$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 16, 2015 Check-out: Jun 19, 2015

Pelican Hotel

4 stars
View map of 826 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
43 reviews
as much free stuff as what we paid for the room

South Beach is ridiculously overpriced. So is the Pelican's restaurant. That said, the hotel owners... See full review

  • spacetraveler29
  • May 11, 2015
South Beach

This was probably one of the better boutique hotels I've stayed at on Ocean Drive. The room was... See full review

  • Philip D.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Owned by the same creative folks behind the Diesel Jeans company, the Pelican (whose brazen, albeit appropriate, motto is "A myth in its own limelight") is South Beach's only self-professed "toy-hotel," in which each of its 30 rooms and suites is decorated as outrageously as some of the area's more colorful drag queens. Each room has been designed daringly and rather wittily by Swedish interior decorator Magnus Ehrland, whose countless trips to antiques markets, combined with his wild imagination, have turned room no. 309, for instance, into the "Psychedelic(ate) Girl," room no. 201 into the "Executive Fifties" suite, and room no. 209 into the " Love, Peace and Leafforest" room. But the most popular is the tough-to-score room no. 215, or the "Best Whorehouse," which is said to have made even former Hollywood madam Heidi Fleiss red with envy. The Penthouse that occupies the top floor is almost more 007 than James Bond's own pad -- very '60s, in color and pattern, with a big aquarium built into a copper wall and a yellow Shultz table and chair.
Credit card required at check in. Name on credit card must match name on reservation....Pet Policy: We accept pets less than 20 lbs. There is a $100.00 non refundable cleaning fee due at check in. There is an additional fee of $25.00 per day per pet.
Valet Parking is $27.00 plus tax per night.

Non Florida residents will pay the hotel any rate difference if booking a resident rate.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pelican Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Pelican Hotel Rooms

DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Room with a Queen Sized Bed. Individually Themed featuring vintage furnishings and art work, recycled oak floors, and Latex Mattress for proper back alignemnt. Private bathroom with Rainfall Shower, Stainless Steel Fixtures, and All-Natural Aveda Bath Products.
Room equipped with Hair Dryer, Iron & Ironing Board, 2 Phones, Electronic Safe, TV with On-Demand Movies, Music, and Internet, Stereo with CD Player, and Personal Fridge with 2 Complimentary Bottles of Water per day (Spring & Sparkling).
Complimentary Luxury Beach Chair Service at our 8th street beach, which includes 2 Padded Beach Chairs and 1 Beach Umbrella per room, Prepared by Beach Attendant. Complimentary use of our large Pelican Beach Towels during your stay.
Complimentary High Speed WiFi Internet service is available throughout the property.
Our Award Winning Restaurant offers Room Service daily from 7:30AM until Midnight.
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Room with two Twin Sized Beds. Individually Themed featuring vintage furnishings and art work, recycled oak floors, and Latex Mattress for proper back alignemnt. Private bathroom with Rainfall Shower, Stainless Steel Fixtures, and All-Natural Aveda Bath Products.
Room equipped with Hair Dryer, Iron & Ironing Board, 2 Phones, Electronic Safe, TV with On-Demand Movies, Music, and Internet, Stereo with CD Player, and Personal Fridge with 2 Complimentary Bottles of Water per day (Spring & Sparkling).
Complimentary Luxury Beach Chair Service at our 8th street beach, which includes 2 Padded Beach Chairs and 1 Beach Umbrella per room, Prepared by Beach Attendant. Complimentary use of our large Pelican Beach Towels during your stay.
Complimentary High Speed WiFi Internet service is available throughout the property.
DELUXE - SUITE
The Deluxe Suite has premium bedding and cotton linens. Complimentary wireless Internet access and wired Internet access (surcharge) to keep you connected, and the CD player makes it easy to listen to your own music. You can request an in-room massage. A refrigerator is provided. The private bathroom has bathrobes, designer toiletries, and a hair dryer. Air conditioning, a ceiling fan, and a separate sitting area are among the conveniences offered. This room is Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pelican Cafe
Our lobby restaurant offers excellent world cuisine with an Italian accent in colorful setting. Great outdoor terrace and sidewalk seating perfect for people watching and enjoying the beach breeze. Great premium bar with signture cocktails and relaxed atmosphere.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Unconvention meeting spaces offer great space, decor, ambiance, and ocean breezes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Pelican Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 43
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spacetraveler29
Business
Raleigh
May 11, 2015

as much free stuff as what we paid for the room

South Beach is ridiculously overpriced. So is the Pelican's restaurant. That said, the hotel owners go the distance in providing amenities to the hotel guests. As long as you aren't dead set on lounging by the pool (there isn't one) or sleeping in all day (the beds are hard), this place could be the perfect high value South Beach hotel. We blew plenty of money on our trip with the comfort of knowing that we had saved so much on our room. The freebies they gave us at the Pelican literally equaled what we paid per night for the room. The bartenders were fantastic and friendly. The front desk was always nice and accommodating. The rooms were decorated in cool and quirky decor, even if the shower head was sub-par and the beds were hard. We would definitely stay again if the price was the same. We had a great trip! 2 free hot breakfast buffets (which were delicious: eggs, bacon, fruit, coffee, etc) - $40 (no tip required) 4 free drinks at happy hour - $64 (tip required) Free beach towels and chairs - $40

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Emjay
Business
Albert park
May 7, 2015

Very basic dorm like hotel, old, lots of things break, paper thin walls

The rooms have paper thin walls and a lot of things went wrong on our stay. The building is old so things break. The fan is so noisy that you can't have it on. Our view was of a brick wall. Someone had been smoking in the room. The toilet broke in the middle of the night so we had to switch rooms at 3am. We weren't offered a discount for this. We were moved (at my request) to a better room after the toilet broke and given that it was 3am. The better room was absolutely no different. The location and staff are great but that's about it. I won't be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TARA G.
Business
Rochester
Apr 6, 2015

Just okay

Not good it was all old Does not worth staying in there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Philip D.
Business
Pasadena
Apr 6, 2015

South Beach

This was probably one of the better boutique hotels I've stayed at on Ocean Drive. The room was nice, modern and clean. Overall the best part of the stay was the wonderful, nice and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrea B.
Business
Cordova
Jan 20, 2015

Great stay

Great hotel. Excellent service and right across from the beach. It was on the side of the strip where all the action,eating, and shopping was located. Great room for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking was charged by the day. But the valet will get your car daily.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ggarman
Business
N/A
Jan 20, 2015

Great location and well kept

Arrived to find nice ocean front hotel with very nice room and very reasonably priced. Good hot breakfast with free drinks during happy hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Troy H.
Business
halifax
Jan 5, 2015

Great times in Miami

A great hotel on Ocean Drive and gives complimentary breakfast and a couple happy hours of drinks everyday...friendly staff, clean rooms and a great atmosphere! My second time and will be back again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Borocay
Business
Yonkers, New York
Oct 20, 2014

South Beach

The staffs were nice,always smiling and are friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is across the street, the hotel is at the heart of south beach. This beach is fantastic, I love it! Next time i come back to hotel just for the beaches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathleen333
Business
Ventura, CA
Sep 8, 2014

Fun place with a great location

This hotel was immaculate. It had daily maid service, helpful staff, and a fun attitude. Clubs were nearby, many restaurants. Free breakfast was great! No noise in the rooms. Comfy beds. We will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Mango's nightclub is about 1/2 a block away. If you want to party, this is a good place to do it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pelican Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kevy Kev
Business
Washington DC
Sep 4, 2014

Great Staff

The front desk was amazing from the time we checked in till the time we departed. Room was clean and refreshed everyday. The only negative I have with this hotel is their waiter and waitress staff. They could be a little more courteous along with some training.. They were very slow at times and borderline rode. Everything else was perfect. I managed to leave my LV luggage bag at the front desk and they coordinated with a taxi cab driver to get my bag to me before my flight. The front desk went above and beyond! Greatly appreciated!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top