$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
132 reviews
Great

Great experience Awsome hotel Price was great, check in was a breeze Staff were nice and room was... See full review

  • Mart904
  • Jun 7, 2014
Hotel

It was a great place to be. One thing i didn't like was the bathroom shower...water gets off.... See full review

  • allezliz
  • May 6, 2013
The Penguin Hotel, is an example of 1940's Late Art Deco style. The hotel is situated directly on Ocean Drive and 14th street, across from the sandy beaches and only a few steps away from Lincoln Road, popular restaurants and night clubs. The property was renovated in 2006 by a French Designer. Penguin Hotel guests can enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Purple Penguin Cafe located at hotel lobby area, offering delicious dishes made from scratch and at very affordable prices.

Valet parking is available for your convenience (USD30).

Guest must be 18 years or older to check in.

A valid picture ID is required at check in as well as a refundable security deposit of USD100 per room/night (max.USD250 per 3 day stay or longer) which can be paid in cash (USD) or credit card. Accepted identification is passport, ID or drivers license for cash deposits.

Our $19.00 Resort Fee includes : Ala Carte Continental breakfast for two(7:30am to 10.30am in Purple Penguin Cafe ), 2 Welcome Drinks,beach towels, WI-FI throughout the property, use of in-room safe, 2 daily bottles of water in room. Resort Fee will be automatically posted to the guest account. Note: $19 fee is mandatory and will be collected without exception.

Special Event Dates/Holidays (dates with minimum stay of 3 nights and up) are non refundable.

Maximum occupancy in units is 2 people (2 adults or 1 adult and 1 child). There are no rollaways available in rooms due to limited space. Note that if you have booked for one guest, and 2 guests are staying, you will be charged an additional $25.00. If second guest is child under 12 years of age, child stays free.

Hotel Map

25.7861 -80.1297
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Miami.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, Fort Lauderdale Airport
Area description
The Penguin Hotel is just a 15 minute drive from Miami International Airport, Downtown Miami, Bayside Mall, and the Cruise Ship Port of Miami. At any time you can also walk to the world-class cafes, restaurants, theaters and designer clothing stores of Ocean Drive, Collins Avenue, Washington Avenue as well as the famous Lincoln Road Mall. If you stay with us for business or to attend to a convention, the Miami Beach Convention Center is only a few blocks away, at a short walking distance. The Penguin Hotel is perfectly located right on Ocean Drive, where all the South Beach action happens.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Penguin Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Penguin Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Each room is artistically renovated with: 1 or 2 full or queen size beds, bathtub, hair dryer,plasma screen TV, voicemail/phone, alarm clock, wet bar (sink, marble counter, refrigerator), individually controlled air conditioning, Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier,safety deposit box, iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

The Purple Penguin Cafe
Located at hotel lobby serves full breakfast, lunch and dinner. A warm atmosphere and the most delicious dishes while you can people-watch at our front porch area overlooking famous Ocean Drive. Our location and our affordable prices cannot be beaten.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 132
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
grhu520
Canada
May 27, 2013

Far too expensive for what they offer.

Wi-Fi, breakfast and towels are not free. They charge you all these things when you arrive. Even if you already pay the total amount charged by this site. The worse thing was the breakfast. For some reason, you have to go to another hotel and take it there... the problem is: if it is raining they won't offer anything to help you out to go there safety. Twice in a week the room service came at 7PM. Another time I made the call to see if they are free to come and clean the room. Disaster. Don't go there... I just read tons of good reviews here and I thought it would be worth trying but now, I'm a 100% sure: I'm not returning there anymore and I will make sure to spread the voice. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Restless Native
Virginia, USA
Dec 5, 2011

South Beach slumming

The place seems to be leaking all over and smells musty. In the room the wall paper was peeling off from moisture damage. Also did not like the $15 "Resort Fee" they hit you up with on top of your Orbizt bill for use of a beach towel. Rip off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bill J.
Guatemala City
Nov 20, 2011

terrible

very. very expensive for what you get. Hidden cost for Valet parking $ 32.00 per day...Resort charge $ 15.00 a day. Orbiz should check tis hotel to see if you should keep it on your list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 7, 2011

So not worth it!

The hallway was blue and dark...weird smell...the bed was uncomfortable and the pillow was dirty...the tv did not even show the super bowl and this place did not have wireless internet...for all of this I would have paid more for more comfort...I could not sleep kept waking up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC, NY
Oct 19, 2009

Get what you pay for

i've been coming to south beach just about every month for a few years now and i usually arrive before check-in... they usually tell me that they'll give me a call when a room is ready and it usually happens way before check-in time. This hotel has a check-in time of 3 rather then 2 like most hotels and check-out time of 11 instead of 12.. and they charge $50 if there is a room available and you want to check-in early.. weird! but anyways even though there was no room service, pool, doorman to bring me my luggage, and the decor was pretty out there the room was decent and clean and a pretty good bargain for what i paid. The frontdesk was accomidating for the most part although i did ask for a few q-tips and they had not one in the entire hotel which i thought was strange.. the stay was ok.. nothing special

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC, NY
Oct 19, 2009

Get what you pay for

i've been coming to south beach just about every month for a few years now and i usually arrive before check-in... they usually tell me that they'll give me a call when a room is ready and it usually happens way before check-in time. This hotel has a check-in time of 3 rather then 2 like most hotels and check-out time of 11 instead of 12.. and they charge $50 if there is a room available and you want to check-in early.. weird! but anyways even though there was no room service, pool, doorman to bring me my luggage, and the decor was pretty out there the room was decent and clean and a pretty good bargain for what i paid. The frontdesk was accomidating for the most part although i did ask for a few q-tips and they had not one in the entire hotel which i thought was strange.. the stay was ok.. nothing special

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
long beach, ca
Aug 25, 2010

Love IT!

Staff and location were priceless! Across from the water and walking to Lincoln & Espanola areas; staff that went out of their way to find me places to eat & live music (on a Mon night!); clean & quite (not easy in South Beach) room with amazing view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

avoid ocean drive... look on the side streets, on Washington or ask the staff for good alternatives to the tourist scene... there are GREAT small eateries.

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
long beach, ca
Aug 25, 2010

Love IT!

Staff and location were priceless! Across from the water and walking to Lincoln & Espanola areas; staff that went out of their way to find me places to eat & live music (on a Mon night!); clean & quite (not easy in South Beach) room with amazing view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

avoid ocean drive... look on the side streets, on Washington or ask the staff for good alternatives to the tourist scene... there are GREAT small eateries.

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pasha
Jamaica New York
Jun 20, 2013

Fantastic getaway

The location was great, and the beach was right across the street. The room was clean. The staff was great. I only stayed overnight, next year I am planning to stay longer. Anyone that is looking to visit South Beach Flordia, I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pretty Lady J
South Jersey
Aug 30, 2010

The Penguin Hotel is Very Cool!

The Penguin Hotel offers beautiful rooms. The room was relatively small but exploded with character. The art on the walls was chic and the flat screen, frosted glass doors, and steel with mirrors added a modern flair. Very comfy window bed made the oceanview room even sweeter and the penguins in the elevator rocked! The staff was friendly, [...] was very helpful and the restaurant had a great breakfast. There were lines of people waiting to eat out front in the AM. I will stay again and wished I had more time to stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a municipal parking garage on 12th Street between Ocean Drive and Collins Ave (two blocks from the Penguin) where parking is $1/hr.

Back to menu Return to top