$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

President Hotel

3 stars
1423 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
146 reviews
excellent service!

We booked this hotel for the location and price. We didn't expect anything fancy or any real... See full review

  • travelling girlfriends
  • Jan 19, 2014
great place to stay

make sure you get the penthouse sweet with the terrace, its perfect! See full review

  • David Awesome hotel trave
  • Sep 30, 2013
Tropical getaway hotel in the center of all the South Beach action

This boutique Art Deco hotel tempts Miami Beach visitors who want to be close to clubs and the pristine beach. The 64-room property satisfies South Beach fantasies, bringing drama, glitz and history together in one tropical setting. The circa 1937 building has seen its splendor restored in floors, murals and ironwork. Modern accents distinguish the property, and no two rooms are alike.

Highlights
  • Art Deco hotel steps from South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops
  • 64 rooms, including two penthouse suites
  • Wi-Fi access is included in the Resort Fee
Rooms

Stark white linens show off the decor showpiece in the 64 rooms: an oversized picture of local flora and natural elements, usually in green, that spans the entire wall. Each room features a different image. A Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier hangs from the ceiling to remind guests that this is still glamorous South Beach. Every room has a plasma TV and refrigerator.

Features

The hotel is intimate and private without being too far removed from South Beach's go-to sightseeing, shopping and nightlife spots. With Lincoln Road, Ocean Drive, Collins and Washington Avenue just steps away, visitors will find no shortage of restaurants, clubs and boutiques after a day at the beach. The hotel also has private garden terraces, a secluded patio and the quiet President's Green Bar and Restaurant.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (11 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Lincoln Road
  • Washington Avenue
  • Art Deco District
  • Lummus Park
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1 mile)
Policies and fees
  • Credit card is the preferred form of payment. Accepted credit cards are Visa, Mastercard and American Express.
  • Daily incidentals' deposit will amount to USD 100/ per room per day with a maximum amount of USD 250 for a 3-day stay or longer; payable either on credit card or cash - Cash payment must be made in US Dollars.
  • Cash paying guests will be required to present pictured ID upon payment- Accepted forms of identification are: passport, ID or driver's license
  • Maximum occupancy is 2 adults OR 1 adult + 1 child. Extra person charge is $25. Only Penthouse rooms allow rollaway beds.
  • Special event dates/holidays (dates with minimum stay of three nights and up) -- for example Memorial Day Weekend etc. -- are non refundable.
  • Resort fee is $19.00 USD plus 13% taxes per room per night. The resort fee includes usage of Wi-Fi, beach towels, continental breakfast (from 7:30am - 10:30am), use of in-room safe, in-room bottled water, and welcome drink. The Resort Fee is mandatory and will be charged without exception.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.786 -80.1304
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Miami.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, Fort Lauderdale Airport.
Area description
We are one block away from the beach, at the heart of Miami Beach's trendy Art Deco District. 5 minutes away from the Miami Beach Convention Center and Lincoln Road Mall, where you can find restaurants, movie theaters and all major stores. Also within walking distance from all famous bars and night clubs in South Beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed President Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

President Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard Room has either 1 or 2 full or queen size beds. The amenities include rainfall shower, plasma screen TV, direct-dial telephone with voice mail, compact refrigerator, alarm clock, safe deposit box, individually controlled cooling and heating system, Iron/Ironing Board and hair dryer.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

Green Bar
The restaurant serves continental breakfast buffet and Happy Hour drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for President Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jeseey
Dec 5, 2009

Overall..it was a good place to stay

I arrived late at night, around 1230am. At first I thought, "OK this is a dump". But the place took on a different feeling the next day once the attentive, friendly, and hard working housekeeping staff got busy. The room was simple and clean. The beds were OK, the TV stations did not all work. No clock in the room. Small fridge, no coffee maker or breakfast served. The lobby bar opened up on the weekends. Great A/C and windows that actually open and close. My room faced Collins and I was pleasantly surprised how quiet it was when the windows were closed. The curtains were shears and with dark out ones as well. This kept the room dark if you wanted to sleep in. Good location. If you get a good price, go with it. I would stay there again if only the price was right. This is not a 4 star. I have stayed at worst and I have stayed at better. I had to awake early to checkout, 430am. The front desk was happy to arrange a wake up call for me and have a cab waiting for me

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CruisnCouple
New York
Nov 29, 2009

A Night at The President Hotel

As we were coming from a 2 week cruise we just wanted to stay in Miami for one night. The President Hotel was a great find and price was right. The room was large and very clean ....and it even smelled good!! Hotel is within short walking distance to several restaurants and the beautiful beach. Staff was friendly and accomodating....they even let us store our luggage for a full day. I would definitely recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many dining establishments within a short walk advertising good culinary deals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lake Charles
Nov 23, 2009

It's not excellent but it's ok

Staff friendly and location excellent.Rooms are a bit small and noisy.We had to complain abaut others costomers that were talking tío laud at night. Hard to park with out paying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Berlin, Germany
Nov 8, 2009

Brand-new room in an excellent location

The rooms are large, clean and in mint conditions. Huge shower. Bathroom could be a little bit larger, but it's brand-new. 1 block from Ocean Drive and the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JoyRide1031
Grand Blanc, MI
Nov 5, 2009

President - Great at a Good Price

I paid less that $100 for the hotel so I was extemely happy with my purchase. +: Great Location Good Value Small But Nice Bathroom Good Happy Hour Specials Clean -: Uncomfortable Beds Paper Thin Walls Small Beach Towels No Early Check In Overall I would book The President again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat @ Emeril's!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson AZ
Oct 28, 2009

Hip and contemporary

Great location within walking distance to beach and restaurants. We loved the room decor. Very different but fitting to the area. Check in was a little slow and there is no parking at the Hotel. Valet parking for $25.00 a night is available but has to be paid in cash at check-in. Jerry's world famous deli is just down the street and is a good choice for breakfast without breaking the bank. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Raleigh, NC
Oct 28, 2009

Great Location & Price

My wife and I stayed and we really liked the hotel. We only stayed one night on South Beach after our cruise, so we didn't require much to accommodate us. The room was the art-deco contemporary style, which was pretty cool. My wife loved the way the room looked. The location was great. It was a very short walk to the beach (just 1 block over) and to the club/restaurant strip on Ocean Drive. It was also a fairly short walk to Lincoln Road Mall, which was really nice. The staff was very friendly and even recommended a great Cuban restaurant for us to try, which was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want a great Cuban meal that is also decently priced then try Puerto Saqua, 700 Collins Ave. on South Beach. The food was excellent and the prices were really good for South Beach. It's not a fancy sit down so don't go for the decor or ambiance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york, ny
Oct 26, 2009

great location...shame about the bed

Hotel is in a great location and if you plan on spending very little time in your room then this is great for you. Unfortunately the beds are a bit creaky and ancient...not to mention we could hear the lady in the next room putting on her perfume in the morning! Beach is actually a block away! They are not lying...which is nice!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Watch out for breakfast specials...went to place called The Cordoza on Ocean Drive. Breakfast was $4.25 but a small Mimosa was $14!! so drink water/juice to actually take advantage of the special as the cocktail prices are astronomical & there are plenty of drink's specials to be had after breakfast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wisconsiners Out West
Milwaukee, WI
Oct 21, 2009

Birthday Weekend

GREAT!! second time staying here and will definitely be back again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

No need to rent a car if you're just staying in sobe...everything you need is in walking distance and parking is hard to find!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of President Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bitten.
Mexico City, Mexico
Sep 23, 2009

EXCELLENT!

It's my fourth time in this hotel, and it's always been a good experience. It's really close to Lincoln Road and one block away from the beach. The staff is helpful and friendly. The rooms are neat and the decoration is really cool, the bathroom is impeccable. Next visit to Miami, I'm staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Really close to Lincoln Rd, a lot of restaurants and shops there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search