$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
99 reviews
Great

Great experience Awsome hotel Price was great, check in was a breeze Staff were nice and room was... See full review

  • Mart904
  • Jun 7, 2014
Great Location and Wonderful Staff!

I had a wonderful experience this past weekend at The Penguin. If you're looking for beach... See full review

  • Sun Seeking New Yorker
  • Oct 22, 2014
The Penguin Hotel, is an example of 1940's Late Art Deco style. The hotel is situated directly on Ocean Drive and 14th street, across from the sandy beaches and only a few steps away from Lincoln Road, popular restaurants and night clubs. The property was renovated in 2006 by a French Designer. Penguin Hotel guests can enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Purple Penguin Cafe located at hotel lobby area, offering delicious dishes made from scratch and at very affordable prices.

Valet parking is available for your convenience (USD30).

Guest must be 18 years or older to check in.

A valid picture ID is required at check in as well as a refundable security deposit of USD100 per room/night (max.USD250 per 3 day stay or longer) which can be paid in cash (USD) or credit card. Accepted identification is passport, ID or drivers license for cash deposits.

Resort fee indicated is based upon double occupancy when 1 or 2 guests are booking and is: $21.47 tax included payable at Hotel. PLEASE NOTE: -When 3 or more guests are booking an additional $10.73 per person will be payable to the hotel Resort fee includes: Ala Carte Continental breakfast for two(7:30am to 10.30am in Purple Penguin Cafe ), 2 Welcome Drinks,beach towels, WI-FI throughout the property, use of in-room safe, 2 daily bottles of water in room. Resort Fee will be automatically posted to the guest account. Note: The resort fee is mandatory and will be collected without exception.

Special Event Dates/Holidays (dates with minimum stay of 3 nights and up) are non refundable.

Maximum occupancy in units is 2 people (2 adults or 1 adult and 1 child). There are no rollaways available in rooms due to limited space. Note that if you have booked for one guest, and 2 guests are staying, you will be charged an additional $25.00. If second guest is child under 12 years of age, child stays free.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Penguin Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Penguin Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Each room is artistically renovated with: 1 or 2 full or queen size beds, bathtub, hair dryer,plasma screen TV, voicemail/phone, alarm clock, wet bar (sink, marble counter, refrigerator), individually controlled air conditioning, Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier,safety deposit box, iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

The Purple Penguin Cafe
Located at hotel lobby serves full breakfast, lunch and dinner. A warm atmosphere and the most delicious dishes while you can people-watch at our front porch area overlooking famous Ocean Drive. Our location and our affordable prices cannot be beaten.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pasha
Jamaica New York
Jun 20, 2013

Fantastic getaway

The location was great, and the beach was right across the street. The room was clean. The staff was great. I only stayed overnight, next year I am planning to stay longer. Anyone that is looking to visit South Beach Flordia, I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KikiP
Business
Bergen County, New Jersey
Feb 28, 2013

I would stay here again...

The halls at Penguin Hotel are wicked funny but the hotel was clean, no issues and for the price...you can't be the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sparkyboy
Business
Toronto, Canada
Feb 27, 2013

Room(s) for improvement

I travel to South Beach at least twicw a year. I have stayed at The Penguin several times and each time, I hope that it will be better. The location is amazing ! Across from the beach, a short walk to the shops and restaurants on Lincoln Road, easy access to the Miami nightlife also, The Hotel staff are very friendly and welcoming. As you proceed from check in is when you notice the general dated and run down condition of the hotel. The elevator is grubby and old, makes noises like it is going to break down at any moment. As you exit the elevator you are in hallways that feel creepy and dark, the rooms are not as stylish as they appear in photo.The "resort fee" gives you nothing extra, refuse it at check in. Enjoy the convenience of the location, but check out some other recently renovated boutique hotels in the same price range. Hotels on Collins Ave, between 17th Street and 23rd Street are as well located and have more to offer and if on the east side of the street, they are directly on the oceanfront beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Authentic, delicious Cuban Cuisine at Puerto Sagua, 700 Collins. Very affordable, comfortable, unpretentious place,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DenJuan
Business
New York
Feb 26, 2013

Be Appear

When you pay for an average hotel you get avergage or worse. The linen on the bed as not changed for three days, though we told the first desk the first day it happened. The rooms are very small, and in need of a paint job. the staff was very friendly, but not a hotel I would stay at again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jhakobe
Business
Elkhart, IN, USA
Feb 11, 2013

Good Place, Great Location

Hip vibe, pleasant staff, complimentary cocktail at happy hour, short walk to Lincoln Road Mall, deco architecture all around, right on South Beach. We had a corner room which overlooked Ocean Drive, the park and the beach. The room was quite comfortable for being a bit small on size. For the traveler who want a great location but can sacrifice some of the extravagance that is SoBe, this is a good place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a slice of NY pizza, head to Pizza Fiore on Washington Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sexy Beach
Business
Sacramento, California
Nov 18, 2012

Beachcomber

My sister and I enjoyed this perfect location along Ocean Drive with Lincoln Mall close by. It was the perfect combination of spending time on the beach, dining, clubs, and shopping. We will definitedly plan to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AC in LA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 10, 2012

Very Good Stay

I had a last minute trip to Miami from Los Angeles with a colleague who had never been. So I wanted a place where after our meetings we could walk and find an interesting place to eat. The hotel is at the top of Ocean Ave, near Lincoln Road Mall and Espanola Way, where there's a great snapshot of South Beach's dining and nightlife to experience. My first impression of the hotel was great. Clean white gleaming deco bldg. The impression plummeted when I stepped off the elevator. The corridors are hideous and I was worried I had made a mistake. But that changed when I got into the room. It was newer and spacious, though not a lot of meaningful furniture. The bed was OK. Urethane pillows - awful. A small proper desk would have been nice since there was wifi. Small bathroom, but it had all I needed. Plus 2 free happy hour drinks and breakfast at the sister hotel (didn't try - had to leave before it opened but that's OK) were nice touches. There's a nice lobby front porch and sidewalk ding and drinks area which is very good and convenient. It was a good choice and I would stay there again for a short one or 2 day stay. Anything longer, I would want more amenities and a larger more comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Last Minute Trip
Business
St Louis
Sep 7, 2012

Great location but you get what you pay for!

Overall, this was a good experience however, it could have been better. It was a great location on Ocean Drive but the rooms are very very small and not up to date. It's definitely not the Loews but if you are on a budget and are only sleeping in the room it will be fine. The two gentlemen that worked the front desk were wonderful, the female on the other hand was not friendly and rude, she should brush up on her customer service skills!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Monica J
Business
Rochester New York
Sep 1, 2012

Weekend stay

The hotel was in a great location. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The parking was $29 a night. There's a parking garage around the corner for $15. Everything was fine for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Birthday girl 729
Business
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Aug 14, 2012

Hairy

My husband and I checked in and there was hair all in the bed. House cleaning was walking in the room when I was coming out the shower. I figured they probably didn't clean the room before we checked in. We complained and instead of an apology. We got 5 different members of staff asking us why we didn't complain sooner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln rd! Love it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
baseballmom813
Business
Tampa, FL
Aug 3, 2012

Great hotel, will stay again!!

The room itself was small but that was expected for the location, which was perfect and just steps to the beach and the nightlife. The staff was very nice and the place was clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't use valet, park in the public parking garage, much cheaper!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top