$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
132 reviews
Great

Great experience Awsome hotel Price was great, check in was a breeze Staff were nice and room was... See full review

  • Mart904
  • Jun 7, 2014
Hotel

It was a great place to be. One thing i didn't like was the bathroom shower...water gets off.... See full review

  • allezliz
  • May 6, 2013
The Penguin Hotel, is an example of 1940's Late Art Deco style. The hotel is situated directly on Ocean Drive and 14th street, across from the sandy beaches and only a few steps away from Lincoln Road, popular restaurants and night clubs. The property was renovated in 2006 by a French Designer. Penguin Hotel guests can enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Purple Penguin Cafe located at hotel lobby area, offering delicious dishes made from scratch and at very affordable prices.

Valet parking is available for your convenience (USD30).

Guest must be 18 years or older to check in.

A valid picture ID is required at check in as well as a refundable security deposit of USD100 per room/night (max.USD250 per 3 day stay or longer) which can be paid in cash (USD) or credit card. Accepted identification is passport, ID or drivers license for cash deposits.

Our $19.00 Resort Fee includes : Ala Carte Continental breakfast for two(7:30am to 10.30am in Purple Penguin Cafe ), 2 Welcome Drinks,beach towels, WI-FI throughout the property, use of in-room safe, 2 daily bottles of water in room. Resort Fee will be automatically posted to the guest account. Note: $19 fee is mandatory and will be collected without exception.

Special Event Dates/Holidays (dates with minimum stay of 3 nights and up) are non refundable.

Maximum occupancy in units is 2 people (2 adults or 1 adult and 1 child). There are no rollaways available in rooms due to limited space. Note that if you have booked for one guest, and 2 guests are staying, you will be charged an additional $25.00. If second guest is child under 12 years of age, child stays free.

Penguin Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Each room is artistically renovated with: 1 or 2 full or queen size beds, bathtub, hair dryer,plasma screen TV, voicemail/phone, alarm clock, wet bar (sink, marble counter, refrigerator), individually controlled air conditioning, Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier,safety deposit box, iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Penguin Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7861 -80.1297
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Miami.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, Fort Lauderdale Airport
Area description
The Penguin Hotel is just a 15 minute drive from Miami International Airport, Downtown Miami, Bayside Mall, and the Cruise Ship Port of Miami. At any time you can also walk to the world-class cafes, restaurants, theaters and designer clothing stores of Ocean Drive, Collins Avenue, Washington Avenue as well as the famous Lincoln Road Mall. If you stay with us for business or to attend to a convention, the Miami Beach Convention Center is only a few blocks away, at a short walking distance. The Penguin Hotel is perfectly located right on Ocean Drive, where all the South Beach action happens.

Dining

The Purple Penguin Cafe
Located at hotel lobby serves full breakfast, lunch and dinner. A warm atmosphere and the most delicious dishes while you can people-watch at our front porch area overlooking famous Ocean Drive. Our location and our affordable prices cannot be beaten.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
April F
NYC
May 29, 2012

friendly but budget

The staff were very nice at this hotel but I did not have that comfy hotel experience. The rooms were a little small to relax in and the lighting within the hotel hallways was a little dark and scary looking. The location, however, cannot be beat, we were a 20 second walk from the beach. If you're not planning on spending too much time in the hotel and just need a place to sleep, it's good value but definitely just the basics.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Puerto Sagua on 7th and collins. Affordable, tasty latin-style diner with amazing rice and beans, maduro, and i had a grilled tilapia and shrimp which was amazingly good. An unexpected and tasty surprise.

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dzonve
Chicago , IL
Jun 30, 2010

Great location,cool rooms

Great location,the hotel staff was helpfull and friendly , the hollways could've been painted diferent...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
CT
Mar 28, 2010

great location, and an ok room

It is located on Ocean Drive, which in itself is great! However, the rooms are a bit pricy for what you get, and the walls must be really thin, because you can hear almost everything going on in the other rooms around you.. The restaurant was absolutely worth checking out, and the prices there were really good for what you got. The hotel is 30 seconds away from the beach, so if you're looking to get a tan, being close to the beach, this is highly recommendable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tulsa, OK
Dec 28, 2009

Customer service needs help

Only one staff member working front desk. Check in took too long; staff change takes place right at our required check in time and the woman going off the clock got snippy with the one coming on the clock right in the middle of our check in procedure. She wanted her to take over our process so she could just drop everything and leave. Customers waiting to check in were backed out the front door right into the middle of the Front Porch dining area and blocking the wait staff. Check in shares the same space as waiting area for elevator and the restaurant service area...not a very convenient design. Walls were thin, no sound proofing in the hallways...thus VERY loud environment...could hear everything said in halls from inside rooms. Rooms were small but nicely done with mirrors and white decor to help lighten the area and give it a bigger feel. Sink fixtures squeezed in however under shelving in bathroom made it hard to turn water on and off. Showers do not have a door so water has to be sprayed up on a wall so as not to get floor wet. Great location...cute decor and low cost is what saved this from getting less than 3 stars. Just don't go expecting customer service and posh environs and you'll be fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
philadelphia
Jul 14, 2009

my miami trip

the hotel was very clean and quiet, when ever i asked for anything housekeeping immediately brought it to my room. i just wished the room would have been a little bigger

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there were restaurants in the whold area

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, Maryland
Jan 15, 2010

Great location

I met with friends who were staying at the Penguin Hotel in mid-January. I spent three nights. Upon arrival I was assigned a first floor room in the back corner with a window over the dumpster. I asked for a room closer to my friends and was accommodated. The next room smelled like cigarette smoke and again the person at the front desk gave me another choice. This time the room was fine with two beds instead of one for the same price. The rooms are basic but clean. The hallways however are an atrocious dark blue color. What were they thinking? The walls are very thin, so you can hear noise from the hallways and the conversations of people in the adjoining room. There is an outside cafe downstairs and instead of a lobby you have waiters walking through and there is not much room to get out of the way. Overall I would describe the place as a little weird, but it was inexpensive for me as I booked it through the internet. My friends had booked from Europe and paid a much higher price. I was required to leave a 200 dollar security deposit upon arrival, which I thought was strange. On the bright side, the rooms were clean and the staff helpful and friendly. The hotel is right on the ocean and restaurants and shopping as well as the Art Deco district are in short walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC, NY
Oct 19, 2009

Get what you pay for

i've been coming to south beach just about every month for a few years now and i usually arrive before check-in... they usually tell me that they'll give me a call when a room is ready and it usually happens way before check-in time. This hotel has a check-in time of 3 rather then 2 like most hotels and check-out time of 11 instead of 12.. and they charge $50 if there is a room available and you want to check-in early.. weird! but anyways even though there was no room service, pool, doorman to bring me my luggage, and the decor was pretty out there the room was decent and clean and a pretty good bargain for what i paid. The frontdesk was accomidating for the most part although i did ask for a few q-tips and they had not one in the entire hotel which i thought was strange.. the stay was ok.. nothing special

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
CT
Mar 28, 2010

great location, and an ok room

It is located on Ocean Drive, which in itself is great! However, the rooms are a bit pricy for what you get, and the walls must be really thin, because you can hear almost everything going on in the other rooms around you.. The restaurant was absolutely worth checking out, and the prices there were really good for what you got. The hotel is 30 seconds away from the beach, so if you're looking to get a tan, being close to the beach, this is highly recommendable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston
Oct 30, 2010

Great location, great price!

Great location,my room had a great view of the ocean. Breakfast at the restaurant was great but a bit expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
France
Dec 19, 2010

Good Location

We did not recognize the hotel by the description on the internet. There was no restaurant and no bar. Parking was in the streets, hotel (only 1 person available), could not help us changing money for parking. We had booked a de luxe room, got a standard, was told this was equivalent to de luxe on internet!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top