$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
103 out of 103
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rikkay19
Business
Tampa,fl
Apr 15, 2013

Perfect Stay

The room and halls were small, and our queen bed was two twins pushed together, but the room was clean and comfortable! Beautiful and boutiquey old fashion hotel room. The location was insanely perfect! Valet, and complimentary drinks/breakfast were awesome! We had the time of our lives and would definitely visit again! <3

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
N259
Business
RI
Mar 19, 2013

Location & price biggest positives

Overall best price for being on Ocean Dr. However one must expect u get what u pay for... Clean rooms , great location and friendly staff... lots of boutique hotel potentential but overall lacking in amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UschiX
Business
Austria
Mar 13, 2013

Beautiful Art deco Outside, inside poor

Very Good Location and beautiful Art deco House, but inside really from the 1930s. The Rooms are refurbished, but of poor quality. But for this price ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Easy Texas Traveler
Business
Montgomery, Texas
Mar 4, 2013

Don't Upgrade

Never pay extra for anything in this hotel when you make your reservation.. I paid 40% more to get a corner room with two double beds and all I got was a one bed room with a tiny window and the person at the check in told me it was only a preference inquiry but it was never guaranteed... So never pay for any king of upgrade.. you won't get it .. trust me!!!! Hotel is only OK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BLT steak house is the best...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KikiP
Business
Bergen County, New Jersey
Feb 28, 2013

I would stay here again...

The halls at Penguin Hotel are wicked funny but the hotel was clean, no issues and for the price...you can't be the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sparkyboy
Business
Toronto, Canada
Feb 27, 2013

Room(s) for improvement

I travel to South Beach at least twicw a year. I have stayed at The Penguin several times and each time, I hope that it will be better. The location is amazing ! Across from the beach, a short walk to the shops and restaurants on Lincoln Road, easy access to the Miami nightlife also, The Hotel staff are very friendly and welcoming. As you proceed from check in is when you notice the general dated and run down condition of the hotel. The elevator is grubby and old, makes noises like it is going to break down at any moment. As you exit the elevator you are in hallways that feel creepy and dark, the rooms are not as stylish as they appear in photo.The "resort fee" gives you nothing extra, refuse it at check in. Enjoy the convenience of the location, but check out some other recently renovated boutique hotels in the same price range. Hotels on Collins Ave, between 17th Street and 23rd Street are as well located and have more to offer and if on the east side of the street, they are directly on the oceanfront beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Authentic, delicious Cuban Cuisine at Puerto Sagua, 700 Collins. Very affordable, comfortable, unpretentious place,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DenJuan
Business
New York
Feb 26, 2013

Be Appear

When you pay for an average hotel you get avergage or worse. The linen on the bed as not changed for three days, though we told the first desk the first day it happened. The rooms are very small, and in need of a paint job. the staff was very friendly, but not a hotel I would stay at again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jhakobe
Business
Elkhart, IN, USA
Feb 11, 2013

Good Place, Great Location

Hip vibe, pleasant staff, complimentary cocktail at happy hour, short walk to Lincoln Road Mall, deco architecture all around, right on South Beach. We had a corner room which overlooked Ocean Drive, the park and the beach. The room was quite comfortable for being a bit small on size. For the traveler who want a great location but can sacrifice some of the extravagance that is SoBe, this is a good place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a slice of NY pizza, head to Pizza Fiore on Washington Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sexy Beach
Business
Sacramento, California
Nov 18, 2012

Beachcomber

My sister and I enjoyed this perfect location along Ocean Drive with Lincoln Mall close by. It was the perfect combination of spending time on the beach, dining, clubs, and shopping. We will definitedly plan to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AC in LA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 10, 2012

Very Good Stay

I had a last minute trip to Miami from Los Angeles with a colleague who had never been. So I wanted a place where after our meetings we could walk and find an interesting place to eat. The hotel is at the top of Ocean Ave, near Lincoln Road Mall and Espanola Way, where there's a great snapshot of South Beach's dining and nightlife to experience. My first impression of the hotel was great. Clean white gleaming deco bldg. The impression plummeted when I stepped off the elevator. The corridors are hideous and I was worried I had made a mistake. But that changed when I got into the room. It was newer and spacious, though not a lot of meaningful furniture. The bed was OK. Urethane pillows - awful. A small proper desk would have been nice since there was wifi. Small bathroom, but it had all I needed. Plus 2 free happy hour drinks and breakfast at the sister hotel (didn't try - had to leave before it opened but that's OK) were nice touches. There's a nice lobby front porch and sidewalk ding and drinks area which is very good and convenient. It was a good choice and I would stay there again for a short one or 2 day stay. Anything longer, I would want more amenities and a larger more comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top