$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

Pelican Hotel

4 stars
View map of 826 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
48 reviews
Would Stay Again

Hotel staff very welcome. Adam at the front desk was super nice. Complimentary breakfast & chairs... See full review

  • TEE7
  • Jul 29, 2015
ideal stay!

Pelican met all our expectations. Very friendly staffs and very accommodating! See full review

  • MR
  • Jul 19, 2015
Owned by the same creative folks behind the Diesel Jeans company, the Pelican (whose brazen, albeit appropriate, motto is "A myth in its own limelight") is South Beach's only self-professed "toy-hotel," in which each of its 30 rooms and suites is decorated as outrageously as some of the area's more colorful drag queens. Each room has been designed daringly and rather wittily by Swedish interior decorator Magnus Ehrland, whose countless trips to antiques markets, combined with his wild imagination, have turned room no. 309, for instance, into the "Psychedelic(ate) Girl," room no. 201 into the "Executive Fifties" suite, and room no. 209 into the " Love, Peace and Leafforest" room. But the most popular is the tough-to-score room no. 215, or the "Best Whorehouse," which is said to have made even former Hollywood madam Heidi Fleiss red with envy. The Penthouse that occupies the top floor is almost more 007 than James Bond's own pad -- very '60s, in color and pattern, with a big aquarium built into a copper wall and a yellow Shultz table and chair.
Credit card required at check in. Name on credit card must match name on reservation....Pet Policy: We accept pets less than 20 lbs. There is a $100.00 non refundable cleaning fee due at check in. There is an additional fee of $25.00 per day per pet.
Valet Parking is $27.00 plus tax per night.

Non Florida residents will pay the hotel any rate difference if booking a resident rate.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pelican Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Pelican Hotel Rooms

DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Room with a Queen Sized Bed. Individually Themed featuring vintage furnishings and art work, recycled oak floors, and Latex Mattress for proper back alignemnt. Private bathroom with Rainfall Shower, Stainless Steel Fixtures, and All-Natural Aveda Bath Products.
Room equipped with Hair Dryer, Iron & Ironing Board, 2 Phones, Electronic Safe, TV with On-Demand Movies, Music, and Internet, Stereo with CD Player, and Personal Fridge with 2 Complimentary Bottles of Water per day (Spring & Sparkling).
Complimentary Luxury Beach Chair Service at our 8th street beach, which includes 2 Padded Beach Chairs and 1 Beach Umbrella per room, Prepared by Beach Attendant. Complimentary use of our large Pelican Beach Towels during your stay.
Complimentary High Speed WiFi Internet service is available throughout the property.
Our Award Winning Restaurant offers Room Service daily from 7:30AM until Midnight.
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Room with two Twin Sized Beds. Individually Themed featuring vintage furnishings and art work, recycled oak floors, and Latex Mattress for proper back alignemnt. Private bathroom with Rainfall Shower, Stainless Steel Fixtures, and All-Natural Aveda Bath Products.
Room equipped with Hair Dryer, Iron & Ironing Board, 2 Phones, Electronic Safe, TV with On-Demand Movies, Music, and Internet, Stereo with CD Player, and Personal Fridge with 2 Complimentary Bottles of Water per day (Spring & Sparkling).
Complimentary Luxury Beach Chair Service at our 8th street beach, which includes 2 Padded Beach Chairs and 1 Beach Umbrella per room, Prepared by Beach Attendant. Complimentary use of our large Pelican Beach Towels during your stay.
Complimentary High Speed WiFi Internet service is available throughout the property.
DELUXE - SUITE
The Deluxe Suite has premium bedding and cotton linens. Complimentary wireless Internet access and wired Internet access (surcharge) to keep you connected, and the CD player makes it easy to listen to your own music. You can request an in-room massage. A refrigerator is provided. The private bathroom has bathrobes, designer toiletries, and a hair dryer. Air conditioning, a ceiling fan, and a separate sitting area are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Unconvention meeting spaces offer great space, decor, ambiance, and ocean breezes.

Dining

Pelican Cafe
Our lobby restaurant offers excellent world cuisine with an Italian accent in colorful setting. Great outdoor terrace and sidewalk seating perfect for people watching and enjoying the beach breeze. Great premium bar with signture cocktails and relaxed atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Pelican Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 48
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TEE7
Business
N/A
Jul 29, 2015

Would Stay Again

Hotel staff very welcome. Adam at the front desk was super nice. Complimentary breakfast & chairs with umbrella on the beach was perfect. My room was super cute. Shower water had great pressure & the water stayed hot. Hotel was in the middle of all the action & right across from the beach. I got the most bang for my buck and will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MR
Business
N/A
Jul 19, 2015

ideal stay!

Pelican met all our expectations. Very friendly staffs and very accommodating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
j072988
Business
baltimore
Jul 11, 2015

First trip to miami

The hotel was not as I expected. My room was much smaller than expected and was a typical beach town type room, outdated old school type. The air conditioning stopped running several times and the staff did not seem to care. Miami in July is ridiculously hot so you can imagine how unhappy I was. The staff were not interested in any of my concerns and quite frankly some were rude. Oh and apparently there is a concierge but doesn't have the job responsibilities of one. If you're trying to save money this hotel will be fine. Great location. Other than that, chose another.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Randi R.
Business
N/A
Jun 8, 2015

Amazing trip

The hotel was clean and the staff was great! The restaurant was amazing and the bar was great too. The room was comfortable and I loved the quirky touches throughout the hotel. I'm thinking about going back soon!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimberly S.
Business
new brunswick
Apr 6, 2015

awesome trip

Came down a week prior to ultra festival and the location is amazing. Definitely stay on ocean ave if possible. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gjack136
Business
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Oct 20, 2014

Great Hotel

This was a perfect hotel for me, checkin was easy and my room was even ready early. They provided beach towls and beach chairs for free and free drinks during 4-6 (2 max). You couldn't really ask for a better location, its right in the middle of EVERYTHING. I definitely would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

freebiecart was great, they drive you around southbeach in electric cars for free (they work off of tips, so tip them well)

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brandon Brandon
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 24, 2014

Excellent location. Great Amenities

Great location on the beach. Restaurants, bars, souvenir shops all on the same block with DJ's and live bands playing throughout the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Avg night club price: $30 Avg night lounge w/DJ: $5

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kat the Student
Business
Toronto
May 13, 2014

Graduate Getaway

My friend and I decided to head to Miami to celebrate our completion of our undergraduate studies. We went in knowing that the hotel was in a great location, but other than that, we didn't know what to expect. When we arrived we were informed of all the amenities! We were able to have a great breakfast, happy hour drinks, beach towels/chairs; not to mention all the staff went out of their way to make sure that we enjoyed our stay. I would most definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
In A Good Way
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jan 28, 2014

Out of the ordinary, and a lot of fun

The Pelican is a lot of fun, as long as your expectations are set for something that is more out of the ordinary than the usual "nice" hotel. The rooms are definitely clean, but they don't have a sterile feel to them. The furniture is old and kitschy and that is part of the charm, but that also means some chipped mirrors and imperfect finishes. In keeping with the feeling of the time, the hallways are dark - great if you like that kind of thing, spooky if you don't. The staff were all very pleasant, and the "extras" with the stay couldn't be beat: two free drinks per person at happy hour each night, towels and chairs for the beach (step across the street and you're there - this is the oceanfront block), waters in the room, and free breakfast. Valet parking is $25 per day - surprisingly reasonable. My only complaint was the bathroom, and this may have just been the bathroom I got, since all the rooms are different. It was clean, but there was no ventilation except for a window that opened to the wall of windows in the neighboring hotel. The set-up of the cool faucets and showers looked nice, but there was no way to use them without getting water everywhere! (That said, I'm pretty sure housekeeping came through our room twice some days we were there, so that helped.) If a cool art deco meets industrial meets kitsch aesthetic is your thing and you like being right in the middle of the nightlife, The Pelican can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

On this trip, flying into Ft. Lauderdale, renting a car to drive 30 minutes to South Beach, and paying for valet parking was actually cheaper than flying into Miami and getting a taxi or shuttle to the hotel.

Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cmtina88
Business
Queens, NY
Oct 8, 2013

Weekend getaway...

My Friend and I flew in on Friday night, and left Sunday afternoon. It was literally just a quick weekend getaway. The location is perfect, right in the heart of ocean drive. The staff was amazing and friendly. And they had a complimentary breakfast from 8-11a and happy hour drinks from 4-6p. And I felt safe knowing that they lock the doors at night only allowing guests to come in. The only negative thing I would say is that the bathroom could use some improvement. There was no pressure in the shower'a water, and the water would not drain. I has to keep sweeping the water with my feet for it to drain. It wasn't filthy, but it wasn't too appealing either. I would have rather showered at the showers across the street where beach goers wash the sand off. Good thing it was only the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top