stars services for cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

definitely need to go to la sandwicherie in south beach the best sandwich in town ....................and it's cheap

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Waist of time
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Oct 2, 2011

Overrated !!!!

it's cramped in this little space, the rooms were very tiny and not clean. I was very disappointed. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
varda
Business
boston,ma
Oct 1, 2011

nice location

Nice location, clean rooms but poor breakfast. Hotel needs proffesional staff for dining and reception.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Ashort drive to Aventura shopping mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cancún, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Sep 29, 2011

Very nice but more a appartment Complex

it was very nice, nice beach close to all atraccion, very nice to travel with children because you have the playground just in front. and its with more rooms so you can easily travel with 4 kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gladis
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 26, 2011

mostly staff:

Well let me star off with saying that it was our first time in Miami...as soon as we entered Hotel we were recieved with a non-friendly welcome, first by this lady called "Robin" wich had to right to be welcoming guest with an attitude. 2nd the valet parking guys were extreamly rude, thank god u guys changed company wich let me tell you they are sooo nice and friendly :) ((MILTON)) at the front desk was soo helpful,nice,friendly and real profesional. Other than that the room was great really nice and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Kayaking!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
key west, florida
Sep 24, 2011

fantastic romantic weekend!

quiet, clean beautiful hotel! nice beach, good service there, side ocean view even from sity view side, beautiful bathroom. great value for the money!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top