$57 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
98 reviews
day after cruise

The stay was ok. You have to make sure you get there at check in time and not earlier. I had to... See full review

  • Joy W.
  • Apr 30, 2015
NICE TRIP

Very nice hotel in the middle of the action ,nice wiew and good people around as. See full review

  • Marius S.
  • Apr 24, 2015
The Penguin Hotel, is an example of 1940's Late Art Deco style. The hotel is situated directly on Ocean Drive and 14th street, across from the sandy beaches and only a few steps away from Lincoln Road, popular restaurants and night clubs. The property was renovated in 2006 by a French Designer. Penguin Hotel guests can enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Purple Penguin Cafe located at hotel lobby area, offering delicious dishes made from scratch and at very affordable prices.

Valet parking is available for your convenience (USD30).

Guest must be 18 years or older to check in.

A valid picture ID is required at check in as well as a refundable security deposit of USD100 per room/night (max.USD250 per 3 day stay or longer) which can be paid in cash (USD) or credit card. Accepted identification is passport, ID or drivers license for cash deposits.

Resort fee indicated is based upon double occupancy when 1 or 2 guests are booking and is: $21.47 tax included payable at Hotel. PLEASE NOTE: -When 3 or more guests are booking an additional $10.73 per person will be payable to the hotel Resort fee includes: Ala Carte Continental breakfast for two(7:30am to 10.30am in Purple Penguin Cafe ), 2 Welcome Drinks,beach towels, WI-FI throughout the property, use of in-room safe, 2 daily bottles of water in room. Resort Fee will be automatically posted to the guest account. Note: The resort fee is mandatory and will be collected without exception.

Special Event Dates/Holidays (dates with minimum stay of 3 nights and up) are non refundable.

Maximum occupancy in units is 2 people (2 adults or 1 adult and 1 child). There are no rollaways available in rooms due to limited space. Note that if you have booked for one guest, and 2 guests are staying, you will be charged an additional $25.00. If second guest is child under 12 years of age, child stays free.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Penguin Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$78
3.3 / 5 611 reviews
★★★★
$89
3.3 / 5 221 reviews
★★★
$58
3.4 / 5 154 reviews
★★★
$78
3.6 / 5 154 reviews
★★★
$68
3.5 / 5 253 reviews
★★★
$75
3.3 / 5 199 reviews
★★★
$70
2.9 / 5 80 reviews
★★★
$119
3.3 / 5 96 reviews
★★★
$60
3.4 / 5 137 reviews

Penguin Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Each room is artistically renovated with: 1 or 2 full or queen size beds, bathtub, hair dryer,plasma screen TV, voicemail/phone, alarm clock, wet bar (sink, marble counter, refrigerator), individually controlled air conditioning, Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier,safety deposit box, iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

The Purple Penguin Cafe
Located at hotel lobby serves full breakfast, lunch and dinner. A warm atmosphere and the most delicious dishes while you can people-watch at our front porch area overlooking famous Ocean Drive. Our location and our affordable prices cannot be beaten.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 98
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sarah
Friends
apo
Jun 11, 2015

Love the decor

My cousin and I went for a girls trip and the room ended up being a bit more decorated for romance, it made us laugh a lot. The location was great and the trip was wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BC123
Friends
Rhinebeck
Jan 25, 2015

Great overnight stay

This is a great location to enjoy South Beach, especially if you don't need the high-end Miami experience, and simply want a clean, convenient, comfortable, authentic Deco place as home base while you visit. It's toward the northern end of Ocean Drive right on the beach, provides two free welcome drinks, free wifi, and free continental breakfast with a Lummus Park-front Starbucks with patios a half block away, a few blocks from Espanola, a few blocks from Lincoln Road, a few blocks from the busiest hotels/restaurants on Ocean Drive. Very nice staff, comfortable room. Easily recommendable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A fun weekend in SoBe
Friends
Palm Beach, FL
Oct 2, 2014

Good hotel, great location, would return to again!

The Penguin Hotel was one of the better hotels I've stayed in in South Beach for the price. It was a pretty good value considering the beach is right across the street and it is in the middle of everything. It was pretty quiet and not a lot of street noise which I was surprised by. We got upgraded to an ocean view room for free when we checked in which was a bonus since those were the only rooms left that night. We stayed for two nights. I would stay here again and recommend it to friends and family for a great value and location hotel in SoBe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ivanka Banks
Friends
Newyork
Sep 8, 2014

Horrible never again

Horrible stay such a waste of money , Carmen who is part of the staff .. Horrible , Sophia who is the manager even worse

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ToulaMo
Friends
CT
Aug 18, 2014

Had a great time!

My friend and I had an awesome time! The staff was great and very helpful with whatever we needed. Not many amenities but we did get beach towels and breakfast everyday. Hotel is a little small but it didn't bother us at all, we just wanted a nice, clean place to stay and we found it right on Ocean Dr. which was even better. The locations is great, right in the center of everything. If you are going to be spending most of you day out like us, then this is the perfect place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BritnNea
Friends
cola, SC
Jul 11, 2014

The Penguin Ocean Dr.

I couldn't ask for more with the price. I enjoyed my stay there. Excellent location, just steps from the beach. Excellent staff, especially Tim their waiter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Their happy hour specials are great compared to many on the same strip.

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacationing NewYorker
Friends
New York, NY
Mar 5, 2014

Just what I was looking for.

So my trip this past weekend went off without a hitch thanks to the amazing staff at the hotel. I arrived early for my Feb 28th to March 3rd trip, and thought I may have to wait on a room until after 2 or 3pm for a room. Man was I WRONG the ladies at the front desk told me if I wanted to check in a room was ready if I wanted it. Mean while my friends were having issues with their $600 a night hotel and I was already checked in and taking in the Miami sun. The room was clean (I was in room 117), and the cleaning staff was sweet. I am not sure what was going on with those who stated in their reviews that the hotel was dirty. This was just not the case for me during my stay and I look forward to returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was so close, just within walking distance.

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kiki1373
Friends
Winter Park, FL
Sep 23, 2013

Overall Good Stay!!!

First impression of the hotel was ok. The location was Great!!! So that made up for the things it lacked. It is old and needs repair,but it had everything I needed for my stay. I would stay again if the price is right!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Whizpah
Friends
Valley Stream, NY
Jul 10, 2012

Great value for the location!

My friends and I enjoyed the fourth of July week in South Beach and had a great experience staying at the penguin hotel. The only inconveniences were that they did not have room service and you had to go to the President Hotel for breakfast. Other than that, the staff was nice and very accommodating. Don't expect to get any super strong drinks though since the bartender was adamant about only pouring the standard amount of liquor for each drink. We had a friend who stayed in another more expensive hotel not too far away and he had flying waterbugs! The Penguin was bug free and definitely a place that I would return to for a South Beach vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
April F
Friends
NYC
May 29, 2012

friendly but budget

The staff were very nice at this hotel but I did not have that comfy hotel experience. The rooms were a little small to relax in and the lighting within the hotel hallways was a little dark and scary looking. The location, however, cannot be beat, we were a 20 second walk from the beach. If you're not planning on spending too much time in the hotel and just need a place to sleep, it's good value but definitely just the basics.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Puerto Sagua on 7th and collins. Affordable, tasty latin-style diner with amazing rice and beans, maduro, and i had a grilled tilapia and shrimp which was amazingly good. An unexpected and tasty surprise.

Back to menu Return to top