$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 24, 2014

President Hotel

3 stars
1423 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
136 reviews
excellent service!

We booked this hotel for the location and price. We didn't expect anything fancy or any real... See full review

  • travelling girlfriends
  • Jan 19, 2014
great place to stay

make sure you get the penthouse sweet with the terrace, its perfect! See full review

  • David Awesome hotel trave
  • Sep 30, 2013
Tropical getaway hotel in the center of all the South Beach action

This boutique Art Deco hotel tempts Miami Beach visitors who want to be close to clubs and the pristine beach. The 64-room property satisfies South Beach fantasies, bringing drama, glitz and history together in one tropical setting. The circa 1937 building has seen its splendor restored in floors, murals and ironwork. Modern accents distinguish the property, and no two rooms are alike.

Highlights
  • Art Deco hotel steps from South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops
  • 64 rooms, including two penthouse suites
  • Wi-Fi access is included in the Resort Fee
Rooms

Stark white linens show off the decor showpiece in the 64 rooms: an oversized picture of local flora and natural elements, usually in green, that spans the entire wall. Each room features a different image. A Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier hangs from the ceiling to remind guests that this is still glamorous South Beach. Every room has a plasma TV and refrigerator.

Features

The hotel is intimate and private without being too far removed from South Beach's go-to sightseeing, shopping and nightlife spots. With Lincoln Road, Ocean Drive, Collins and Washington Avenue just steps away, visitors will find no shortage of restaurants, clubs and boutiques after a day at the beach. The hotel also has private garden terraces, a secluded patio and the quiet President's Green Bar and Restaurant.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (11 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Lincoln Road
  • Washington Avenue
  • Art Deco District
  • Lummus Park
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1 mile)
Policies and fees
  • Maximum occupancy is 2 adults OR 1 adult + 1 child. Extra person charge is $25. Only Penthouse rooms allow rollaway beds.
  • The hotel requires a valid credit card for security deposit ($50 per night, maximum of $500) and a pictured ID in order to check in.
  • Special event dates/holidays (dates with minimum stay of three nights and up) -- for example Memorial Day Weekend etc. -- are non refundable.
  • Effective February 1st, 2013, the Resort Fee will be raised to $19.00 USD plus 13% taxes per room per night. The resort fee includes usage of Wi-Fi, beach towels, continental breakfast (from 7:30am - 10:30am), use of in-room safe, in-room bottled water, and welcome drink. The Resort Fee is mandatory and will be charged without exception.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

President Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room has either 1 or 2 full or queen size beds. The amenities include rainfall shower, plasma screen TV, direct-dial telephone with voice mail, compact refrigerator, alarm clock, safe deposit box, individually controlled cooling and heating system, Iron/Ironing Board and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed President Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.786 -80.1304
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Miami.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, Fort Lauderdale Airport.
Area description
We are one block away from the beach, at the heart of Miami Beach's trendy Art Deco District. 5 minutes away from the Miami Beach Convention Center and Lincoln Road Mall, where you can find restaurants, movie theaters and all major stores. Also within walking distance from all famous bars and night clubs in South Beach.

Dining

Green Bar
The restaurant serves continental breakfast buffet and Happy Hour drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (136)

Ratings and reviews for President Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
136 out of 136
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
NY NY
Jul 15, 2011

Thumps up

Very good, clean, good decor, nice staff, great bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very easy to get to all the major clubs in Miami beach and also very close to the convention center.

Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Houston, Texas
Jun 24, 2011

Great location

The hotel staff were very helpful and nice. The resort fee is $15 plus tax not $12 as listed. The valet service takes a while but is a better option since parking is so limited. I would have given them a higher rating but the bed was horrible. I tossed all night. Seriously time for an upgrade. The mattresses are so worn. The linens could use an upgrade as well. I had to ask for more towels since the one's in my room had holes in them. However the new one's they brought were not much better. Simply poor quality. The bedding was clean but some permanent stains are obvious. All in all I would stay here again because it was a great location. Close to everything. I really enjoyed myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
May 31, 2011

Miami Memorial Day Weekend

The President Hotel is located in a great location for all the festivities in Miami. We were 2 blocks from shopping on Lincoln and one street over to Ocean Drive for bar hoping. The hotel had great security, which is highly appreciated during the Memorial Day Weekend. We had one service request that was fixed quickly by maintanence. Overall, our experience was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
houston ,tx
May 16, 2011

Stay at south beach

The hotel is walking distance to the beach and shopping. The price was right ,but don't expect much. The walls are thin and you can hear a normal conversation next door. The bed was hard and breakfast was minimal at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the deli across the street and up a block for breakfast

Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Toronto
May 2, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

It was beautiful vacation.Hotels stuff was very friendly and helpfull.We stayed in a very nice and clean room.No noise from outside.We had continental breakfast and "Happy hours" with 2 free drinks.Good location and about 5 minutes from the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The best shopping on Collins Ave between 5 and 14 Str

Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Netherlands Antilles
Apr 8, 2011

Really great

Hotel is in a great location, Was actually much better then I expected, rooms were really decent,clean, just room floor a little bit dirty, happy hour was great and breakfast was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
New York City
Mar 31, 2011

Terrific hotel with lots of extras!

This was a much needed vacation! First off, I was welcomed warmly with room ready and given comp continental breakfast and cocktail coupons for my stay! Then the room was done in a cooling peaceful white and granny smith apple color with lime beauty products!!! Also, a small fridge, beach towels was also appreciated! Great way to start the morning to have breakfast on the porch! Bartenders and bellmen were especially friendly! Would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A block from the beach and right near Lincoln Rd shopping!

Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
DC
Mar 23, 2011

President Hotel: Great Value in SoBe

Great location. Convenient to everything SoBe has to offer. This was my 5th stay and it just keeps improving....this WAS my secret place, a bargain in an otherwise expensive destination. A great value in SoBe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Budget for shopping on Lincoln Road. The best in so many categories.

Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Itgirl
Jacksonville
Mar 15, 2011

Perfect Location

Stayed in South Beach for New Years. Nice and clean BUT the walls are paper thin

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
maple valley, wa
Feb 27, 2011

Good location, nice older hotel

I liked the charm of the deco era hotel and that it had been redone in 08. Too bad they didn't enlarge the bathrooms, it was nice but very small with no counter or shelves to put your things. The room was good size with high ceilings and contemporary decor which I liked. Close to shopping and the beach. Unfortunately communication between the staff was a problem. We asked for our car to be ready at 5:45AM for an early flight, when we called the front desk at 5:30 to see if our car was ready they didn't know about our request from the night before. Also the morning staff didn't seem to know that we had paid our resort fee when we went down for breakfast. This I don't understand, since I was charged and told at check in the fee was not optional. Over all the staff was pleasant but, I'm not sure if the problems we did have were because of challenges with English comprehension or indifference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The concierge recommended Sushi Samba when I asked for the name of a good restaurant on the beach. It was great and close enough to walk, but it wasn't on the beach.

Back to menu Return to top