$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Synncere
Business
New Jersey
May 24, 2009

What a disappointment

This was a disappointment. There are absolutely no amenities at this hotel, I didn't eat at the porch cafe/restaurant that other reviewers boasted about because my husband and I were out all night and wanted to eat in our room, well to my surprise I wasn't even allowed to bring the menu to the room to find out what my husband wanted to eat. The manager was firm when saying "NO" I could not take that menu. The room was extremely small and the bathroom was the size of a coat closet. Walking up was not very appealing, I was with other friends and I wouldnt show them my hotel/motel I was too embarrased by the unattractive curb appeal compared to the other places

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zsas
Business
Tennessee, USA
Jan 29, 2012

Needs cleaning

Garbage in bathroom trash can when I checked into room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Last Minute Trip
Business
St Louis
Sep 7, 2012

Great location but you get what you pay for!

Overall, this was a good experience however, it could have been better. It was a great location on Ocean Drive but the rooms are very very small and not up to date. It's definitely not the Loews but if you are on a budget and are only sleeping in the room it will be fine. The two gentlemen that worked the front desk were wonderful, the female on the other hand was not friendly and rude, she should brush up on her customer service skills!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Easy Texas Traveler
Business
Montgomery, Texas
Mar 4, 2013

Don't Upgrade

Never pay extra for anything in this hotel when you make your reservation.. I paid 40% more to get a corner room with two double beds and all I got was a one bed room with a tiny window and the person at the check in told me it was only a preference inquiry but it was never guaranteed... So never pay for any king of upgrade.. you won't get it .. trust me!!!! Hotel is only OK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BLT steak house is the best...

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sparkyboy
Business
Toronto, Canada
Feb 27, 2013

Room(s) for improvement

I travel to South Beach at least twicw a year. I have stayed at The Penguin several times and each time, I hope that it will be better. The location is amazing ! Across from the beach, a short walk to the shops and restaurants on Lincoln Road, easy access to the Miami nightlife also, The Hotel staff are very friendly and welcoming. As you proceed from check in is when you notice the general dated and run down condition of the hotel. The elevator is grubby and old, makes noises like it is going to break down at any moment. As you exit the elevator you are in hallways that feel creepy and dark, the rooms are not as stylish as they appear in photo.The "resort fee" gives you nothing extra, refuse it at check in. Enjoy the convenience of the location, but check out some other recently renovated boutique hotels in the same price range. Hotels on Collins Ave, between 17th Street and 23rd Street are as well located and have more to offer and if on the east side of the street, they are directly on the oceanfront beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Authentic, delicious Cuban Cuisine at Puerto Sagua, 700 Collins. Very affordable, comfortable, unpretentious place,

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kiki1373
Business
Winter Park, FL
Sep 23, 2013

Overall Good Stay!!!

First impression of the hotel was ok. The location was Great!!! So that made up for the things it lacked. It is old and needs repair,but it had everything I needed for my stay. I would stay again if the price is right!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rachel seattle
Business
seattle
Dec 12, 2013

a dump, but cheap

smells bad, holes in the drywall.... felt much more like a hostel than a hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa,Florida
Dec 27, 2010

"you get what you pay for"

The staff was kind and helpful but the hotel seemed to be falling apart, literally! The bathroom wall was crumbling away, and the bathroom shelving fell off the wall completely. The hallway smells like bad bug spray. the mattress felt like a piece of cardboard with a thin thin layer of cotton on top. the ac leaked in the floor and wet our belongings. The location was great but I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, Ny
Jun 25, 2009

The Penguin Hotel Bluff

I paid for The Penguin Hotel but when I got there had to wait 30 minutes at the front desk because no one was there after numerous calls finally someone answered and came. THey could not find my reservation and told me it was beause Orbitz never sent them the info ad when I asked to look at the computer screen for my name...Voila big and bold , alphabetized..it was there. Anyways the concierge says "oh that's why I couldn't find you" your actually going to be The Presidente Hotel which is our sister hotel around the corner". Ny this time it was 2:30 in the morning and I was exhausted and didnt feel like arguing anymore. He booked us in the "Penthouse"...whatever..it was ok but overall def wouldn't be staying there again. Convinced from now on to just stay at a big reputable hotel. Oh by the way, the smell of the hallway was nauseating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Word Guru
Business
Arizona/Texas
Aug 9, 2014

Good location, but...

This is a place for those younger than, say... 40ish. It was basically economical, but the fee I paid extra to get drink & meal discounts was a waste of $ because the afternoon & evening ambiance was too noisy with loud obnoxious music for my taste/age group, I had to leave for drinks & dinner somewhere else. However, the morning was better. They had much appreciated mellow jazz/world music during breakfast. They need to open earlier though - like 6 or 6:30 instead of 7:30 AM because by 8 AM the Sun is shining on you & it is not comfortable. At that Sun angle their awnings were ineffective. The Continental breakfast was average & of course, the view of the beach park area from their step up seating was good. Though I couldn't understand the Cuban waiter very well, he was very friendly & attentive. One thing that is very annoying with many cheaper hotels is the bare bones TV service. Unfortunately, the Penguin follows suit with a very limited channel selection & the frustration of no channel guide to select stations. At least the WIFI worked well. Overall, I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top