$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2014 Check-out: Sep 9, 2014

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
116 reviews
Great

Great experience Awsome hotel Price was great, check in was a breeze Staff were nice and room was... See full review

  • Mart904
  • Jun 7, 2014
Hotel

It was a great place to be. One thing i didn't like was the bathroom shower...water gets off.... See full review

  • allezliz
  • May 6, 2013
The Penguin Hotel, is an example of 1940's Late Art Deco style. The hotel is situated directly on Ocean Drive and 14th street, across from the sandy beaches and only a few steps away from Lincoln Road, popular restaurants and night clubs. The property was renovated in 2006 by a French Designer. Penguin Hotel guests can enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Purple Penguin Cafe located at hotel lobby area, offering delicious dishes made from scratch and at very affordable prices.

Valet parking is available for your convenience (USD30).

Guest must be 18 years or older to check in.

A valid picture ID is required at check in as well as a refundable security deposit of USD100 per room/night (max.USD250 per 3 day stay or longer) which can be paid in cash (USD) or credit card. Accepted identification is passport, ID or drivers license for cash deposits.

Our $19.00 Resort Fee includes : Ala Carte Continental breakfast for two(7:30am to 10.30am in Purple Penguin Cafe ), 2 Welcome Drinks,beach towels, WI-FI throughout the property, use of in-room safe, 2 daily bottles of water in room. Resort Fee will be automatically posted to the guest account. Note: $19 fee is mandatory and will be collected without exception.

Special Event Dates/Holidays (dates with minimum stay of 3 nights and up) are non refundable.

Maximum occupancy in units is 2 people (2 adults or 1 adult and 1 child). There are no rollaways available in rooms due to limited space. Note that if you have booked for one guest, and 2 guests are staying, you will be charged an additional $25.00. If second guest is child under 12 years of age, child stays free.

Hotel Map

25.7861 -80.1297
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Miami.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, Fort Lauderdale Airport
Area description
The Penguin Hotel is just a 15 minute drive from Miami International Airport, Downtown Miami, Bayside Mall, and the Cruise Ship Port of Miami. At any time you can also walk to the world-class cafes, restaurants, theaters and designer clothing stores of Ocean Drive, Collins Avenue, Washington Avenue as well as the famous Lincoln Road Mall. If you stay with us for business or to attend to a convention, the Miami Beach Convention Center is only a few blocks away, at a short walking distance. The Penguin Hotel is perfectly located right on Ocean Drive, where all the South Beach action happens.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Penguin Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Penguin Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Each room is artistically renovated with: 1 or 2 full or queen size beds, bathtub, hair dryer,plasma screen TV, voicemail/phone, alarm clock, wet bar (sink, marble counter, refrigerator), individually controlled air conditioning, Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier,safety deposit box, iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

The Purple Penguin Cafe
Located at hotel lobby serves full breakfast, lunch and dinner. A warm atmosphere and the most delicious dishes while you can people-watch at our front porch area overlooking famous Ocean Drive. Our location and our affordable prices cannot be beaten.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mart904
Miami
Jun 7, 2014

Great

Great experience Awsome hotel Price was great, check in was a breeze Staff were nice and room was clean with a comfortable bed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
allezliz
Chicago
May 6, 2013

Hotel

It was a great place to be. One thing i didn't like was the bathroom shower...water gets off. overall good =) love it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is so close

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FrancoBrazilian
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Jul 2, 2012

Great hotel, wonderful location and amazing price ! =)

It is a simple hotel, no pool, the rooms are decent size, but they are fashion, LCD TV, nice bath and confy beds. The staff are amazing, really patient, respectful,friendly... The internet was fast and breakfast was good. The location was perfect for the price. There's a park in front of the hotel and the ocean right after. Also, there's a lot of bars and restaurants on the same street. Lincon avenue is 7min walking distance. If you are planing to save money and stay in south beach, this place is perfect. You don't need to rent car, the hotel was cheap , the ocean is right in front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of stores on lincoln ave, 7-10min walking distance. VIC SECRETS etc

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
young frizzle
bronx,ny
Jun 19, 2012

bday bash

the hotel was great. no complaints. I definitely would.stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SarahB123
Tampa, FL
Jan 14, 2011

Great place to stay for the price!

Great place to stay for the price. You can't get any better! The location was AMAZING! Right across the street from the beach and right next to food and shopping. It was very easy to check in and out. The staff was also very friendly. The rooms were really cute and clean. It had a very nice atmosphere! We will most definitely recommend this hotel to our family and friends :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Rd. and Ocean drive are great places for food and shops! If you're interested in clubs there are great ones on Washington Ave. Washington Ave. also has Dash Miami from "Keeping Up With the Kardashians," , and the "Miami Ink" tattoo shop. On Collins Ave, you will find the "Metropole" where the cast of "Jersey Shore" stayed while they were in Miami. Also, check out Espanola Way!

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
RICHMOND, VA
Nov 29, 2010

GREAT STAY

I LOVED MY STAY AT THE PENGUIN. IT WAS VERY CLEAN. THE BREAKFAST AT THE FRONT PORCH CAFE WAS THE BEST THAT I'VE HAD IN MIAMI. GREAT LOCATION! GREAT HOTEL STAFF! DOESN'T GET ANY BETTER FOR THE PRICE. OH AND IT WAS VERY CLEAN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

FRONT PORCH CAFE IS AMAZING. I EAT THERE EVERY TIME THAT I VISIT MIAMI.

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 5, 2010

Great Location and great price

Hotel is small but our kind of taste nothing too big to the point where we cant get the service we need very convenient, location was perfect for us we were able to go to the beach, shop the stores, party at the night clubs, wine and dine all within walking distance!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pretty Lady J
South Jersey
Aug 30, 2010

The Penguin Hotel is Very Cool!

The Penguin Hotel offers beautiful rooms. The room was relatively small but exploded with character. The art on the walls was chic and the flat screen, frosted glass doors, and steel with mirrors added a modern flair. Very comfy window bed made the oceanview room even sweeter and the penguins in the elevator rocked! The staff was friendly, [...] was very helpful and the restaurant had a great breakfast. There were lines of people waiting to eat out front in the AM. I will stay again and wished I had more time to stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a municipal parking garage on 12th Street between Ocean Drive and Collins Ave (two blocks from the Penguin) where parking is $1/hr.

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Aug 29, 2010

We love it there

Coming from NY you know how we do but I must say it was way over what we were hopping for. The staff were great. Thank you mr.manager for taking time out to show us love man. You the best and this we will come back for. Great room great staff and great hotel. Thanks you'll

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

See staff at desk for all your information, they are good

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Sep 28, 2009

Small hotel, room-decor excellent,

Small hotel, room-decor excellent, front desk staff friendly & very helpful. Good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search