$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Pelican Hotel

4 stars
826 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
32 reviews
Great the ambiance was very cool

Cozy the retro atmosphere was fun I enjoyed my stay See full review

  • Pompom
  • Jun 29, 2014
Awesome

Great hotel, staff was friendly from the moment we pulled up in the cab. Food was great too! Love... See full review

  • The Fireman Bob
  • Oct 15, 2013
Owned by the same creative folks behind the Diesel Jeans company, the Pelican (whose brazen, albeit appropriate, motto is "A myth in its own limelight") is South Beach's only self-professed "toy-hotel," in which each of its 30 rooms and suites is decorated as outrageously as some of the area's more colorful drag queens. Each room has been designed daringly and rather wittily by Swedish interior decorator Magnus Ehrland, whose countless trips to antiques markets, combined with his wild imagination, have turned room no. 309, for instance, into the "Psychedelic(ate) Girl," room no. 201 into the "Executive Fifties" suite, and room no. 209 into the " Love, Peace and Leafforest" room. But the most popular is the tough-to-score room no. 215, or the "Best Whorehouse," which is said to have made even former Hollywood madam Heidi Fleiss red with envy. The Penthouse that occupies the top floor is almost more 007 than James Bond's own pad -- very '60s, in color and pattern, with a big aquarium built into a copper wall and a yellow Shultz table and chair.
Pet Policy: We accept pets less than 20 lbs. There is a $100.00 non refundable cleaning fee due at check in. There is an additional fee of $25.00 per day per pet.
Valet Parking is $27.00 plus tax per night.

Non Florida residents will pay the hotel any rate difference if booking a resident rate.

Hotel Map

25.7784 -80.1311
Area served
Miami
Miami Beach
South Beach
Art Deco District
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Ft. Lauderdale International Airport
Area description
Located in the center of the Art Deco district of South Beach, 10 steps from the Ocean. Centrally located within walking distance to all South Beach restaurants, shopping, and night life.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pelican Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Pelican Hotel Rooms

DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Room with a Queen Sized Bed. Individually Themed featuring vintage furnishings and art work, recycled oak floors, and Latex Mattress for proper back alignemnt. Private bathroom with Rainfall Shower, Stainless Steel Fixtures, and All-Natural Aveda Bath Products.
Room equipped with Hair Dryer, Iron & Ironing Board, 2 Phones, Electronic Safe, TV with On-Demand Movies, Music, and Internet, Stereo with CD Player, and Personal Fridge with 2 Complimentary Bottles of Water per day (Spring & Sparkling).
Complimentary Luxury Beach Chair Service at our 8th street beach, which includes 2 Padded Beach Chairs and 1 Beach Umbrella per room, Prepared by Beach Attendant. Complimentary use of our large Pelican Beach Towels during your stay.
Complimentary High Speed WiFi Internet service is available throughout the property.
Our Award Winning Restaurant offers Room Service daily from 7:30AM until Midnight.
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Room with two Twin Sized Beds. Individually Themed featuring vintage furnishings and art work, recycled oak floors, and Latex Mattress for proper back alignemnt. Private bathroom with Rainfall Shower, Stainless Steel Fixtures, and All-Natural Aveda Bath Products.
Room equipped with Hair Dryer, Iron & Ironing Board, 2 Phones, Electronic Safe, TV with On-Demand Movies, Music, and Internet, Stereo with CD Player, and Personal Fridge with 2 Complimentary Bottles of Water per day (Spring & Sparkling).
Complimentary Luxury Beach Chair Service at our 8th street beach, which includes 2 Padded Beach Chairs and 1 Beach Umbrella per room, Prepared by Beach Attendant. Complimentary use of our large Pelican Beach Towels during your stay.
Complimentary High Speed WiFi Internet service is available throughout the property.
DELUXE - SUITE
The Deluxe Suite has premium bedding and cotton linens. Complimentary wireless Internet access and wired Internet access (surcharge) to keep you connected, and the CD player makes it easy to listen to your own music. You can request an in-room massage. A refrigerator is provided. The private bathroom has bathrobes, designer toiletries, and a hair dryer. Air conditioning, a ceiling fan, and a separate sitting area are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Unconvention meeting spaces offer great space, decor, ambiance, and ocean breezes.

Dining

Pelican Cafe
Our lobby restaurant offers excellent world cuisine with an Italian accent in colorful setting. Great outdoor terrace and sidewalk seating perfect for people watching and enjoying the beach breeze. Great premium bar with signture cocktails and relaxed atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for Pelican Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
erik d
pelican hotel south beach, fl
Sep 30, 2012

fantastic couples getaway

the room was amazing... comfortable beds, clean, showers were outstanding. bartender christian was a lot of fun, kept atmosphere full of energy. we had the best time down to south beach.... perfect location for non stop fun! keep open mind and try to look beautiful! location was in the central of everything, food, beach , clubs, shops... had the best time! cant wait to go back.. would definately recommend this hotel to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rzrdude
Springdale, AR
Sep 26, 2013

Great unique Art Deco hotel on ocean drive

This was my second stay at the Pelican. It is a great little hotel with individual themed rooms. The hotel is very clean with great service. The hotel had a complimentary happy hour and hot breakfast. The location is just across the street from south beach right on ocean drive in the heart of the action. I am already looking forward to my next stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out some of the little local restaurants just a few blocks from ocean drive for great value and a local taste.

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MG11
Rochester, NY
Feb 14, 2013

Great stay in the heart of south beach

We booked online during a sale for a great rate on this hotel. Like most hotels in Miami Beach our room was tiny. It was unique, clean and functional, but tiny. After we asked about having one of their rooms that had a desk they offered to upgrade us to a an oceanfront suite and that room had 1.5 baths, a living area, a desk and a king size bed. It was huge compared to our other room and was great especially since we were staying there for 8 nights. Housekeeping cleans twice a day and at night leaves chocolates and a postcard with the forecast for the next day. The complimentary WiFi worked great. The complimentary beach towels and chair service just across the street was excellent. The complimentary happy hour at their very charming bar from 4-6 was also a nice touch. The hotel staff is multilingual and was super friendly and helpful from checkin to checkout. They even print our boarding passes and our tickets to a Heat game. Overall I felt that this hotel was a great value and if we stay on Ocean Drive again then we will definitely stay againl. Just keep in mind that it is not a resort and is located on Ocean Drive, which has restaurants open until all hours of the morning and people walking by 24/7. We liked that for this trip, but it isn't for everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Fireman Bob
US Military
Oct 15, 2013

Awesome

Great hotel, staff was friendly from the moment we pulled up in the cab. Food was great too! Love the décor, the rooms are just fun, and I never had a shower with as much water as here. I felt like I was under a waterfall!! I will definitely not stay anywhere else in Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RereKy
Florence, KY
Sep 26, 2012

Great location, great staff

The staff was super friendly, and the location counldn't have been better. The next time I come to Miami I will return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Dont be fooled by the 2 for 1 drinks at other dining locations around the area, ask before you order "how much is the 1 drink".

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anna72
Cayman Islands
Feb 18, 2013

Beautiful boutique hotel in the Art Deco district

Loved this hotel with all it's design elements, different room layouts and Italian staff, made me feel like being in Italy. Everyone was so welcoming and friendly, they gave us a free rosé at valentines, happy hour everyday from 4-6pm, delicious food and a top location. I'll be going back very soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head to the big pink cafe couple blogs down and then stop by at Nikki beach afterwards for a cocktail and some serious lounging.

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NurseAshley83
Columbus, OH
Sep 8, 2012

We loved this hotel!

The staff are all very friendly. From the administrators behind the desk, bar tenders, maids and the servers - everyone there is so friendly!! :) The room was extremely clean and we loved the decor. We plan on making The Pelican a regular hotel we stay at when visiting Miami. I am a native of Miami Bch so I am quite familiar with all the hotels, locations, etc... The music does not disturb while sleeping. The breakfast is spectacular. Love it here!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

WET WILLIES!! Cafe Pelican!!

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms. Vain
midwest
Dec 15, 2012

Great experience

Pelican hotel has the best staff I ever experienced. From the receptionists, the hostesses and wait staff at the cafe, the manager, to the beach attendants and house-keeping - everyone is helpful, pleasing, well-mannered and always smiling, I just loved them! The happy hour at the restaurant (hotel guests drink for free for 2 hrs each day) is a big plus (: Location can't be beat: the beach is across the street (5 min walk), and at night it gets lively enough with all the restaurants/hotels on Ocean Drive and everyone walking by. The room was comfortable in every sense, quiet most of the time (except for the garbage truck in the morning, but it's not too bad). Our room was "me Tarzan, you vain" - a wild, African-looking theme with animal prints and organic/natural feel, I loved it! Me and my husband were there for 4 nights; we went to the beach and toured the city during the day, and went out to eat at night - nothing too fancy, but we had a great time! A clean, comfortable, safe and pleasant stay is important to me when on vacation and the Pelican exceeds those needs. You won't regret the extra dollar when you book this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Since breakfast was not included in our reservation, we saved some money by getting sandwiches, fruit and snacks from the closest Walgreen's (on the corner of Collins Ave and 5th). It's about a 10 min walk from the hotel. We also took a map and walked the city to check out a few areas we wanted to see, instead of paying for walking tours.

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Port St Lucie, FL
Jun 29, 2009

Fantastic location for the price

We were warmly welcomed by hotel staff who were courteous and helpful. The check-in was especially efficient. Our room was quiet, cool, and tastefully decorated in accord with the, "Movie Set" theme. The housekeeping was impeccable. This was my first visit to South Beach. When I return it will be to the Hotel Pelican.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pompom
Miami
Jun 29, 2014

Great the ambiance was very cool

Cozy the retro atmosphere was fun I enjoyed my stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Try it you might like it

Back to menu Return to top