$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
99 reviews
Great

Great experience Awsome hotel Price was great, check in was a breeze Staff were nice and room was... See full review

  • Mart904
  • Jun 7, 2014
Great Location and Wonderful Staff!

I had a wonderful experience this past weekend at The Penguin. If you're looking for beach... See full review

  • Sun Seeking New Yorker
  • Oct 22, 2014
The Penguin Hotel, is an example of 1940's Late Art Deco style. The hotel is situated directly on Ocean Drive and 14th street, across from the sandy beaches and only a few steps away from Lincoln Road, popular restaurants and night clubs. The property was renovated in 2006 by a French Designer. Penguin Hotel guests can enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Purple Penguin Cafe located at hotel lobby area, offering delicious dishes made from scratch and at very affordable prices.

Valet parking is available for your convenience (USD30).

Guest must be 18 years or older to check in.

A valid picture ID is required at check in as well as a refundable security deposit of USD100 per room/night (max.USD250 per 3 day stay or longer) which can be paid in cash (USD) or credit card. Accepted identification is passport, ID or drivers license for cash deposits.

Resort fee indicated is based upon double occupancy when 1 or 2 guests are booking and is: $21.47 tax included payable at Hotel. PLEASE NOTE: -When 3 or more guests are booking an additional $10.73 per person will be payable to the hotel Resort fee includes: Ala Carte Continental breakfast for two(7:30am to 10.30am in Purple Penguin Cafe ), 2 Welcome Drinks,beach towels, WI-FI throughout the property, use of in-room safe, 2 daily bottles of water in room. Resort Fee will be automatically posted to the guest account. Note: The resort fee is mandatory and will be collected without exception.

Special Event Dates/Holidays (dates with minimum stay of 3 nights and up) are non refundable.

Maximum occupancy in units is 2 people (2 adults or 1 adult and 1 child). There are no rollaways available in rooms due to limited space. Note that if you have booked for one guest, and 2 guests are staying, you will be charged an additional $25.00. If second guest is child under 12 years of age, child stays free.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Penguin Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Penguin Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Each room is artistically renovated with: 1 or 2 full or queen size beds, bathtub, hair dryer,plasma screen TV, voicemail/phone, alarm clock, wet bar (sink, marble counter, refrigerator), individually controlled air conditioning, Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier,safety deposit box, iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

The Purple Penguin Cafe
Located at hotel lobby serves full breakfast, lunch and dinner. A warm atmosphere and the most delicious dishes while you can people-watch at our front porch area overlooking famous Ocean Drive. Our location and our affordable prices cannot be beaten.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 5, 2010

Great Location and great price

Hotel is small but our kind of taste nothing too big to the point where we cant get the service we need very convenient, location was perfect for us we were able to go to the beach, shop the stores, party at the night clubs, wine and dine all within walking distance!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Oct 30, 2010

Great location, great price!

Great location,my room had a great view of the ocean. Breakfast at the restaurant was great but a bit expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pretty Lady J
Business
South Jersey
Aug 30, 2010

The Penguin Hotel is Very Cool!

The Penguin Hotel offers beautiful rooms. The room was relatively small but exploded with character. The art on the walls was chic and the flat screen, frosted glass doors, and steel with mirrors added a modern flair. Very comfy window bed made the oceanview room even sweeter and the penguins in the elevator rocked! The staff was friendly, [...] was very helpful and the restaurant had a great breakfast. There were lines of people waiting to eat out front in the AM. I will stay again and wished I had more time to stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a municipal parking garage on 12th Street between Ocean Drive and Collins Ave (two blocks from the Penguin) where parking is $1/hr.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Aug 29, 2010

We love it there

Coming from NY you know how we do but I must say it was way over what we were hopping for. The staff were great. Thank you mr.manager for taking time out to show us love man. You the best and this we will come back for. Great room great staff and great hotel. Thanks you'll

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

See staff at desk for all your information, they are good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
long beach, ca
Aug 25, 2010

Love IT!

Staff and location were priceless! Across from the water and walking to Lincoln & Espanola areas; staff that went out of their way to find me places to eat & live music (on a Mon night!); clean & quite (not easy in South Beach) room with amazing view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

avoid ocean drive... look on the side streets, on Washington or ask the staff for good alternatives to the tourist scene... there are GREAT small eateries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond,VA
Aug 11, 2010

DRAMA FREE!! RIGHT IN FRONT OF THE BEACH

I am originally from Miami, my goal was to stay in a AFFORTABLE DECENT hotel off the beach and the penguin hotel was just that! Before we checked into our room we were able to relax on the beach and enjoy the lovely weather. The hotel is located directly off the beach put away from all the crazy tourist. Yes you have to pay for parking but it only cost $5! Over all i had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Fat Tuesdays, Wet Willy etc!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dzonve
Business
Chicago , IL
Jun 30, 2010

Great location,cool rooms

Great location,the hotel staff was helpfull and friendly , the hollways could've been painted diferent...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GOT SHORT SHEETED ON MY VACATION
Business
MIAMI BEACH
Jun 7, 2010

NOT THE HOTEL I BOOKED

ALL I WANTED WAS TO STAY AT A HOTEL ACROSS FROM THE BEACH. WHEN I GOT TO THE HOTEL THAT I BOOKED THEY DID NOT HAVE MY BOOKING ON FILE. THE CLERK WAS NOT INTELLIANT ENOUGH TO HELP,[...]. ALL HE COULD SAY IS THAT THEY WERE ALL BOOKED UP AND HAD NO ROOMS. SO FINALY THEY GAVE ME A ROOM. ONE BLOCK AWAY FROM THE BEACH, NOT WHAT I WANTED OR PAID FOR. BUT THEY KNEW I HAD NO OTHER PLACE TO STAY FOR MY VACTION AND WOULD TAKE IT. IF YOU EVER USE THIS HOTEL PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU CALL THEM AND VERIFY YOUR ROOM. I AM NOT HAPPY. IF YOU PAY FOR SOMETHING I THINK THIS IS WHAT YOU SHOULD RECIEVE. NOT WHAT THEY THINK YOU SHOULD GET OR LEAVE IT, AFTER YOU PAID YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY, AND ONLY HAVE A SHORT VACATION TO ENJOY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
May 4, 2010

Great price and Great location

This hotel was GREAT especialy for the price and location. Its on Ocean drive closer to the quiet area. The rooms were very clean and nice. I would def recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL.
May 4, 2010

" The worst experience I've ever had"

We were moved to another hotel because the Penquin had no air-conditioning and had to deposit $200.00 at the President Hotel for some reason. This was one of the worst visit we had to Maimi and feel I should be returned my charges for the one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top