$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sexy Beach
Sacramento, California
Nov 18, 2012

Beachcomber

My sister and I enjoyed this perfect location along Ocean Drive with Lincoln Mall close by. It was the perfect combination of spending time on the beach, dining, clubs, and shopping. We will definitedly plan to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cheryl Brown Sugar
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 18, 2014

Penguin Hotel for Vacation

No one told us we had to pay 30.00 a day to park at the hotel. No one told us we had to put $250.00 deposit when we booked the hotel. Most of the staff was nice the rooms are very clean Scott the supervisor is not friendly and is sometimes rude. The food is not that great and expensive for what they have to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Use a agent to book attractions and they will pick you up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Washere
Business
Aruba
Jul 16, 2014

Really Nice hotel

Staff was very friendly, the room was good and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was also good, it took a little while...but who cares your on vacation right. The location is perfect, near the beaches, restaurants and shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BritnNea
Business
cola, SC
Jul 11, 2014

The Penguin Ocean Dr.

I couldn't ask for more with the price. I enjoyed my stay there. Excellent location, just steps from the beach. Excellent staff, especially Tim their waiter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Their happy hour specials are great compared to many on the same strip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Silent22beauty
Business
NJ
Jun 23, 2014

Can't complain

My stay here was good. No major complaints. For the price and location it was great. Room was clean. Staff was friendly. That's all I was asking for. I would stay again. And recommend for a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mart904
Business
Miami
Jun 7, 2014

Great

Great experience Awsome hotel Price was great, check in was a breeze Staff were nice and room was clean with a comfortable bed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PedroPardo
Business
Mexico City
May 19, 2014

You need bleach in order to stay there.

The worst hotel experience in south beach you can get. The staff is rude they don´t listen to the guest complaints. The rooms are small, really untidy; there are holes in the paper walls, which are dirty. The restroom is just nasty, with hair everywhere. I would never stay here not even for free. They should just close this place down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heat fans
Business
Ft. Pierce,Fl.
Apr 21, 2014

One day getaway.

Did a one day stay for Miami Heat game with my son. Hotel room was small but cozy. Staff was very professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JerryY
Business
NYC
Apr 4, 2014

Not bad for a weekend

My girlfriend and I traveled to Miami, stayed at this hotel for a night. It'l located nice on the beach side only a short walk to the beach. Staff are nice, but the food at the restaurant was ok...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacationing NewYorker
Business
New York, NY
Mar 5, 2014

Just what I was looking for.

So my trip this past weekend went off without a hitch thanks to the amazing staff at the hotel. I arrived early for my Feb 28th to March 3rd trip, and thought I may have to wait on a room until after 2 or 3pm for a room. Man was I WRONG the ladies at the front desk told me if I wanted to check in a room was ready if I wanted it. Mean while my friends were having issues with their $600 a night hotel and I was already checked in and taking in the Miami sun. The room was clean (I was in room 117), and the cleaning staff was sweet. I am not sure what was going on with those who stated in their reviews that the hotel was dirty. This was just not the case for me during my stay and I look forward to returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was so close, just within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sushai62
Business
Michigan
Dec 30, 2013

Small changes could make a big difference

While the hotel has much to offer, in the future we are likely to stay elsewhere. What was good: unbelievable location across from the ocean/beach and near many good restaurants, comfy bed in a nicely-decorated and bright (though small, as in most of the art deco hotels) room, mostly friendly staff, great restaurant. What needs improvement: lack of storage space in bedroom beyond a closet (just a nightstand with drawers would allow a place for books and socks/underwear), large group of stains on the carpet outside our room that never was cleaned, and housekeeping services. We were most perplexed by the uneven housekeeping services. Every day we received fresh towels and our bed was made. But there was no attention to any other detail. Wet/dirty towels were often left behind, counters/sinks/tub weren't cleaned, we ran out of toilet paper twice, the toiletries were never replenished and we had to continually ask. After a couple days of this we mentioned it at the front desk. They asked us if we wanted our room cleaned every day. We thought this was an odd question since housekeeping services are offered at the hotel. We let them know we did, yet the poor service continued (even though we left a tip every day!). We had to complain at the desk again and asked to speak to a manager. He was not available, so she offered to leave him a message for us. The next day she politely told us she clarified with the manager that we "wanted our room cleaned every day." (?!) Even so, the service never improved. By that time, we were starting to feel like "that kind" of traveler that complains and the staff hates to see approaching, so we just decided to suck it up for the rest of the trip. Like the title says, just a few changes could make this a hotel we'd love to return to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Rent a Decobike and ride it on the boardwalk south to the marina.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top