$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sexy Beach
Sacramento, California
Nov 18, 2012

Beachcomber

My sister and I enjoyed this perfect location along Ocean Drive with Lincoln Mall close by. It was the perfect combination of spending time on the beach, dining, clubs, and shopping. We will definitedly plan to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Oct 25, 2009

Room Had Ants

My room had a serious issue with ants which pretty much destroyed my experience with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Had Dinner at Emerils which is located at 16th & Collins - food was wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northampton MA
Feb 4, 2010

Cheap retrofit and bad maintenance

We used South Beach as a base for photographic day trips into the everglades, and as place to regroup and eat well in the evenings. The hotel seems to have hired a very weird designer and a very cheap contractor to do an internal retrofit of the rooms to "modernize" them; but the results are somehow strange, tacky and shoddy all at once. For example, despite an abundance of mirrors and high tech appearing lighting in the tiny rooms, the electrical outlets were not properly anchored in the new wall surfaces, so they sank in when you tried to plug something in. In terms of fire safety, that's alarming. Also, more soundproofing between floors would have been a big help. The level of maintenance was also pretty abysmal; the shower had a euro-style flex-hose handle/head, but the clip to hold it was broken, and the AC compressor, unless set just right (which took three days to figure out) made astonishing wake-you-out-of-a-dead-sleep noises. The maid service, however, was truly excellent -- they paid real attention to the doorknob tag, and they did an really nice job cleaning the room. I have been to South Beach before, but it was many years ago and I could not remember where I stayed; I found this place on the web, which is always a dicey proposition. But considered as just a box to sleep in, the price was right and it was survivable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the Wolfsonian Museum -- unusually intelligent curatorial viewpoint, including the inclusion of political art and use of ephemera (everyday artifacts) to provide context. A gem of a small museum...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sobetraveler
Business
Coral Gables, FL, USA
Sep 23, 2011

You get what you pay for

Sheets were never changed. Towels were dirty before used including hair on them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PedroPardo
Business
Mexico City
May 19, 2014

You need bleach in order to stay there.

The worst hotel experience in south beach you can get. The staff is rude they don´t listen to the guest complaints. The rooms are small, really untidy; there are holes in the paper walls, which are dirty. The restroom is just nasty, with hair everywhere. I would never stay here not even for free. They should just close this place down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL.
May 4, 2010

" The worst experience I've ever had"

We were moved to another hotel because the Penquin had no air-conditioning and had to deposit $200.00 at the President Hotel for some reason. This was one of the worst visit we had to Maimi and feel I should be returned my charges for the one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 2, 2009

Worst Experience Ever!

1/1 found this review helpful I am concerned that I will not be able to adequately express my disgust with the front desk and the non-existent management of this hotel, but here goes. Two friends and I booked a room here for our girls trip. Upon check-in, the front desk clerk advised us that the changes we had previously made to our reservation, from one queen-sized bed to two, had not been added to the reservation and they had no availability, nor would they make an exception to let all three of us stay in the room, which we were more than willing to do. Since the change had been confirmed by their employee, and we had proof that it was, we asked that they please look into other hotels and to find us a room. She told us it was not their fault, the employee was new, and told us to do our own research to find a new hotel. We asked many, many times to speak with a manager, and we were refused each time, stating that the manager was busy. The front desk clerk advised us that she had nothing else to discuss with us, leaving three young girls from another city, stranded with our luggage and no where to go. She refused to answer any of my questions, since mine was not the main name on the reservation. We were able to book a room elsewhere with no help from the hotel. I have never before been treated as poorly as I was by this employee of the Penguin. We were treated so rudely, unprofessionally and unfairly upon attempting to check in, that I can only imagine how we would have been treated over a four-day period, so I am happy that we did not have to stay here. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone that I would ever want to keep as a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Synncere
Business
New Jersey
May 24, 2009

What a disappointment

This was a disappointment. There are absolutely no amenities at this hotel, I didn't eat at the porch cafe/restaurant that other reviewers boasted about because my husband and I were out all night and wanted to eat in our room, well to my surprise I wasn't even allowed to bring the menu to the room to find out what my husband wanted to eat. The manager was firm when saying "NO" I could not take that menu. The room was extremely small and the bathroom was the size of a coat closet. Walking up was not very appealing, I was with other friends and I wouldnt show them my hotel/motel I was too embarrased by the unattractive curb appeal compared to the other places

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zsas
Business
Tennessee, USA
Jan 29, 2012

Needs cleaning

Garbage in bathroom trash can when I checked into room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Last Minute Trip
Business
St Louis
Sep 7, 2012

Great location but you get what you pay for!

Overall, this was a good experience however, it could have been better. It was a great location on Ocean Drive but the rooms are very very small and not up to date. It's definitely not the Loews but if you are on a budget and are only sleeping in the room it will be fine. The two gentlemen that worked the front desk were wonderful, the female on the other hand was not friendly and rude, she should brush up on her customer service skills!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Easy Texas Traveler
Business
Montgomery, Texas
Mar 4, 2013

Don't Upgrade

Never pay extra for anything in this hotel when you make your reservation.. I paid 40% more to get a corner room with two double beds and all I got was a one bed room with a tiny window and the person at the check in told me it was only a preference inquiry but it was never guaranteed... So never pay for any king of upgrade.. you won't get it .. trust me!!!! Hotel is only OK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BLT steak house is the best...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top