$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
132 reviews
Great

Great experience Awsome hotel Price was great, check in was a breeze Staff were nice and room was... See full review

  • Mart904
  • Jun 7, 2014
Hotel

It was a great place to be. One thing i didn't like was the bathroom shower...water gets off.... See full review

  • allezliz
  • May 6, 2013
The Penguin Hotel, is an example of 1940's Late Art Deco style. The hotel is situated directly on Ocean Drive and 14th street, across from the sandy beaches and only a few steps away from Lincoln Road, popular restaurants and night clubs. The property was renovated in 2006 by a French Designer. Penguin Hotel guests can enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Purple Penguin Cafe located at hotel lobby area, offering delicious dishes made from scratch and at very affordable prices.

Valet parking is available for your convenience (USD30).

Guest must be 18 years or older to check in.

A valid picture ID is required at check in as well as a refundable security deposit of USD100 per room/night (max.USD250 per 3 day stay or longer) which can be paid in cash (USD) or credit card. Accepted identification is passport, ID or drivers license for cash deposits.

Our $19.00 Resort Fee includes : Ala Carte Continental breakfast for two(7:30am to 10.30am in Purple Penguin Cafe ), 2 Welcome Drinks,beach towels, WI-FI throughout the property, use of in-room safe, 2 daily bottles of water in room. Resort Fee will be automatically posted to the guest account. Note: $19 fee is mandatory and will be collected without exception.

Special Event Dates/Holidays (dates with minimum stay of 3 nights and up) are non refundable.

Maximum occupancy in units is 2 people (2 adults or 1 adult and 1 child). There are no rollaways available in rooms due to limited space. Note that if you have booked for one guest, and 2 guests are staying, you will be charged an additional $25.00. If second guest is child under 12 years of age, child stays free.

Penguin Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Each room is artistically renovated with: 1 or 2 full or queen size beds, bathtub, hair dryer,plasma screen TV, voicemail/phone, alarm clock, wet bar (sink, marble counter, refrigerator), individually controlled air conditioning, Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier,safety deposit box, iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Penguin Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7861 -80.1297
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Miami.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, Fort Lauderdale Airport
Area description
The Penguin Hotel is just a 15 minute drive from Miami International Airport, Downtown Miami, Bayside Mall, and the Cruise Ship Port of Miami. At any time you can also walk to the world-class cafes, restaurants, theaters and designer clothing stores of Ocean Drive, Collins Avenue, Washington Avenue as well as the famous Lincoln Road Mall. If you stay with us for business or to attend to a convention, the Miami Beach Convention Center is only a few blocks away, at a short walking distance. The Penguin Hotel is perfectly located right on Ocean Drive, where all the South Beach action happens.

Dining

The Purple Penguin Cafe
Located at hotel lobby serves full breakfast, lunch and dinner. A warm atmosphere and the most delicious dishes while you can people-watch at our front porch area overlooking famous Ocean Drive. Our location and our affordable prices cannot be beaten.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
young frizzle
bronx,ny
Jun 19, 2012

bday bash

the hotel was great. no complaints. I definitely would.stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rachel seattle
Business
seattle
Dec 12, 2013

a dump, but cheap

smells bad, holes in the drywall.... felt much more like a hostel than a hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tonyLW
Lake Worth, Florida
Nov 18, 2013

Are They Kidding?

The lobby and staff are bright and cheerful but once we hit the tenement-like halls we were questioning our choice. The rooms do LOOK updated and nice but the beds are a total joke: The mattresses are broken-down, caved-in in the center and provide no support. (Foam I suppose). Had it not been a prepaid deal we would have checked-out and found other accommodations. I can't imagine how any hotel owner could provide such poor sleeping accommodations in good conscience. Oh, I almost forgot to mention the sticky floors. Avoid!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kiki1373
Winter Park, FL
Sep 23, 2013

Overall Good Stay!!!

First impression of the hotel was ok. The location was Great!!! So that made up for the things it lacked. It is old and needs repair,but it had everything I needed for my stay. I would stay again if the price is right!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BigBadBeachBoy
Miami
Aug 19, 2013

Cool place

Great location made it truly a nice place to stay. There is not much in the room... in fact its small but for someone or a couple just looking for a place to sleep at night its perfect. The only problem is that the rooms don't have central air; in turn, the bathroom remained very hot after a shower and throughout the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kathryn Z.
Oklahoma
Jul 28, 2013

Cheap South Beach weekend getaway

We had stayed at this hotel for 1 night about 18 months ago, and since then, saw this hotel on an episode of "Hotel Impossible" when it was supposedly renovated. We were excited to go back, but we could not tell a difference. We entered our room, put a hand on the bed and it immediately squeaked loudly. We touched several areas on the bed and it was the same throughout. The front desk allowed us to look at another room, which had what appeared to be a full-size bed. Our final option was on the first floor by the stairway, which was supposedly a new mattress. This bed also squeaked very loudly, but since it had more light, we chose it over the others. The other rooms were filled quickly. In this room, we experienced a defective A/C unit. The room was sweltering, so we tried to stay outside the room as much as possible until they fixed it. It took calling maintenance 3 times and 3 technicians until it was finally replaced the following day. It was no fun sleeping on a squeaky bed in 90 degree Miami weather!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is right across the street from the beach, is surrounded by entertainment, night life, and restaurants. The hotel amenities are a compromise to the hotel location.

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pasha
Jamaica New York
Jun 20, 2013

Fantastic getaway

The location was great, and the beach was right across the street. The room was clean. The staff was great. I only stayed overnight, next year I am planning to stay longer. Anyone that is looking to visit South Beach Flordia, I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MandM newlyweds
Pennsylvania
Jun 1, 2013

Great location and value

Some vacationers prefer the perfect hotel with all the amenities - a home away from home with no need to travel outside the hotel walls. This is not that hotel. But if you're looking for a comfortable place to retire after a tough day at the beach, the Everglades, or Lincoln Road, look no further. The Penguin hotel is a fantastic location with wonderful service. Sure, the room is relatively small and the continental breakfast is simple, but if your ideal vacation lies outside of the hotel walls, choose the Penguin hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
grhu520
Canada
May 27, 2013

Far too expensive for what they offer.

Wi-Fi, breakfast and towels are not free. They charge you all these things when you arrive. Even if you already pay the total amount charged by this site. The worse thing was the breakfast. For some reason, you have to go to another hotel and take it there... the problem is: if it is raining they won't offer anything to help you out to go there safety. Twice in a week the room service came at 7PM. Another time I made the call to see if they are free to come and clean the room. Disaster. Don't go there... I just read tons of good reviews here and I thought it would be worth trying but now, I'm a 100% sure: I'm not returning there anymore and I will make sure to spread the voice. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
allezliz
Chicago
May 6, 2013

Hotel

It was a great place to be. One thing i didn't like was the bathroom shower...water gets off. overall good =) love it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is so close

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rikkay19
Tampa,fl
Apr 15, 2013

Perfect Stay

The room and halls were small, and our queen bed was two twins pushed together, but the room was clean and comfortable! Beautiful and boutiquey old fashion hotel room. The location was insanely perfect! Valet, and complimentary drinks/breakfast were awesome! We had the time of our lives and would definitely visit again! <3

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top