Penguin Hotel

3 stars
1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
97 reviews
Great

Great experience Awsome hotel Price was great, check in was a breeze Staff were nice and room was... See full review

  • Mart904
  • Jun 7, 2014
Hotel

It was a great place to be. One thing i didn't like was the bathroom shower...water gets off.... See full review

  • allezliz
  • May 6, 2013
The Penguin Hotel, is an example of 1940's Late Art Deco style. The hotel is situated directly on Ocean Drive and 14th street, across from the sandy beaches and only a few steps away from Lincoln Road, popular restaurants and night clubs. The property was renovated in 2006 by a French Designer. Penguin Hotel guests can enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Purple Penguin Cafe located at hotel lobby area, offering delicious dishes made from scratch and at very affordable prices.

Valet parking is available for your convenience (USD30).

Guest must be 18 years or older to check in.

A valid picture ID is required at check in as well as a refundable security deposit of USD100 per room/night (max.USD250 per 3 day stay or longer) which can be paid in cash (USD) or credit card. Accepted identification is passport, ID or drivers license for cash deposits.

Resort fee indicated is based upon double occupancy when 1 or 2 guests are booking and is: $21.47 tax included payable at Hotel. PLEASE NOTE: -When 3 or more guests are booking an additional $10.73 per person will be payable to the hotel Resort fee includes: Ala Carte Continental breakfast for two(7:30am to 10.30am in Purple Penguin Cafe ), 2 Welcome Drinks,beach towels, WI-FI throughout the property, use of in-room safe, 2 daily bottles of water in room. Resort Fee will be automatically posted to the guest account. Note: The resort fee is mandatory and will be collected without exception.

Special Event Dates/Holidays (dates with minimum stay of 3 nights and up) are non refundable.

Maximum occupancy in units is 2 people (2 adults or 1 adult and 1 child). There are no rollaways available in rooms due to limited space. Note that if you have booked for one guest, and 2 guests are staying, you will be charged an additional $25.00. If second guest is child under 12 years of age, child stays free.

Penguin Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Each room is artistically renovated with: 1 or 2 full or queen size beds, bathtub, hair dryer,plasma screen TV, voicemail/phone, alarm clock, wet bar (sink, marble counter, refrigerator), individually controlled air conditioning, Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier,safety deposit box, iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Hotel Map

25.7861 -80.1297
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Miami.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, Fort Lauderdale Airport
Area description
The Penguin Hotel is just a 15 minute drive from Miami International Airport, Downtown Miami, Bayside Mall, and the Cruise Ship Port of Miami. At any time you can also walk to the world-class cafes, restaurants, theaters and designer clothing stores of Ocean Drive, Collins Avenue, Washington Avenue as well as the famous Lincoln Road Mall. If you stay with us for business or to attend to a convention, the Miami Beach Convention Center is only a few blocks away, at a short walking distance. The Penguin Hotel is perfectly located right on Ocean Drive, where all the South Beach action happens.

Dining

The Purple Penguin Cafe
Located at hotel lobby serves full breakfast, lunch and dinner. A warm atmosphere and the most delicious dishes while you can people-watch at our front porch area overlooking famous Ocean Drive. Our location and our affordable prices cannot be beaten.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (97)

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UschiX
Business
Austria
Mar 13, 2013

Beautiful Art deco Outside, inside poor

Very Good Location and beautiful Art deco House, but inside really from the 1930s. The Rooms are refurbished, but of poor quality. But for this price ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
N259
Business
RI
Mar 19, 2013

Location & price biggest positives

Overall best price for being on Ocean Dr. However one must expect u get what u pay for... Clean rooms , great location and friendly staff... lots of boutique hotel potentential but overall lacking in amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BigBadBeachBoy
Business
Miami
Aug 19, 2013

Cool place

Great location made it truly a nice place to stay. There is not much in the room... in fact its small but for someone or a couple just looking for a place to sleep at night its perfect. The only problem is that the rooms don't have central air; in turn, the bathroom remained very hot after a shower and throughout the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Oct 30, 2010

Great location, great price!

Great location,my room had a great view of the ocean. Breakfast at the restaurant was great but a bit expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GOT SHORT SHEETED ON MY VACATION
Business
MIAMI BEACH
Jun 7, 2010

NOT THE HOTEL I BOOKED

ALL I WANTED WAS TO STAY AT A HOTEL ACROSS FROM THE BEACH. WHEN I GOT TO THE HOTEL THAT I BOOKED THEY DID NOT HAVE MY BOOKING ON FILE. THE CLERK WAS NOT INTELLIANT ENOUGH TO HELP,[...]. ALL HE COULD SAY IS THAT THEY WERE ALL BOOKED UP AND HAD NO ROOMS. SO FINALY THEY GAVE ME A ROOM. ONE BLOCK AWAY FROM THE BEACH, NOT WHAT I WANTED OR PAID FOR. BUT THEY KNEW I HAD NO OTHER PLACE TO STAY FOR MY VACTION AND WOULD TAKE IT. IF YOU EVER USE THIS HOTEL PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU CALL THEM AND VERIFY YOUR ROOM. I AM NOT HAPPY. IF YOU PAY FOR SOMETHING I THINK THIS IS WHAT YOU SHOULD RECIEVE. NOT WHAT THEY THINK YOU SHOULD GET OR LEAVE IT, AFTER YOU PAID YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY, AND ONLY HAVE A SHORT VACATION TO ENJOY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC, NY
Oct 19, 2009

Get what you pay for

i've been coming to south beach just about every month for a few years now and i usually arrive before check-in... they usually tell me that they'll give me a call when a room is ready and it usually happens way before check-in time. This hotel has a check-in time of 3 rather then 2 like most hotels and check-out time of 11 instead of 12.. and they charge $50 if there is a room available and you want to check-in early.. weird! but anyways even though there was no room service, pool, doorman to bring me my luggage, and the decor was pretty out there the room was decent and clean and a pretty good bargain for what i paid. The frontdesk was accomidating for the most part although i did ask for a few q-tips and they had not one in the entire hotel which i thought was strange.. the stay was ok.. nothing special

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Mar 28, 2010

great location, and an ok room

It is located on Ocean Drive, which in itself is great! However, the rooms are a bit pricy for what you get, and the walls must be really thin, because you can hear almost everything going on in the other rooms around you.. The restaurant was absolutely worth checking out, and the prices there were really good for what you got. The hotel is 30 seconds away from the beach, so if you're looking to get a tan, being close to the beach, this is highly recommendable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
France
Dec 19, 2010

Good Location

We did not recognize the hotel by the description on the internet. There was no restaurant and no bar. Parking was in the streets, hotel (only 1 person available), could not help us changing money for parking. We had booked a de luxe room, got a standard, was told this was equivalent to de luxe on internet!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYC Road Warrior
Business
New York
Mar 27, 2009

Hidden Fees

Great rate but hidden fees. Upon check in management will ask for a $200.00 additional security deposit on top of the booking rate through Orbitz. This will slow your departure since management must send someone to personally inspect the room prior to checkout and release of deposit. The room was actually nice but based on the Orbitz rate your are placed in the back of the hotel facing the alley.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Aug 5, 2011

Clean

Clean, quiet, worth the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top