$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
85 reviews
Hotel

It was a great place to be. One thing i didn't like was the bathroom shower...water gets off.... See full review

  • allezliz
  • May 6, 2013
Not bad for a weekend

My girlfriend and I traveled to Miami, stayed at this hotel for a night. It'l located nice on the... See full review

  • JerryY
  • Apr 4, 2014
The Penguin Hotel, is an example of 1940's Late Art Deco style. The hotel is situated directly on Ocean Drive and 14th street, across from the sandy beaches and only a few steps away from Lincoln Road, popular restaurants and night clubs. The property was renovated in 2006 by a French Designer. Penguin Hotel guests can enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Purple Penguin Caf located at hotel lobby area, offering delicious dishes made from scratch and at very affordable prices. Penguin Hotel guests also have access to its sister property, the President Hotel (located directly behind the Penguin Hotel), which offers a relaxing patio area as well as the Green Bar, serving continental breakfast from 7:30 am until 10:30 am and Happy Hour cocktails from 5 pm to 7 pm every day.

Valet parking is available for your convenience (USD30).

Guest must be 18 years or older to check in.

A valid picture ID is required at check in as well as a refundable security deposit of USD50 per room/night (max.USD500 per stay) which can be paid in cash or credit card.

Our $19.00 Resort Fee includes : Continental breakfast for two(7:30am to 10.30am), 2 Welcome Drinks,beach towels, WI-FI throughout the property, use of in-room safe, 2 daily bottles of water in room. Resort Fee will be automatically posted to the guest account. Note: $19 fee is mandatory and will be collected without exception.

Special Event Dates/Holidays (dates with minimum stay of 3 nights and up) are non refundable.

Maximum occupancy in units is 2 people (2 adults or 1 adult and 1 child). There are no rollaways available in rooms due to limited space. Note that if you have booked for one guest, and 2 guests are staying, you will be charged an additional $25.00. If second guest is child under 12 years of age, child stays free.

Penguin Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Each room is artistically renovated with: 1 or 2 full or queen size beds, bathtub, hair dryer,plasma screen TV, voicemail/phone, alarm clock, wet bar (sink, marble counter, refrigerator), individually controlled air conditioning, Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier,safety deposit box, iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Penguin Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7861 -80.1297
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Miami.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, Fort Lauderdale Airport
Area description
The Penguin Hotel is just a 15 minute drive from Miami International Airport, Downtown Miami, Bayside Mall, and the Cruise Ship Port of Miami. At any time you can also walk to the world-class cafes, restaurants, theaters and designer clothing stores of Ocean Drive, Collins Avenue, Washington Avenue as well as the famous Lincoln Road Mall. If you stay with us for business or to attend to a convention, the Miami Beach Convention Center is only a few blocks away, at a short walking distance. The Penguin Hotel is perfectly located right on Ocean Drive, where all the South Beach action happens.

Dining

The Purple Penguin Cafe
Located at hotel lobby serves full breakfast, lunch and dinner. A warm atmosphere and the most delicious dishes while you can people-watch at our front porch area overlooking famous Ocean Drive. Our location and our affordable prices cannot be beaten.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
85 out of 85
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
black barbie
montevideo, uruguay
Feb 2, 2011

nice experience

we had a good experience at the penguin hotel. the staff was great and the hotel is really good located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
MandM newlyweds
Pennsylvania
Jun 1, 2013

Great location and value

Some vacationers prefer the perfect hotel with all the amenities - a home away from home with no need to travel outside the hotel walls. This is not that hotel. But if you're looking for a comfortable place to retire after a tough day at the beach, the Everglades, or Lincoln Road, look no further. The Penguin hotel is a fantastic location with wonderful service. Sure, the room is relatively small and the continental breakfast is simple, but if your ideal vacation lies outside of the hotel walls, choose the Penguin hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
baseballmom813
Tampa, FL
Jul 28, 2012

Great hotel, perfect location!

The hotel itself is very nice, clean and comfortable, except for the fact that the room was tiny, however, this is true of all the hotels on South Beach. The staff was very nice. The $15 resort fee is optional which is nice and you don't have to use the valet for $30, you can use the municipal parking just one block away instead for much cheaper. Great stay, will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use parking garage on 13th.

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
Nov 5, 2009

This hotel is exactly what I expected!

My best friend and I drove to Miami for a weekend vaycation over Halloween. This recently refurbished hotel was exactly what we would have wanted. It was clean, two full sized beds. Small rooms-but on south beach that's what you expect. The service staff was friendly and always helpful. We ate at the porch front restaurant and drank at the bar. Excellent drinks!!! The room was clean and bathroom modern and spotless. Felt completely comfortable. First floor, so we didn't visit the elevator. Since it's right on 14th and ocean we didn't even have a chance to visit the pool. Thus far, when looking for an affordable room right on Ocean Drive, the Penguin will be my only choice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There's a Publix close by, go to it after you check in. The rooms have a mini fridge, we purchased our alcohol, juice and coldcuts, helped us save on drinks and lunches, plus we could pack snacks for the beach!

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Sexy Beach
Sacramento, California
Nov 18, 2012

Beachcomber

My sister and I enjoyed this perfect location along Ocean Drive with Lincoln Mall close by. It was the perfect combination of spending time on the beach, dining, clubs, and shopping. We will definitedly plan to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Mall

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Whizpah
Valley Stream, NY
Jul 10, 2012

Great value for the location!

My friends and I enjoyed the fourth of July week in South Beach and had a great experience staying at the penguin hotel. The only inconveniences were that they did not have room service and you had to go to the President Hotel for breakfast. Other than that, the staff was nice and very accommodating. Don't expect to get any super strong drinks though since the bartender was adamant about only pouring the standard amount of liquor for each drink. We had a friend who stayed in another more expensive hotel not too far away and he had flying waterbugs! The Penguin was bug free and definitely a place that I would return to for a South Beach vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
allezliz
Chicago
May 6, 2013

Hotel

It was a great place to be. One thing i didn't like was the bathroom shower...water gets off. overall good =) love it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is so close

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
young frizzle
bronx,ny
Jun 19, 2012

bday bash

the hotel was great. no complaints. I definitely would.stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
SarahB123
Tampa, FL
Jan 14, 2011

Great place to stay for the price!

Great place to stay for the price. You can't get any better! The location was AMAZING! Right across the street from the beach and right next to food and shopping. It was very easy to check in and out. The staff was also very friendly. The rooms were really cute and clean. It had a very nice atmosphere! We will most definitely recommend this hotel to our family and friends :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Rd. and Ocean drive are great places for food and shops! If you're interested in clubs there are great ones on Washington Ave. Washington Ave. also has Dash Miami from "Keeping Up With the Kardashians," , and the "Miami Ink" tattoo shop. On Collins Ave, you will find the "Metropole" where the cast of "Jersey Shore" stayed while they were in Miami. Also, check out Espanola Way!

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Pretty Lady J
South Jersey
Aug 30, 2010

The Penguin Hotel is Very Cool!

The Penguin Hotel offers beautiful rooms. The room was relatively small but exploded with character. The art on the walls was chic and the flat screen, frosted glass doors, and steel with mirrors added a modern flair. Very comfy window bed made the oceanview room even sweeter and the penguins in the elevator rocked! The staff was friendly, [...] was very helpful and the restaurant had a great breakfast. There were lines of people waiting to eat out front in the AM. I will stay again and wished I had more time to stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a municipal parking garage on 12th Street between Ocean Drive and Collins Ave (two blocks from the Penguin) where parking is $1/hr.

Back to menu Return to top