$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 15, 2014 Check-out: Dec 16, 2014

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
97 reviews
Great

Great experience Awsome hotel Price was great, check in was a breeze Staff were nice and room was... See full review

  • Mart904
  • Jun 7, 2014
Great Location and Wonderful Staff!

I had a wonderful experience this past weekend at The Penguin. If you're looking for beach... See full review

  • Sun Seeking New Yorker
  • Oct 22, 2014
The Penguin Hotel, is an example of 1940's Late Art Deco style. The hotel is situated directly on Ocean Drive and 14th street, across from the sandy beaches and only a few steps away from Lincoln Road, popular restaurants and night clubs. The property was renovated in 2006 by a French Designer. Penguin Hotel guests can enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Purple Penguin Cafe located at hotel lobby area, offering delicious dishes made from scratch and at very affordable prices.

Valet parking is available for your convenience (USD30).

Guest must be 18 years or older to check in.

A valid picture ID is required at check in as well as a refundable security deposit of USD100 per room/night (max.USD250 per 3 day stay or longer) which can be paid in cash (USD) or credit card. Accepted identification is passport, ID or drivers license for cash deposits.

Resort fee indicated is based upon double occupancy when 1 or 2 guests are booking and is: $21.47 tax included payable at Hotel. PLEASE NOTE: -When 3 or more guests are booking an additional $10.73 per person will be payable to the hotel Resort fee includes: Ala Carte Continental breakfast for two(7:30am to 10.30am in Purple Penguin Cafe ), 2 Welcome Drinks,beach towels, WI-FI throughout the property, use of in-room safe, 2 daily bottles of water in room. Resort Fee will be automatically posted to the guest account. Note: The resort fee is mandatory and will be collected without exception.

Special Event Dates/Holidays (dates with minimum stay of 3 nights and up) are non refundable.

Maximum occupancy in units is 2 people (2 adults or 1 adult and 1 child). There are no rollaways available in rooms due to limited space. Note that if you have booked for one guest, and 2 guests are staying, you will be charged an additional $25.00. If second guest is child under 12 years of age, child stays free.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Penguin Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Penguin Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Each room is artistically renovated with: 1 or 2 full or queen size beds, bathtub, hair dryer,plasma screen TV, voicemail/phone, alarm clock, wet bar (sink, marble counter, refrigerator), individually controlled air conditioning, Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier,safety deposit box, iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

The Purple Penguin Cafe
Located at hotel lobby serves full breakfast, lunch and dinner. A warm atmosphere and the most delicious dishes while you can people-watch at our front porch area overlooking famous Ocean Drive. Our location and our affordable prices cannot be beaten.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (97)

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jun 22, 2009

Terrible getaway

I think it was the worst hotel i have ever stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Emeral's Resturant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 7, 2011

So not worth it!

The hallway was blue and dark...weird smell...the bed was uncomfortable and the pillow was dirty...the tv did not even show the super bowl and this place did not have wireless internet...for all of this I would have paid more for more comfort...I could not sleep kept waking up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bill J.
Business
Guatemala City
Nov 20, 2011

terrible

very. very expensive for what you get. Hidden cost for Valet parking $ 32.00 per day...Resort charge $ 15.00 a day. Orbiz should check tis hotel to see if you should keep it on your list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Restless Native
Business
Virginia, USA
Dec 5, 2011

South Beach slumming

The place seems to be leaking all over and smells musty. In the room the wall paper was peeling off from moisture damage. Also did not like the $15 "Resort Fee" they hit you up with on top of your Orbizt bill for use of a beach towel. Rip off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
patoman
Business
México
Mar 29, 2012

not comfortable

the hotel is not a hotel boutique as they sell it the conditions of maintenance are not good. and they do not fulfill what they offer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

to many restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DenJuan
Business
New York
Feb 26, 2013

Be Appear

When you pay for an average hotel you get avergage or worse. The linen on the bed as not changed for three days, though we told the first desk the first day it happened. The rooms are very small, and in need of a paint job. the staff was very friendly, but not a hotel I would stay at again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
grhu520
Business
Canada
May 27, 2013

Far too expensive for what they offer.

Wi-Fi, breakfast and towels are not free. They charge you all these things when you arrive. Even if you already pay the total amount charged by this site. The worse thing was the breakfast. For some reason, you have to go to another hotel and take it there... the problem is: if it is raining they won't offer anything to help you out to go there safety. Twice in a week the room service came at 7PM. Another time I made the call to see if they are free to come and clean the room. Disaster. Don't go there... I just read tons of good reviews here and I thought it would be worth trying but now, I'm a 100% sure: I'm not returning there anymore and I will make sure to spread the voice. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kathryn Z.
Business
Oklahoma
Jul 28, 2013

Cheap South Beach weekend getaway

We had stayed at this hotel for 1 night about 18 months ago, and since then, saw this hotel on an episode of "Hotel Impossible" when it was supposedly renovated. We were excited to go back, but we could not tell a difference. We entered our room, put a hand on the bed and it immediately squeaked loudly. We touched several areas on the bed and it was the same throughout. The front desk allowed us to look at another room, which had what appeared to be a full-size bed. Our final option was on the first floor by the stairway, which was supposedly a new mattress. This bed also squeaked very loudly, but since it had more light, we chose it over the others. The other rooms were filled quickly. In this room, we experienced a defective A/C unit. The room was sweltering, so we tried to stay outside the room as much as possible until they fixed it. It took calling maintenance 3 times and 3 technicians until it was finally replaced the following day. It was no fun sleeping on a squeaky bed in 90 degree Miami weather!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is right across the street from the beach, is surrounded by entertainment, night life, and restaurants. The hotel amenities are a compromise to the hotel location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tonyLW
Business
Lake Worth, Florida
Nov 18, 2013

Are They Kidding?

The lobby and staff are bright and cheerful but once we hit the tenement-like halls we were questioning our choice. The rooms do LOOK updated and nice but the beds are a total joke: The mattresses are broken-down, caved-in in the center and provide no support. (Foam I suppose). Had it not been a prepaid deal we would have checked-out and found other accommodations. I can't imagine how any hotel owner could provide such poor sleeping accommodations in good conscience. Oh, I almost forgot to mention the sticky floors. Avoid!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gaston Calabresi
Business
Mexico
Jan 1, 2010

Not recommended to make reservation

When arriving, the pointed out that they were over booked so they decided to move me to other hotel. Is important to say that by the time of arriving to the hotel my reservation was already paid as [...] charged me the costs of the trip.When I complained about going to other hotel they said there nothing they can do so I could call to [...] to complain. Even the hotel staff was too rude....they never understood that I had already paid.....so in summary, I do not recommend to make reservacions throughout [...] as tey do not commit to give the room space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top