$61 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

President Hotel

3 stars
1423 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
240 reviews
excellent service!

We booked this hotel for the location and price. We didn't expect anything fancy or any real... See full review

  • travelling girlfriends
  • Jan 19, 2014
great place to stay

make sure you get the penthouse sweet with the terrace, its perfect! See full review

  • David Awesome hotel trave
  • Sep 30, 2013
Tropical getaway hotel in the center of all the South Beach action

This boutique Art Deco hotel tempts Miami Beach visitors who want to be close to clubs and the pristine beach. The 64-room property satisfies South Beach fantasies, bringing drama, glitz and history together in one tropical setting. The circa 1937 building has seen its splendor restored in floors, murals and ironwork. Modern accents distinguish the property, and no two rooms are alike.

Highlights
  • Art Deco hotel steps from South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops
  • 64 rooms, including two penthouse suites
  • Wi-Fi access is included in the Resort Fee
Rooms

Stark white linens show off the decor showpiece in the 64 rooms: an oversized picture of local flora and natural elements, usually in green, that spans the entire wall. Each room features a different image. A Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier hangs from the ceiling to remind guests that this is still glamorous South Beach. Every room has a plasma TV and refrigerator.

Features

The hotel is intimate and private without being too far removed from South Beach's go-to sightseeing, shopping and nightlife spots. With Lincoln Road, Ocean Drive, Collins and Washington Avenue just steps away, visitors will find no shortage of restaurants, clubs and boutiques after a day at the beach. The hotel also has private garden terraces, a secluded patio and the quiet President's Green Bar and Restaurant.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (11 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Lincoln Road
  • Washington Avenue
  • Art Deco District
  • Lummus Park
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1 mile)
Policies and fees
  • Credit card is the preferred form of payment. Accepted credit cards are Visa, Mastercard and American Express.
  • Daily incidentals' deposit will amount to USD 100/ per room per day with a maximum amount of USD 250 for a 3-day stay or longer; payable either on credit card or cash - Cash payment must be made in US Dollars.
  • Cash paying guests will be required to present pictured ID upon payment- Accepted forms of identification are: passport, ID or driver's license
  • Maximum occupancy is 2 adults OR 1 adult + 1 child. Extra person charge is $25. Only Penthouse rooms allow rollaway beds.
  • Special event dates/holidays (dates with minimum stay of three nights and up) -- for example Memorial Day Weekend etc. -- are non refundable.
  • Resort fee is $19.00 USD plus 13% taxes per room per night. The resort fee includes usage of Wi-Fi, beach towels, continental breakfast (from 7:30am - 10:30am), use of in-room safe, in-room bottled water, and welcome drink. The Resort Fee is mandatory and will be charged without exception.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

President Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room has either 1 or 2 full or queen size beds. The amenities include rainfall shower, plasma screen TV, direct-dial telephone with voice mail, compact refrigerator, alarm clock, safe deposit box, individually controlled cooling and heating system, Iron/Ironing Board and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed President Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.786 -80.1304
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Miami.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, Fort Lauderdale Airport.
Area description
We are one block away from the beach, at the heart of Miami Beach's trendy Art Deco District. 5 minutes away from the Miami Beach Convention Center and Lincoln Road Mall, where you can find restaurants, movie theaters and all major stores. Also within walking distance from all famous bars and night clubs in South Beach.

Dining

Green Bar
The restaurant serves continental breakfast buffet and Happy Hour drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (240)

Ratings and reviews for President Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kneel The Great
Atlanta, GA
Jul 8, 2010

Great hotel!

This hotel's location is fantastic. It's a block away from Mansion and several great bars. The price was great and the room was very cool. I would recommend this hotel to those who want the cool Miami experience. Be advised that they do require a $200 deposit for your stay. If you pay with cash you get cash back with no hassle. Valet parking is $25, but there are pay parking lots near the hotel. I will go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TonDon
Atlanta, GA
Jun 30, 2010

Great Location

The hotel was in a great location and the staff was great. On the last night we could hear the guests in the next room laughing and talking very loudly, but this only happened the one time. The rooms were small but I loved the decor. The beach was very close, just around the corner. We would have preferred more amenities but we in walking to distance to other eateries. The bar area was not opened and that would have been good instead of having to always go out for a drink. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and had fun watching the World Cup downstairs in the lobby with the other guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at a very nice restaurant on Lincoln which served breakfast all day as well as other good selections and the portions were more than enough. We ate at other places but this restaurant was our favorite.

Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TonDon
Atlanta, GA
Jun 30, 2010

Great Location

The hotel was in a great location and the staff was great. On the last night we could hear the guests in the next room laughing and talking very loudly, but this only happened the one time. The rooms were small but I loved the decor. The beach was very close, just around the corner. We would have preferred more amenities but we in walking to distance to other eateries. The bar area was not opened and that would have been good instead of having to always go out for a drink. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and had fun watching the World Cup downstairs in the lobby with the other guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at a very nice restaurant on Lincoln which served breakfast all day as well as other good selections and the portions were more than enough. We ate at other places but this restaurant was our favorite.

Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cubalemania
Michigan / Germany
Jun 22, 2010

Great value / price - top location

Very friendly staff, nicely decorated clean and spacious rooms, great price for south beach location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tablefrog
Tucson, AZ
Jun 21, 2010

Really nice place

The Prsident is a small hotel, but its location is perfect. In one minute you can walk to the beach, and there is plenty of shopping close by as well. The alarm clock has an Ipod port, so you can listen to your music as you get ready for fun in the sun, and the decor is very modern. It's like the hotel only buys stuff from Ikea or something : ) The staff was very nice. They offer you beach towels, and sell various tours and transportation to various points of interest in Miami. My only real problem with the place is that you can hear everything outside your room. The elevatior made a loud sound every time it opened, and our room was right next to it. We could also hear people coming in at all hours of the night, and the walls did little to buffer the noise. Other than that this was a great hotel stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Crazy Mexican Taco Bar offers some pretty good food, and the staff is very nice. They pointed out various places for my wife and I to shop, and see during our trip. It's small, but a nice place to catch a quick bite.

Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
louisiana
Jun 13, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

My entire trip was wonderful and served its purpose. I loved the President hotel staff was friendly and helpful.Although the rooms were small with no drawers it served its purpose.It was clean and room service was great.We spent little time in rooms. No interntet but I didnt need it anyway and bar was a display and not in use, now that was a bit of a problem. If you are going to relax and have fun this is the place the price is resonable and people are plesent. Location is awesome walking distance to shopping centers clubs etc.Washington St. club area, Ocean Drive great dinning, Collins shopping the location is worth it At the President Hotel you are in the middle of all that. Iwould also recommend the city boat tour,Key West is my next tour, yes I will be back. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocen Drive says it all. Reasonable pricing great food and drinks friendly people. You are never bored in South Beach Miami

Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
louisiana
Jun 13, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

My entire trip was wonderful and served its purpose. I loved the President hotel staff was friendly and helpful.Although the rooms were small with no drawers it served its purpose.It was clean and room service was great.We spent little time in rooms. No interntet but I didnt need it anyway and bar was a display and not in use, now that was a bit of a problem. If you are going to relax and have fun this is the place the price is resonable and people are plesent. Location is awesome walking distance to shopping centers clubs etc.Washington St. club area, Ocean Drive great dinning, Collins shopping the location is worth it At the President Hotel you are in the middle of all that. Iwould also recommend the city boat tour,Key West is my next tour, yes I will be back. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocen Drive says it all. Reasonable pricing great food and drinks friendly people. You are never bored in South Beach Miami

Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dotzi
Clearwater, FL
Jun 12, 2010

Really nice location for that price!

When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised of the location and the style of this hotel. The receptionist was very friendly and had us immediately relocated to a similar hotel, The Penguin, just behind the President (directly on Ocean Drive)(upgrade) because our room had been flooded. The receptionist of The Penguin was fully informed and it all went very smooth. The room was clean and the furniture as well as the BR renovated with new sink etc. Nice. Also the breakfast at the Front Porch Cafe as part of the hotel was really good, not the usual but lots of fresh fruits etc. I think this hotel/area is especially liked by young couples as we saw lots of them. The nice area with all the action on Ocean Drive and the beach right across the beach was a very good choice. We would go there again, for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots to choose from.

Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dotzi
Clearwater, FL
Jun 12, 2010

Really nice location for that price!

When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised of the location and the style of this hotel. The receptionist was very friendly and had us immediately relocated to a similar hotel, The Penguin, just behind the President (directly on Ocean Drive)(upgrade) because our room had been flooded. The receptionist of The Penguin was fully informed and it all went very smooth. The room was clean and the furniture as well as the BR renovated with new sink etc. Nice. Also the breakfast at the Front Porch Cafe as part of the hotel was really good, not the usual but lots of fresh fruits etc. I think this hotel/area is especially liked by young couples as we saw lots of them. The nice area with all the action on Ocean Drive and the beach right across the beach was a very good choice. We would go there again, for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots to choose from.

Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shaboo
New Brunswick, NJ
May 27, 2010

Great Value

I've been to South Beach several times & this was my first time staying at this hotel. For our travel purpose of shopping hotels for a wedding, I was very satisfied with the President. The rooms exceeded my expectations; very clean & up to date. Noise was minimal and service was great. Location is great. The only thing missing was a pool, but with the beach a block away you could do without a pool. I would stay again & recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maxine's on Collins Ave near 18th St is a great place for outdoor dining with live entertainment. And staff is great. We ate there three times during a 4 day stay! It's great.

Back to menu Return to top