$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
129 reviews
Great

Great experience Awsome hotel Price was great, check in was a breeze Staff were nice and room was... See full review

  • Mart904
  • Jun 7, 2014
Hotel

It was a great place to be. One thing i didn't like was the bathroom shower...water gets off.... See full review

  • allezliz
  • May 6, 2013
The Penguin Hotel, is an example of 1940's Late Art Deco style. The hotel is situated directly on Ocean Drive and 14th street, across from the sandy beaches and only a few steps away from Lincoln Road, popular restaurants and night clubs. The property was renovated in 2006 by a French Designer. Penguin Hotel guests can enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Purple Penguin Cafe located at hotel lobby area, offering delicious dishes made from scratch and at very affordable prices.

Valet parking is available for your convenience (USD30).

Guest must be 18 years or older to check in.

A valid picture ID is required at check in as well as a refundable security deposit of USD100 per room/night (max.USD250 per 3 day stay or longer) which can be paid in cash (USD) or credit card. Accepted identification is passport, ID or drivers license for cash deposits.

Our $19.00 Resort Fee includes : Ala Carte Continental breakfast for two(7:30am to 10.30am in Purple Penguin Cafe ), 2 Welcome Drinks,beach towels, WI-FI throughout the property, use of in-room safe, 2 daily bottles of water in room. Resort Fee will be automatically posted to the guest account. Note: $19 fee is mandatory and will be collected without exception.

Special Event Dates/Holidays (dates with minimum stay of 3 nights and up) are non refundable.

Maximum occupancy in units is 2 people (2 adults or 1 adult and 1 child). There are no rollaways available in rooms due to limited space. Note that if you have booked for one guest, and 2 guests are staying, you will be charged an additional $25.00. If second guest is child under 12 years of age, child stays free.

Hotel Map

25.7861 -80.1297
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Miami.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, Fort Lauderdale Airport
Area description
The Penguin Hotel is just a 15 minute drive from Miami International Airport, Downtown Miami, Bayside Mall, and the Cruise Ship Port of Miami. At any time you can also walk to the world-class cafes, restaurants, theaters and designer clothing stores of Ocean Drive, Collins Avenue, Washington Avenue as well as the famous Lincoln Road Mall. If you stay with us for business or to attend to a convention, the Miami Beach Convention Center is only a few blocks away, at a short walking distance. The Penguin Hotel is perfectly located right on Ocean Drive, where all the South Beach action happens.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Penguin Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Penguin Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Each room is artistically renovated with: 1 or 2 full or queen size beds, bathtub, hair dryer,plasma screen TV, voicemail/phone, alarm clock, wet bar (sink, marble counter, refrigerator), individually controlled air conditioning, Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier,safety deposit box, iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

The Purple Penguin Cafe
Located at hotel lobby serves full breakfast, lunch and dinner. A warm atmosphere and the most delicious dishes while you can people-watch at our front porch area overlooking famous Ocean Drive. Our location and our affordable prices cannot be beaten.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sexy Beach
Sacramento, California
Nov 18, 2012

Beachcomber

My sister and I enjoyed this perfect location along Ocean Drive with Lincoln Mall close by. It was the perfect combination of spending time on the beach, dining, clubs, and shopping. We will definitedly plan to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Mall

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gaston Calabresi
Mexico
Jan 1, 2010

Not recommended to make reservation

When arriving, the pointed out that they were over booked so they decided to move me to other hotel. Is important to say that by the time of arriving to the hotel my reservation was already paid as [...] charged me the costs of the trip.When I complained about going to other hotel they said there nothing they can do so I could call to [...] to complain. Even the hotel staff was too rude....they never understood that I had already paid.....so in summary, I do not recommend to make reservacions throughout [...] as tey do not commit to give the room space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northampton MA
Feb 4, 2010

Cheap retrofit and bad maintenance

We used South Beach as a base for photographic day trips into the everglades, and as place to regroup and eat well in the evenings. The hotel seems to have hired a very weird designer and a very cheap contractor to do an internal retrofit of the rooms to "modernize" them; but the results are somehow strange, tacky and shoddy all at once. For example, despite an abundance of mirrors and high tech appearing lighting in the tiny rooms, the electrical outlets were not properly anchored in the new wall surfaces, so they sank in when you tried to plug something in. In terms of fire safety, that's alarming. Also, more soundproofing between floors would have been a big help. The level of maintenance was also pretty abysmal; the shower had a euro-style flex-hose handle/head, but the clip to hold it was broken, and the AC compressor, unless set just right (which took three days to figure out) made astonishing wake-you-out-of-a-dead-sleep noises. The maid service, however, was truly excellent -- they paid real attention to the doorknob tag, and they did an really nice job cleaning the room. I have been to South Beach before, but it was many years ago and I could not remember where I stayed; I found this place on the web, which is always a dicey proposition. But considered as just a box to sleep in, the price was right and it was survivable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the Wolfsonian Museum -- unusually intelligent curatorial viewpoint, including the inclusion of political art and use of ephemera (everyday artifacts) to provide context. A gem of a small museum...

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
grhu520
Canada
May 27, 2013

Far too expensive for what they offer.

Wi-Fi, breakfast and towels are not free. They charge you all these things when you arrive. Even if you already pay the total amount charged by this site. The worse thing was the breakfast. For some reason, you have to go to another hotel and take it there... the problem is: if it is raining they won't offer anything to help you out to go there safety. Twice in a week the room service came at 7PM. Another time I made the call to see if they are free to come and clean the room. Disaster. Don't go there... I just read tons of good reviews here and I thought it would be worth trying but now, I'm a 100% sure: I'm not returning there anymore and I will make sure to spread the voice. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jul 2, 2009

Worst Experience Ever!

1/1 found this review helpful I am concerned that I will not be able to adequately express my disgust with the front desk and the non-existent management of this hotel, but here goes. Two friends and I booked a room here for our girls trip. Upon check-in, the front desk clerk advised us that the changes we had previously made to our reservation, from one queen-sized bed to two, had not been added to the reservation and they had no availability, nor would they make an exception to let all three of us stay in the room, which we were more than willing to do. Since the change had been confirmed by their employee, and we had proof that it was, we asked that they please look into other hotels and to find us a room. She told us it was not their fault, the employee was new, and told us to do our own research to find a new hotel. We asked many, many times to speak with a manager, and we were refused each time, stating that the manager was busy. The front desk clerk advised us that she had nothing else to discuss with us, leaving three young girls from another city, stranded with our luggage and no where to go. She refused to answer any of my questions, since mine was not the main name on the reservation. We were able to book a room elsewhere with no help from the hotel. I have never before been treated as poorly as I was by this employee of the Penguin. We were treated so rudely, unprofessionally and unfairly upon attempting to check in, that I can only imagine how we would have been treated over a four-day period, so I am happy that we did not have to stay here. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone that I would ever want to keep as a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jul 2, 2009

Worst Experience Ever!

1/1 found this review helpful I am concerned that I will not be able to adequately express my disgust with the front desk and the non-existent management of this hotel, but here goes. Two friends and I booked a room here for our girls trip. Upon check-in, the front desk clerk advised us that the changes we had previously made to our reservation, from one queen-sized bed to two, had not been added to the reservation and they had no availability, nor would they make an exception to let all three of us stay in the room, which we were more than willing to do. Since the change had been confirmed by their employee, and we had proof that it was, we asked that they please look into other hotels and to find us a room. She told us it was not their fault, the employee was new, and told us to do our own research to find a new hotel. We asked many, many times to speak with a manager, and we were refused each time, stating that the manager was busy. The front desk clerk advised us that she had nothing else to discuss with us, leaving three young girls from another city, stranded with our luggage and no where to go. She refused to answer any of my questions, since mine was not the main name on the reservation. We were able to book a room elsewhere with no help from the hotel. I have never before been treated as poorly as I was by this employee of the Penguin. We were treated so rudely, unprofessionally and unfairly upon attempting to check in, that I can only imagine how we would have been treated over a four-day period, so I am happy that we did not have to stay here. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone that I would ever want to keep as a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Restless Native
Virginia, USA
Dec 5, 2011

South Beach slumming

The place seems to be leaking all over and smells musty. In the room the wall paper was peeling off from moisture damage. Also did not like the $15 "Resort Fee" they hit you up with on top of your Orbizt bill for use of a beach towel. Rip off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sobetraveler
Business
Coral Gables, FL, USA
Sep 23, 2011

You get what you pay for

Sheets were never changed. Towels were dirty before used including hair on them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bill J.
Guatemala City
Nov 20, 2011

terrible

very. very expensive for what you get. Hidden cost for Valet parking $ 32.00 per day...Resort charge $ 15.00 a day. Orbiz should check tis hotel to see if you should keep it on your list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 7, 2011

So not worth it!

The hallway was blue and dark...weird smell...the bed was uncomfortable and the pillow was dirty...the tv did not even show the super bowl and this place did not have wireless internet...for all of this I would have paid more for more comfort...I could not sleep kept waking up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tonyLW
Lake Worth, Florida
Nov 18, 2013

Are They Kidding?

The lobby and staff are bright and cheerful but once we hit the tenement-like halls we were questioning our choice. The rooms do LOOK updated and nice but the beds are a total joke: The mattresses are broken-down, caved-in in the center and provide no support. (Foam I suppose). Had it not been a prepaid deal we would have checked-out and found other accommodations. I can't imagine how any hotel owner could provide such poor sleeping accommodations in good conscience. Oh, I almost forgot to mention the sticky floors. Avoid!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top