$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 20, 2015 Check-out: Jan 21, 2015

President Hotel

3 stars
1423 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
151 reviews
excellent service!

We booked this hotel for the location and price. We didn't expect anything fancy or any real... See full review

  • travelling girlfriends
  • Jan 19, 2014
great place to stay

make sure you get the penthouse sweet with the terrace, its perfect! See full review

  • David Awesome hotel trave
  • Sep 30, 2013
Tropical getaway hotel in the center of all the South Beach action

This boutique Art Deco hotel tempts Miami Beach visitors who want to be close to clubs and the pristine beach. The 64-room property satisfies South Beach fantasies, bringing drama, glitz and history together in one tropical setting. The circa 1937 building has seen its splendor restored in floors, murals and ironwork. Modern accents distinguish the property, and no two rooms are alike.

Highlights
  • Art Deco hotel steps from South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops
  • 64 rooms, including two penthouse suites
  • Wi-Fi access is included in the Resort Fee
Rooms

Stark white linens show off the decor showpiece in the 64 rooms: an oversized picture of local flora and natural elements, usually in green, that spans the entire wall. Each room features a different image. A Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier hangs from the ceiling to remind guests that this is still glamorous South Beach. Every room has a plasma TV and refrigerator.

Features

The hotel is intimate and private without being too far removed from South Beach's go-to sightseeing, shopping and nightlife spots. With Lincoln Road, Ocean Drive, Collins and Washington Avenue just steps away, visitors will find no shortage of restaurants, clubs and boutiques after a day at the beach. The hotel also has private garden terraces, a secluded patio and the quiet President's Green Bar and Restaurant.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (11 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Lincoln Road
  • Washington Avenue
  • Art Deco District
  • Lummus Park
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1 mile)
Policies and fees
  • Credit card is the preferred form of payment. Accepted credit cards are Visa, Mastercard and American Express.
  • Daily incidentals' deposit will amount to USD 100/ per room per day with a maximum amount of USD 250 for a 3-day stay or longer; payable either on credit card or cash - Cash payment must be made in US Dollars.
  • Cash paying guests will be required to present pictured ID upon payment- Accepted forms of identification are: passport, ID or driver's license
  • Maximum occupancy is 2 adults OR 1 adult + 1 child. Extra person charge is $25. Only Penthouse rooms allow rollaway beds.
  • Special event dates/holidays (dates with minimum stay of three nights and up) -- for example Memorial Day Weekend etc. -- are non refundable.
  • Resort fee is based on double occupancy. When 1 or 2 guests are booking, resort fee is $21.47 USD (tax inclusive) payable at the hotel. For 3 or more guests, an additional $10.73 per person will be charged. Resort fee includes Wi-Fi access, beach towels, continental breakfast (7:30 AM - 10:30 AM), in-room safe deposit box, in-room bottled water and welcome drink. Resort fee is mandatory and will be charged without exception.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed President Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

President Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room has either 1 or 2 full or queen size beds. The amenities include rainfall shower, plasma screen TV, direct-dial telephone with voice mail, compact refrigerator, alarm clock, safe deposit box, individually controlled cooling and heating system, Iron/Ironing Board and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

Green Bar
The restaurant serves continental breakfast buffet and Happy Hour drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (151)

Ratings and reviews for President Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami , Florida
Jan 21, 2010

Great Location !

The staff was pretty helpful, City of Miami Beach shut off the water while my wife was in the shower but the Front desk agent helped me and got me a bucket with some water to help(to wash off the conditioner atleast)...The only con was there was a deposit that I wasnt told about ($200.00) and it took forever to get it back after we checked out ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chris G NYC
Business
NEW YORK
Jan 17, 2010

AVOID AT ALL COSTS

The hotel charged a "security deposit" although I prepaid my stay. When it was time to refund it upon check out, the machine was mysteriously broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 30, 2009

Great Stay-as usual

This is my sixth time staying at the President Hotel! Doesn't get any better! The location is the best. 1 Block from the beach and if you're in Miami to party...it a walk away from the best clubs! If you're traveling with girlfriend- the BEST part is every room has a mirror wall, so no fighting for the mirror ladies! The President hotel is the best and price can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're 21+ def. check out club LIV at the Fountainbleu hotel. You'll need a cab (a little over $5)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Princeton, NJ
Dec 28, 2009

Good stay!

Good stay on the whole. Fantastic location at a good proce. Valet parking though was too slow

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
tampa
Dec 16, 2009

Perfect Location, Very Nice Room

It is in really perfect location. You can go to beach, Lincoln, Espanyol, Ocean dr. The rooms are decorated very nice. It is exactly like in the photos. The stuff is friendly and helpful. No problem with air condition, towels, iron, iron board, hair dryer, refrigirator. The rooms are so clean. The price is also very good. In terms of limitations I can say the beds are a little..noisy.. bathroom is so cute but so so small. elevator is a little old. wireless internet is in only lobby not in the rooms. For this money it is really perfect!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jeseey
Dec 5, 2009

Overall..it was a good place to stay

I arrived late at night, around 1230am. At first I thought, "OK this is a dump". But the place took on a different feeling the next day once the attentive, friendly, and hard working housekeeping staff got busy. The room was simple and clean. The beds were OK, the TV stations did not all work. No clock in the room. Small fridge, no coffee maker or breakfast served. The lobby bar opened up on the weekends. Great A/C and windows that actually open and close. My room faced Collins and I was pleasantly surprised how quiet it was when the windows were closed. The curtains were shears and with dark out ones as well. This kept the room dark if you wanted to sleep in. Good location. If you get a good price, go with it. I would stay there again if only the price was right. This is not a 4 star. I have stayed at worst and I have stayed at better. I had to awake early to checkout, 430am. The front desk was happy to arrange a wake up call for me and have a cab waiting for me

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CruisnCouple
Business
New York
Nov 29, 2009

A Night at The President Hotel

As we were coming from a 2 week cruise we just wanted to stay in Miami for one night. The President Hotel was a great find and price was right. The room was large and very clean ....and it even smelled good!! Hotel is within short walking distance to several restaurants and the beautiful beach. Staff was friendly and accomodating....they even let us store our luggage for a full day. I would definitely recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many dining establishments within a short walk advertising good culinary deals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Charles
Nov 23, 2009

It's not excellent but it's ok

Staff friendly and location excellent.Rooms are a bit small and noisy.We had to complain abaut others costomers that were talking tío laud at night. Hard to park with out paying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Berlin, Germany
Nov 8, 2009

Brand-new room in an excellent location

The rooms are large, clean and in mint conditions. Huge shower. Bathroom could be a little bit larger, but it's brand-new. 1 block from Ocean Drive and the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JoyRide1031
Business
Grand Blanc, MI
Nov 5, 2009

President - Great at a Good Price

I paid less that $100 for the hotel so I was extemely happy with my purchase. +: Great Location Good Value Small But Nice Bathroom Good Happy Hour Specials Clean -: Uncomfortable Beds Paper Thin Walls Small Beach Towels No Early Check In Overall I would book The President again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat @ Emeril's!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top