$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
95 reviews
Great

Great experience Awsome hotel Price was great, check in was a breeze Staff were nice and room was... See full review

  • Mart904
  • Jun 7, 2014
Hotel

It was a great place to be. One thing i didn't like was the bathroom shower...water gets off.... See full review

  • allezliz
  • May 6, 2013
The Penguin Hotel, is an example of 1940's Late Art Deco style. The hotel is situated directly on Ocean Drive and 14th street, across from the sandy beaches and only a few steps away from Lincoln Road, popular restaurants and night clubs. The property was renovated in 2006 by a French Designer. Penguin Hotel guests can enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Purple Penguin Cafe located at hotel lobby area, offering delicious dishes made from scratch and at very affordable prices.

Valet parking is available for your convenience (USD30).

Guest must be 18 years or older to check in.

A valid picture ID is required at check in as well as a refundable security deposit of USD100 per room/night (max.USD250 per 3 day stay or longer) which can be paid in cash (USD) or credit card. Accepted identification is passport, ID or drivers license for cash deposits.

Our $19.00 Resort Fee includes : Ala Carte Continental breakfast for two(7:30am to 10.30am in Purple Penguin Cafe ), 2 Welcome Drinks,beach towels, WI-FI throughout the property, use of in-room safe, 2 daily bottles of water in room. Resort Fee will be automatically posted to the guest account. Note: $19 fee is mandatory and will be collected without exception.

Special Event Dates/Holidays (dates with minimum stay of 3 nights and up) are non refundable.

Maximum occupancy in units is 2 people (2 adults or 1 adult and 1 child). There are no rollaways available in rooms due to limited space. Note that if you have booked for one guest, and 2 guests are staying, you will be charged an additional $25.00. If second guest is child under 12 years of age, child stays free.

Hotel Map

25.7861 -80.1297
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Miami.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, Fort Lauderdale Airport
Area description
The Penguin Hotel is just a 15 minute drive from Miami International Airport, Downtown Miami, Bayside Mall, and the Cruise Ship Port of Miami. At any time you can also walk to the world-class cafes, restaurants, theaters and designer clothing stores of Ocean Drive, Collins Avenue, Washington Avenue as well as the famous Lincoln Road Mall. If you stay with us for business or to attend to a convention, the Miami Beach Convention Center is only a few blocks away, at a short walking distance. The Penguin Hotel is perfectly located right on Ocean Drive, where all the South Beach action happens.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Penguin Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Penguin Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Each room is artistically renovated with: 1 or 2 full or queen size beds, bathtub, hair dryer,plasma screen TV, voicemail/phone, alarm clock, wet bar (sink, marble counter, refrigerator), individually controlled air conditioning, Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier,safety deposit box, iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

The Purple Penguin Cafe
Located at hotel lobby serves full breakfast, lunch and dinner. A warm atmosphere and the most delicious dishes while you can people-watch at our front porch area overlooking famous Ocean Drive. Our location and our affordable prices cannot be beaten.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rikkay19
Tampa,fl
Apr 15, 2013

Perfect Stay

The room and halls were small, and our queen bed was two twins pushed together, but the room was clean and comfortable! Beautiful and boutiquey old fashion hotel room. The location was insanely perfect! Valet, and complimentary drinks/breakfast were awesome! We had the time of our lives and would definitely visit again! <3

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun Travelers from TN
TN
Jun 19, 2012

Great Deal, Great Location

We were sceptical based on previous reviews, but we had absolutely no issues with any of the items listed by other reviews. It's definitely not the ritz but it's better than most cut rate budget hotels. The location was great, the $15 resort fee was worth it, they now do the evening cocktail at the Penguin, the breakfast is in the sister hotel & doesn't start til 7:30. The place was clean & comfortable & the staff was helpful. One note - don't pay for the valet parking, there is a city run garage 2 blocks south & 1 block west.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sunset cruise from Bayside Marketplace in Miami harbor

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heat fans
Ft. Pierce,Fl.
Apr 21, 2014

One day getaway.

Did a one day stay for Miami Heat game with my son. Hotel room was small but cozy. Staff was very professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond,VA
Aug 11, 2010

DRAMA FREE!! RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE BEACH

I am originally from Miami, my goal was to stay in a AFFORTABLE DECENT hotel off the beach and the penguin hotel was just that! Before we checked into our room we were able to relax on the beach and enjoy the lovely weather. The hotel is located directly off the beach put away from all the crazy tourist. Yes you have to pay for parking but it only cost $5! Over all i had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Fat Tuesdays, Wet Willy etc!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
long beach, ca
Aug 25, 2010

Love IT!

Staff and location were priceless! Across from the water and walking to Lincoln & Espanola areas; staff that went out of their way to find me places to eat & live music (on a Mon night!); clean & quite (not easy in South Beach) room with amazing view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

avoid ocean drive... look on the side streets, on Washington or ask the staff for good alternatives to the tourist scene... there are GREAT small eateries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bob arruba
Holland NY
Apr 23, 2009

Have to remember "you're on the strip"

Great strip location (comes with noise)Did not spend much time in smaller than average but clean & accomodating room. View was great. Having the "Front Porch Cafe" at the doorstep was great. Friendly staff, both hotel & cafe. Could be a step on two faster in the cafe, especially when you need a drink. Steps to the beach, cabs, bus, dining & drinks. Price was great, doubt that is the norm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Be bold & get the attention of a server or else you could go thirsty. 17% tip included, but you can alter to suit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JerryY
NYC
Apr 4, 2014

Not bad for a weekend

My girlfriend and I traveled to Miami, stayed at this hotel for a night. It'l located nice on the beach side only a short walk to the beach. Staff are nice, but the food at the restaurant was ok...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jhakobe
Elkhart, IN, USA
Feb 11, 2013

Good Place, Great Location

Hip vibe, pleasant staff, complimentary cocktail at happy hour, short walk to Lincoln Road Mall, deco architecture all around, right on South Beach. We had a corner room which overlooked Ocean Drive, the park and the beach. The room was quite comfortable for being a bit small on size. For the traveler who want a great location but can sacrifice some of the extravagance that is SoBe, this is a good place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a slice of NY pizza, head to Pizza Fiore on Washington Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
Nov 5, 2009

This hotel is exactly what I expected!

My best friend and I drove to Miami for a weekend vaycation over Halloween. This recently refurbished hotel was exactly what we would have wanted. It was clean, two full sized beds. Small rooms-but on south beach that's what you expect. The service staff was friendly and always helpful. We ate at the porch front restaurant and drank at the bar. Excellent drinks!!! The room was clean and bathroom modern and spotless. Felt completely comfortable. First floor, so we didn't visit the elevator. Since it's right on 14th and ocean we didn't even have a chance to visit the pool. Thus far, when looking for an affordable room right on Ocean Drive, the Penguin will be my only choice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There's a Publix close by, go to it after you check in. The rooms have a mini fridge, we purchased our alcohol, juice and coldcuts, helped us save on drinks and lunches, plus we could pack snacks for the beach!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SOBE Diva
New Haven, CT
Apr 29, 2009

Cute Hotel

The location was great. The rooms are a little small but if your only sleeping there who cares..right? For the money it was a great deal, right across the street from the beach! I would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search