$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC, NY
Oct 19, 2009

Get what you pay for

i've been coming to south beach just about every month for a few years now and i usually arrive before check-in... they usually tell me that they'll give me a call when a room is ready and it usually happens way before check-in time. This hotel has a check-in time of 3 rather then 2 like most hotels and check-out time of 11 instead of 12.. and they charge $50 if there is a room available and you want to check-in early.. weird! but anyways even though there was no room service, pool, doorman to bring me my luggage, and the decor was pretty out there the room was decent and clean and a pretty good bargain for what i paid. The frontdesk was accomidating for the most part although i did ask for a few q-tips and they had not one in the entire hotel which i thought was strange.. the stay was ok.. nothing special

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee WI
Aug 14, 2009

good location, good price

The location is perfect for going to the beach during the day and dinner and shopping at night. It is small but the rooms were clean and the air conditioner worked well which is important with the humidity in Florida. The hotel does not have a lot of extras. No ice machine, no kleenex in the room, no view unless you pay for it. However, the staff was friendly and helpful. The Front Porch Cafe was good for breakfast and lunch at any time of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the little resturants off of Ocean Drive. They don't look that inviting but the food it good and the price is much less then Ocean Drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia
Jul 14, 2009

my miami trip

the hotel was very clean and quiet, when ever i asked for anything housekeeping immediately brought it to my room. i just wished the room would have been a little bigger

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there were restaurants in the whold area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 2, 2009

Worst Experience Ever!

1/1 found this review helpful I am concerned that I will not be able to adequately express my disgust with the front desk and the non-existent management of this hotel, but here goes. Two friends and I booked a room here for our girls trip. Upon check-in, the front desk clerk advised us that the changes we had previously made to our reservation, from one queen-sized bed to two, had not been added to the reservation and they had no availability, nor would they make an exception to let all three of us stay in the room, which we were more than willing to do. Since the change had been confirmed by their employee, and we had proof that it was, we asked that they please look into other hotels and to find us a room. She told us it was not their fault, the employee was new, and told us to do our own research to find a new hotel. We asked many, many times to speak with a manager, and we were refused each time, stating that the manager was busy. The front desk clerk advised us that she had nothing else to discuss with us, leaving three young girls from another city, stranded with our luggage and no where to go. She refused to answer any of my questions, since mine was not the main name on the reservation. We were able to book a room elsewhere with no help from the hotel. I have never before been treated as poorly as I was by this employee of the Penguin. We were treated so rudely, unprofessionally and unfairly upon attempting to check in, that I can only imagine how we would have been treated over a four-day period, so I am happy that we did not have to stay here. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone that I would ever want to keep as a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, Ny
Jun 25, 2009

The Penguin Hotel Bluff

I paid for The Penguin Hotel but when I got there had to wait 30 minutes at the front desk because no one was there after numerous calls finally someone answered and came. THey could not find my reservation and told me it was beause Orbitz never sent them the info ad when I asked to look at the computer screen for my name...Voila big and bold , alphabetized..it was there. Anyways the concierge says "oh that's why I couldn't find you" your actually going to be The Presidente Hotel which is our sister hotel around the corner". Ny this time it was 2:30 in the morning and I was exhausted and didnt feel like arguing anymore. He booked us in the "Penthouse"...whatever..it was ok but overall def wouldn't be staying there again. Convinced from now on to just stay at a big reputable hotel. Oh by the way, the smell of the hallway was nauseating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jun 22, 2009

Terrible getaway

I think it was the worst hotel i have ever stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Emeral's Resturant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Synncere
Business
New Jersey
May 24, 2009

What a disappointment

This was a disappointment. There are absolutely no amenities at this hotel, I didn't eat at the porch cafe/restaurant that other reviewers boasted about because my husband and I were out all night and wanted to eat in our room, well to my surprise I wasn't even allowed to bring the menu to the room to find out what my husband wanted to eat. The manager was firm when saying "NO" I could not take that menu. The room was extremely small and the bathroom was the size of a coat closet. Walking up was not very appealing, I was with other friends and I wouldnt show them my hotel/motel I was too embarrased by the unattractive curb appeal compared to the other places

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lost In St Pete
Business
Sydney, Australia
May 12, 2009

An Interesting Place

I needed a place that offered easy access to the beach and convenience to eating and going out places. The hotel is ideal for those. The price was very comfortable but the reception staff was offering $199 per night over the telephone for the weekend and that was ridiculous. The facilities are not worth that. When we arrived in the room our feet got dirty from walking around in the room. I had to ask housekeeping to wipe the floors which was not done till next day. There are no electrical sockets in the room. You have to unplug the bed lights to get access. Guys, this is a budget hotel and as such it is good value for money and has a great location. If you are paying more than what feels budget, you should look for a place further along the street or nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach is across the street and nightlife all around the place, very close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bucketlip
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 9, 2009

"Great location, good value!"

From check in to check out, we were very pleased. The friendly staff was very accomodating and helpful. There is a restaurant on the front porch which always has a line waiting - a tribute to their food and staff......delicious ice tea!!! The room was small and had a quirky decor (wall murals and mirrors)just like the photos on Orbitz. We would recommend a stay. Check out the ceiling on the first floor hall and the penguins in the elevator!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SOBE Diva
Business
New Haven, CT
Apr 29, 2009

Cute Hotel

The location was great. The rooms are a little small but if your only sleeping there who cares..right? For the money it was a great deal, right across the street from the beach! I would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top