$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Kang
Couples
Mashpee
Dec 29, 2014

SoBe weekend

Room was small but most are down there... not to sound proof you can hear every conversation going on in the hallways.. Food was good at restaurant but drinks were on the weak side, I love the beach and the fact that you can leave your car there till 4pm after check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Scott F.
Single
N/A
Dec 24, 2014

great location nothing else good

I was extremely happy with the location of hotel Original room next to staircase but I asked for different room which I received. No ocean view but that wasn't expected. Room was old and somewhat dirty. Toilet wasn't easy to flush! Shower head from 70s you could pull off bracket NO ESPN on cable! Gotta have Sportscaster late night/early morning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Kang
Couples
Mashpee
Dec 16, 2014

SoBe weekend

Room was small but most are down there... not to sound proof you can hear every conversation going on in the hallways.. Food was good at restaurant but drinks were on the weak side, I love the beach and the fact that you can leave your car there till 4pm after check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sun Seeking New Yorker
Single
New York City
Oct 22, 2014

Great Location and Wonderful Staff!

I had a wonderful experience this past weekend at The Penguin. If you're looking for beach convenience, this is perfect. Directly across from the entrance to the beach, and the hotel supplies you with beach towels (one less thing to pack). The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. I arrived early due to my early flight and they were able to check me in a little early because the room was ready (I know that this won't always be the case). It is a small hotel, so please don't expect to walk into a grand lobby, with a huge elevator and long luxurious hallways. What I care about most is cleanliness and there was no complaint on my end about that! I do however wish that their cafe offered a larger variety on the food menu, but I understand that with a small hotel - comes a smaller kitchen. I highly recommend it to anyone headed to south beach for some sun and some nightlife!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A fun weekend in SoBe
Friends
Palm Beach, FL
Oct 2, 2014

Good hotel, great location, would return to again!

The Penguin Hotel was one of the better hotels I've stayed in in South Beach for the price. It was a pretty good value considering the beach is right across the street and it is in the middle of everything. It was pretty quiet and not a lot of street noise which I was surprised by. We got upgraded to an ocean view room for free when we checked in which was a bonus since those were the only rooms left that night. We stayed for two nights. I would stay here again and recommend it to friends and family for a great value and location hotel in SoBe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mama on vacation
Couples
Michigan
Sep 8, 2014

Great location

The staff was very friendly, the rooms are small and the bed was hard and uncomfortable. The price was nice though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the 11th Street Diner while you are there, delicious food!

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ivanka Banks
Friends
Newyork
Sep 8, 2014

Horrible never again

Horrible stay such a waste of money , Carmen who is part of the staff .. Horrible , Sophia who is the manager even worse

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ToulaMo
Friends
CT
Aug 18, 2014

Had a great time!

My friend and I had an awesome time! The staff was great and very helpful with whatever we needed. Not many amenities but we did get beach towels and breakfast everyday. Hotel is a little small but it didn't bother us at all, we just wanted a nice, clean place to stay and we found it right on Ocean Dr. which was even better. The locations is great, right in the center of everything. If you are going to be spending most of you day out like us, then this is the perfect place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jenikuo
Business
California
Aug 11, 2014

Nice Location

The hotel is in a nice location, close to the beach, restaurants, and all the shops. Complementary breakfast is a good deal as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Word Guru
Single
Arizona/Texas
Aug 9, 2014

Good location, but...

This is a place for those younger than, say... 40ish. It was basically economical, but the fee I paid extra to get drink & meal discounts was a waste of $ because the afternoon & evening ambiance was too noisy with loud obnoxious music for my taste/age group, I had to leave for drinks & dinner somewhere else. However, the morning was better. They had much appreciated mellow jazz/world music during breakfast. They need to open earlier though - like 6 or 6:30 instead of 7:30 AM because by 8 AM the Sun is shining on you & it is not comfortable. At that Sun angle their awnings were ineffective. The Continental breakfast was average & of course, the view of the beach park area from their step up seating was good. Though I couldn't understand the Cuban waiter very well, he was very friendly & attentive. One thing that is very annoying with many cheaper hotels is the bare bones TV service. Unfortunately, the Penguin follows suit with a very limited channel selection & the frustration of no channel guide to select stations. At least the WIFI worked well. Overall, I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top