$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 23, 2014 Check-out: Oct 24, 2014

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
96 reviews
Great

Great experience Awsome hotel Price was great, check in was a breeze Staff were nice and room was... See full review

  • Mart904
  • Jun 7, 2014
Hotel

It was a great place to be. One thing i didn't like was the bathroom shower...water gets off.... See full review

  • allezliz
  • May 6, 2013
The Penguin Hotel, is an example of 1940's Late Art Deco style. The hotel is situated directly on Ocean Drive and 14th street, across from the sandy beaches and only a few steps away from Lincoln Road, popular restaurants and night clubs. The property was renovated in 2006 by a French Designer. Penguin Hotel guests can enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Purple Penguin Cafe located at hotel lobby area, offering delicious dishes made from scratch and at very affordable prices.

Valet parking is available for your convenience (USD30).

Guest must be 18 years or older to check in.

A valid picture ID is required at check in as well as a refundable security deposit of USD100 per room/night (max.USD250 per 3 day stay or longer) which can be paid in cash (USD) or credit card. Accepted identification is passport, ID or drivers license for cash deposits.

Resort fee indicated is based upon double occupancy when 1 or 2 guests are booking and is: $21.47 tax included payable at Hotel. PLEASE NOTE: -When 3 or more guests are booking an additional $10.73 per person will be payable to the hotel Resort fee includes: Ala Carte Continental breakfast for two(7:30am to 10.30am in Purple Penguin Cafe ), 2 Welcome Drinks,beach towels, WI-FI throughout the property, use of in-room safe, 2 daily bottles of water in room. Resort Fee will be automatically posted to the guest account. Note: The resort fee is mandatory and will be collected without exception.

Special Event Dates/Holidays (dates with minimum stay of 3 nights and up) are non refundable.

Maximum occupancy in units is 2 people (2 adults or 1 adult and 1 child). There are no rollaways available in rooms due to limited space. Note that if you have booked for one guest, and 2 guests are staying, you will be charged an additional $25.00. If second guest is child under 12 years of age, child stays free.

Hotel Map

25.7861 -80.1297
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Miami.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, Fort Lauderdale Airport
Area description
The Penguin Hotel is just a 15 minute drive from Miami International Airport, Downtown Miami, Bayside Mall, and the Cruise Ship Port of Miami. At any time you can also walk to the world-class cafes, restaurants, theaters and designer clothing stores of Ocean Drive, Collins Avenue, Washington Avenue as well as the famous Lincoln Road Mall. If you stay with us for business or to attend to a convention, the Miami Beach Convention Center is only a few blocks away, at a short walking distance. The Penguin Hotel is perfectly located right on Ocean Drive, where all the South Beach action happens.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Penguin Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Penguin Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Each room is artistically renovated with: 1 or 2 full or queen size beds, bathtub, hair dryer,plasma screen TV, voicemail/phone, alarm clock, wet bar (sink, marble counter, refrigerator), individually controlled air conditioning, Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier,safety deposit box, iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

The Purple Penguin Cafe
Located at hotel lobby serves full breakfast, lunch and dinner. A warm atmosphere and the most delicious dishes while you can people-watch at our front porch area overlooking famous Ocean Drive. Our location and our affordable prices cannot be beaten.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (96)

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vermont
Mar 19, 2010

good location

we got moved from the penguin to its sister hotel on the next street, collins, namedthe president because they said they were having room problems... aka overbookng. but the hotel was in a good spring break location, not for families and elders. the location is right in south beach with the beach on one side and the clubs on the other. they give you beach towels that you have to check out so you dont have to pack your own. and they give you fresh towels everyday and make your bed. it would have been better if therre were a pool but all we did there was sleep and shower. the bed wasn't that comfortable but it was a decent size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hercules, Ca
Jan 25, 2011

The Penguin

It is in the perfect location. The room looked exactly as in the photos online. Very small and tight quarters but it was doable for the one night stay. The hallways did have a smell that indicated they were trying to hide a smell of some sort...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
May 4, 2010

Great price and Great location

This hotel was GREAT especialy for the price and location. Its on Ocean drive closer to the quiet area. The rooms were very clean and nice. I would def recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Jan 15, 2010

Great location

I met with friends who were staying at the Penguin Hotel in mid-January. I spent three nights. Upon arrival I was assigned a first floor room in the back corner with a window over the dumpster. I asked for a room closer to my friends and was accommodated. The next room smelled like cigarette smoke and again the person at the front desk gave me another choice. This time the room was fine with two beds instead of one for the same price. The rooms are basic but clean. The hallways however are an atrocious dark blue color. What were they thinking? The walls are very thin, so you can hear noise from the hallways and the conversations of people in the adjoining room. There is an outside cafe downstairs and instead of a lobby you have waiters walking through and there is not much room to get out of the way. Overall I would describe the place as a little weird, but it was inexpensive for me as I booked it through the internet. My friends had booked from Europe and paid a much higher price. I was required to leave a 200 dollar security deposit upon arrival, which I thought was strange. On the bright side, the rooms were clean and the staff helpful and friendly. The hotel is right on the ocean and restaurants and shopping as well as the Art Deco district are in short walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dzonve
Business
Chicago , IL
Jun 30, 2010

Great location,cool rooms

Great location,the hotel staff was helpfull and friendly , the hollways could've been painted diferent...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Silent22beauty
Business
NJ
Jun 23, 2014

Can't complain

My stay here was good. No major complaints. For the price and location it was great. Room was clean. Staff was friendly. That's all I was asking for. I would stay again. And recommend for a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BritnNea
Business
cola, SC
Jul 11, 2014

The Penguin Ocean Dr.

I couldn't ask for more with the price. I enjoyed my stay there. Excellent location, just steps from the beach. Excellent staff, especially Tim their waiter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Their happy hour specials are great compared to many on the same strip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AnniePN
Business
Burke, VA
Jul 18, 2014

It was a decent stay

It was not as bad as I thought. it was a decent hotel and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cheryl Brown Sugar
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 18, 2014

Penguin Hotel for Vacation

No one told us we had to pay 30.00 a day to park at the hotel. No one told us we had to put $250.00 deposit when we booked the hotel. Most of the staff was nice the rooms are very clean Scott the supervisor is not friendly and is sometimes rude. The food is not that great and expensive for what they have to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Use a agent to book attractions and they will pick you up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mama on vacation
Business
Michigan
Sep 8, 2014

Great location

The staff was very friendly, the rooms are small and the bed was hard and uncomfortable. The price was nice though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the 11th Street Diner while you are there, delicious food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top