$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
baseballmom813
Business
Tampa, FL
Jul 28, 2012

Great hotel, perfect location!

The hotel itself is very nice, clean and comfortable, except for the fact that the room was tiny, however, this is true of all the hotels on South Beach. The staff was very nice. The $15 resort fee is optional which is nice and you don't have to use the valet for $30, you can use the municipal parking just one block away instead for much cheaper. Great stay, will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use parking garage on 13th.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun Travelers from TN
Business
TN
Jun 19, 2012

Great Deal, Great Location

We were sceptical based on previous reviews, but we had absolutely no issues with any of the items listed by other reviews. It's definitely not the ritz but it's better than most cut rate budget hotels. The location was great, the $15 resort fee was worth it, they now do the evening cocktail at the Penguin, the breakfast is in the sister hotel & doesn't start til 7:30. The place was clean & comfortable & the staff was helpful. One note - don't pay for the valet parking, there is a city run garage 2 blocks south & 1 block west.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sunset cruise from Bayside Marketplace in Miami harbor

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AC in LA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 10, 2012

Very Good Stay

I had a last minute trip to Miami from Los Angeles with a colleague who had never been. So I wanted a place where after our meetings we could walk and find an interesting place to eat. The hotel is at the top of Ocean Ave, near Lincoln Road Mall and Espanola Way, where there's a great snapshot of South Beach's dining and nightlife to experience. My first impression of the hotel was great. Clean white gleaming deco bldg. The impression plummeted when I stepped off the elevator. The corridors are hideous and I was worried I had made a mistake. But that changed when I got into the room. It was newer and spacious, though not a lot of meaningful furniture. The bed was OK. Urethane pillows - awful. A small proper desk would have been nice since there was wifi. Small bathroom, but it had all I needed. Plus 2 free happy hour drinks and breakfast at the sister hotel (didn't try - had to leave before it opened but that's OK) were nice touches. There's a nice lobby front porch and sidewalk ding and drinks area which is very good and convenient. It was a good choice and I would stay there again for a short one or 2 day stay. Anything longer, I would want more amenities and a larger more comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sexy Beach
Business
Sacramento, California
Nov 18, 2012

Beachcomber

My sister and I enjoyed this perfect location along Ocean Drive with Lincoln Mall close by. It was the perfect combination of spending time on the beach, dining, clubs, and shopping. We will definitedly plan to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jhakobe
Business
Elkhart, IN, USA
Feb 11, 2013

Good Place, Great Location

Hip vibe, pleasant staff, complimentary cocktail at happy hour, short walk to Lincoln Road Mall, deco architecture all around, right on South Beach. We had a corner room which overlooked Ocean Drive, the park and the beach. The room was quite comfortable for being a bit small on size. For the traveler who want a great location but can sacrifice some of the extravagance that is SoBe, this is a good place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a slice of NY pizza, head to Pizza Fiore on Washington Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rikkay19
Business
Tampa,fl
Apr 15, 2013

Perfect Stay

The room and halls were small, and our queen bed was two twins pushed together, but the room was clean and comfortable! Beautiful and boutiquey old fashion hotel room. The location was insanely perfect! Valet, and complimentary drinks/breakfast were awesome! We had the time of our lives and would definitely visit again! <3

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MandM newlyweds
Business
Pennsylvania
Jun 1, 2013

Great location and value

Some vacationers prefer the perfect hotel with all the amenities - a home away from home with no need to travel outside the hotel walls. This is not that hotel. But if you're looking for a comfortable place to retire after a tough day at the beach, the Everglades, or Lincoln Road, look no further. The Penguin hotel is a fantastic location with wonderful service. Sure, the room is relatively small and the continental breakfast is simple, but if your ideal vacation lies outside of the hotel walls, choose the Penguin hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pasha
Business
Jamaica New York
Jun 20, 2013

Fantastic getaway

The location was great, and the beach was right across the street. The room was clean. The staff was great. I only stayed overnight, next year I am planning to stay longer. Anyone that is looking to visit South Beach Flordia, I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson, Wiscon
Nov 2, 2009

Bait and Switch?

Upon arriving we were told that some of the rooms were not ready and they wanted to put us in their sister hotel the President instead. They said they would put us in the penthouse suite instead with a king bed instead of a queen. The room was on the top floor (4th) but it did not seem like a pentihouse suite, however, the room was nicely decorated but with a double bed, not a queen or king. Therefore this review is on the President not the Penquin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walk to Lincoln Road shopping, Collins shopping and Ocean Drive attractions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bucketlip
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 9, 2009

"Great location, good value!"

From check in to check out, we were very pleased. The friendly staff was very accomodating and helpful. There is a restaurant on the front porch which always has a line waiting - a tribute to their food and staff......delicious ice tea!!! The room was small and had a quirky decor (wall murals and mirrors)just like the photos on Orbitz. We would recommend a stay. Check out the ceiling on the first floor hall and the penguins in the elevator!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top