$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

President Hotel

3 stars
1423 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
148 reviews
excellent service!

We booked this hotel for the location and price. We didn't expect anything fancy or any real... See full review

  • travelling girlfriends
  • Jan 19, 2014
great place to stay

make sure you get the penthouse sweet with the terrace, its perfect! See full review

  • David Awesome hotel trave
  • Sep 30, 2013
Tropical getaway hotel in the center of all the South Beach action

This boutique Art Deco hotel tempts Miami Beach visitors who want to be close to clubs and the pristine beach. The 64-room property satisfies South Beach fantasies, bringing drama, glitz and history together in one tropical setting. The circa 1937 building has seen its splendor restored in floors, murals and ironwork. Modern accents distinguish the property, and no two rooms are alike.

Highlights
  • Art Deco hotel steps from South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops
  • 64 rooms, including two penthouse suites
  • Wi-Fi access is included in the Resort Fee
Rooms

Stark white linens show off the decor showpiece in the 64 rooms: an oversized picture of local flora and natural elements, usually in green, that spans the entire wall. Each room features a different image. A Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier hangs from the ceiling to remind guests that this is still glamorous South Beach. Every room has a plasma TV and refrigerator.

Features

The hotel is intimate and private without being too far removed from South Beach's go-to sightseeing, shopping and nightlife spots. With Lincoln Road, Ocean Drive, Collins and Washington Avenue just steps away, visitors will find no shortage of restaurants, clubs and boutiques after a day at the beach. The hotel also has private garden terraces, a secluded patio and the quiet President's Green Bar and Restaurant.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (11 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Lincoln Road
  • Washington Avenue
  • Art Deco District
  • Lummus Park
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1 mile)
Policies and fees
  • Credit card is the preferred form of payment. Accepted credit cards are Visa, Mastercard and American Express.
  • Daily incidentals' deposit will amount to USD 100/ per room per day with a maximum amount of USD 250 for a 3-day stay or longer; payable either on credit card or cash - Cash payment must be made in US Dollars.
  • Cash paying guests will be required to present pictured ID upon payment- Accepted forms of identification are: passport, ID or driver's license
  • Maximum occupancy is 2 adults OR 1 adult + 1 child. Extra person charge is $25. Only Penthouse rooms allow rollaway beds.
  • Special event dates/holidays (dates with minimum stay of three nights and up) -- for example Memorial Day Weekend etc. -- are non refundable.
  • Resort fee is based on double occupancy. When 1 or 2 guests are booking, resort fee is $21.47 USD (tax inclusive) payable at the hotel. For 3 or more guests, an additional $10.73 per person will be charged. Resort fee includes Wi-Fi access, beach towels, continental breakfast (7:30 AM - 10:30 AM), in-room safe deposit box, in-room bottled water and welcome drink. Resort fee is mandatory and will be charged without exception.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.786 -80.1304
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Miami.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, Fort Lauderdale Airport.
Area description
We are one block away from the beach, at the heart of Miami Beach's trendy Art Deco District. 5 minutes away from the Miami Beach Convention Center and Lincoln Road Mall, where you can find restaurants, movie theaters and all major stores. Also within walking distance from all famous bars and night clubs in South Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed President Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

President Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room has either 1 or 2 full or queen size beds. The amenities include rainfall shower, plasma screen TV, direct-dial telephone with voice mail, compact refrigerator, alarm clock, safe deposit box, individually controlled cooling and heating system, Iron/Ironing Board and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

Green Bar
The restaurant serves continental breakfast buffet and Happy Hour drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (148)

Ratings and reviews for President Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 2, 2008

Well located

Hotel was very well located and the staff was friendly. The public areas of the hotel definitely leave something to be desired. The room itself was clean and overall, I would consider the hotel a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you have a car, it's easy and relatively inexpensive to park it a the public garage one block away at Collins and 13th.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Oct 27, 2008

Great stay

Great design, good location: beach, shopping, clubs, bars! Clean and new, friendly staff, Overall great stay! Only thing is the long wait to check in... But at least we could put our luggage in a safe place and already enjoy Miami in the meantime, so it was ok. I recommend this hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nightlife! So that's Miami!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando
Oct 8, 2008

Great for the money

This hotel has a nice ambience, very center of the art deco area. The rooms were very attractive, clean but sparse.Lovely large shower , fridge and flat screen TV made the stay comfortable. The staff was accommodating and friendly. We were able to walk down to the local restaurants, get something to eat and sit out on the patio area and people watch. Very close to shops , the beach and restaurants. The hotel does not have a restaurant or coffeemakers in the room so a morning coffee drinker will have to walk down to the coffe shop. There is a fee for WiFi and that is located in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Believe it or not but the local grocer provides the best meals. They serve large portions of Cuban, Spanish style food. There are fresh choices every day. Shopping is on Lincoln and the boutiques are fun to look in. Tons of great restaurants on Collins Ave and on Ocean Dr. The more affordable ones are on Collins and the side streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas
Sep 28, 2008

what a mess

The check in was a total disaster, took forever, and the manager was rude and uncaring about the people checking in. I was told there were no connecting rooms, and yet, when I got to my room there was a connecting door to the room next door. People that checked in AFTER us were given that room. There was no sound insulation around the door or in the walls and it was if the people were in the room with me. My room was missing the bathroom door, and there was no table of any kind so everthing had to go on the floor. It was clean and cheap and I understand other floors have been remodled, so don't let them put you on the 2nd floor! The bathroom looks good but it is hard to wash your face, because the shelf sticks out over the small sink. My friends bathroom had no shelf, and again there was no where to put anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Middle of everything. Walk to Lincon Blvd, and all the clubs on Washington. The beach is one street over.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakeside
Sep 20, 2008

Think Tenement Painted White

I choose this hotel for it's location in the Art Deco region of South Beach Miami, FL. I arrived, and was very dissapointed from the overpowering odor of mildew to the walk up the spongy stairs we escaped to our room. We walked past doors with white computer paper taped to them displaying room numbers and into our very spartanly furnished room. The room reeked of someones food,there were no blankets on the beds, and the worst part was the doors stop 2 inches above the floor. So not only can you hear everything going on in other rooms and the hallway, but all night/morning you can hear the steel doors (of each room) slamming up and down the hallway. If your looking for barely a step above a beach shower/changing room this is your place. For anyone actually looking for something more than a place to change from your bikini to your night club clothes and to pass out in a drunken stupor look elswhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Not far from shopping at Licoln Pedestrian Mall and Ocean drive's restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx
Sep 20, 2008

Perfect for a girls weekend out

This hotel were very accomidating and did not make us switch rooms the next day. The hotel is small, no bar, no food, but right in the middle of everything. We planned on partying the whole weekend and needed a hotel close to everything and the president was more than we could ask for in this aspect. The rooms are TINY, and we had no decor on our walls. Beds were pretty comfortable. I would not recommend this hotel to a family or a couple. It was very loud around 6 and 7 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Cameo, one of the best clubs in Miami is less than a block away. Do the South Beach clubs one night and the Downtown Miami clubs the next to get the best experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Jackson
Sep 14, 2008

Very poor

Only good thing I can said is the location of the hotel.Everything else from 1 to 10,is was a 0.Is not worth the head ache.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Miami Beach was around the corner,so the night life,and dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Quincy
Aug 31, 2008

South Beach 2008

The President Hotel in South Beach is certainly a nice hotel. There is not much to the hotel, but when you are in South Beach, there isn't much point at being in your hotel all that often (except to sleep.) The rooms are very sleek and modern, which is a great, refreashing change. The hotel itself seems a bit outdated. Wireless internet was next to impossible to get (only available in the lobby, and even then had to be on the network for a neighboring hotel.) The bar in the lobby was not open once during our visit, and the hotel pool is actually a wading pool, which while nice to have is certainly not a pool as most people would think. That being said, with the beach being only one block away a pool was not really needed. The hotel was a good value, but I think that they need to update just slightly to be top notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is so much to do just blocks from the hotel. You'll only be in the room to sleep. Bars, clubs, the beach, shopping, resturants...there are too many to list.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Mateo
Aug 27, 2008

Bad First Impression, Made me wait.

First Impression. Hotel staff was unfriendly during check in. They will IGNORE you and make you wait. ONLY one person was GREAT, I only met her on the day I Checked out. I wished she was the person that checked me in and this review would have been better. Rooms were big but dusty, seems that ONLY the MINIMUM was done upon turnover of the rooms. (Feels like only the bed linens were changed) I will look somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax
Aug 8, 2008

Great Price Great Location

The President Hotel price value is great. The location makes it a great place to stay. Its one block from the beach and right by all the big roads like washington ave and lincoln road. They also have an ice machine and an outdoor swimming pool. One thing I did not enojoy was waiting 2 hours to check in and the house keeping waking everyone up around 10:30. Another fact about this place is that everyone there speaks spanish so if you need help you better brush up on your spanish. All in all it was a great hotel for its price and I would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many clubs and bars that are fun. Down the beach there are bars like Wet Willy's and Manga, and Fat Tuesday. The clubs are down collins street. Dont go out on Mondays or Wednesday very slow....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top