$61 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Penguin Hotel

3 stars
1418 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
94 reviews
Great

Great experience Awsome hotel Price was great, check in was a breeze Staff were nice and room was... See full review

  • Mart904
  • Jun 7, 2014
Hotel

It was a great place to be. One thing i didn't like was the bathroom shower...water gets off.... See full review

  • allezliz
  • May 6, 2013
The Penguin Hotel, is an example of 1940's Late Art Deco style. The hotel is situated directly on Ocean Drive and 14th street, across from the sandy beaches and only a few steps away from Lincoln Road, popular restaurants and night clubs. The property was renovated in 2006 by a French Designer. Penguin Hotel guests can enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Purple Penguin Cafe located at hotel lobby area, offering delicious dishes made from scratch and at very affordable prices.

Valet parking is available for your convenience (USD30).

Guest must be 18 years or older to check in.

A valid picture ID is required at check in as well as a refundable security deposit of USD100 per room/night (max.USD250 per 3 day stay or longer) which can be paid in cash (USD) or credit card. Accepted identification is passport, ID or drivers license for cash deposits.

Our $19.00 Resort Fee includes : Ala Carte Continental breakfast for two(7:30am to 10.30am in Purple Penguin Cafe ), 2 Welcome Drinks,beach towels, WI-FI throughout the property, use of in-room safe, 2 daily bottles of water in room. Resort Fee will be automatically posted to the guest account. Note: $19 fee is mandatory and will be collected without exception.

Special Event Dates/Holidays (dates with minimum stay of 3 nights and up) are non refundable.

Maximum occupancy in units is 2 people (2 adults or 1 adult and 1 child). There are no rollaways available in rooms due to limited space. Note that if you have booked for one guest, and 2 guests are staying, you will be charged an additional $25.00. If second guest is child under 12 years of age, child stays free.

Hotel Map

25.7861 -80.1297
Area served
South Beach, Miami Beach, Miami.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, Fort Lauderdale Airport
Area description
The Penguin Hotel is just a 15 minute drive from Miami International Airport, Downtown Miami, Bayside Mall, and the Cruise Ship Port of Miami. At any time you can also walk to the world-class cafes, restaurants, theaters and designer clothing stores of Ocean Drive, Collins Avenue, Washington Avenue as well as the famous Lincoln Road Mall. If you stay with us for business or to attend to a convention, the Miami Beach Convention Center is only a few blocks away, at a short walking distance. The Penguin Hotel is perfectly located right on Ocean Drive, where all the South Beach action happens.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Penguin Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Penguin Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Each room is artistically renovated with: 1 or 2 full or queen size beds, bathtub, hair dryer,plasma screen TV, voicemail/phone, alarm clock, wet bar (sink, marble counter, refrigerator), individually controlled air conditioning, Czechoslovakian crystal chandelier,safety deposit box, iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed

Dining

The Purple Penguin Cafe
Located at hotel lobby serves full breakfast, lunch and dinner. A warm atmosphere and the most delicious dishes while you can people-watch at our front porch area overlooking famous Ocean Drive. Our location and our affordable prices cannot be beaten.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (94)

Ratings and reviews for Penguin Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pasha
Jamaica New York
Jun 20, 2013

Fantastic getaway

The location was great, and the beach was right across the street. The room was clean. The staff was great. I only stayed overnight, next year I am planning to stay longer. Anyone that is looking to visit South Beach Flordia, I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ToulaMo
CT
Aug 18, 2014

Had a great time!

My friend and I had an awesome time! The staff was great and very helpful with whatever we needed. Not many amenities but we did get beach towels and breakfast everyday. Hotel is a little small but it didn't bother us at all, we just wanted a nice, clean place to stay and we found it right on Ocean Dr. which was even better. The locations is great, right in the center of everything. If you are going to be spending most of you day out like us, then this is the perfect place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Word Guru
Arizona/Texas
Aug 9, 2014

Good location, but...

This is a place for those younger than, say... 40ish. It was basically economical, but the fee I paid extra to get drink & meal discounts was a waste of $ because the afternoon & evening ambiance was too noisy with loud obnoxious music for my taste/age group, I had to leave for drinks & dinner somewhere else. However, the morning was better. They had much appreciated mellow jazz/world music during breakfast. They need to open earlier though - like 6 or 6:30 instead of 7:30 AM because by 8 AM the Sun is shining on you & it is not comfortable. At that Sun angle their awnings were ineffective. The Continental breakfast was average & of course, the view of the beach park area from their step up seating was good. Though I couldn't understand the Cuban waiter very well, he was very friendly & attentive. One thing that is very annoying with many cheaper hotels is the bare bones TV service. Unfortunately, the Penguin follows suit with a very limited channel selection & the frustration of no channel guide to select stations. At least the WIFI worked well. Overall, I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cheryl Brown Sugar
Houston, Texas
Jul 18, 2014

Penguin Hotel for Vacation

No one told us we had to pay 30.00 a day to park at the hotel. No one told us we had to put $250.00 deposit when we booked the hotel. Most of the staff was nice the rooms are very clean Scott the supervisor is not friendly and is sometimes rude. The food is not that great and expensive for what they have to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Use a agent to book attractions and they will pick you up.

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AnniePN
Burke, VA
Jul 18, 2014

It was a decent stay

It was not as bad as I thought. it was a decent hotel and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BritnNea
cola, SC
Jul 11, 2014

The Penguin Ocean Dr.

I couldn't ask for more with the price. I enjoyed my stay there. Excellent location, just steps from the beach. Excellent staff, especially Tim their waiter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Their happy hour specials are great compared to many on the same strip.

Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Silent22beauty
NJ
Jun 23, 2014

Can't complain

My stay here was good. No major complaints. For the price and location it was great. Room was clean. Staff was friendly. That's all I was asking for. I would stay again. And recommend for a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mart904
Miami
Jun 7, 2014

Great

Great experience Awsome hotel Price was great, check in was a breeze Staff were nice and room was clean with a comfortable bed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PedroPardo
Mexico City
May 19, 2014

You need bleach in order to stay there.

The worst hotel experience in south beach you can get. The staff is rude they don´t listen to the guest complaints. The rooms are small, really untidy; there are holes in the paper walls, which are dirty. The restroom is just nasty, with hair everywhere. I would never stay here not even for free. They should just close this place down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heat fans
Ft. Pierce,Fl.
Apr 21, 2014

One day getaway.

Did a one day stay for Miami Heat game with my son. Hotel room was small but cozy. Staff was very professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Penguin Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JerryY
NYC
Apr 4, 2014

Not bad for a weekend

My girlfriend and I traveled to Miami, stayed at this hotel for a night. It'l located nice on the beach side only a short walk to the beach. Staff are nice, but the food at the restaurant was ok...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search