$76 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 17, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

Riviera South Beach Hotel

4 stars
2000 Liberty Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
88 reviews
Great Hotel

The Hotel is in a good location and amenities are great, staff is friendly. See full review

  • Jorge tel
  • Sep 8, 2014
Loved it

Vacay get away, great time loved everything.will stay again. See full review

  • Buttercuphunat
  • Aug 14, 2014
Blending classic sophistication and contemporary chic, the Riviera South Beach hotel offers stylish one-bedroom apartment-like accommodations with gourmet kitchens, separate living and dining areas at affordable hotel room prices. The Miami Beach 1940s classic jewel is now transformed into a boutique hideaway for jetsetters and trendsetters alike. Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a "Check Card", this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold. The hotel will charge a resort fee of $15 plus tax per night.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check-in.

Please be advised, our airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11. Due to Miami Beach bridge scheduled closures, we are unable to retrieve guests after this time. We of course begin our normal schedule the following day, 1/1/12.

Hotel Map

25.7963 -80.1303
Area served
Miami Beach.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport.
Area description
Miami Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riviera South Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Riviera South Beach Hotel Rooms

Petite
One large guest room without living/dining area. Occupancy limited to 2 guest only please. Guests will enjoy a queen size bed with 100% organic cotton pillow top mattresses and 300 thread count sheets, wall mounted 42" plasma TV, Ipod docking station, plus a fully equipped kitchen, gourmet cook tops, stainless steel appliances, personal Keurig coffee machines.
Lux One Bedroom Suite
Guests will enjoy a king size bed with 100% organic cotton pillow top mattresses and 300 thread count sheets, oversized writing desk and a wall mounted 42" plasma TV. A separate living room features a custom designed leather sofa, a 42" plasma TV, Ipod docking station, plus a fully equipped kitchen, gourmet cook tops, stainless steel appliances, personal Keurig coffee machines and dining area. The bathroom features rain shower heads with separate entrances to living room and bedroom.
Lux One Bedroom Suite - Pool View
Guests will enjoy a king size bed with 100% organic cotton pillow top mattresses and 300 thread count sheets, oversized writing desk and a wall mounted 42" plasma TV. A separate living room features a custom designed leather sofa, a 42" plasma TV, Ipod docking station, plus a fully equipped kitchen, gourmet cook tops, stainless steel appliances, personal Keurig coffee machines and dining area. The bathroom features rain shower heads with separate entrances to living room and bedroom.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Laundry service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Riviera South Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riviera South Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Soledam
Atlanta,Georgia
Mar 18, 2014

Not what they advertise

No hot water for showers at any time of the day, the room temperature is controlled by the lobby, so if you're cold, you can't try to be a bit warmer. The staff is rude and very loud, house keeping gossiping outside of my door for at least 40 min. You have to pay 15 dlls a day for "resort" in which this case, they mean resort by a 3 foot deep pool with nothing around it but three mattresses to lay down! My room was not the one I had chosen when I booked and it was very disappointing. Other than that, the valet parking was very convenient and not overpriced, the beach is very close and everything else is within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riviera South Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alvaro Perez
New York, NY
Feb 23, 2014

You ruined my vacation

1. I was sick and couldn't turn off the AC and after several complaints the manager changed my room. 2. Never changed the sheets, after 3 days I complaint and they told me that I need it to ask. 3. No shampoo in the room. 4. No cold water in the room so I had to brush my teeth with hot water, again after I complaint they sent a plumber and interrupted my rest time. 5. Valet parking was the worst, got a ticket and made me wait for 35 minutes most of the time. 6. The hotel gave me a $50 gift for the restaurant and we couldn't even eat. HORRIBLE 7. Spent half of my time complaining about the hotel. 8. Sad part that I couldn't do anything or change the hotel. 8. Ruined my shirt with some lilly flowers very closed to the people on the check in counter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

MILO'S

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riviera South Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dallas 2 Miami
dallas
May 28, 2012

Horrible place

Worst hotel experience. Front desk staff were rude and swore - dropped the f word when equipment malfunctioned. Have a feather allergy and requested room without. Called twice to confirm and nothing was done. When asked at the front desk, they told us to deal with it and that they have not non-feather pillows. Spent the weekend with no pillows. Requested to meet with the manager two times. First time we waited 45 minutes and the staff said she was busy with paperwork. Second time she never showed up. Front desk staff will keep you waiting while on their personal cell phone conversaations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riviera South Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NurseRae
West Palm Beach
Jan 15, 2014

Worst experience ever

I got this room online because it featured a great price and needed to stay close by for appointment at 7:00 in morning. Once we arrived check in took 45 minutes of standing and staring at two very slow receptionists having numerous credit card issues. After finally arriving in our room we hit up the ice cold rooftop pool and came back for a shower...after which someone started to enter our room when we were stark naked coming out of shower!!! Apparently their computer went down and they re assigned our room to someone else! The sheets were unchanged from previous people who stayed...after getting free dinner from manager we had housekeeper change the bed. As she was leaving she didn't change pillowcases...when I asked her she said pillowcases??? Like....why would I do that!?!? In the morning I called for my overpriced (32.00 a night) valet parked car...at 6:15...at 6:50 still NO CAR!!! Arrived at my appointment (whole reason I was staying there!) 15 mins late completely starving since breakfast was out of the question since I spent all my time waiting for my car!!!! Rooms small, loud banging overhead heard OVER my max loud white noise on iPad....running on upper floor??? Overall I have stayed at nicer Holiday Inns than this place...don't go!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riviera South Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sad David
Pittsburgh, PA
Feb 7, 2011

Really bad experience

When we arrived we saw there was significant construction going on. As we checked in, we asked to see the room and were told the elevator was not working so needed to take the stairs. We were also told the hallways were being painted which explained the strong odors in the hallways and the room. Since my wife has problems with her back and neck, we decided not to stay at the hotel for any of our 3 nights we reserved. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riviera South Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Apr 18, 2011

Front Desk Attitude

The rooms are quite nice though very dark. The walls however are paper thin and can certainly hear any conversation. With the exception of the bellman / valet when we checked in (sorry forgot this gentlemen's name) - but he was great. The front desk staff was less than accomodating and gave such negative attitude. Had an issue w/ someone banging on my door at 5:30 am trying to get in. Front desk staff no help, just about ripped the guys head off to get him to leave. Their sister property is a few blocks away and has a restaurant. The flyer we rcvd upon check-in stated we could rcv 15% discount there for any meal. That was certainly not true...brought up twice to front desk staff and they seemed to not care. Overall, nice property, HORRIBLE staff (except bellman) - will NOT stay here again due to extremely poor customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riviera South Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nyc
Jun 19, 2011

Not for party go-ers

Elevator not workinghotel/[...]made mistake w/bookingThey put a radio next to door, then tell you its too loud.Not a party friendly hotel..... at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riviera South Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
J See J
New Jersey
Aug 19, 2013

One & Done

This boutique hotel has some nice features but lacks the staff to warrant a return visit. The roof top pool is a great place to relax and feel above the hustle of the city. The ground floor pool is attractive with small cabanas and trees. The continental breakfast is adequate with juice, fruit, french toast, pastries and coffee. The hard-boiled eggs were rubbery though. Unfortunately, anytime we had to interact with the staff, we were left shaking our heads. The roof-top pool attendent came off as menacing. He stood with arms folded and coldly staring. Was he sleeping behind his mirrored glasses? We weren't sure but when someone asked him for a towel, he said he would go downstairs to get one. I would have thought that he would have a fresh supply at the ready since he was standing in one spot for so long. They offered cappucino out of a Keurig type machine. Decaf only though. When I asked for regular they said they were out. They were out for two days. I was told to go across the street and that I could get cappucino. I went to the cappucino machine and there was nobody there. I looked around for some one but there was nobody. I even contemplated making it myself but there was no ingredients by the machine. I returned to the front desk and explained that there was nobody there. The girl at the front desk got straight up nasty with me telling me there is someone there and that I must have gone to the wrong building. I told her to walk over there with me and I would show her that there is nobody there. She said just go back over there someone will be there. At that point, I became disgusted and let her know. The "free" cocktail hour was as you can imagine. More of a "free-for-all". The drinks are limited to what the bartenders are willing to make you which is basically runrunners or vodka and orange juice. The good thing is you can walk on the street with these drinks as they are close to alcohol-free. JK. Our room was ovwerall pretty clean but I did find a ball of long black hair in my folded bath towel after I took a shower so I give them 2/5 on room cleanliness. This hotel is close to being 3 or 4 stars but the staff has to step up and accomodate instead of infuriate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to the beach, south beach or art museum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riviera South Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MidtownATL
Atlanta, GA, USA
Dec 7, 2011

Decent, not great.

Good Points: Beautiful, very large rooms/suites Very nice staff A seemingly trustworthy staff...I found an iPad left in my room (it was in the safe) by the last occupant...in any other hotel, that iPad would have been grabbed and gone. Shuttle to/from MIA airport...efficient, on time, easy and very convenient...huge plus! Quiet pool if that's what you want. Close to beach...2 blocks, good beach chair share with a sister property...convenient enough. Good rates, it's a great value. Not so good points: Floor-to-floor noise is awful...only stay here if you are guaranteed a top floor room! Seriously, lord help if there are kids upstairs from you...and, when housekeeping is overhead, you will literally be expecting a body to fall through...it is AWFUL...you hear EVERY step and EVERY move overhead. And, be warned, it is not subtle...it is LOUD disturbing noise. Only 1 person at a check-in window...a long wait for anything you need at the desk. Staff is quite friendly, it's just 1 person at a tiny little window. No, I mean ZERO, activity at the pool Location...its a long walk to the Ocean Dr area and a bit of a sketch walk past a hostel at night...the hostel is directly across the street from the hotel. Junky lobby Dark rooms (I am a fan of dark rooms...these were a tad too dark for me, even). Overall, not bad...and, not great. I can't say that I would not return to this hotel. However, I can 100% say that I would only return if I had a guarantee of a top floor room and if I just wanted a nice, quiet South Beach get away. My advice, if you're in South Beach to enjoy the nightlife, go more South between 17th and 8th Streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riviera South Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nynydori
ny
Oct 17, 2013

Not bad, but horrible experience

went there with my boyfriend Hotel was nice. Free breakfast (bread, bagel, boiled egg, fruits, cereal and some drinks) and Free drinks during 7-8pm from the bar They have rooftop pool and outside pool... but most horrible thing that happen to me was that they made a mistake and they gave our room to someone else while we were in there! My boyfriend and I were watching TV, and this random person opens door with his key and comes in with his luggage! FREAKKY!! yeah the staff confirmed that they made a mistake but how freaky is that!? what if you were alone or there was no one in the room... I dont know ever since that (it happened on my first day) I couldnt sleep because I was scared if someone might come in....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search