$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Pelican Hotel

4 stars
826 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
32 reviews
Great the ambiance was very cool

Cozy the retro atmosphere was fun I enjoyed my stay See full review

  • Pompom
  • Jun 29, 2014
Awesome

Great hotel, staff was friendly from the moment we pulled up in the cab. Food was great too! Love... See full review

  • The Fireman Bob
  • Oct 15, 2013
Owned by the same creative folks behind the Diesel Jeans company, the Pelican (whose brazen, albeit appropriate, motto is "A myth in its own limelight") is South Beach's only self-professed "toy-hotel," in which each of its 30 rooms and suites is decorated as outrageously as some of the area's more colorful drag queens. Each room has been designed daringly and rather wittily by Swedish interior decorator Magnus Ehrland, whose countless trips to antiques markets, combined with his wild imagination, have turned room no. 309, for instance, into the "Psychedelic(ate) Girl," room no. 201 into the "Executive Fifties" suite, and room no. 209 into the " Love, Peace and Leafforest" room. But the most popular is the tough-to-score room no. 215, or the "Best Whorehouse," which is said to have made even former Hollywood madam Heidi Fleiss red with envy. The Penthouse that occupies the top floor is almost more 007 than James Bond's own pad -- very '60s, in color and pattern, with a big aquarium built into a copper wall and a yellow Shultz table and chair.
Pet Policy: We accept pets less than 20 lbs. There is a $100.00 non refundable cleaning fee due at check in. There is an additional fee of $25.00 per day per pet.
Valet Parking is $27.00 plus tax per night.

Non Florida residents will pay the hotel any rate difference if booking a resident rate.

Hotel Map

25.7784 -80.1311
Area served
Miami
Miami Beach
South Beach
Art Deco District
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Ft. Lauderdale International Airport
Area description
Located in the center of the Art Deco district of South Beach, 10 steps from the Ocean. Centrally located within walking distance to all South Beach restaurants, shopping, and night life.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pelican Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Pelican Hotel Rooms

DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Room with a Queen Sized Bed. Individually Themed featuring vintage furnishings and art work, recycled oak floors, and Latex Mattress for proper back alignemnt. Private bathroom with Rainfall Shower, Stainless Steel Fixtures, and All-Natural Aveda Bath Products.
Room equipped with Hair Dryer, Iron & Ironing Board, 2 Phones, Electronic Safe, TV with On-Demand Movies, Music, and Internet, Stereo with CD Player, and Personal Fridge with 2 Complimentary Bottles of Water per day (Spring & Sparkling).
Complimentary Luxury Beach Chair Service at our 8th street beach, which includes 2 Padded Beach Chairs and 1 Beach Umbrella per room, Prepared by Beach Attendant. Complimentary use of our large Pelican Beach Towels during your stay.
Complimentary High Speed WiFi Internet service is available throughout the property.
Our Award Winning Restaurant offers Room Service daily from 7:30AM until Midnight.
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Room with two Twin Sized Beds. Individually Themed featuring vintage furnishings and art work, recycled oak floors, and Latex Mattress for proper back alignemnt. Private bathroom with Rainfall Shower, Stainless Steel Fixtures, and All-Natural Aveda Bath Products.
Room equipped with Hair Dryer, Iron & Ironing Board, 2 Phones, Electronic Safe, TV with On-Demand Movies, Music, and Internet, Stereo with CD Player, and Personal Fridge with 2 Complimentary Bottles of Water per day (Spring & Sparkling).
Complimentary Luxury Beach Chair Service at our 8th street beach, which includes 2 Padded Beach Chairs and 1 Beach Umbrella per room, Prepared by Beach Attendant. Complimentary use of our large Pelican Beach Towels during your stay.
Complimentary High Speed WiFi Internet service is available throughout the property.
DELUXE - SUITE
The Deluxe Suite has premium bedding and cotton linens. Complimentary wireless Internet access and wired Internet access (surcharge) to keep you connected, and the CD player makes it easy to listen to your own music. You can request an in-room massage. A refrigerator is provided. The private bathroom has bathrobes, designer toiletries, and a hair dryer. Air conditioning, a ceiling fan, and a separate sitting area are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Unconvention meeting spaces offer great space, decor, ambiance, and ocean breezes.

Dining

Pelican Cafe
Our lobby restaurant offers excellent world cuisine with an Italian accent in colorful setting. Great outdoor terrace and sidewalk seating perfect for people watching and enjoying the beach breeze. Great premium bar with signture cocktails and relaxed atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for Pelican Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 32
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steph the lover
Newyork
Jun 27, 2014

Good spot

It was great staff was nice but me and my partner was a bit annoyed with the fact that we had to wait for our room for so long and no one made sure we was comfortable while waiting. The fan in our room was a lil loud maybe some oily will help.... Happy hour drinks were not good there is a two drink limit which suck we only try two of they drinks and we was like no thank you. We also had a chair in our room that got taken out while we was still there pretty unprofessional. Beside the lil things it was a great stay. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alevtina
Denver
Mar 17, 2014

Spring break

Stayed at the room 209 (love peace and leaforest) during spring break march 2014. The room was decent size for couple people, the wooden floor was sticky, and the water in the sink would always splash all over, shower head was amaizing thou! Towels are off white because over used and overwashed too many times. The orange chairs need to be washed or replaced, stains are out of control. House keeping knocks on door every evening (8-9pm) to leave a flyer with weather tempature, little distracting. AC is loud when on, so are the near by rooms ac's are loud, but kept us cool :) big size tv was great! Closet, iron and ironing board were a plus! The free chairs at the beach was very nice, but towels did not look too good, half torn and over used. The food at pelican restaurant was amaizing so was the service ! Dond forget to tip !! Or you shall be tackled and riminded to do so! Lol

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ACP12345
NY, NY
Mar 5, 2014

Great for short weekend

Great location, free breakfast but wait staff is very slow, very small rooms with no natural light.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pelopincho
Santiago, Chile
Dec 21, 2013

Great Place

Great place to sleep, but not to stay longer on the day. Of course is a hotel in front of the beach, but if you have no other thing to do (or want to) in Miami, staying in the hotel or the room longer than for sleep only can be not comfortable. Staff very friendly and very helpful. Room and bathroom very clean, and very quite!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Fireman Bob
US Military
Oct 15, 2013

Awesome

Great hotel, staff was friendly from the moment we pulled up in the cab. Food was great too! Love the décor, the rooms are just fun, and I never had a shower with as much water as here. I felt like I was under a waterfall!! I will definitely not stay anywhere else in Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quick getaway couple
Raleigh, NC
Aug 14, 2013

Quick Couples Getaway

This hotel was perfect for our quick little trip to South Beach. The location is awesome. Walking distance to beach, food, shopping. The staff was fantastic from every interaction: front desk, restaurant staff, housekeeping, etc. Our only issue (and this was probably our oversight) is that we reserved a Queen room and were given a room with two single beds pushed together. The hotel was full and we were told that bed type is not guaranteed. It turned out fine but wasn't exactly ideal. Overall we loved this hotel and will be staying here again on our next visit and suggest you give it a look.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VIVIANE
MARTINIQUE, FWI
Apr 14, 2013

wonderful mother & daughter place-to-be

excellent hotel indeed ! it was as I expected it to be from other advices, the location is really perfect and allows to do everything with no car, even though we had one but parking is painful ; The room was hopefully not oceanviewed so it was calm and noiseless. We never heard other people moves and slept like logs the whole week through ! The food at their café is the best, wonderful breakfasts and the staff was lovely. I recommand the hotel warmfully !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
white shoes
CA
Mar 16, 2013

5 night vacation

The location is fabulous. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I stayed in what they call a suite, but it was smaller then a regular room at any chain hotel. It was a neat room, but for the price we paid per night, we could have rented an actual suite at any upscale hotel and had a nicer room for much less cost. The view was nice and the atmosphere in and around the property was enjoyable. The biggest problem for me was paying over 400 per night for a room that would be worth about 50 per night without the location and maybe 200 per night because of the location. I would recommend this hotel if room space is not a priority, and if location is a priority. However, if you are looking for luxery or a reasonable room rate, this is not for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MG11
Rochester, NY
Feb 14, 2013

Great stay in the heart of south beach

We booked online during a sale for a great rate on this hotel. Like most hotels in Miami Beach our room was tiny. It was unique, clean and functional, but tiny. After we asked about having one of their rooms that had a desk they offered to upgrade us to a an oceanfront suite and that room had 1.5 baths, a living area, a desk and a king size bed. It was huge compared to our other room and was great especially since we were staying there for 8 nights. Housekeeping cleans twice a day and at night leaves chocolates and a postcard with the forecast for the next day. The complimentary WiFi worked great. The complimentary beach towels and chair service just across the street was excellent. The complimentary happy hour at their very charming bar from 4-6 was also a nice touch. The hotel staff is multilingual and was super friendly and helpful from checkin to checkout. They even print our boarding passes and our tickets to a Heat game. Overall I felt that this hotel was a great value and if we stay on Ocean Drive again then we will definitely stay againl. Just keep in mind that it is not a resort and is located on Ocean Drive, which has restaurants open until all hours of the morning and people walking by 24/7. We liked that for this trip, but it isn't for everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms. Vain
midwest
Dec 15, 2012

Great experience

Pelican hotel has the best staff I ever experienced. From the receptionists, the hostesses and wait staff at the cafe, the manager, to the beach attendants and house-keeping - everyone is helpful, pleasing, well-mannered and always smiling, I just loved them! The happy hour at the restaurant (hotel guests drink for free for 2 hrs each day) is a big plus (: Location can't be beat: the beach is across the street (5 min walk), and at night it gets lively enough with all the restaurants/hotels on Ocean Drive and everyone walking by. The room was comfortable in every sense, quiet most of the time (except for the garbage truck in the morning, but it's not too bad). Our room was "me Tarzan, you vain" - a wild, African-looking theme with animal prints and organic/natural feel, I loved it! Me and my husband were there for 4 nights; we went to the beach and toured the city during the day, and went out to eat at night - nothing too fancy, but we had a great time! A clean, comfortable, safe and pleasant stay is important to me when on vacation and the Pelican exceeds those needs. You won't regret the extra dollar when you book this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Since breakfast was not included in our reservation, we saved some money by getting sandwiches, fruit and snacks from the closest Walgreen's (on the corner of Collins Ave and 5th). It's about a 10 min walk from the hotel. We also took a map and walked the city to check out a few areas we wanted to see, instead of paying for walking tours.

Back to menu Return to top