$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

President Hotel

3 stars
1423 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
150 reviews
excellent service!

We booked this hotel for the location and price. We didn't expect anything fancy or any real... See full review

  • travelling girlfriends
  • Jan 19, 2014
great place to stay

make sure you get the penthouse sweet with the terrace, its perfect! See full review

  • David Awesome hotel trave
  • Sep 30, 2013
Tropical getaway hotel in the center of all the South Beach action

This boutique Art Deco hotel tempts Miami Beach visitors who want to be close to clubs and the pristine beach. The 64-room property satisfies South Beach fantasies, bringing drama, glitz and history together in one tropical setting. The circa 1937 building has seen its splendor restored in floors, murals and ironwork. Modern accents distinguish the property, and no two rooms are alike.

Highlights
  • Art Deco hotel steps from South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops
  • 64 rooms, including two penthouse suites
  • Wi-Fi access is included in the Resort Fee
Rooms

Stark white linens show off the decor showpiece in the 64 rooms: an oversized picture of local flora and natural elements, usually in green, that spans the entire wall. Each room features a different image. A Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier hangs from the ceiling to remind guests that this is still glamorous South Beach. Every room has a plasma TV and refrigerator.

Features

The hotel is intimate and private without being too far removed from South Beach's go-to sightseeing, shopping and nightlife spots. With Lincoln Road, Ocean Drive, Collins and Washington Avenue just steps away, visitors will find no shortage of restaurants, clubs and boutiques after a day at the beach. The hotel also has private garden terraces, a secluded patio and the quiet President's Green Bar and Restaurant.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (11 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Lincoln Road
  • Washington Avenue
  • Art Deco District
  • Lummus Park
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1 mile)
Policies and fees
  • Credit card is the preferred form of payment. Accepted credit cards are Visa, Mastercard and American Express.
  • Daily incidentals' deposit will amount to USD 100/ per room per day with a maximum amount of USD 250 for a 3-day stay or longer; payable either on credit card or cash - Cash payment must be made in US Dollars.
  • Cash paying guests will be required to present pictured ID upon payment- Accepted forms of identification are: passport, ID or driver's license
  • Maximum occupancy is 2 adults OR 1 adult + 1 child. Extra person charge is $25. Only Penthouse rooms allow rollaway beds.
  • Special event dates/holidays (dates with minimum stay of three nights and up) -- for example Memorial Day Weekend etc. -- are non refundable.
  • Resort fee is based on double occupancy. When 1 or 2 guests are booking, resort fee is $21.47 USD (tax inclusive) payable at the hotel. For 3 or more guests, an additional $10.73 per person will be charged. Resort fee includes Wi-Fi access, beach towels, continental breakfast (7:30 AM - 10:30 AM), in-room safe deposit box, in-room bottled water and welcome drink. Resort fee is mandatory and will be charged without exception.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed President Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

President Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room has either 1 or 2 full or queen size beds. The amenities include rainfall shower, plasma screen TV, direct-dial telephone with voice mail, compact refrigerator, alarm clock, safe deposit box, individually controlled cooling and heating system, Iron/Ironing Board and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

Green Bar
The restaurant serves continental breakfast buffet and Happy Hour drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (150)

Ratings and reviews for President Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cubalemania
Business
Michigan / Germany
Jun 22, 2010

Great value / price - top location

Very friendly staff, nicely decorated clean and spacious rooms, great price for south beach location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tablefrog
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jun 21, 2010

Really nice place

The Prsident is a small hotel, but its location is perfect. In one minute you can walk to the beach, and there is plenty of shopping close by as well. The alarm clock has an Ipod port, so you can listen to your music as you get ready for fun in the sun, and the decor is very modern. It's like the hotel only buys stuff from Ikea or something : ) The staff was very nice. They offer you beach towels, and sell various tours and transportation to various points of interest in Miami. My only real problem with the place is that you can hear everything outside your room. The elevatior made a loud sound every time it opened, and our room was right next to it. We could also hear people coming in at all hours of the night, and the walls did little to buffer the noise. Other than that this was a great hotel stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Crazy Mexican Taco Bar offers some pretty good food, and the staff is very nice. They pointed out various places for my wife and I to shop, and see during our trip. It's small, but a nice place to catch a quick bite.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
louisiana
Jun 13, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

My entire trip was wonderful and served its purpose. I loved the President hotel staff was friendly and helpful.Although the rooms were small with no drawers it served its purpose.It was clean and room service was great.We spent little time in rooms. No interntet but I didnt need it anyway and bar was a display and not in use, now that was a bit of a problem. If you are going to relax and have fun this is the place the price is resonable and people are plesent. Location is awesome walking distance to shopping centers clubs etc.Washington St. club area, Ocean Drive great dinning, Collins shopping the location is worth it At the President Hotel you are in the middle of all that. Iwould also recommend the city boat tour,Key West is my next tour, yes I will be back. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocen Drive says it all. Reasonable pricing great food and drinks friendly people. You are never bored in South Beach Miami

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dotzi
Business
Clearwater, FL
Jun 12, 2010

Really nice location for that price!

When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised of the location and the style of this hotel. The receptionist was very friendly and had us immediately relocated to a similar hotel, The Penguin, just behind the President (directly on Ocean Drive)(upgrade) because our room had been flooded. The receptionist of The Penguin was fully informed and it all went very smooth. The room was clean and the furniture as well as the BR renovated with new sink etc. Nice. Also the breakfast at the Front Porch Cafe as part of the hotel was really good, not the usual but lots of fresh fruits etc. I think this hotel/area is especially liked by young couples as we saw lots of them. The nice area with all the action on Ocean Drive and the beach right across the beach was a very good choice. We would go there again, for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots to choose from.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shaboo
Business
New Brunswick, NJ
May 27, 2010

Great Value

I've been to South Beach several times & this was my first time staying at this hotel. For our travel purpose of shopping hotels for a wedding, I was very satisfied with the President. The rooms exceeded my expectations; very clean & up to date. Noise was minimal and service was great. Location is great. The only thing missing was a pool, but with the beach a block away you could do without a pool. I would stay again & recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maxine's on Collins Ave near 18th St is a great place for outdoor dining with live entertainment. And staff is great. We ate there three times during a 4 day stay! It's great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
May 25, 2010

Definitely StayN Again!!!

The hotel stay was cool. I can't complain about anything regarding the hotel. I mean, the pool is very samll but the beach is steps away from the hotel, so that really wasn't an issue for me. The hotel staff/maid service were very polite and answered any questions we had. The hotel rooms are decorated really jazzy, nice flat screens, comfortable beds, and a really nice bathroom. Im going back in July and would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couple on Vacay
Business
New York, NY
May 18, 2010

Miami in May

Check Lincoln Rd, Ocean Drive, the boardwalk along the southern tip of south beach, and do a do duck tour!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Do right
Business
New York
May 9, 2010

Never should have stayed here.

The hotel is in a great location is about the only thing that I liked. I've traveled a lot during my life and I know what a good establishment is. This isn't a great hotel. The rooms are cozy the beds are horrible. The closet space is way bigger than the bathrooms. Let me describe the bathroom it is so small I could brush my teeth use the bathroom and turn on the shower head all at the same time no lie that small. All except one representative was helpful. The rest were absolutely useless. I stayed there for a couple days and didn't see one person at the bar. They should just give away drinks thats how dead it was. NO INTERNET... You have to borrow Internet from across the street and only can be used in the Lobby or outside. Lastly my alarm clock was broken. Choose a different hotel if you want to have a good stay/vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Washington street and you can basically find everything you want to eat all types of food Yum!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 27, 2010

Stylish room, great location

This was my fourth trip to Miami (always on a pretty tight budget), and I liked this hotel the best. The location is very convenient, and the room was surprisingly clean, stylish, and reasonably spacious. There are no "frills" (pool, gym, etc.), which wasn't important to me. My biggest complaint is that there's no internet in the rooms, and the internet in the lobby is very hit-or-miss (it's from a neighboring hotel, which isn't very professional in my opinion). You have to charge a $200 deposit upon check-in, and hopefully I won't have a problem getting that back. Overall, this isn't one of the "great" hotels I've seen in my life, but it's the best I've experienced in Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A gourmet sandwich stand called the Sandwicherie is less than a block away (around the corner on 14th Street)... It's open very late and it's pretty tasty (though a little pricey).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tourist_
Business
Tallahassee
Apr 26, 2010

The President

I stayed in the President over weekend. I liked this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. the room was big,renovated and clean. I like design. the location of hotel is really great, in a very cute Art deco area, near the ocean, all good restaurants and shopping. The "minus" side is only that sometime other people came back too late and they were very noisy. Also I got a room with two beds instead of the one. But any of this small factors didn't spoil my Perfect vacations. I am sure that I come back to that Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top