$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2015 Check-out: Aug 20, 2015

Sole on the Ocean

4 stars
View map of 17315 Collins Ave, Sunny Isles, Fl 33106, Miami Beach, FL 33106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sole on the Ocean

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roee
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Great weekend getaway

Great location, nice modern and comfortable room. Great weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Canuc
Business
Canada
Jan 29, 2012

Great Location

It is a beautiful place but needs some help. The rooms are a little small for a King Size Bed. room amenities were limited but available on demand. Views of city and ocean were great but no chairs on the balcony. Staff was excellent but room service was way too slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All types of good dining in a safe walking distance.

Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J675
Business
Wisconsin
Jan 28, 2012

good escape

great beach...suite was well-sized with full kitchen...lacked the little things like facial tissue, extra pillows, etc., all of which would be provided if requested. Good reasonable dining options and stores within three blocks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smilingmona
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Dec 3, 2011

Better than we expected

We were in town for a wedding taking place at close by Newport Beach Resort. We chose Sole as the alternate to the wedding hotel. We were not disappointed. We reserved an ocean front king sized room but were upgraded to a suite. Which was a great relief as we heard the room sizes were small. The suite was very nice. There were a few details though that the hotel could brush up on. For instance we had a dishwasher in the kitchen with no dishwasher supplies. There are plates and cups also but no cook ware. Also the service times for housecleaning could be more consistent. One day was 4 pm, another 10 am. But overall we would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Duckiefried
Business
Montvale, NJ, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Looks can be deceiving

The hotel is squished between other hotels/condos etc. There is no front entrance to gracefully walk upto. Rooms are very smaill. There are not baths and limited amenities. Pool is quaint but has place to lounge. Entrance to pool is through the garage. Cleanliness was not up to par. For it's location price was fair. Lunch at the beach was very tasty. Beach and pool service slow. Front desk and valet were the best part of the stay. Very friendly and alway available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is Epicure, a upscale supermarket/eatery. Food is very fresh and good but pricey.

Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Judit
Business
Canada
Nov 5, 2011

Needs a lot of things to be really good

We arrived and the room was terrible, but next day we got a suit which was better,thanks to one of the guys at the desk The rooms have no Kleenex, only one towel per person,if you want to take a shower morning and evening you have to ask for it. We wanted to sit on the balcony,they did not provide a chair I asked. The beach is beautiful and the staff is very nice there. All in all we had the opinion, that it needs some improvement yet. J G.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alex101
Business
West Lafayette, IN, USA
Oct 27, 2011

Great relaxing vacation

Great location in North Beach, walking distance to several restaurants (Japanese, south American, Denny's, Russian, ice-cream) also a couple of small strip malls. Hotel is right on the beach and the views were great (I was on the 24th floor ;-) ), the lounge chairs on the beach were nice and my wife and I took a few naps on them. The ambiance was peaceful and that is what you want in North Beach, if you want to party go to South Beach. The Staff was great the rooms were very clean and the whole building looked like new. I will certainly come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an Ice-cream place north of the hotel that is the best I have ever had. The place is called Dolce vita.

Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DebbieBG
Business
argentina
Oct 23, 2011

2nd time there, great equation

for the price is really great 46' LCD, amazing view to the ocean, great location, good mattresses and pillows, coffee and tea at your room. The only thing is you need to add to your budget the 15 dolars per day of resort fee plus 20 per day of valet because you are obliged to pay it, you have no option. The rest is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you go with kids you have a very nice park across the street and a Starbucks 1 block from that!

Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TravelerDTT
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Not a good experience

Front desk staff was very unfriendly - haven't heard a 'welcome to Sole', 'thank you for your business', 'can we do anything for you' even once. Definitely never smiled at any of the guests. Many people at the front desk with problems (toilet not working, room is too small, reservation was wrong, etc). We had to call to request towels, housekeeping services, etc... (they assisted us right away, but it should be a given in a 'fancy' hotel to find towels in your room). Hotel charges a $15 resort fee a day, even if on Monday and Tuesday there were no benches, towels, pool bar or any of the amenities included on the resort fee. Hotel 'welcome letter' indicates that the room was luxuriously appointed, so if you choose to steal anything your card will be charged for that. Nice (I mean, they are NOT a interstate motel to have to write that to their guests). You pay for extra coffee pods in the room. Sauna was great at night, but when I went there were towels tossed on the floor in the morning. Hotel is clearly understaffed. We did not eat breakfast there, but it was available (did not look great or worthy the price) Juts go across the street to a great gourmet market. Location is excellent if you are looking for a quiet time on the beach (like we were). If you are looking for dining out and going out, do not stay in Sunny Isle - there is absolutely nothing to do here. Hotel bar is very expensive ($10 for a Heineken in a plastic cup), but bartender is very nice. Room is VERY small and the bed was very uncomfortable! Bathroom was nice and the view was great, even on the city view room. For the money, you can do better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For meals, coffee or snacks, go to the Epicurous Market just across the street - great food and service.

Review of Sole on the Ocean

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Oct 18, 2011

great property

Sole on the Ocean was a great value and located just a mile walk from the best beach in Sunny Isles and all of South Florida Haulover Beach. No Tanlines

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

go to the best beach in Fl....Haulover. Wife loves no tan lines

Back to menu Return to top