$61 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
105 reviews
NICE TRIP

Very nice hotel in the middle of the action ,nice wiew and good people around as. See full review

  • Marius S.
  • Apr 24, 2015
Great

Great experience Awsome hotel Price was great, check in was a breeze Staff were nice and room was... See full review

  • Mart904
  • Jun 7, 2014
The Penguin Hotel, is an example of 1940's Late Art Deco style. The hotel is situated directly on Ocean Drive and 14th street, across from the sandy beaches and only a few steps away from Lincoln Road, popular restaurants and night clubs. The property was renovated in 2006 by a French Designer. Penguin Hotel guests can enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Purple Penguin Cafe located at hotel lobby area, offering delicious dishes made from scratch and at very affordable prices.

Valet parking is available for your convenience (USD30).

Guest must be 18 years or older to check in.

A valid picture ID is required at check in as well as a refundable security deposit of USD100 per room/night (max.USD250 per 3 day stay or longer) which can be paid in cash (USD) or credit card. Accepted identification is passport, ID or drivers license for cash deposits.

Resort fee indicated is based upon double occupancy when 1 or 2 guests are booking and is: $21.47 tax included payable at Hotel. PLEASE NOTE: -When 3 or more guests are booking an additional $10.73 per person will be payable to the hotel Resort fee includes: Ala Carte Continental breakfast for two(7:30am to 10.30am in Purple Penguin Cafe ), 2 Welcome Drinks,beach towels, WI-FI throughout the property, use of in-room safe, 2 daily bottles of water in room. Resort Fee will be automatically posted to the guest account. Note: The resort fee is mandatory and will be collected without exception.

Special Event Dates/Holidays (dates with minimum stay of 3 nights and up) are non refundable.

Maximum occupancy in units is 2 people (2 adults or 1 adult and 1 child). There are no rollaways available in rooms due to limited space. Note that if you have booked for one guest, and 2 guests are staying, you will be charged an additional $25.00. If second guest is child under 12 years of age, child stays free.

Top hotels

Penguin Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Each room is artistically renovated with: 1 or 2 full or queen size beds, bathtub, hair dryer,plasma screen TV, voicemail/phone, alarm clock, wet bar (sink, marble counter, refrigerator), individually controlled air conditioning, Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier,safety deposit box, iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

The Purple Penguin Cafe
Located at hotel lobby serves full breakfast, lunch and dinner. A warm atmosphere and the most delicious dishes while you can people-watch at our front porch area overlooking famous Ocean Drive. Our location and our affordable prices cannot be beaten.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 105
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marius S.
Business
N/A
Apr 24, 2015

NICE TRIP

Very nice hotel in the middle of the action ,nice wiew and good people around as.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marius S.
Business
N/A
Apr 22, 2015

nice trip

Nice hotel best view and location to the ocean.I recomend this hotel for couples

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael B.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Excellent !!!!

My Girlfriend and I just returned from a week at the Penquin Hotel. We are 40 year old Adults . We found the Staff , treated us like Family, great breakfast service enjoying the porch. All bartenders made GREAT drinks throughout the day and evening. Also , boxed lunches from the menu anytime during the day for us to take to the beach, YUM! We really liked how quiet the hotel was at night for sleeping, No Loud music, Screaming teenagers, and Loud cars. The BAD time was the garbage truck at 630am Every day ! The Beach across the street was so inviting! Went there at least 6-8 hours everyday . We are looking forward to our next time there ! ENJOY !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Kang
Business
Mashpee
Dec 29, 2014

SoBe weekend

Room was small but most are down there... not to sound proof you can hear every conversation going on in the hallways.. Food was good at restaurant but drinks were on the weak side, I love the beach and the fact that you can leave your car there till 4pm after check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Kang
Business
Mashpee
Dec 16, 2014

SoBe weekend

Room was small but most are down there... not to sound proof you can hear every conversation going on in the hallways.. Food was good at restaurant but drinks were on the weak side, I love the beach and the fact that you can leave your car there till 4pm after check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mama on vacation
Business
Michigan
Sep 8, 2014

Great location

The staff was very friendly, the rooms are small and the bed was hard and uncomfortable. The price was nice though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the 11th Street Diner while you are there, delicious food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cheryl Brown Sugar
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 18, 2014

Penguin Hotel for Vacation

No one told us we had to pay 30.00 a day to park at the hotel. No one told us we had to put $250.00 deposit when we booked the hotel. Most of the staff was nice the rooms are very clean Scott the supervisor is not friendly and is sometimes rude. The food is not that great and expensive for what they have to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Use a agent to book attractions and they will pick you up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mart904
Business
Miami
Jun 7, 2014

Great

Great experience Awsome hotel Price was great, check in was a breeze Staff were nice and room was clean with a comfortable bed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JerryY
Business
NYC
Apr 4, 2014

Not bad for a weekend

My girlfriend and I traveled to Miami, stayed at this hotel for a night. It'l located nice on the beach side only a short walk to the beach. Staff are nice, but the food at the restaurant was ok...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sushai62
Business
Michigan
Dec 30, 2013

Small changes could make a big difference

While the hotel has much to offer, in the future we are likely to stay elsewhere. What was good: unbelievable location across from the ocean/beach and near many good restaurants, comfy bed in a nicely-decorated and bright (though small, as in most of the art deco hotels) room, mostly friendly staff, great restaurant. What needs improvement: lack of storage space in bedroom beyond a closet (just a nightstand with drawers would allow a place for books and socks/underwear), large group of stains on the carpet outside our room that never was cleaned, and housekeeping services. We were most perplexed by the uneven housekeeping services. Every day we received fresh towels and our bed was made. But there was no attention to any other detail. Wet/dirty towels were often left behind, counters/sinks/tub weren't cleaned, we ran out of toilet paper twice, the toiletries were never replenished and we had to continually ask. After a couple days of this we mentioned it at the front desk. They asked us if we wanted our room cleaned every day. We thought this was an odd question since housekeeping services are offered at the hotel. We let them know we did, yet the poor service continued (even though we left a tip every day!). We had to complain at the desk again and asked to speak to a manager. He was not available, so she offered to leave him a message for us. The next day she politely told us she clarified with the manager that we "wanted our room cleaned every day." (?!) Even so, the service never improved. By that time, we were starting to feel like "that kind" of traveler that complains and the staff hates to see approaching, so we just decided to suck it up for the rest of the trip. Like the title says, just a few changes could make this a hotel we'd love to return to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rent a Decobike and ride it on the boardwalk south to the marina.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top