$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
99 reviews
Great

Great experience Awsome hotel Price was great, check in was a breeze Staff were nice and room was... See full review

  • Mart904
  • Jun 7, 2014
Great Location and Wonderful Staff!

I had a wonderful experience this past weekend at The Penguin. If you're looking for beach... See full review

  • Sun Seeking New Yorker
  • Oct 22, 2014
The Penguin Hotel, is an example of 1940's Late Art Deco style. The hotel is situated directly on Ocean Drive and 14th street, across from the sandy beaches and only a few steps away from Lincoln Road, popular restaurants and night clubs. The property was renovated in 2006 by a French Designer. Penguin Hotel guests can enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Purple Penguin Cafe located at hotel lobby area, offering delicious dishes made from scratch and at very affordable prices.

Valet parking is available for your convenience (USD30).

Guest must be 18 years or older to check in.

A valid picture ID is required at check in as well as a refundable security deposit of USD100 per room/night (max.USD250 per 3 day stay or longer) which can be paid in cash (USD) or credit card. Accepted identification is passport, ID or drivers license for cash deposits.

Resort fee indicated is based upon double occupancy when 1 or 2 guests are booking and is: $21.47 tax included payable at Hotel. PLEASE NOTE: -When 3 or more guests are booking an additional $10.73 per person will be payable to the hotel Resort fee includes: Ala Carte Continental breakfast for two(7:30am to 10.30am in Purple Penguin Cafe ), 2 Welcome Drinks,beach towels, WI-FI throughout the property, use of in-room safe, 2 daily bottles of water in room. Resort Fee will be automatically posted to the guest account. Note: The resort fee is mandatory and will be collected without exception.

Special Event Dates/Holidays (dates with minimum stay of 3 nights and up) are non refundable.

Maximum occupancy in units is 2 people (2 adults or 1 adult and 1 child). There are no rollaways available in rooms due to limited space. Note that if you have booked for one guest, and 2 guests are staying, you will be charged an additional $25.00. If second guest is child under 12 years of age, child stays free.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Penguin Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Penguin Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Each room is artistically renovated with: 1 or 2 full or queen size beds, bathtub, hair dryer,plasma screen TV, voicemail/phone, alarm clock, wet bar (sink, marble counter, refrigerator), individually controlled air conditioning, Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier,safety deposit box, iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

The Purple Penguin Cafe
Located at hotel lobby serves full breakfast, lunch and dinner. A warm atmosphere and the most delicious dishes while you can people-watch at our front porch area overlooking famous Ocean Drive. Our location and our affordable prices cannot be beaten.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mart904
Miami
Jun 7, 2014

Great

Great experience Awsome hotel Price was great, check in was a breeze Staff were nice and room was clean with a comfortable bed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Scott F.
Business
N/A
Dec 24, 2014

great location nothing else good

I was extremely happy with the location of hotel Original room next to staircase but I asked for different room which I received. No ocean view but that wasn't expected. Room was old and somewhat dirty. Toilet wasn't easy to flush! Shower head from 70s you could pull off bracket NO ESPN on cable! Gotta have Sportscaster late night/early morning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Kang
Business
Mashpee
Dec 16, 2014

SoBe weekend

Room was small but most are down there... not to sound proof you can hear every conversation going on in the hallways.. Food was good at restaurant but drinks were on the weak side, I love the beach and the fact that you can leave your car there till 4pm after check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sun Seeking New Yorker
Business
New York City
Oct 22, 2014

Great Location and Wonderful Staff!

I had a wonderful experience this past weekend at The Penguin. If you're looking for beach convenience, this is perfect. Directly across from the entrance to the beach, and the hotel supplies you with beach towels (one less thing to pack). The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. I arrived early due to my early flight and they were able to check me in a little early because the room was ready (I know that this won't always be the case). It is a small hotel, so please don't expect to walk into a grand lobby, with a huge elevator and long luxurious hallways. What I care about most is cleanliness and there was no complaint on my end about that! I do however wish that their cafe offered a larger variety on the food menu, but I understand that with a small hotel - comes a smaller kitchen. I highly recommend it to anyone headed to south beach for some sun and some nightlife!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A fun weekend in SoBe
Business
Palm Beach, FL
Oct 2, 2014

Good hotel, great location, would return to again!

The Penguin Hotel was one of the better hotels I've stayed in in South Beach for the price. It was a pretty good value considering the beach is right across the street and it is in the middle of everything. It was pretty quiet and not a lot of street noise which I was surprised by. We got upgraded to an ocean view room for free when we checked in which was a bonus since those were the only rooms left that night. We stayed for two nights. I would stay here again and recommend it to friends and family for a great value and location hotel in SoBe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mama on vacation
Business
Michigan
Sep 8, 2014

Great location

The staff was very friendly, the rooms are small and the bed was hard and uncomfortable. The price was nice though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the 11th Street Diner while you are there, delicious food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ToulaMo
Business
CT
Aug 18, 2014

Had a great time!

My friend and I had an awesome time! The staff was great and very helpful with whatever we needed. Not many amenities but we did get beach towels and breakfast everyday. Hotel is a little small but it didn't bother us at all, we just wanted a nice, clean place to stay and we found it right on Ocean Dr. which was even better. The locations is great, right in the center of everything. If you are going to be spending most of you day out like us, then this is the perfect place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Word Guru
Business
Arizona/Texas
Aug 9, 2014

Good location, but...

This is a place for those younger than, say... 40ish. It was basically economical, but the fee I paid extra to get drink & meal discounts was a waste of $ because the afternoon & evening ambiance was too noisy with loud obnoxious music for my taste/age group, I had to leave for drinks & dinner somewhere else. However, the morning was better. They had much appreciated mellow jazz/world music during breakfast. They need to open earlier though - like 6 or 6:30 instead of 7:30 AM because by 8 AM the Sun is shining on you & it is not comfortable. At that Sun angle their awnings were ineffective. The Continental breakfast was average & of course, the view of the beach park area from their step up seating was good. Though I couldn't understand the Cuban waiter very well, he was very friendly & attentive. One thing that is very annoying with many cheaper hotels is the bare bones TV service. Unfortunately, the Penguin follows suit with a very limited channel selection & the frustration of no channel guide to select stations. At least the WIFI worked well. Overall, I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cheryl Brown Sugar
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 18, 2014

Penguin Hotel for Vacation

No one told us we had to pay 30.00 a day to park at the hotel. No one told us we had to put $250.00 deposit when we booked the hotel. Most of the staff was nice the rooms are very clean Scott the supervisor is not friendly and is sometimes rude. The food is not that great and expensive for what they have to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Use a agent to book attractions and they will pick you up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AnniePN
Business
Burke, VA
Jul 18, 2014

It was a decent stay

It was not as bad as I thought. it was a decent hotel and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BritnNea
Business
cola, SC
Jul 11, 2014

The Penguin Ocean Dr.

I couldn't ask for more with the price. I enjoyed my stay there. Excellent location, just steps from the beach. Excellent staff, especially Tim their waiter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Their happy hour specials are great compared to many on the same strip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top