$57 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
long beach, ca
Aug 25, 2010

Love IT!

Staff and location were priceless! Across from the water and walking to Lincoln & Espanola areas; staff that went out of their way to find me places to eat & live music (on a Mon night!); clean & quite (not easy in South Beach) room with amazing view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

avoid ocean drive... look on the side streets, on Washington or ask the staff for good alternatives to the tourist scene... there are GREAT small eateries.

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Richmond,VA
Aug 11, 2010

DRAMA FREE!! RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE BEACH

I am originally from Miami, my goal was to stay in a AFFORTABLE DECENT hotel off the beach and the penguin hotel was just that! Before we checked into our room we were able to relax on the beach and enjoy the lovely weather. The hotel is located directly off the beach put away from all the crazy tourist. Yes you have to pay for parking but it only cost $5! Over all i had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Fat Tuesdays, Wet Willy etc!!!

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Chicago
Feb 25, 2010

Just fine!

This was a great place for quick getaway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Getaway parents!
Couples
Miami, FL
Feb 17, 2010

Great location!

Great times! Excellent Valentine getaway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Orlando, FL
Nov 5, 2009

This hotel is exactly what I expected!

My best friend and I drove to Miami for a weekend vaycation over Halloween. This recently refurbished hotel was exactly what we would have wanted. It was clean, two full sized beds. Small rooms-but on south beach that's what you expect. The service staff was friendly and always helpful. We ate at the porch front restaurant and drank at the bar. Excellent drinks!!! The room was clean and bathroom modern and spotless. Felt completely comfortable. First floor, so we didn't visit the elevator. Since it's right on 14th and ocean we didn't even have a chance to visit the pool. Thus far, when looking for an affordable room right on Ocean Drive, the Penguin will be my only choice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There's a Publix close by, go to it after you check in. The rooms have a mini fridge, we purchased our alcohol, juice and coldcuts, helped us save on drinks and lunches, plus we could pack snacks for the beach!

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Milwaukee WI
Aug 14, 2009

good location, good price

The location is perfect for going to the beach during the day and dinner and shopping at night. It is small but the rooms were clean and the air conditioner worked well which is important with the humidity in Florida. The hotel does not have a lot of extras. No ice machine, no kleenex in the room, no view unless you pay for it. However, the staff was friendly and helpful. The Front Porch Cafe was good for breakfast and lunch at any time of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the little resturants off of Ocean Drive. They don't look that inviting but the food it good and the price is much less then Ocean Drive.

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ToulaMo
Friends
CT
Aug 18, 2014

Had a great time!

My friend and I had an awesome time! The staff was great and very helpful with whatever we needed. Not many amenities but we did get beach towels and breakfast everyday. Hotel is a little small but it didn't bother us at all, we just wanted a nice, clean place to stay and we found it right on Ocean Dr. which was even better. The locations is great, right in the center of everything. If you are going to be spending most of you day out like us, then this is the perfect place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A fun weekend in SoBe
Friends
Palm Beach, FL
Oct 2, 2014

Good hotel, great location, would return to again!

The Penguin Hotel was one of the better hotels I've stayed in in South Beach for the price. It was a pretty good value considering the beach is right across the street and it is in the middle of everything. It was pretty quiet and not a lot of street noise which I was surprised by. We got upgraded to an ocean view room for free when we checked in which was a bonus since those were the only rooms left that night. We stayed for two nights. I would stay here again and recommend it to friends and family for a great value and location hotel in SoBe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sun Seeking New Yorker
Single
New York City
Oct 22, 2014

Great Location and Wonderful Staff!

I had a wonderful experience this past weekend at The Penguin. If you're looking for beach convenience, this is perfect. Directly across from the entrance to the beach, and the hotel supplies you with beach towels (one less thing to pack). The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. I arrived early due to my early flight and they were able to check me in a little early because the room was ready (I know that this won't always be the case). It is a small hotel, so please don't expect to walk into a grand lobby, with a huge elevator and long luxurious hallways. What I care about most is cleanliness and there was no complaint on my end about that! I do however wish that their cafe offered a larger variety on the food menu, but I understand that with a small hotel - comes a smaller kitchen. I highly recommend it to anyone headed to south beach for some sun and some nightlife!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Kang
Couples
Mashpee
Dec 16, 2014

SoBe weekend

Room was small but most are down there... not to sound proof you can hear every conversation going on in the hallways.. Food was good at restaurant but drinks were on the weak side, I love the beach and the fact that you can leave your car there till 4pm after check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top