$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
View map of 1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
120 reviews
day after cruise

The stay was ok. You have to make sure you get there at check in time and not earlier. I had to... See full review

  • Joy W.
  • Apr 30, 2015
NICE TRIP

Very nice hotel in the middle of the action ,nice wiew and good people around as. See full review

  • Marius S.
  • Apr 24, 2015
The Penguin Hotel, is an example of 1940's Late Art Deco style. The hotel is situated directly on Ocean Drive and 14th street, across from the sandy beaches and only a few steps away from Lincoln Road, popular restaurants and night clubs. The property was renovated in 2006 by a French Designer. Penguin Hotel guests can enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Purple Penguin Cafe located at hotel lobby area, offering delicious dishes made from scratch and at very affordable prices.

Valet parking is available for your convenience (USD30).

Guest must be 18 years or older to check in.

A valid picture ID is required at check in as well as a refundable security deposit of USD100 per room/night (max.USD250 per 3 day stay or longer) which can be paid in cash (USD) or credit card. Accepted identification is passport, ID or drivers license for cash deposits.

Resort fee indicated is based upon double occupancy when 1 or 2 guests are booking and is: $21.47 tax included payable at Hotel. PLEASE NOTE: -When 3 or more guests are booking an additional $10.73 per person will be payable to the hotel Resort fee includes: Ala Carte Continental breakfast for two(7:30am to 10.30am in Purple Penguin Cafe ), 2 Welcome Drinks,beach towels, WI-FI throughout the property, use of in-room safe, 2 daily bottles of water in room. Resort Fee will be automatically posted to the guest account. Note: The resort fee is mandatory and will be collected without exception.

Special Event Dates/Holidays (dates with minimum stay of 3 nights and up) are non refundable.

Maximum occupancy in units is 2 people (2 adults or 1 adult and 1 child). There are no rollaways available in rooms due to limited space. Note that if you have booked for one guest, and 2 guests are staying, you will be charged an additional $25.00. If second guest is child under 12 years of age, child stays free.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Penguin Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Penguin Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Each room is artistically renovated with: 1 or 2 full or queen size beds, bathtub, hair dryer,plasma screen TV, voicemail/phone, alarm clock, wet bar (sink, marble counter, refrigerator), individually controlled air conditioning, Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier,safety deposit box, iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

The Purple Penguin Cafe
Located at hotel lobby serves full breakfast, lunch and dinner. A warm atmosphere and the most delicious dishes while you can people-watch at our front porch area overlooking famous Ocean Drive. Our location and our affordable prices cannot be beaten.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mart904
Miami
Jun 7, 2014

Great

Great experience Awsome hotel Price was great, check in was a breeze Staff were nice and room was clean with a comfortable bed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JUAN ALBERTO
Business
BUCARAMANGA
May 2, 2015

excelent place to take a break

The only bad thing was when I arrived, late at night....before I called from Colombia to say that I would arrive aftet midnight....but in the front desk nobody knew about it...my reservation was NO SHOW!!! Affortunatly Gustavo (staff) helped me and no problem....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joy W.
Business
N/A
Apr 30, 2015

day after cruise

The stay was ok. You have to make sure you get there at check in time and not earlier. I had to waste a lot of time when I really wanted to rest. The rooms are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Na

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Riccardo D.
Business
Orlando
Apr 26, 2015

Good value for the price

Hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. Location was great and the value for the price excelente. Need to improve in WIFI service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Esteban H.
Business
Las Vegas
Apr 25, 2015

Don't do it!

The only good thing I can say about this hotel is a bartender that helped us out. It was his second shift, young, chill, nice guy! Other then that room service was horrible! I went looking for an ice machine on my floor and I was told to go to other floors too look....... so I did and no ice on any floor then when I went back to the front desk I was told to go to the hotel next door! REALLY GUYS?!?!?! Don't get me started on breakfast! Breakfast ends at 10:30am we got there at 10:15am the server made a HUGE deal about it almost not wanting to serve us. I can not believe this hotel is still in business! I wish I could get my money back. Worst service I have ever had!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marius S.
Business
N/A
Apr 24, 2015

NICE TRIP

Very nice hotel in the middle of the action ,nice wiew and good people around as.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marius S.
Business
N/A
Apr 22, 2015

nice trip

Nice hotel best view and location to the ocean.I recomend this hotel for couples

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael B.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Excellent !!!!

My Girlfriend and I just returned from a week at the Penquin Hotel. We are 40 year old Adults . We found the Staff , treated us like Family, great breakfast service enjoying the porch. All bartenders made GREAT drinks throughout the day and evening. Also , boxed lunches from the menu anytime during the day for us to take to the beach, YUM! We really liked how quiet the hotel was at night for sleeping, No Loud music, Screaming teenagers, and Loud cars. The BAD time was the garbage truck at 630am Every day ! The Beach across the street was so inviting! Went there at least 6-8 hours everyday . We are looking forward to our next time there ! ENJOY !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
arturo p.
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

Average

The hotel did not covered my expectations. There was a problem with the bathroom water. The air conditioner was horrible laugh

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BC123
Business
Rhinebeck
Jan 25, 2015

Great overnight stay

This is a great location to enjoy South Beach, especially if you don't need the high-end Miami experience, and simply want a clean, convenient, comfortable, authentic Deco place as home base while you visit. It's toward the northern end of Ocean Drive right on the beach, provides two free welcome drinks, free wifi, and free continental breakfast with a Lummus Park-front Starbucks with patios a half block away, a few blocks from Espanola, a few blocks from Lincoln Road, a few blocks from the busiest hotels/restaurants on Ocean Drive. Very nice staff, comfortable room. Easily recommendable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Kang
Business
Mashpee
Dec 29, 2014

SoBe weekend

Room was small but most are down there... not to sound proof you can hear every conversation going on in the hallways.. Food was good at restaurant but drinks were on the weak side, I love the beach and the fact that you can leave your car there till 4pm after check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top