$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Pelican Hotel

4 stars
826 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
32 reviews
Great the ambiance was very cool

Cozy the retro atmosphere was fun I enjoyed my stay See full review

  • Pompom
  • Jun 29, 2014
Awesome

Great hotel, staff was friendly from the moment we pulled up in the cab. Food was great too! Love... See full review

  • The Fireman Bob
  • Oct 15, 2013
Owned by the same creative folks behind the Diesel Jeans company, the Pelican (whose brazen, albeit appropriate, motto is "A myth in its own limelight") is South Beach's only self-professed "toy-hotel," in which each of its 30 rooms and suites is decorated as outrageously as some of the area's more colorful drag queens. Each room has been designed daringly and rather wittily by Swedish interior decorator Magnus Ehrland, whose countless trips to antiques markets, combined with his wild imagination, have turned room no. 309, for instance, into the "Psychedelic(ate) Girl," room no. 201 into the "Executive Fifties" suite, and room no. 209 into the " Love, Peace and Leafforest" room. But the most popular is the tough-to-score room no. 215, or the "Best Whorehouse," which is said to have made even former Hollywood madam Heidi Fleiss red with envy. The Penthouse that occupies the top floor is almost more 007 than James Bond's own pad -- very '60s, in color and pattern, with a big aquarium built into a copper wall and a yellow Shultz table and chair.
Pet Policy: We accept pets less than 20 lbs. There is a $100.00 non refundable cleaning fee due at check in. There is an additional fee of $25.00 per day per pet.
Valet Parking is $27.00 plus tax per night.

Non Florida residents will pay the hotel any rate difference if booking a resident rate.

Hotel Map

25.7784 -80.1311
Area served
Miami
Miami Beach
South Beach
Art Deco District
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Ft. Lauderdale International Airport
Area description
Located in the center of the Art Deco district of South Beach, 10 steps from the Ocean. Centrally located within walking distance to all South Beach restaurants, shopping, and night life.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pelican Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Pelican Hotel Rooms

DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Room with a Queen Sized Bed. Individually Themed featuring vintage furnishings and art work, recycled oak floors, and Latex Mattress for proper back alignemnt. Private bathroom with Rainfall Shower, Stainless Steel Fixtures, and All-Natural Aveda Bath Products.
Room equipped with Hair Dryer, Iron & Ironing Board, 2 Phones, Electronic Safe, TV with On-Demand Movies, Music, and Internet, Stereo with CD Player, and Personal Fridge with 2 Complimentary Bottles of Water per day (Spring & Sparkling).
Complimentary Luxury Beach Chair Service at our 8th street beach, which includes 2 Padded Beach Chairs and 1 Beach Umbrella per room, Prepared by Beach Attendant. Complimentary use of our large Pelican Beach Towels during your stay.
Complimentary High Speed WiFi Internet service is available throughout the property.
Our Award Winning Restaurant offers Room Service daily from 7:30AM until Midnight.
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Room with two Twin Sized Beds. Individually Themed featuring vintage furnishings and art work, recycled oak floors, and Latex Mattress for proper back alignemnt. Private bathroom with Rainfall Shower, Stainless Steel Fixtures, and All-Natural Aveda Bath Products.
Room equipped with Hair Dryer, Iron & Ironing Board, 2 Phones, Electronic Safe, TV with On-Demand Movies, Music, and Internet, Stereo with CD Player, and Personal Fridge with 2 Complimentary Bottles of Water per day (Spring & Sparkling).
Complimentary Luxury Beach Chair Service at our 8th street beach, which includes 2 Padded Beach Chairs and 1 Beach Umbrella per room, Prepared by Beach Attendant. Complimentary use of our large Pelican Beach Towels during your stay.
Complimentary High Speed WiFi Internet service is available throughout the property.
DELUXE - SUITE
The Deluxe Suite has premium bedding and cotton linens. Complimentary wireless Internet access and wired Internet access (surcharge) to keep you connected, and the CD player makes it easy to listen to your own music. You can request an in-room massage. A refrigerator is provided. The private bathroom has bathrobes, designer toiletries, and a hair dryer. Air conditioning, a ceiling fan, and a separate sitting area are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pelican Cafe
Our lobby restaurant offers excellent world cuisine with an Italian accent in colorful setting. Great outdoor terrace and sidewalk seating perfect for people watching and enjoying the beach breeze. Great premium bar with signture cocktails and relaxed atmosphere.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Unconvention meeting spaces offer great space, decor, ambiance, and ocean breezes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for Pelican Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 32
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sort by:
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HaZeus
Rialto, CA
Jan 10, 2014

Good Spot

My overall experience was a good one. It's in an excellent location. It's right in front of beach and walking distance from bars & restaurants. This is a tiny hotel though; about 25-30 rooms total. The only complaint I have are with the beds. They were very hard and not comfy. I was upgraded to a penthouse room so I tried a few beds. They have a good breakfast and excellent me menu overall. I ate a good lunch there. Can't beat they're happy hour. They give you two drinks per guest while you're there. I'd recommend and I'd stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Polo Norte if you're looking for excellent Cuban food and it has reasonable prices.

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rzrdude
Springdale, AR
Sep 26, 2013

Great unique Art Deco hotel on ocean drive

This was my second stay at the Pelican. It is a great little hotel with individual themed rooms. The hotel is very clean with great service. The hotel had a complimentary happy hour and hot breakfast. The location is just across the street from south beach right on ocean drive in the heart of the action. I am already looking forward to my next stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out some of the little local restaurants just a few blocks from ocean drive for great value and a local taste.

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bigfeetnhands
Washington, DC
Jun 29, 2009

South Beach

I was trying to find a hotel on Ocean Drive so I could be close to the action. Though this was a little more than what I wanted to pay, it was a very good stay. I typically stay at Hampton Inn, La Qunita, and/or Courtyard by Marriott. If you are concerned with location, then this is definitely a plum choice. The food there was excellent as well. They give you complimentary gym passes to the Equinox which is a great gym located 2 blocks away. (Oh yeah, since this is owned by Diesel or Lucky Brand I forget, the staff there pretty much appeared model-esque so there's plenty of eye candy for the fellas...I guess for the ladies too). The room I stayed in was nothing to brag about, but another friend was staying at a comparable hotel a block away on Ocean and paid almost $400 more for the same length of stay (Thursday-Monday) and I didn't feel his room was better than mine at all. I booked my room well after he did too. I would stay there again the next time I go to South Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

I found that the lunch portion and dinner portions were the pretty much the same size, except dinner cost almost twice as much! If you want to eat there, make sure you order a late lunch (they stop serving those at 4?) and then eat dinner somewhere else to get a variety on your experience.

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bigfeetnhands
Washington, DC
Jun 29, 2009

South Beach

I was trying to find a hotel on Ocean Drive so I could be close to the action. Though this was a little more than what I wanted to pay, it was a very good stay. I typically stay at Hampton Inn, La Qunita, and/or Courtyard by Marriott. If you are concerned with location, then this is definitely a plum choice. The food there was excellent as well. They give you complimentary gym passes to the Equinox which is a great gym located 2 blocks away. (Oh yeah, since this is owned by Diesel or Lucky Brand I forget, the staff there pretty much appeared model-esque so there's plenty of eye candy for the fellas...I guess for the ladies too). The room I stayed in was nothing to brag about, but another friend was staying at a comparable hotel a block away on Ocean and paid almost $400 more for the same length of stay (Thursday-Monday) and I didn't feel his room was better than mine at all. I booked my room well after he did too. I would stay there again the next time I go to South Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

I found that the lunch portion and dinner portions were the pretty much the same size, except dinner cost almost twice as much! If you want to eat there, make sure you order a late lunch (they stop serving those at 4?) and then eat dinner somewhere else to get a variety on your experience.

Back to menu Return to top