$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
94 reviews
Great

Great experience Awsome hotel Price was great, check in was a breeze Staff were nice and room was... See full review

  • Mart904
  • Jun 7, 2014
Hotel

It was a great place to be. One thing i didn't like was the bathroom shower...water gets off.... See full review

  • allezliz
  • May 6, 2013
The Penguin Hotel, is an example of 1940's Late Art Deco style. The hotel is situated directly on Ocean Drive and 14th street, across from the sandy beaches and only a few steps away from Lincoln Road, popular restaurants and night clubs. The property was renovated in 2006 by a French Designer. Penguin Hotel guests can enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Purple Penguin Cafe located at hotel lobby area, offering delicious dishes made from scratch and at very affordable prices.

Valet parking is available for your convenience (USD30).

Guest must be 18 years or older to check in.

A valid picture ID is required at check in as well as a refundable security deposit of USD100 per room/night (max.USD250 per 3 day stay or longer) which can be paid in cash (USD) or credit card. Accepted identification is passport, ID or drivers license for cash deposits.

Our $19.00 Resort Fee includes : Ala Carte Continental breakfast for two(7:30am to 10.30am in Purple Penguin Cafe ), 2 Welcome Drinks,beach towels, WI-FI throughout the property, use of in-room safe, 2 daily bottles of water in room. Resort Fee will be automatically posted to the guest account. Note: $19 fee is mandatory and will be collected without exception.

Special Event Dates/Holidays (dates with minimum stay of 3 nights and up) are non refundable.

Maximum occupancy in units is 2 people (2 adults or 1 adult and 1 child). There are no rollaways available in rooms due to limited space. Note that if you have booked for one guest, and 2 guests are staying, you will be charged an additional $25.00. If second guest is child under 12 years of age, child stays free.

Hotel Map

25.7861 -80.1297
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Miami.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, Fort Lauderdale Airport
Area description
The Penguin Hotel is just a 15 minute drive from Miami International Airport, Downtown Miami, Bayside Mall, and the Cruise Ship Port of Miami. At any time you can also walk to the world-class cafes, restaurants, theaters and designer clothing stores of Ocean Drive, Collins Avenue, Washington Avenue as well as the famous Lincoln Road Mall. If you stay with us for business or to attend to a convention, the Miami Beach Convention Center is only a few blocks away, at a short walking distance. The Penguin Hotel is perfectly located right on Ocean Drive, where all the South Beach action happens.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Penguin Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Penguin Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Each room is artistically renovated with: 1 or 2 full or queen size beds, bathtub, hair dryer,plasma screen TV, voicemail/phone, alarm clock, wet bar (sink, marble counter, refrigerator), individually controlled air conditioning, Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier,safety deposit box, iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

The Purple Penguin Cafe
Located at hotel lobby serves full breakfast, lunch and dinner. A warm atmosphere and the most delicious dishes while you can people-watch at our front porch area overlooking famous Ocean Drive. Our location and our affordable prices cannot be beaten.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (94)

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
philadelphia
Jul 14, 2009

my miami trip

the hotel was very clean and quiet, when ever i asked for anything housekeeping immediately brought it to my room. i just wished the room would have been a little bigger

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there were restaurants in the whold area

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jul 2, 2009

Worst Experience Ever!

1/1 found this review helpful I am concerned that I will not be able to adequately express my disgust with the front desk and the non-existent management of this hotel, but here goes. Two friends and I booked a room here for our girls trip. Upon check-in, the front desk clerk advised us that the changes we had previously made to our reservation, from one queen-sized bed to two, had not been added to the reservation and they had no availability, nor would they make an exception to let all three of us stay in the room, which we were more than willing to do. Since the change had been confirmed by their employee, and we had proof that it was, we asked that they please look into other hotels and to find us a room. She told us it was not their fault, the employee was new, and told us to do our own research to find a new hotel. We asked many, many times to speak with a manager, and we were refused each time, stating that the manager was busy. The front desk clerk advised us that she had nothing else to discuss with us, leaving three young girls from another city, stranded with our luggage and no where to go. She refused to answer any of my questions, since mine was not the main name on the reservation. We were able to book a room elsewhere with no help from the hotel. I have never before been treated as poorly as I was by this employee of the Penguin. We were treated so rudely, unprofessionally and unfairly upon attempting to check in, that I can only imagine how we would have been treated over a four-day period, so I am happy that we did not have to stay here. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone that I would ever want to keep as a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, Ny
Jun 25, 2009

The Penguin Hotel Bluff

I paid for The Penguin Hotel but when I got there had to wait 30 minutes at the front desk because no one was there after numerous calls finally someone answered and came. THey could not find my reservation and told me it was beause Orbitz never sent them the info ad when I asked to look at the computer screen for my name...Voila big and bold , alphabetized..it was there. Anyways the concierge says "oh that's why I couldn't find you" your actually going to be The Presidente Hotel which is our sister hotel around the corner". Ny this time it was 2:30 in the morning and I was exhausted and didnt feel like arguing anymore. He booked us in the "Penthouse"...whatever..it was ok but overall def wouldn't be staying there again. Convinced from now on to just stay at a big reputable hotel. Oh by the way, the smell of the hallway was nauseating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Jun 22, 2009

Terrible getaway

I think it was the worst hotel i have ever stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Emeral's Resturant

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Synncere
New Jersey
May 24, 2009

What a disappointment

This was a disappointment. There are absolutely no amenities at this hotel, I didn't eat at the porch cafe/restaurant that other reviewers boasted about because my husband and I were out all night and wanted to eat in our room, well to my surprise I wasn't even allowed to bring the menu to the room to find out what my husband wanted to eat. The manager was firm when saying "NO" I could not take that menu. The room was extremely small and the bathroom was the size of a coat closet. Walking up was not very appealing, I was with other friends and I wouldnt show them my hotel/motel I was too embarrased by the unattractive curb appeal compared to the other places

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lost In St Pete
Sydney, Australia
May 12, 2009

An Interesting Place

I needed a place that offered easy access to the beach and convenience to eating and going out places. The hotel is ideal for those. The price was very comfortable but the reception staff was offering $199 per night over the telephone for the weekend and that was ridiculous. The facilities are not worth that. When we arrived in the room our feet got dirty from walking around in the room. I had to ask housekeeping to wipe the floors which was not done till next day. There are no electrical sockets in the room. You have to unplug the bed lights to get access. Guys, this is a budget hotel and as such it is good value for money and has a great location. If you are paying more than what feels budget, you should look for a place further along the street or nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach is across the street and nightlife all around the place, very close by.

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bucketlip
Pittsburgh, PA
May 9, 2009

"Great location, good value!"

From check in to check out, we were very pleased. The friendly staff was very accomodating and helpful. There is a restaurant on the front porch which always has a line waiting - a tribute to their food and staff......delicious ice tea!!! The room was small and had a quirky decor (wall murals and mirrors)just like the photos on Orbitz. We would recommend a stay. Check out the ceiling on the first floor hall and the penguins in the elevator!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SOBE Diva
New Haven, CT
Apr 29, 2009

Cute Hotel

The location was great. The rooms are a little small but if your only sleeping there who cares..right? For the money it was a great deal, right across the street from the beach! I would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bob arruba
Holland NY
Apr 23, 2009

Have to remember "you're on the strip"

Great strip location (comes with noise)Did not spend much time in smaller than average but clean & accomodating room. View was great. Having the "Front Porch Cafe" at the doorstep was great. Friendly staff, both hotel & cafe. Could be a step on two faster in the cafe, especially when you need a drink. Steps to the beach, cabs, bus, dining & drinks. Price was great, doubt that is the norm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Be bold & get the attention of a server or else you could go thirsty. 17% tip included, but you can alter to suit.

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYC Road Warrior
Business
New York
Mar 27, 2009

Hidden Fees

Great rate but hidden fees. Upon check in management will ask for a $200.00 additional security deposit on top of the booking rate through Orbitz. This will slow your departure since management must send someone to personally inspect the room prior to checkout and release of deposit. The room was actually nice but based on the Orbitz rate your are placed in the back of the hotel facing the alley.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search