$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
94 reviews
Great

Great experience Awsome hotel Price was great, check in was a breeze Staff were nice and room was... See full review

  • Mart904
  • Jun 7, 2014
Hotel

It was a great place to be. One thing i didn't like was the bathroom shower...water gets off.... See full review

  • allezliz
  • May 6, 2013
The Penguin Hotel, is an example of 1940's Late Art Deco style. The hotel is situated directly on Ocean Drive and 14th street, across from the sandy beaches and only a few steps away from Lincoln Road, popular restaurants and night clubs. The property was renovated in 2006 by a French Designer. Penguin Hotel guests can enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Purple Penguin Cafe located at hotel lobby area, offering delicious dishes made from scratch and at very affordable prices.

Valet parking is available for your convenience (USD30).

Guest must be 18 years or older to check in.

A valid picture ID is required at check in as well as a refundable security deposit of USD100 per room/night (max.USD250 per 3 day stay or longer) which can be paid in cash (USD) or credit card. Accepted identification is passport, ID or drivers license for cash deposits.

Our $19.00 Resort Fee includes : Ala Carte Continental breakfast for two(7:30am to 10.30am in Purple Penguin Cafe ), 2 Welcome Drinks,beach towels, WI-FI throughout the property, use of in-room safe, 2 daily bottles of water in room. Resort Fee will be automatically posted to the guest account. Note: $19 fee is mandatory and will be collected without exception.

Special Event Dates/Holidays (dates with minimum stay of 3 nights and up) are non refundable.

Maximum occupancy in units is 2 people (2 adults or 1 adult and 1 child). There are no rollaways available in rooms due to limited space. Note that if you have booked for one guest, and 2 guests are staying, you will be charged an additional $25.00. If second guest is child under 12 years of age, child stays free.

Hotel Map

25.7861 -80.1297
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Miami.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, Fort Lauderdale Airport
Area description
The Penguin Hotel is just a 15 minute drive from Miami International Airport, Downtown Miami, Bayside Mall, and the Cruise Ship Port of Miami. At any time you can also walk to the world-class cafes, restaurants, theaters and designer clothing stores of Ocean Drive, Collins Avenue, Washington Avenue as well as the famous Lincoln Road Mall. If you stay with us for business or to attend to a convention, the Miami Beach Convention Center is only a few blocks away, at a short walking distance. The Penguin Hotel is perfectly located right on Ocean Drive, where all the South Beach action happens.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Penguin Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Penguin Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Each room is artistically renovated with: 1 or 2 full or queen size beds, bathtub, hair dryer,plasma screen TV, voicemail/phone, alarm clock, wet bar (sink, marble counter, refrigerator), individually controlled air conditioning, Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier,safety deposit box, iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

The Purple Penguin Cafe
Located at hotel lobby serves full breakfast, lunch and dinner. A warm atmosphere and the most delicious dishes while you can people-watch at our front porch area overlooking famous Ocean Drive. Our location and our affordable prices cannot be beaten.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (94)

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
young frizzle
bronx,ny
Jun 19, 2012

bday bash

the hotel was great. no complaints. I definitely would.stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Restless Native
Virginia, USA
Dec 5, 2011

South Beach slumming

The place seems to be leaking all over and smells musty. In the room the wall paper was peeling off from moisture damage. Also did not like the $15 "Resort Fee" they hit you up with on top of your Orbizt bill for use of a beach towel. Rip off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bill J.
Guatemala City
Nov 20, 2011

terrible

very. very expensive for what you get. Hidden cost for Valet parking $ 32.00 per day...Resort charge $ 15.00 a day. Orbiz should check tis hotel to see if you should keep it on your list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 7, 2011

So not worth it!

The hallway was blue and dark...weird smell...the bed was uncomfortable and the pillow was dirty...the tv did not even show the super bowl and this place did not have wireless internet...for all of this I would have paid more for more comfort...I could not sleep kept waking up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tonyLW
Lake Worth, Florida
Nov 18, 2013

Are They Kidding?

The lobby and staff are bright and cheerful but once we hit the tenement-like halls we were questioning our choice. The rooms do LOOK updated and nice but the beds are a total joke: The mattresses are broken-down, caved-in in the center and provide no support. (Foam I suppose). Had it not been a prepaid deal we would have checked-out and found other accommodations. I can't imagine how any hotel owner could provide such poor sleeping accommodations in good conscience. Oh, I almost forgot to mention the sticky floors. Avoid!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
patoman
Business
México
Mar 29, 2012

not comfortable

the hotel is not a hotel boutique as they sell it the conditions of maintenance are not good. and they do not fulfill what they offer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

to many restaurants

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gaston Calabresi
Mexico
Jan 1, 2010

Not recommended to make reservation

When arriving, the pointed out that they were over booked so they decided to move me to other hotel. Is important to say that by the time of arriving to the hotel my reservation was already paid as [...] charged me the costs of the trip.When I complained about going to other hotel they said there nothing they can do so I could call to [...] to complain. Even the hotel staff was too rude....they never understood that I had already paid.....so in summary, I do not recommend to make reservacions throughout [...] as tey do not commit to give the room space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Easy Texas Traveler
Business
Montgomery, Texas
Mar 4, 2013

Don't Upgrade

Never pay extra for anything in this hotel when you make your reservation.. I paid 40% more to get a corner room with two double beds and all I got was a one bed room with a tiny window and the person at the check in told me it was only a preference inquiry but it was never guaranteed... So never pay for any king of upgrade.. you won't get it .. trust me!!!! Hotel is only OK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BLT steak house is the best...

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rachel seattle
Business
seattle
Dec 12, 2013

a dump, but cheap

smells bad, holes in the drywall.... felt much more like a hostel than a hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa,Florida
Dec 27, 2010

"you get what you pay for"

The staff was kind and helpful but the hotel seemed to be falling apart, literally! The bathroom wall was crumbling away, and the bathroom shelving fell off the wall completely. The hallway smells like bad bug spray. the mattress felt like a piece of cardboard with a thin thin layer of cotton on top. the ac leaked in the floor and wet our belongings. The location was great but I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sparkyboy
Toronto, Canada
Feb 27, 2013

Room(s) for improvement

I travel to South Beach at least twicw a year. I have stayed at The Penguin several times and each time, I hope that it will be better. The location is amazing ! Across from the beach, a short walk to the shops and restaurants on Lincoln Road, easy access to the Miami nightlife also, The Hotel staff are very friendly and welcoming. As you proceed from check in is when you notice the general dated and run down condition of the hotel. The elevator is grubby and old, makes noises like it is going to break down at any moment. As you exit the elevator you are in hallways that feel creepy and dark, the rooms are not as stylish as they appear in photo.The "resort fee" gives you nothing extra, refuse it at check in. Enjoy the convenience of the location, but check out some other recently renovated boutique hotels in the same price range. Hotels on Collins Ave, between 17th Street and 23rd Street are as well located and have more to offer and if on the east side of the street, they are directly on the oceanfront beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Authentic, delicious Cuban Cuisine at Puerto Sagua, 700 Collins. Very affordable, comfortable, unpretentious place,

Back to menu Return to top

Change search