$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 25, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

President Hotel

3 stars
1423 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
150 reviews
excellent service!

We booked this hotel for the location and price. We didn't expect anything fancy or any real... See full review

  • travelling girlfriends
  • Jan 19, 2014
great place to stay

make sure you get the penthouse sweet with the terrace, its perfect! See full review

  • David Awesome hotel trave
  • Sep 30, 2013
Tropical getaway hotel in the center of all the South Beach action

This boutique Art Deco hotel tempts Miami Beach visitors who want to be close to clubs and the pristine beach. The 64-room property satisfies South Beach fantasies, bringing drama, glitz and history together in one tropical setting. The circa 1937 building has seen its splendor restored in floors, murals and ironwork. Modern accents distinguish the property, and no two rooms are alike.

Highlights
  • Art Deco hotel steps from South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops
  • 64 rooms, including two penthouse suites
  • Wi-Fi access is included in the Resort Fee
Rooms

Stark white linens show off the decor showpiece in the 64 rooms: an oversized picture of local flora and natural elements, usually in green, that spans the entire wall. Each room features a different image. A Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier hangs from the ceiling to remind guests that this is still glamorous South Beach. Every room has a plasma TV and refrigerator.

Features

The hotel is intimate and private without being too far removed from South Beach's go-to sightseeing, shopping and nightlife spots. With Lincoln Road, Ocean Drive, Collins and Washington Avenue just steps away, visitors will find no shortage of restaurants, clubs and boutiques after a day at the beach. The hotel also has private garden terraces, a secluded patio and the quiet President's Green Bar and Restaurant.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (11 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Lincoln Road
  • Washington Avenue
  • Art Deco District
  • Lummus Park
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1 mile)
Policies and fees
  • Credit card is the preferred form of payment. Accepted credit cards are Visa, Mastercard and American Express.
  • Daily incidentals' deposit will amount to USD 100/ per room per day with a maximum amount of USD 250 for a 3-day stay or longer; payable either on credit card or cash - Cash payment must be made in US Dollars.
  • Cash paying guests will be required to present pictured ID upon payment- Accepted forms of identification are: passport, ID or driver's license
  • Maximum occupancy is 2 adults OR 1 adult + 1 child. Extra person charge is $25. Only Penthouse rooms allow rollaway beds.
  • Special event dates/holidays (dates with minimum stay of three nights and up) -- for example Memorial Day Weekend etc. -- are non refundable.
  • Resort fee is based on double occupancy. When 1 or 2 guests are booking, resort fee is $21.47 USD (tax inclusive) payable at the hotel. For 3 or more guests, an additional $10.73 per person will be charged. Resort fee includes Wi-Fi access, beach towels, continental breakfast (7:30 AM - 10:30 AM), in-room safe deposit box, in-room bottled water and welcome drink. Resort fee is mandatory and will be charged without exception.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.786 -80.1304
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Miami.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, Fort Lauderdale Airport.
Area description
We are one block away from the beach, at the heart of Miami Beach's trendy Art Deco District. 5 minutes away from the Miami Beach Convention Center and Lincoln Road Mall, where you can find restaurants, movie theaters and all major stores. Also within walking distance from all famous bars and night clubs in South Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed President Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

President Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room has either 1 or 2 full or queen size beds. The amenities include rainfall shower, plasma screen TV, direct-dial telephone with voice mail, compact refrigerator, alarm clock, safe deposit box, individually controlled cooling and heating system, Iron/Ironing Board and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

Green Bar
The restaurant serves continental breakfast buffet and Happy Hour drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (150)

Ratings and reviews for President Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MichelleTheCollegeStudent
Business
Kentucky, USA
Oct 22, 2011

Great location

First of all, this is a great location. It's a street over from Ocean Drive and the beach. Most importantly I'd like to tell you all about Zesto pizza that's right across the street to the right if you were walking out of the hotel. It has great food but most of all cheap prices. There's a sandwich shop on the corner (Jerry's deli I think?) That has $16.00-$20.00 sandwiches! Or $10.00 for a half of a sandwich..... <--Ridiculous. But anyway, definitely check that out. The room is kinda cool. It looks just like the pictures, it is small, including the shower (which also leaked onto the floor because the glass door wouldn't close all the way) but my worst complaint would be the beds! They shift and squeak with any movement at all! The beds are horrible. Maybe it was just my room but if you have a bad back or get annoyed but constant squeaking and shifting, this is not the right hotel for you. But other than that, it's a really cool hotel, centrally located and the staff are very nice. They give you 2 drink coupons for the bar downstairs each day and two continental breakfast coupons each day as well. The breakfast could be better but it's alright, I had an apple strudel and toast with O.J.. There's a $15/night resort fee and they hold 50/night deposit that will be released 10-17 days later..... Overall, I give it a 3 out of 5. If the beds were replaced I'd give it a 4 out of 5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Zesto Pizza!!! Cheapest place I could find with great food, great prices. Chicken burger w/ fries was only 7 something dollars. A 12 inch chicken parm sub only $7.00 and I got a small 10" vegetarian pizza for pretty cheap (I can't remember how much) I definitely recommend Zesto pizza even if you're not staying at the President/Penguin hotel. The second day they remembered me and gave me free bread sticks with my pizza! Super nice people. Seems like more of a mom n' pop place. They also have a machine that freshly squeezes oranges for orange juice. I RECOMMEND!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
coco77
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 16, 2011

cute and clean but too mANY EXTRA CHARGES

HOTEL WAS ADORABLE AND CLEAN, however a additional resort fee should be optional, i did not need towels, did not recieve free drink cards, and did not use free breakfast so i paid $15 for nothing, the valet price was ridiculous 30? really? then at checking in the worse part...is that they charge your card twice and put the amount of room stay twice on your card in case of damages, without any notice until you check in. the staff member said it will be put back when you check out. yet when checking out your informed it will take 5 days. ridiculous. how about if there are any damages then you charge my card? thank you for freezing funds and not stating until after i booked and holding them for a week. next time i will find a hotel that is upfront with there booking and fees

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shayro
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 10, 2011

Great Price, modern stay!

Timely, efficient, and a pleasing check in. You can definitely tell it is an older hotel and the bathrooms are a bit small. But it is a great deal and in prime location on Collins Avenue! They also have a limited, complimentary happy hour and continental breakfast which was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Jul 25, 2011

Good Location!

There is an extra fee that you pay for at the hotel. I don't think it was worth it. They give you breakfast (which is a joke) and a free drink (which you have to claim between certain hours of the day.) The pool was more of a big hottub, not bad. The location was close to everything. The one really bad thing was that there is no sound barrier between rooms, doors, hallways-you hear everything! Unfortunately, there were a group of teens who were being very loud at all hours of the night, banging on walls and screaming. Not the hotel's fault, but if they soundproofed a little better, we wouldn't have be able to hear it. Overall, despite the hidden fees, it was worth the original price quoted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Books & Books has great vegan food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY NY
Jul 15, 2011

Thumps up

Very good, clean, good decor, nice staff, great bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very easy to get to all the major clubs in Miami beach and also very close to the convention center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Jun 24, 2011

Great location

The hotel staff were very helpful and nice. The resort fee is $15 plus tax not $12 as listed. The valet service takes a while but is a better option since parking is so limited. I would have given them a higher rating but the bed was horrible. I tossed all night. Seriously time for an upgrade. The mattresses are so worn. The linens could use an upgrade as well. I had to ask for more towels since the one's in my room had holes in them. However the new one's they brought were not much better. Simply poor quality. The bedding was clean but some permanent stains are obvious. All in all I would stay here again because it was a great location. Close to everything. I really enjoyed myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 31, 2011

Miami Memorial Day Weekend

The President Hotel is located in a great location for all the festivities in Miami. We were 2 blocks from shopping on Lincoln and one street over to Ocean Drive for bar hoping. The hotel had great security, which is highly appreciated during the Memorial Day Weekend. We had one service request that was fixed quickly by maintanence. Overall, our experience was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston ,tx
May 16, 2011

Stay at south beach

The hotel is walking distance to the beach and shopping. The price was right ,but don't expect much. The walls are thin and you can hear a normal conversation next door. The bed was hard and breakfast was minimal at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the deli across the street and up a block for breakfast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto
May 2, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

It was beautiful vacation.Hotels stuff was very friendly and helpfull.We stayed in a very nice and clean room.No noise from outside.We had continental breakfast and "Happy hours" with 2 free drinks.Good location and about 5 minutes from the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The best shopping on Collins Ave between 5 and 14 Str

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Netherlands Antilles
Apr 8, 2011

Really great

Hotel is in a great location, Was actually much better then I expected, rooms were really decent,clean, just room floor a little bit dirty, happy hour was great and breakfast was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top