$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Birthday girl 729
Business
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Aug 14, 2012

Hairy

My husband and I checked in and there was hair all in the bed. House cleaning was walking in the room when I was coming out the shower. I figured they probably didn't clean the room before we checked in. We complained and instead of an apology. We got 5 different members of staff asking us why we didn't complain sooner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln rd! Love it!

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Monica J
Business
Rochester New York
Sep 1, 2012

Weekend stay

The hotel was in a great location. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The parking was $29 a night. There's a parking garage around the corner for $15. Everything was fine for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KikiP
Business
Bergen County, New Jersey
Feb 28, 2013

I would stay here again...

The halls at Penguin Hotel are wicked funny but the hotel was clean, no issues and for the price...you can't be the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UschiX
Business
Austria
Mar 13, 2013

Beautiful Art deco Outside, inside poor

Very Good Location and beautiful Art deco House, but inside really from the 1930s. The Rooms are refurbished, but of poor quality. But for this price ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
N259
Business
RI
Mar 19, 2013

Location & price biggest positives

Overall best price for being on Ocean Dr. However one must expect u get what u pay for... Clean rooms , great location and friendly staff... lots of boutique hotel potentential but overall lacking in amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BigBadBeachBoy
Business
Miami
Aug 19, 2013

Cool place

Great location made it truly a nice place to stay. There is not much in the room... in fact its small but for someone or a couple just looking for a place to sleep at night its perfect. The only problem is that the rooms don't have central air; in turn, the bathroom remained very hot after a shower and throughout the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Oct 30, 2010

Great location, great price!

Great location,my room had a great view of the ocean. Breakfast at the restaurant was great but a bit expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GOT SHORT SHEETED ON MY VACATION
Business
MIAMI BEACH
Jun 7, 2010

NOT THE HOTEL I BOOKED

ALL I WANTED WAS TO STAY AT A HOTEL ACROSS FROM THE BEACH. WHEN I GOT TO THE HOTEL THAT I BOOKED THEY DID NOT HAVE MY BOOKING ON FILE. THE CLERK WAS NOT INTELLIANT ENOUGH TO HELP,[...]. ALL HE COULD SAY IS THAT THEY WERE ALL BOOKED UP AND HAD NO ROOMS. SO FINALY THEY GAVE ME A ROOM. ONE BLOCK AWAY FROM THE BEACH, NOT WHAT I WANTED OR PAID FOR. BUT THEY KNEW I HAD NO OTHER PLACE TO STAY FOR MY VACTION AND WOULD TAKE IT. IF YOU EVER USE THIS HOTEL PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU CALL THEM AND VERIFY YOUR ROOM. I AM NOT HAPPY. IF YOU PAY FOR SOMETHING I THINK THIS IS WHAT YOU SHOULD RECIEVE. NOT WHAT THEY THINK YOU SHOULD GET OR LEAVE IT, AFTER YOU PAID YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY, AND ONLY HAVE A SHORT VACATION TO ENJOY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC, NY
Oct 19, 2009

Get what you pay for

i've been coming to south beach just about every month for a few years now and i usually arrive before check-in... they usually tell me that they'll give me a call when a room is ready and it usually happens way before check-in time. This hotel has a check-in time of 3 rather then 2 like most hotels and check-out time of 11 instead of 12.. and they charge $50 if there is a room available and you want to check-in early.. weird! but anyways even though there was no room service, pool, doorman to bring me my luggage, and the decor was pretty out there the room was decent and clean and a pretty good bargain for what i paid. The frontdesk was accomidating for the most part although i did ask for a few q-tips and they had not one in the entire hotel which i thought was strange.. the stay was ok.. nothing special

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Mar 28, 2010

great location, and an ok room

It is located on Ocean Drive, which in itself is great! However, the rooms are a bit pricy for what you get, and the walls must be really thin, because you can hear almost everything going on in the other rooms around you.. The restaurant was absolutely worth checking out, and the prices there were really good for what you got. The hotel is 30 seconds away from the beach, so if you're looking to get a tan, being close to the beach, this is highly recommendable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top