$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 27, 2015 Check-out: Jan 28, 2015

President Hotel

3 stars
1423 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
156 reviews
cool

Good and clean I want to go again coooooooooooooooooooooollllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll See full review

  • Nicolae U.
  • Jan 19, 2015
excellent service!

We booked this hotel for the location and price. We didn't expect anything fancy or any real... See full review

  • travelling girlfriends
  • Jan 19, 2014
Tropical getaway hotel in the center of all the South Beach action

This boutique Art Deco hotel tempts Miami Beach visitors who want to be close to clubs and the pristine beach. The 64-room property satisfies South Beach fantasies, bringing drama, glitz and history together in one tropical setting. The circa 1937 building has seen its splendor restored in floors, murals and ironwork. Modern accents distinguish the property, and no two rooms are alike.

Highlights
  • Art Deco hotel steps from South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops
  • 64 rooms, including two penthouse suites
  • Wi-Fi access is included in the Resort Fee
Rooms

Stark white linens show off the decor showpiece in the 64 rooms: an oversized picture of local flora and natural elements, usually in green, that spans the entire wall. Each room features a different image. A Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier hangs from the ceiling to remind guests that this is still glamorous South Beach. Every room has a plasma TV and refrigerator.

Features

The hotel is intimate and private without being too far removed from South Beach's go-to sightseeing, shopping and nightlife spots. With Lincoln Road, Ocean Drive, Collins and Washington Avenue just steps away, visitors will find no shortage of restaurants, clubs and boutiques after a day at the beach. The hotel also has private garden terraces, a secluded patio and the quiet President's Green Bar and Restaurant.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (11 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Lincoln Road
  • Washington Avenue
  • Art Deco District
  • Lummus Park
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1 mile)
Policies and fees
  • Credit card is the preferred form of payment. Accepted credit cards are Visa, Mastercard and American Express.
  • Daily incidentals' deposit will amount to USD 100/ per room per day with a maximum amount of USD 250 for a 3-day stay or longer; payable either on credit card or cash - Cash payment must be made in US Dollars.
  • Cash paying guests will be required to present pictured ID upon payment- Accepted forms of identification are: passport, ID or driver's license
  • Maximum occupancy is 2 adults OR 1 adult + 1 child. Extra person charge is $25. Only Penthouse rooms allow rollaway beds.
  • Special event dates/holidays (dates with minimum stay of three nights and up) -- for example Memorial Day Weekend etc. -- are non refundable.
  • Resort fee is based on double occupancy. When 1 or 2 guests are booking, resort fee is $21.47 USD (tax inclusive) payable at the hotel. For 3 or more guests, an additional $10.73 per person will be charged. Resort fee includes Wi-Fi access, beach towels, continental breakfast (7:30 AM - 10:30 AM), in-room safe deposit box, in-room bottled water and welcome drink. Resort fee is mandatory and will be charged without exception.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed President Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

President Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room has either 1 or 2 full or queen size beds. The amenities include rainfall shower, plasma screen TV, direct-dial telephone with voice mail, compact refrigerator, alarm clock, safe deposit box, individually controlled cooling and heating system, Iron/Ironing Board and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

Green Bar
The restaurant serves continental breakfast buffet and Happy Hour drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (156)

Ratings and reviews for President Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 156
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eliko
Business
San Fran
Jun 19, 2014

nice place with reasonable price

the staff are nice. wonderful location. good price. the only thing that wasn't good is that the sink and the toilet bowl didn't work well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Salsalita
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Apr 8, 2014

Spring break from Ohio

Had a wonderful time. My room was clean, bright and very roomy. Amenities were great but I wish I had a small microwave to compliment the fridge. They did offer continental breakfast and 2 welcome drinks at happy hour. Staff was very friendly and pleasant. Only one block to walk and put your feet in the sand. All the essentials are within walking distance of the hotel. I had a lovely time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chistee23
Business
DC
Mar 5, 2014

Excellent location and staff

I paid a great price for my stay at the President Hotel. The location was ideal and the staff was always available to assist. There weren't many amenities but I don't need much because I am rarely in the hotel to begin with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Chill Grill had the best prices on drinks if you are looking to get away from the high mark ups on Ocean Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Virginiaman
Business
Northern Virginia
Jan 4, 2014

Last day of the off season

The President is the best hotel I've stayed at in South Beach. I look for a clean, well maintained, simple amenities hotel to allow me easy access to the village experience that is South Beach. Clean, comfortable room, friendly staff with a nice area for a meal or a drink at a reasonable rate is what I look for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Visitor of miami
Business
Tallahassee
Oct 18, 2013

Miami beach

Hotel was in a good location on Miami beach. Very close to night clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reyalize
Business
jersey city, nj
Feb 22, 2013

Weekend getaway

I have alot to say about this hotel. First i would like to start off with the PROS. Hotel and staff are wonderful very friendly. Everytime i have a question or need something they are always smiling and try to do everything they can. Hotel is clean and rooms are clean. Thats all i have to say with the PROS. Now with the CONS. Omg the reviews about the beds are true!!! First night i felt like i was sleeping with the springs. Everytime i moved i could feel the spring stabbing back. Im on vacation and i really need a comfortable bed and sleep. I barely slept that i woke up early enough for me to switch rooms. I told the front desk i dont really care where what floor they put me on as long as the beds are comfortable. Which they did im still not satisfied with the bed. It still hurted a little but i just dealt with it. Also the elevator. You have to wait atleast 5 mins for it so me and my partner would just walk up and down the stairs. And if we do take the elevator it would go down just as the door is about to close!! Mind you the expiration from the inspection was 9/30/2012!!! I guess thats what all hotels in miami are like! And it only holds 3 people! On the pool, its very cold i wanted to relax in the pool for a little but it was not heated it felt like ice!! Dont even bother with the beach chairs that says it comes with the RESORT FEES. They dont have lounge chairs which sucks i felt stupid asking for one in front of my date they said oh we usually give it out but since its been windy it always breaks so we dont have any!!!! Talk about spending $19 a day for resort fees. And wifi it doesnt automatically let you sign in after you already sign in. It was annoying!! And continetal breakfast. Milk, toast, orange juice, cereals, apple and THATS IT! I travel alot and i love staying at hotels because of their comfortable bed and i dont really write reviews but i have to do on this hotel. Bed in this hotel is NO NO !! No wonder when i tried to cancel my reservation because i already had a feeling i wouldnt be comfortable they said no cancellation. They couldnt even consider of the fact of the reviews i read that my main problem why i wanted to cancel was because of their BEDS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

At least 3 blocks from lincoln rd mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SusanPrice
Business
Toronto
Feb 29, 2012

Perfect Budget Hotel

This place was great for the price we paid. However, our door would not close fully so sometimes we would return to our door cracked open a bit. Also out toilet clogged once. Other than that this place has a perfect location and a perfect price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MichelleTheCollegeStudent
Business
Kentucky, USA
Oct 22, 2011

Great location

First of all, this is a great location. It's a street over from Ocean Drive and the beach. Most importantly I'd like to tell you all about Zesto pizza that's right across the street to the right if you were walking out of the hotel. It has great food but most of all cheap prices. There's a sandwich shop on the corner (Jerry's deli I think?) That has $16.00-$20.00 sandwiches! Or $10.00 for a half of a sandwich..... <--Ridiculous. But anyway, definitely check that out. The room is kinda cool. It looks just like the pictures, it is small, including the shower (which also leaked onto the floor because the glass door wouldn't close all the way) but my worst complaint would be the beds! They shift and squeak with any movement at all! The beds are horrible. Maybe it was just my room but if you have a bad back or get annoyed but constant squeaking and shifting, this is not the right hotel for you. But other than that, it's a really cool hotel, centrally located and the staff are very nice. They give you 2 drink coupons for the bar downstairs each day and two continental breakfast coupons each day as well. The breakfast could be better but it's alright, I had an apple strudel and toast with O.J.. There's a $15/night resort fee and they hold 50/night deposit that will be released 10-17 days later..... Overall, I give it a 3 out of 5. If the beds were replaced I'd give it a 4 out of 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zesto Pizza!!! Cheapest place I could find with great food, great prices. Chicken burger w/ fries was only 7 something dollars. A 12 inch chicken parm sub only $7.00 and I got a small 10" vegetarian pizza for pretty cheap (I can't remember how much) I definitely recommend Zesto pizza even if you're not staying at the President/Penguin hotel. The second day they remembered me and gave me free bread sticks with my pizza! Super nice people. Seems like more of a mom n' pop place. They also have a machine that freshly squeezes oranges for orange juice. I RECOMMEND!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shayro
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 10, 2011

Great Price, modern stay!

Timely, efficient, and a pleasing check in. You can definitely tell it is an older hotel and the bathrooms are a bit small. But it is a great deal and in prime location on Collins Avenue! They also have a limited, complimentary happy hour and continental breakfast which was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jun 24, 2011

Great location

The hotel staff were very helpful and nice. The resort fee is $15 plus tax not $12 as listed. The valet service takes a while but is a better option since parking is so limited. I would have given them a higher rating but the bed was horrible. I tossed all night. Seriously time for an upgrade. The mattresses are so worn. The linens could use an upgrade as well. I had to ask for more towels since the one's in my room had holes in them. However the new one's they brought were not much better. Simply poor quality. The bedding was clean but some permanent stains are obvious. All in all I would stay here again because it was a great location. Close to everything. I really enjoyed myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top