$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Hercules, Ca
Jan 25, 2011

The Penguin

It is in the perfect location. The room looked exactly as in the photos online. Very small and tight quarters but it was doable for the one night stay. The hallways did have a smell that indicated they were trying to hide a smell of some sort...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SarahB123
Couples
Tampa, FL
Jan 14, 2011

Great place to stay for the price!

Great place to stay for the price. You can't get any better! The location was AMAZING! Right across the street from the beach and right next to food and shopping. It was very easy to check in and out. The staff was also very friendly. The rooms were really cute and clean. It had a very nice atmosphere! We will most definitely recommend this hotel to our family and friends :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Rd. and Ocean drive are great places for food and shops! If you're interested in clubs there are great ones on Washington Ave. Washington Ave. also has Dash Miami from "Keeping Up With the Kardashians," , and the "Miami Ink" tattoo shop. On Collins Ave, you will find the "Metropole" where the cast of "Jersey Shore" stayed while they were in Miami. Also, check out Espanola Way!

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Tampa,Florida
Dec 27, 2010

"you get what you pay for"

The staff was kind and helpful but the hotel seemed to be falling apart, literally! The bathroom wall was crumbling away, and the bathroom shelving fell off the wall completely. The hallway smells like bad bug spray. the mattress felt like a piece of cardboard with a thin thin layer of cotton on top. the ac leaked in the floor and wet our belongings. The location was great but I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
France
Dec 19, 2010

Good Location

We did not recognize the hotel by the description on the internet. There was no restaurant and no bar. Parking was in the streets, hotel (only 1 person available), could not help us changing money for parking. We had booked a de luxe room, got a standard, was told this was equivalent to de luxe on internet!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
RICHMOND, VA
Nov 29, 2010

GREAT STAY

I LOVED MY STAY AT THE PENGUIN. IT WAS VERY CLEAN. THE BREAKFAST AT THE FRONT PORCH CAFE WAS THE BEST THAT I'VE HAD IN MIAMI. GREAT LOCATION! GREAT HOTEL STAFF! DOESN'T GET ANY BETTER FOR THE PRICE. OH AND IT WAS VERY CLEAN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

FRONT PORCH CAFE IS AMAZING. I EAT THERE EVERY TIME THAT I VISIT MIAMI.

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 5, 2010

Great Location and great price

Hotel is small but our kind of taste nothing too big to the point where we cant get the service we need very convenient, location was perfect for us we were able to go to the beach, shop the stores, party at the night clubs, wine and dine all within walking distance!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Boston
Oct 30, 2010

Great location, great price!

Great location,my room had a great view of the ocean. Breakfast at the restaurant was great but a bit expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pretty Lady J
Single
South Jersey
Aug 30, 2010

The Penguin Hotel is Very Cool!

The Penguin Hotel offers beautiful rooms. The room was relatively small but exploded with character. The art on the walls was chic and the flat screen, frosted glass doors, and steel with mirrors added a modern flair. Very comfy window bed made the oceanview room even sweeter and the penguins in the elevator rocked! The staff was friendly, [...] was very helpful and the restaurant had a great breakfast. There were lines of people waiting to eat out front in the AM. I will stay again and wished I had more time to stay longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a municipal parking garage on 12th Street between Ocean Drive and Collins Ave (two blocks from the Penguin) where parking is $1/hr.

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
New York
Aug 29, 2010

We love it there

Coming from NY you know how we do but I must say it was way over what we were hopping for. The staff were great. Thank you mr.manager for taking time out to show us love man. You the best and this we will come back for. Great room great staff and great hotel. Thanks you'll

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

See staff at desk for all your information, they are good

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
long beach, ca
Aug 25, 2010

Love IT!

Staff and location were priceless! Across from the water and walking to Lincoln & Espanola areas; staff that went out of their way to find me places to eat & live music (on a Mon night!); clean & quite (not easy in South Beach) room with amazing view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

avoid ocean drive... look on the side streets, on Washington or ask the staff for good alternatives to the tourist scene... there are GREAT small eateries.

Back to menu Return to top