$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 2, 2015 Check-out: Mar 3, 2015

President Hotel

3 stars
1423 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
158 reviews
Awesome

Everything was great, very clean, the staffs was very friendly, location simply perfect and very... See full review

  • Marliz V.
  • Jan 27, 2015
cool

Good and clean I want to go again coooooooooooooooooooooollllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll See full review

  • Nicolae U.
  • Jan 19, 2015
Tropical getaway hotel in the center of all the South Beach action

This boutique Art Deco hotel tempts Miami Beach visitors who want to be close to clubs and the pristine beach. The 64-room property satisfies South Beach fantasies, bringing drama, glitz and history together in one tropical setting. The circa 1937 building has seen its splendor restored in floors, murals and ironwork. Modern accents distinguish the property, and no two rooms are alike.

Highlights
  • Art Deco hotel steps from South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops
  • 64 rooms, including two penthouse suites
  • Wi-Fi access is included in the Resort Fee
Rooms

Stark white linens show off the decor showpiece in the 64 rooms: an oversized picture of local flora and natural elements, usually in green, that spans the entire wall. Each room features a different image. A Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier hangs from the ceiling to remind guests that this is still glamorous South Beach. Every room has a plasma TV and refrigerator.

Features

The hotel is intimate and private without being too far removed from South Beach's go-to sightseeing, shopping and nightlife spots. With Lincoln Road, Ocean Drive, Collins and Washington Avenue just steps away, visitors will find no shortage of restaurants, clubs and boutiques after a day at the beach. The hotel also has private garden terraces, a secluded patio and the quiet President's Green Bar and Restaurant.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (11 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Lincoln Road
  • Washington Avenue
  • Art Deco District
  • Lummus Park
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1 mile)
Policies and fees
  • Credit card is the preferred form of payment. Accepted credit cards are Visa, Mastercard and American Express.
  • Daily incidentals' deposit will amount to USD 100/ per room per day with a maximum amount of USD 250 for a 3-day stay or longer; payable either on credit card or cash - Cash payment must be made in US Dollars.
  • Cash paying guests will be required to present pictured ID upon payment- Accepted forms of identification are: passport, ID or driver's license
  • Maximum occupancy is 2 adults OR 1 adult + 1 child. Extra person charge is $25. Only Penthouse rooms allow rollaway beds.
  • Special event dates/holidays (dates with minimum stay of three nights and up) -- for example Memorial Day Weekend etc. -- are non refundable.
  • Resort fee is based on double occupancy. When 1 or 2 guests are booking, resort fee is $21.47 USD (tax inclusive) payable at the hotel. For 3 or more guests, an additional $10.73 per person will be charged. Resort fee includes Wi-Fi access, beach towels, continental breakfast (7:30 AM - 10:30 AM), in-room safe deposit box, in-room bottled water and welcome drink. Resort fee is mandatory and will be charged without exception.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed President Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

President Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room has either 1 or 2 full or queen size beds. The amenities include rainfall shower, plasma screen TV, direct-dial telephone with voice mail, compact refrigerator, alarm clock, safe deposit box, individually controlled cooling and heating system, Iron/Ironing Board and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

Green Bar
The restaurant serves continental breakfast buffet and Happy Hour drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (158)

Ratings and reviews for President Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Romekpl
Business
Memphis , Tn
May 29, 2012

A place to avoid

The only good thing about this hotel experience was that I left 15 min. After check in , the room was dirty and smells like marijuana smoke . The hotel staff was Ok .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TexanBorg
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 31, 2013

A fake boutique

This is the perfect prototype of a fake boutique hotel. Not an aspiring one but a decidedly fake one. How to make a fake boutique hotel: find a great location on south beach, like an old motel. Renovate it cheaply. Build a fancy website with wide shot photos of modern furniture and posters. Add something to the effect of a pool. Show absolute disregard to noise insulation. Charge prices similar to actual boutique hotels. The rooms are renovated but finishing and furniture are cheap and scarce and seem more intended for decor than use and comfort. There is no sofa to sit on but two flimsy chairs good for decor only. Cheap spring mattress. Not enough place to put your stuff on either in the room or bathroom. no vanity in bathroom and a only a teeny tiny dressing table in the room. And the pool is a 2 by 6 yards tank in the yard not even suitable for kids swimming. It could have served as a hot tub except that it is ice cold. no heating. Another decorative feature. God, the noise! you can hear every single word or movement of a person passing in the hallway. The walls maybe okay but the doors seems to be the actual problem. Good luck with taking a nap in the afternoon. The most appalling thing to me was the attitude of absolute disregard of guests comfort. We paid $300 for a friday night stay only to wake up 8am in the morning by the horrible noise of pumps changing the water of that useless pool down in the yard. Sounded like 10 mowing machine. 8am in the morning of a saturday! Unbelievable the hotel management could be this ignorant. Perhaps the cheapest rate they could find for renting the pump machine and to the heck with guests sleeping. Breakfast is a decorative joke as well. Similar to the breakfast at a 2star motel on an interstate highway. you can pay to get omelets etc but so can you anywhere outside. the cleaning service: despite our requests to have our beds made and get new towels, we had to ask again and again. The positive things: location, cold lemony water in the lobby nice to have coming from outside, and green apples in the lobby (they should include a wide shot photo of that in the website). the wireless actually worked anytime we checked. Way too expensive for what they offer. Unfortunately we did our booking only two weeks in advance and this hotel was one of few hotels with availability. Last time we stayed in another hotel on ocean drive, which was a real nice boutique hotel, compared to which the president seems like a bad joke. Book in advance to get to real boutique hotels and don't be deceived by internet pictures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Do right
Business
New York
May 9, 2010

Never should have stayed here.

The hotel is in a great location is about the only thing that I liked. I've traveled a lot during my life and I know what a good establishment is. This isn't a great hotel. The rooms are cozy the beds are horrible. The closet space is way bigger than the bathrooms. Let me describe the bathroom it is so small I could brush my teeth use the bathroom and turn on the shower head all at the same time no lie that small. All except one representative was helpful. The rest were absolutely useless. I stayed there for a couple days and didn't see one person at the bar. They should just give away drinks thats how dead it was. NO INTERNET... You have to borrow Internet from across the street and only can be used in the Lobby or outside. Lastly my alarm clock was broken. Choose a different hotel if you want to have a good stay/vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Washington street and you can basically find everything you want to eat all types of food Yum!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PHILLY101
Business
PHILADELPHIA,PA.
Jun 9, 2009

"UNBELIEVABLE TRAVEL 06/04-06/08"

Although there was a tropical storm and the power was lost, I didn't feel like the hotel was sensitive to their patrons needs. I was told that housekeeping was unavailable when I needed extra towels for my room ( this was 8:30 pm.) I didn't have hot water for 3 days after I was told it would be fixed, no phone,no t.v. The manager was actually no where to be found when I asked to speak with her about my concerens. I finally met with her the day I was checking out and she told me I should have went somewhere else but didn't want to refund my money until I called and had Orbitz express my concerns. All this to say I will not recommend this hotel and I will not be staying there anymore, I also suggest you remove this hotel as 3 star from your web site it is not a good look for such a site. I will express my thanks to the cutomer service representatives who handled my issues. I will to use Orbitz to book my travel arrangements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

GO TO WET WILLIES!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Jun 9, 2009

bad

yes it was new room and does it.lobby and enterence under comstraction."new flatscreen tv" didnt work,phone didnt work,we didnt have hot water for 4 days,pool is size of jacuze without bublles and clean water.after i try to complain-they told me to book another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

yea-all clubs not far.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jun 8, 2009

president hotel

I would have to rate this hotel unsatified. the rooms were nice but the service was horribe. We only had hot water the first night we arrived and the last 4 days we had to deal with cold showers. the renovations were not done and the side entrance was so hard to get in through. We hardly got towels and we had to wait forever for our beds to get made. i do not recomment this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chris G NYC
Business
NEW YORK
Jan 17, 2010

AVOID AT ALL COSTS

The hotel charged a "security deposit" although I prepaid my stay. When it was time to refund it upon check out, the machine was mysteriously broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakeside
Sep 20, 2008

Think Tenement Painted White

I choose this hotel for it's location in the Art Deco region of South Beach Miami, FL. I arrived, and was very dissapointed from the overpowering odor of mildew to the walk up the spongy stairs we escaped to our room. We walked past doors with white computer paper taped to them displaying room numbers and into our very spartanly furnished room. The room reeked of someones food,there were no blankets on the beds, and the worst part was the doors stop 2 inches above the floor. So not only can you hear everything going on in other rooms and the hallway, but all night/morning you can hear the steel doors (of each room) slamming up and down the hallway. If your looking for barely a step above a beach shower/changing room this is your place. For anyone actually looking for something more than a place to change from your bikini to your night club clothes and to pass out in a drunken stupor look elswhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Not far from shopping at Licoln Pedestrian Mall and Ocean drive's restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas
Sep 28, 2008

what a mess

The check in was a total disaster, took forever, and the manager was rude and uncaring about the people checking in. I was told there were no connecting rooms, and yet, when I got to my room there was a connecting door to the room next door. People that checked in AFTER us were given that room. There was no sound insulation around the door or in the walls and it was if the people were in the room with me. My room was missing the bathroom door, and there was no table of any kind so everthing had to go on the floor. It was clean and cheap and I understand other floors have been remodled, so don't let them put you on the 2nd floor! The bathroom looks good but it is hard to wash your face, because the shelf sticks out over the small sink. My friends bathroom had no shelf, and again there was no where to put anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Middle of everything. Walk to Lincon Blvd, and all the clubs on Washington. The beach is one street over.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Jackson
Sep 14, 2008

Very poor

Only good thing I can said is the location of the hotel.Everything else from 1 to 10,is was a 0.Is not worth the head ache.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Miami Beach was around the corner,so the night life,and dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top