$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
arturo p.
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

Average

The hotel did not covered my expectations. There was a problem with the bathroom water. The air conditioner was horrible laugh

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bill J.
Business
Guatemala City
Nov 20, 2011

terrible

very. very expensive for what you get. Hidden cost for Valet parking $ 32.00 per day...Resort charge $ 15.00 a day. Orbiz should check tis hotel to see if you should keep it on your list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Restless Native
Business
Virginia, USA
Dec 5, 2011

South Beach slumming

The place seems to be leaking all over and smells musty. In the room the wall paper was peeling off from moisture damage. Also did not like the $15 "Resort Fee" they hit you up with on top of your Orbizt bill for use of a beach towel. Rip off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
patoman
Business
México
Mar 29, 2012

not comfortable

the hotel is not a hotel boutique as they sell it the conditions of maintenance are not good. and they do not fulfill what they offer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

to many restaurants

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DenJuan
Business
New York
Feb 26, 2013

Be Appear

When you pay for an average hotel you get avergage or worse. The linen on the bed as not changed for three days, though we told the first desk the first day it happened. The rooms are very small, and in need of a paint job. the staff was very friendly, but not a hotel I would stay at again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
grhu520
Business
Canada
May 27, 2013

Far too expensive for what they offer.

Wi-Fi, breakfast and towels are not free. They charge you all these things when you arrive. Even if you already pay the total amount charged by this site. The worse thing was the breakfast. For some reason, you have to go to another hotel and take it there... the problem is: if it is raining they won't offer anything to help you out to go there safety. Twice in a week the room service came at 7PM. Another time I made the call to see if they are free to come and clean the room. Disaster. Don't go there... I just read tons of good reviews here and I thought it would be worth trying but now, I'm a 100% sure: I'm not returning there anymore and I will make sure to spread the voice. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kathryn Z.
Business
Oklahoma
Jul 28, 2013

Cheap South Beach weekend getaway

We had stayed at this hotel for 1 night about 18 months ago, and since then, saw this hotel on an episode of "Hotel Impossible" when it was supposedly renovated. We were excited to go back, but we could not tell a difference. We entered our room, put a hand on the bed and it immediately squeaked loudly. We touched several areas on the bed and it was the same throughout. The front desk allowed us to look at another room, which had what appeared to be a full-size bed. Our final option was on the first floor by the stairway, which was supposedly a new mattress. This bed also squeaked very loudly, but since it had more light, we chose it over the others. The other rooms were filled quickly. In this room, we experienced a defective A/C unit. The room was sweltering, so we tried to stay outside the room as much as possible until they fixed it. It took calling maintenance 3 times and 3 technicians until it was finally replaced the following day. It was no fun sleeping on a squeaky bed in 90 degree Miami weather!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is right across the street from the beach, is surrounded by entertainment, night life, and restaurants. The hotel amenities are a compromise to the hotel location.

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tonyLW
Business
Lake Worth, Florida
Nov 18, 2013

Are They Kidding?

The lobby and staff are bright and cheerful but once we hit the tenement-like halls we were questioning our choice. The rooms do LOOK updated and nice but the beds are a total joke: The mattresses are broken-down, caved-in in the center and provide no support. (Foam I suppose). Had it not been a prepaid deal we would have checked-out and found other accommodations. I can't imagine how any hotel owner could provide such poor sleeping accommodations in good conscience. Oh, I almost forgot to mention the sticky floors. Avoid!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gaston Calabresi
Business
Mexico
Jan 1, 2010

Not recommended to make reservation

When arriving, the pointed out that they were over booked so they decided to move me to other hotel. Is important to say that by the time of arriving to the hotel my reservation was already paid as [...] charged me the costs of the trip.When I complained about going to other hotel they said there nothing they can do so I could call to [...] to complain. Even the hotel staff was too rude....they never understood that I had already paid.....so in summary, I do not recommend to make reservacions throughout [...] as tey do not commit to give the room space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Oct 25, 2009

Room Had Ants

My room had a serious issue with ants which pretty much destroyed my experience with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Had Dinner at Emerils which is located at 16th & Collins - food was wonderful.

Back to menu Return to top