$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
97 reviews
Great

Great experience Awsome hotel Price was great, check in was a breeze Staff were nice and room was... See full review

  • Mart904
  • Jun 7, 2014
Great Location and Wonderful Staff!

I had a wonderful experience this past weekend at The Penguin. If you're looking for beach... See full review

  • Sun Seeking New Yorker
  • Oct 22, 2014
The Penguin Hotel, is an example of 1940's Late Art Deco style. The hotel is situated directly on Ocean Drive and 14th street, across from the sandy beaches and only a few steps away from Lincoln Road, popular restaurants and night clubs. The property was renovated in 2006 by a French Designer. Penguin Hotel guests can enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Purple Penguin Cafe located at hotel lobby area, offering delicious dishes made from scratch and at very affordable prices.

Valet parking is available for your convenience (USD30).

Guest must be 18 years or older to check in.

A valid picture ID is required at check in as well as a refundable security deposit of USD100 per room/night (max.USD250 per 3 day stay or longer) which can be paid in cash (USD) or credit card. Accepted identification is passport, ID or drivers license for cash deposits.

Resort fee indicated is based upon double occupancy when 1 or 2 guests are booking and is: $21.47 tax included payable at Hotel. PLEASE NOTE: -When 3 or more guests are booking an additional $10.73 per person will be payable to the hotel Resort fee includes: Ala Carte Continental breakfast for two(7:30am to 10.30am in Purple Penguin Cafe ), 2 Welcome Drinks,beach towels, WI-FI throughout the property, use of in-room safe, 2 daily bottles of water in room. Resort Fee will be automatically posted to the guest account. Note: The resort fee is mandatory and will be collected without exception.

Special Event Dates/Holidays (dates with minimum stay of 3 nights and up) are non refundable.

Maximum occupancy in units is 2 people (2 adults or 1 adult and 1 child). There are no rollaways available in rooms due to limited space. Note that if you have booked for one guest, and 2 guests are staying, you will be charged an additional $25.00. If second guest is child under 12 years of age, child stays free.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Penguin Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Penguin Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Each room is artistically renovated with: 1 or 2 full or queen size beds, bathtub, hair dryer,plasma screen TV, voicemail/phone, alarm clock, wet bar (sink, marble counter, refrigerator), individually controlled air conditioning, Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier,safety deposit box, iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

The Purple Penguin Cafe
Located at hotel lobby serves full breakfast, lunch and dinner. A warm atmosphere and the most delicious dishes while you can people-watch at our front porch area overlooking famous Ocean Drive. Our location and our affordable prices cannot be beaten.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (97)

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sun Seeking New Yorker
Business
New York City
Oct 22, 2014

Great Location and Wonderful Staff!

I had a wonderful experience this past weekend at The Penguin. If you're looking for beach convenience, this is perfect. Directly across from the entrance to the beach, and the hotel supplies you with beach towels (one less thing to pack). The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. I arrived early due to my early flight and they were able to check me in a little early because the room was ready (I know that this won't always be the case). It is a small hotel, so please don't expect to walk into a grand lobby, with a huge elevator and long luxurious hallways. What I care about most is cleanliness and there was no complaint on my end about that! I do however wish that their cafe offered a larger variety on the food menu, but I understand that with a small hotel - comes a smaller kitchen. I highly recommend it to anyone headed to south beach for some sun and some nightlife!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Kang
Business
Mashpee
Dec 16, 2014

SoBe weekend

Room was small but most are down there... not to sound proof you can hear every conversation going on in the hallways.. Food was good at restaurant but drinks were on the weak side, I love the beach and the fact that you can leave your car there till 4pm after check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia
Jul 14, 2009

my miami trip

the hotel was very clean and quiet, when ever i asked for anything housekeeping immediately brought it to my room. i just wished the room would have been a little bigger

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there were restaurants in the whold area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bayamon, P.R.
Nov 4, 2009

penguin hotel experience

Excellent service at the hotel, but the restaurant service was poor. The hotel rent the restaurant and isn't part of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, OK
Dec 28, 2009

Customer service needs help

Only one staff member working front desk. Check in took too long; staff change takes place right at our required check in time and the woman going off the clock got snippy with the one coming on the clock right in the middle of our check in procedure. She wanted her to take over our process so she could just drop everything and leave. Customers waiting to check in were backed out the front door right into the middle of the Front Porch dining area and blocking the wait staff. Check in shares the same space as waiting area for elevator and the restaurant service area...not a very convenient design. Walls were thin, no sound proofing in the hallways...thus VERY loud environment...could hear everything said in halls from inside rooms. Rooms were small but nicely done with mirrors and white decor to help lighten the area and give it a bigger feel. Sink fixtures squeezed in however under shelving in bathroom made it hard to turn water on and off. Showers do not have a door so water has to be sprayed up on a wall so as not to get floor wet. Great location...cute decor and low cost is what saved this from getting less than 3 stars. Just don't go expecting customer service and posh environs and you'll be fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mbeck
Business
Madison, SD 57042, USA
May 4, 2012

Great location, ok hotel

Hotel close to beach, restaurants, shopping and lots of activities. Staff is not very helpful and friendly. Hotel is clean, but needs to be updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
April F
Business
NYC
May 29, 2012

friendly but budget

The staff were very nice at this hotel but I did not have that comfy hotel experience. The rooms were a little small to relax in and the lighting within the hotel hallways was a little dark and scary looking. The location, however, cannot be beat, we were a 20 second walk from the beach. If you're not planning on spending too much time in the hotel and just need a place to sleep, it's good value but definitely just the basics.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Puerto Sagua on 7th and collins. Affordable, tasty latin-style diner with amazing rice and beans, maduro, and i had a grilled tilapia and shrimp which was amazingly good. An unexpected and tasty surprise.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Birthday girl 729
Business
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Aug 14, 2012

Hairy

My husband and I checked in and there was hair all in the bed. House cleaning was walking in the room when I was coming out the shower. I figured they probably didn't clean the room before we checked in. We complained and instead of an apology. We got 5 different members of staff asking us why we didn't complain sooner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln rd! Love it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Monica J
Business
Rochester New York
Sep 1, 2012

Weekend stay

The hotel was in a great location. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The parking was $29 a night. There's a parking garage around the corner for $15. Everything was fine for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KikiP
Business
Bergen County, New Jersey
Feb 28, 2013

I would stay here again...

The halls at Penguin Hotel are wicked funny but the hotel was clean, no issues and for the price...you can't be the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top