$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
98 reviews
Great

Great experience Awsome hotel Price was great, check in was a breeze Staff were nice and room was... See full review

  • Mart904
  • Jun 7, 2014
Great Location and Wonderful Staff!

I had a wonderful experience this past weekend at The Penguin. If you're looking for beach... See full review

  • Sun Seeking New Yorker
  • Oct 22, 2014
The Penguin Hotel, is an example of 1940's Late Art Deco style. The hotel is situated directly on Ocean Drive and 14th street, across from the sandy beaches and only a few steps away from Lincoln Road, popular restaurants and night clubs. The property was renovated in 2006 by a French Designer. Penguin Hotel guests can enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Purple Penguin Cafe located at hotel lobby area, offering delicious dishes made from scratch and at very affordable prices.

Valet parking is available for your convenience (USD30).

Guest must be 18 years or older to check in.

A valid picture ID is required at check in as well as a refundable security deposit of USD100 per room/night (max.USD250 per 3 day stay or longer) which can be paid in cash (USD) or credit card. Accepted identification is passport, ID or drivers license for cash deposits.

Resort fee indicated is based upon double occupancy when 1 or 2 guests are booking and is: $21.47 tax included payable at Hotel. PLEASE NOTE: -When 3 or more guests are booking an additional $10.73 per person will be payable to the hotel Resort fee includes: Ala Carte Continental breakfast for two(7:30am to 10.30am in Purple Penguin Cafe ), 2 Welcome Drinks,beach towels, WI-FI throughout the property, use of in-room safe, 2 daily bottles of water in room. Resort Fee will be automatically posted to the guest account. Note: The resort fee is mandatory and will be collected without exception.

Special Event Dates/Holidays (dates with minimum stay of 3 nights and up) are non refundable.

Maximum occupancy in units is 2 people (2 adults or 1 adult and 1 child). There are no rollaways available in rooms due to limited space. Note that if you have booked for one guest, and 2 guests are staying, you will be charged an additional $25.00. If second guest is child under 12 years of age, child stays free.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Penguin Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Penguin Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Each room is artistically renovated with: 1 or 2 full or queen size beds, bathtub, hair dryer,plasma screen TV, voicemail/phone, alarm clock, wet bar (sink, marble counter, refrigerator), individually controlled air conditioning, Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier,safety deposit box, iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

The Purple Penguin Cafe
Located at hotel lobby serves full breakfast, lunch and dinner. A warm atmosphere and the most delicious dishes while you can people-watch at our front porch area overlooking famous Ocean Drive. Our location and our affordable prices cannot be beaten.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 98
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Kang
Business
Mashpee
Dec 16, 2014

SoBe weekend

Room was small but most are down there... not to sound proof you can hear every conversation going on in the hallways.. Food was good at restaurant but drinks were on the weak side, I love the beach and the fact that you can leave your car there till 4pm after check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mama on vacation
Business
Michigan
Sep 8, 2014

Great location

The staff was very friendly, the rooms are small and the bed was hard and uncomfortable. The price was nice though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the 11th Street Diner while you are there, delicious food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cheryl Brown Sugar
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 18, 2014

Penguin Hotel for Vacation

No one told us we had to pay 30.00 a day to park at the hotel. No one told us we had to put $250.00 deposit when we booked the hotel. Most of the staff was nice the rooms are very clean Scott the supervisor is not friendly and is sometimes rude. The food is not that great and expensive for what they have to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Use a agent to book attractions and they will pick you up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mart904
Business
Miami
Jun 7, 2014

Great

Great experience Awsome hotel Price was great, check in was a breeze Staff were nice and room was clean with a comfortable bed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JerryY
Business
NYC
Apr 4, 2014

Not bad for a weekend

My girlfriend and I traveled to Miami, stayed at this hotel for a night. It'l located nice on the beach side only a short walk to the beach. Staff are nice, but the food at the restaurant was ok...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sushai62
Business
Michigan
Dec 30, 2013

Small changes could make a big difference

While the hotel has much to offer, in the future we are likely to stay elsewhere. What was good: unbelievable location across from the ocean/beach and near many good restaurants, comfy bed in a nicely-decorated and bright (though small, as in most of the art deco hotels) room, mostly friendly staff, great restaurant. What needs improvement: lack of storage space in bedroom beyond a closet (just a nightstand with drawers would allow a place for books and socks/underwear), large group of stains on the carpet outside our room that never was cleaned, and housekeeping services. We were most perplexed by the uneven housekeeping services. Every day we received fresh towels and our bed was made. But there was no attention to any other detail. Wet/dirty towels were often left behind, counters/sinks/tub weren't cleaned, we ran out of toilet paper twice, the toiletries were never replenished and we had to continually ask. After a couple days of this we mentioned it at the front desk. They asked us if we wanted our room cleaned every day. We thought this was an odd question since housekeeping services are offered at the hotel. We let them know we did, yet the poor service continued (even though we left a tip every day!). We had to complain at the desk again and asked to speak to a manager. He was not available, so she offered to leave him a message for us. The next day she politely told us she clarified with the manager that we "wanted our room cleaned every day." (?!) Even so, the service never improved. By that time, we were starting to feel like "that kind" of traveler that complains and the staff hates to see approaching, so we just decided to suck it up for the rest of the trip. Like the title says, just a few changes could make this a hotel we'd love to return to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rent a Decobike and ride it on the boardwalk south to the marina.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BigBadBeachBoy
Business
Miami
Aug 19, 2013

Cool place

Great location made it truly a nice place to stay. There is not much in the room... in fact its small but for someone or a couple just looking for a place to sleep at night its perfect. The only problem is that the rooms don't have central air; in turn, the bathroom remained very hot after a shower and throughout the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kathryn Z.
Business
Oklahoma
Jul 28, 2013

Cheap South Beach weekend getaway

We had stayed at this hotel for 1 night about 18 months ago, and since then, saw this hotel on an episode of "Hotel Impossible" when it was supposedly renovated. We were excited to go back, but we could not tell a difference. We entered our room, put a hand on the bed and it immediately squeaked loudly. We touched several areas on the bed and it was the same throughout. The front desk allowed us to look at another room, which had what appeared to be a full-size bed. Our final option was on the first floor by the stairway, which was supposedly a new mattress. This bed also squeaked very loudly, but since it had more light, we chose it over the others. The other rooms were filled quickly. In this room, we experienced a defective A/C unit. The room was sweltering, so we tried to stay outside the room as much as possible until they fixed it. It took calling maintenance 3 times and 3 technicians until it was finally replaced the following day. It was no fun sleeping on a squeaky bed in 90 degree Miami weather!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is right across the street from the beach, is surrounded by entertainment, night life, and restaurants. The hotel amenities are a compromise to the hotel location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MandM newlyweds
Business
Pennsylvania
Jun 1, 2013

Great location and value

Some vacationers prefer the perfect hotel with all the amenities - a home away from home with no need to travel outside the hotel walls. This is not that hotel. But if you're looking for a comfortable place to retire after a tough day at the beach, the Everglades, or Lincoln Road, look no further. The Penguin hotel is a fantastic location with wonderful service. Sure, the room is relatively small and the continental breakfast is simple, but if your ideal vacation lies outside of the hotel walls, choose the Penguin hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rikkay19
Business
Tampa,fl
Apr 15, 2013

Perfect Stay

The room and halls were small, and our queen bed was two twins pushed together, but the room was clean and comfortable! Beautiful and boutiquey old fashion hotel room. The location was insanely perfect! Valet, and complimentary drinks/breakfast were awesome! We had the time of our lives and would definitely visit again! <3

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top