$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 26, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
97 reviews
Great

Great experience Awsome hotel Price was great, check in was a breeze Staff were nice and room was... See full review

  • Mart904
  • Jun 7, 2014
Hotel

It was a great place to be. One thing i didn't like was the bathroom shower...water gets off.... See full review

  • allezliz
  • May 6, 2013
The Penguin Hotel, is an example of 1940's Late Art Deco style. The hotel is situated directly on Ocean Drive and 14th street, across from the sandy beaches and only a few steps away from Lincoln Road, popular restaurants and night clubs. The property was renovated in 2006 by a French Designer. Penguin Hotel guests can enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Purple Penguin Cafe located at hotel lobby area, offering delicious dishes made from scratch and at very affordable prices.

Valet parking is available for your convenience (USD30).

Guest must be 18 years or older to check in.

A valid picture ID is required at check in as well as a refundable security deposit of USD100 per room/night (max.USD250 per 3 day stay or longer) which can be paid in cash (USD) or credit card. Accepted identification is passport, ID or drivers license for cash deposits.

Resort fee indicated is based upon double occupancy when 1 or 2 guests are booking and is: $21.47 tax included payable at Hotel. PLEASE NOTE: -When 3 or more guests are booking an additional $10.73 per person will be payable to the hotel Resort fee includes: Ala Carte Continental breakfast for two(7:30am to 10.30am in Purple Penguin Cafe ), 2 Welcome Drinks,beach towels, WI-FI throughout the property, use of in-room safe, 2 daily bottles of water in room. Resort Fee will be automatically posted to the guest account. Note: The resort fee is mandatory and will be collected without exception.

Special Event Dates/Holidays (dates with minimum stay of 3 nights and up) are non refundable.

Maximum occupancy in units is 2 people (2 adults or 1 adult and 1 child). There are no rollaways available in rooms due to limited space. Note that if you have booked for one guest, and 2 guests are staying, you will be charged an additional $25.00. If second guest is child under 12 years of age, child stays free.

Hotel Map

25.7861 -80.1297
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Miami.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, Fort Lauderdale Airport
Area description
The Penguin Hotel is just a 15 minute drive from Miami International Airport, Downtown Miami, Bayside Mall, and the Cruise Ship Port of Miami. At any time you can also walk to the world-class cafes, restaurants, theaters and designer clothing stores of Ocean Drive, Collins Avenue, Washington Avenue as well as the famous Lincoln Road Mall. If you stay with us for business or to attend to a convention, the Miami Beach Convention Center is only a few blocks away, at a short walking distance. The Penguin Hotel is perfectly located right on Ocean Drive, where all the South Beach action happens.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Penguin Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Penguin Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Each room is artistically renovated with: 1 or 2 full or queen size beds, bathtub, hair dryer,plasma screen TV, voicemail/phone, alarm clock, wet bar (sink, marble counter, refrigerator), individually controlled air conditioning, Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier,safety deposit box, iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

The Purple Penguin Cafe
Located at hotel lobby serves full breakfast, lunch and dinner. A warm atmosphere and the most delicious dishes while you can people-watch at our front porch area overlooking famous Ocean Drive. Our location and our affordable prices cannot be beaten.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (97)

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sparkyboy
Business
Toronto, Canada
Feb 27, 2013

Room(s) for improvement

I travel to South Beach at least twicw a year. I have stayed at The Penguin several times and each time, I hope that it will be better. The location is amazing ! Across from the beach, a short walk to the shops and restaurants on Lincoln Road, easy access to the Miami nightlife also, The Hotel staff are very friendly and welcoming. As you proceed from check in is when you notice the general dated and run down condition of the hotel. The elevator is grubby and old, makes noises like it is going to break down at any moment. As you exit the elevator you are in hallways that feel creepy and dark, the rooms are not as stylish as they appear in photo.The "resort fee" gives you nothing extra, refuse it at check in. Enjoy the convenience of the location, but check out some other recently renovated boutique hotels in the same price range. Hotels on Collins Ave, between 17th Street and 23rd Street are as well located and have more to offer and if on the east side of the street, they are directly on the oceanfront beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Authentic, delicious Cuban Cuisine at Puerto Sagua, 700 Collins. Very affordable, comfortable, unpretentious place,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kiki1373
Business
Winter Park, FL
Sep 23, 2013

Overall Good Stay!!!

First impression of the hotel was ok. The location was Great!!! So that made up for the things it lacked. It is old and needs repair,but it had everything I needed for my stay. I would stay again if the price is right!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rachel seattle
Business
seattle
Dec 12, 2013

a dump, but cheap

smells bad, holes in the drywall.... felt much more like a hostel than a hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa,Florida
Dec 27, 2010

"you get what you pay for"

The staff was kind and helpful but the hotel seemed to be falling apart, literally! The bathroom wall was crumbling away, and the bathroom shelving fell off the wall completely. The hallway smells like bad bug spray. the mattress felt like a piece of cardboard with a thin thin layer of cotton on top. the ac leaked in the floor and wet our belongings. The location was great but I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, Ny
Jun 25, 2009

The Penguin Hotel Bluff

I paid for The Penguin Hotel but when I got there had to wait 30 minutes at the front desk because no one was there after numerous calls finally someone answered and came. THey could not find my reservation and told me it was beause Orbitz never sent them the info ad when I asked to look at the computer screen for my name...Voila big and bold , alphabetized..it was there. Anyways the concierge says "oh that's why I couldn't find you" your actually going to be The Presidente Hotel which is our sister hotel around the corner". Ny this time it was 2:30 in the morning and I was exhausted and didnt feel like arguing anymore. He booked us in the "Penthouse"...whatever..it was ok but overall def wouldn't be staying there again. Convinced from now on to just stay at a big reputable hotel. Oh by the way, the smell of the hallway was nauseating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Word Guru
Business
Arizona/Texas
Aug 9, 2014

Good location, but...

This is a place for those younger than, say... 40ish. It was basically economical, but the fee I paid extra to get drink & meal discounts was a waste of $ because the afternoon & evening ambiance was too noisy with loud obnoxious music for my taste/age group, I had to leave for drinks & dinner somewhere else. However, the morning was better. They had much appreciated mellow jazz/world music during breakfast. They need to open earlier though - like 6 or 6:30 instead of 7:30 AM because by 8 AM the Sun is shining on you & it is not comfortable. At that Sun angle their awnings were ineffective. The Continental breakfast was average & of course, the view of the beach park area from their step up seating was good. Though I couldn't understand the Cuban waiter very well, he was very friendly & attentive. One thing that is very annoying with many cheaper hotels is the bare bones TV service. Unfortunately, the Penguin follows suit with a very limited channel selection & the frustration of no channel guide to select stations. At least the WIFI worked well. Overall, I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sushai62
Business
Michigan
Dec 30, 2013

Small changes could make a big difference

While the hotel has much to offer, in the future we are likely to stay elsewhere. What was good: unbelievable location across from the ocean/beach and near many good restaurants, comfy bed in a nicely-decorated and bright (though small, as in most of the art deco hotels) room, mostly friendly staff, great restaurant. What needs improvement: lack of storage space in bedroom beyond a closet (just a nightstand with drawers would allow a place for books and socks/underwear), large group of stains on the carpet outside our room that never was cleaned, and housekeeping services. We were most perplexed by the uneven housekeeping services. Every day we received fresh towels and our bed was made. But there was no attention to any other detail. Wet/dirty towels were often left behind, counters/sinks/tub weren't cleaned, we ran out of toilet paper twice, the toiletries were never replenished and we had to continually ask. After a couple days of this we mentioned it at the front desk. They asked us if we wanted our room cleaned every day. We thought this was an odd question since housekeeping services are offered at the hotel. We let them know we did, yet the poor service continued (even though we left a tip every day!). We had to complain at the desk again and asked to speak to a manager. He was not available, so she offered to leave him a message for us. The next day she politely told us she clarified with the manager that we "wanted our room cleaned every day." (?!) Even so, the service never improved. By that time, we were starting to feel like "that kind" of traveler that complains and the staff hates to see approaching, so we just decided to suck it up for the rest of the trip. Like the title says, just a few changes could make this a hotel we'd love to return to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rent a Decobike and ride it on the boardwalk south to the marina.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia
Jul 14, 2009

my miami trip

the hotel was very clean and quiet, when ever i asked for anything housekeeping immediately brought it to my room. i just wished the room would have been a little bigger

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there were restaurants in the whold area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bayamon, P.R.
Nov 4, 2009

penguin hotel experience

Excellent service at the hotel, but the restaurant service was poor. The hotel rent the restaurant and isn't part of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, OK
Dec 28, 2009

Customer service needs help

Only one staff member working front desk. Check in took too long; staff change takes place right at our required check in time and the woman going off the clock got snippy with the one coming on the clock right in the middle of our check in procedure. She wanted her to take over our process so she could just drop everything and leave. Customers waiting to check in were backed out the front door right into the middle of the Front Porch dining area and blocking the wait staff. Check in shares the same space as waiting area for elevator and the restaurant service area...not a very convenient design. Walls were thin, no sound proofing in the hallways...thus VERY loud environment...could hear everything said in halls from inside rooms. Rooms were small but nicely done with mirrors and white decor to help lighten the area and give it a bigger feel. Sink fixtures squeezed in however under shelving in bathroom made it hard to turn water on and off. Showers do not have a door so water has to be sprayed up on a wall so as not to get floor wet. Great location...cute decor and low cost is what saved this from getting less than 3 stars. Just don't go expecting customer service and posh environs and you'll be fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top